NAOMH ULTAN

correction, 13 a side has not been cleared to play next year for grade 1, it will determined when club registration are sent in and any player NOT on the registration will not be permitted to play all year. it will only be in effect in grade one if a. they have less than 17 players and b. the other team agrees to it

mBnG Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 187 - 09/12/2008 12:48:21    160039

mBnG Gael,
I think you will find 13 aside can be played by any team as long as their registration is not of more that 18 players. Also if a team decides to play it, the opposing team dont have an option. It will be run on the same basis of this years Div 2.

iamtheboss (Donegal) - Posts: 34 - 09/12/2008 13:53:37    160088

Re : Horserules Yes,Aiden has retired,due to injury! Lads..we all had this conversation the week they had won the County Final.Cut the rubbish and let them enjoy it..it dont mater 13 a side or 15 a side..its not as if they had more players than any other team they played. So Stop the crying Norman..Fair play to Naomh Ultan! i said this weeks ago,and il say it again! before the minor leauge,all the teams involved agreed to play 13 a side!

gaahead2008 (Donegal) - Posts: 53 - 09/12/2008 13:57:02    160094

it wont run in the same basis as the div 2 this year.. in championship teams who can field fifteen will be allowed to do so, but if 13 player team wins the result will stand...also there is a major issue with this especially at div 1 minor level, as the winners will not be accepted in the ulster minor comp if they are intending to field 13 a side!!!!major issues with this... it all has to be checked with ulster council and nothing has been resolved yet...

mBnG Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 187 - 09/12/2008 14:50:53    160168

Your would need to read the regulations or attend the youth forum and if you where there, you dont listen very well. The Killybegs proposal to the Southern Board carried right through in the case where a club has a difficultly with numbers.

iamtheboss (Donegal) - Posts: 34 - 09/12/2008 15:56:52    160254

gaahead 2008

Sorry to hear that about Aiden. he was a hard, strong honest player. Big lost to N Ultan.

iamtheboss (Donegal) - Posts: 34 - 09/12/2008 15:59:04    160258

funny thats the thing you highlighted quiet clearly there that is of great importance!! put forward to the SOUTHERN BOARD, for county semi and final it wasn't passed and i was at the youth forum and it felt like a fecking southern board agm, they had nothing resolved or sorted to take forward to it. i don't want to take away from n ultan, i like to see small clubs winning things but not at the expense of how the game should be coached and learned from an early age, i know there arguments for and against but it is two completely different ways of playing football when the 2 players are missing and thats the main stumbling point for me. overall i feel like 13 a side is a good idea for u12 on smaller pitch but from u14 up all age groups should be 15 a side. its a fifteen a side game would you play basket ball with 3 or soccer with 9 a side at u18 or senior level???

mBnG Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 187 - 09/12/2008 16:27:07    160291

mB na nG thats a ridiculous arguement. Soccer with 9, basketball with 3! If they were played better with those numbers then they sould, but I'd say they don't! There are plenty of arguements for 13 a side, but I'm not sure if there are drawbacks? A few to many people on here saying it should stay 15 a side just for the sake of it

SeanieSense (Donegal) - Posts: 328 - 11/12/2008 09:20:18    161702

i honestly think it should stay 15 a side and not for the sake of it, 13 a side has its plus points yes, but its going down the road of league and union rugby, there are different rules that can be applied. agreed 15 a side isn't perfect but 13 a side would contribute more to player burn out in my opinion than 15 a side for based on the effect of larger areas of the pitch to be covered more running in the same space of time, but 15 a side is more physically demanding a better eye for a pass in a congested playing area and more intelligence for a forward to create space for himself in a tighter area, these are the reasons i favor the 15 a side game, Tony Boyle could create free space in a scrum in his hay day and that is a dying art in the game, the more 13 a side games that are played the closer to extinction it becomes!! that are my point towards it, there are more but it would take for ever i feel the game is 15 a side it should be played in good faith by both teams and not to gain any advantage, ie if you have 17 or 18 let the guys play. its not fair to train all year based on 15 then have to change all your game plan for one club..true or false?? i would also like to state that i do congratulate n ultan on what they achieved but i feel they are capable of playing div 1 football, probably not winning county titles but the experience will help develop there younger players to a level higher than they would achieve playing 13 a side in division two.

mBnG Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 187 - 11/12/2008 11:22:38    161797

Yes,Aiden is and will be a great miss! for both soccer and gaa in the town! Can't see Naomh Ultan going up next year without him!
but stranger things have happened?!

gaahead2008 (Donegal) - Posts: 53 - 11/12/2008 16:52:34    162241

gaahead2008

You just never know. Hopefully you boys can hold that minor team together and carry that through to senior. Have Shov and Kennedy retired or will they be about next year?

iamtheboss (Donegal) - Posts: 34 - 16/12/2008 11:07:31    165176

Im not sure! but i think they will be playing reserve!

gaahead2008 (Donegal) - Posts: 53 - 16/12/2008 13:44:17    165318

Does the two boys not know when to stop. Fair play to them. Who is the new board?

houserules (Donegal) - Posts: 165 - 17/12/2008 21:55:40    166737

Naomh Ultan, seen in the Donegal Post your minor manager is from Tyrone. Did he travel down weekly to train etc, how did yous come on him. Bit much for minor level in all fairness!

iamtheboss (Donegal) - Posts: 34 - 18/12/2008 22:15:49    167798

he lives in bruckless ye tool bag!!!!!

falconflights (Donegal) - Posts: 34 - 19/12/2008 14:15:46    168187

Never thought of that. Suppose makes sense now alright!

iamtheboss (Donegal) - Posts: 34 - 19/12/2008 21:14:16    168482

Any news or rumours on any managers for the meeting, or will it be like the AGM and another set up?

rettun (Donegal) - Posts: 49 - 05/01/2009 12:53:07    173056

Dont know where your getting your information from rettun, but the AGM was far from a set up, it was conducted within the laws of the GAA. As regards the manager, word has it an outside manager has been lined up to oversee the transition of the successful minor team into the senior ranks and nuture the sides development. A very exciting few years ahead of this side.

theboydonegood (Donegal) - Posts: 522 - 05/01/2009 13:16:56    173087

theboydonegood,

We dont need and outside manager, this new committee will wreck the club and it will be boys like me who will still be about when this lot is gone. We have enough good men of our own to train and manage teams.

rettun (Donegal) - Posts: 49 - 05/01/2009 14:53:01    173174

Rettun, this is hardly the place to air your grievencess with the AGM or committee - this is what monthly meetings are for. If you have any problems with the current committee take it up with them at those meetings rather than hiding behind a keyboard. Fair play to O' Neill for taking the responsibility to move the club in the right direction. Onwards and upwards in 2009.

theboydonegood (Donegal) - Posts: 522 - 05/01/2009 15:07:41    173188