NAOMH ULTAN

Sorry HouseRules but your wrong again Big surprise there then..... Im not one of the Dunkineely gang..... And even if I was I'd have to agree with a few posters saying that it'd be hard to move to a rival parish but after a while football is the important thing that'd be hard to do without..... Lets hope the club keeps going and avoids this conundrum.

P.S. I see the usually very successful soccer team is struggling this year also maybe it is a pointer for the Gaelic also...???

P.P.S. I hear that one of the Duddys has had a very successful year playing in England where his team won a British Championship Well done a player I'm sure they could be doing with at home. Also playing on that team were D Walshs Brother and another player from Urris(Not sure of name)

BoyDoneGood (Donegal) - Posts: 35 - 26/11/2008 10:12:55    150163

Fair enough comment. Can answer anything else for you on that yet, but should be talkin to someone from about there at the weekend.

houserules (Donegal) - Posts: 165 - 26/11/2008 18:12:21    150710

naomh ultan abu!!!thats all i'll say!!!!!

falconflights (Donegal) - Posts: 34 - 28/11/2008 10:18:33    152197

Boydonegood
Think D walshes brothers name is Peter Walshe.I hear N Brid are missing him badly.

MTErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 13 - 29/11/2008 20:59:37    153078

Petie Walsh?

Remember coming up against him a few times at underage, a very adept footballer would have stood out more than David in those games. Fair play to him though and to Philip as well.

Break_er (Donegal) - Posts: 798 - 30/11/2008 00:02:06    153183

True Enough..
Naomh Ultan Could Do With Philip Aswell.

gaahead2008 (Donegal) - Posts: 53 - 30/11/2008 00:04:31    153187

Why all the talk about N ultan Letterkenny Gaels have smaller pick than them .

inishman (Donegal) - Posts: 137 - 30/11/2008 13:23:37    153297

i hear the minors have been awarded team of the year!!
well done lads!

falconflights (Donegal) - Posts: 34 - 05/12/2008 00:32:05    157468

Great news for the team. Well-deserved and hopefully the first of many in the years to come

Naomh Ultan Abú (Donegal) - Posts: 298 - 05/12/2008 11:54:18    157720

Congrats to N Ultan minors on team of the year. You were a delight to watch in the county final. Well done to all involved.

houserules (Donegal) - Posts: 165 - 05/12/2008 14:31:16    157919

Congratulations to the N.Ultan minors on their achievement. Hope der is more to come

footballmatters (Donegal) - Posts: 28 - 05/12/2008 18:05:46    158239

so for all the people who were complaining about 13 a side do you's think they deserved this award????

falconflights (Donegal) - Posts: 34 - 06/12/2008 20:30:54    158654

falcon flights ill be honest, i think what st eunans achieved in the senior grade is far more impressive!! if you want examples of small clubs doing well, then my own clubs u16's i would consider achieved a similar reuslt this year...im not on here blowing about it...fair play to yous but its div 2 and as far as im concerned it wasnt at the top level therefore, i dont agree they were team of the year!!

mBnG Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 187 - 07/12/2008 23:14:24    159006

Well Done N.Ultan on there achievements but I dont think they are team of the year.

Not by a long shot. 13 a side and Div2. Use prevented 2 of ur 5 subs a game each time use went out because use played 13 a side. How can u get team of the year when there is 15 on a team and use decided to knock 5 of the back because they weren't up2 scratch.

Norman (Donegal) - Posts: 382 - 08/12/2008 11:39:48    159137

I think they were fully deserving winners. You can talk about division two all you want but thats the division they were put in. They could only beat whats put in front of them. And they did so emphatically. Unbeaten all year, won everyone of the competitions they entered. I don't think theres a team in the county that can say that (maybe St. Eunans minors). So lads stop with the begrudgery and give this team a bit of credit for the unbelieveble dedication and commitment they gave all year.

And whats all this tripe about thirteen aside? You have to be much fitter to play thirteen a side and perhaps a better player as you'll get more of the ball.

Break_er (Donegal) - Posts: 798 - 08/12/2008 15:50:21    159393

Well said Break_er, N Ultan where deserving winners of this award, and indeed all competitions. Just ask my own club minors (Glenfin) whom they defeated on the way. Norman, did you ever watch a 13 aside game? Why are you so against it. The way numbers are dropping in alot of clubs this will be the future.

iamtheboss (Donegal) - Posts: 34 - 08/12/2008 17:12:02    159501

Any true football man would tell you it should be 13 a side regardless of club numbers. Its much faster and you need to be fitter. It would take all the negative nonsense out of the game and you would never see the puke football tactics of pulling every man behind the ball becuse there is too much room.

SeanieSense (Donegal) - Posts: 328 - 09/12/2008 09:20:50    159839

13 A side is great but my point is they won team of the year when they had 18 players and decided to play 13 a side.

Its a team game so why not play 15 a side when they had 15.

If they only had 14 players id have no problem with playing 13 as its keeping the guys in football..How must the 5 subs feel that they play 13 a side when they could play 15. It must be a real kick in the nuts.

Norman (Donegal) - Posts: 382 - 09/12/2008 11:20:37    159956

Norman, Why should a club limit the number of subs they can use just to play 15. I see 13 aside has been passed to play at Grade 1 next year too, so Norman get of your horse and accept it. Im sure clubs will explain the situation to their players and with 13 training should be even more competitive.

iamtheboss (Donegal) - Posts: 34 - 09/12/2008 12:27:29    160013

Just heard this morning Aidan Duddy has retired. Big blow for 2009

houserules (Donegal) - Posts: 165 - 09/12/2008 12:29:39    160017