Killala

Trixy,

Have'nt misinterpereted the thread, i do think it is a bit of a daft one tho. And i believe that killala opted to drop down to junior that says that the club are lacking ambition if you were to ask any serious player one junior medal is plenty and then push on from there. Teams like breaffy, Belmullet, Kilmaine, Kilcommon to name just four who were all junior within the last five years have all moved on and would'nt even consider dropping to junior. Do not want to take it away from them a county medal is a county medal but one junior is enough.

mmmm (Mayo) - Posts: 106 - 22/10/2008 18:13:41    124396

jimjones killala dosent want to be known as junior team of the decade!!!

YA!OK! (Mayo) - Posts: 83 - 22/10/2008 18:58:00    124428

I do not begrudge Killala any success they have. and of course everyone in mayo wishes them all the best in the upcoming connaught matches. All I am saying however is Killala would be considered more successful if they had less Junior titles in the last few years and more time playing at a higher level of football. ie inter and senior.

Doritos (Mayo) - Posts: 64 - 22/10/2008 19:29:26    124440

Ya!Ok!.........if you read the very first post on this thread it says Killala must be the junior team of the decade!

JimJones (Mayo) - Posts: 68 - 23/10/2008 09:47:03    124677

also you should be embarrassed winning 2 junior titles in a decade! try to stay up in intermediate this time.
All the same i wish ye the best of luck representing Mayo.

JimJones (Mayo) - Posts: 68 - 23/10/2008 09:48:43    124681

Yeah they must be in mayo51's eyes! but they dont want to be known with that title! Two Junior titles is better than one junior and then just about survining relegation every year up in inter. doritos yer dead right!

YA!OK! (Mayo) - Posts: 83 - 23/10/2008 16:31:33    125232

YA!OK!
" Two Junior titles is better than one junior and then just about survining relegation every year up in inter. doritos yer dead right!"

You are contidicting yourself there, you say 2 junior titles is better than one and surviving every year in inter. but then you say doritos is dead right when he says killala would be seen as a more successful team if they stayed playing at a higher level than winning all these junior titles.

while its great for killala to win these junior titles would you not be absolutely gutted after winning a junior title and be back down playing junior in a couple of years. its puts all that hard work you did to get out of junior to waste. the junior league is difficult to get out of and takes a lot of effort and to end up back down there would be gutting.

i wish killala all the best in the future but do not think they should take too much pride in winning this junior title. they should just be glad they are back to where they should be and try to at least stay there.

JimJones (Mayo) - Posts: 68 - 24/10/2008 09:50:54    125673

PLay quite negatively, but effective, defence is very good. Remind me of Ulster teams approach. If you stop marcus hannick, you stop killala, have no other top quality forwards.

mayo4sam09 (Mayo) - Posts: 28 - 07/11/2008 19:19:19    136434

How do they play negativly? he didn't play well in the county final and they won! there forwards must be decent enough for the standard if the won the countythis year and connacht in 2006 aswel as leauge and north mayo titles?

YA!OK! (Mayo) - Posts: 83 - 07/11/2008 20:15:17    136480

Trixy,

I see you mention that Lacken, Ballycastle and Kilfian are useless. You must remember that two of these (Lacken and Kilfian) make up Round Towers underage and without them there wouldn't be much football underage in Killala. As for Ballycastle well they are pretty bad alright but when you have 3 senior titles and a man on the team of the millenium you get a bit complacent.

peile (Mayo) - Posts: 180 - 09/11/2008 23:51:49    137268

PEILE your message is really irrelevant and biased ,considering you failed to mention the goalkeeping clanger of 1996.!!By the way Killala are the last real Mayo team standing in the club championship.

Brinsley Swartz (Mayo) - Posts: 2225 - 10/11/2008 17:24:59    137813

Twixy,
how many senior titles have killala won? No need to insult re 1996, we're all mayo men, and you refer to begrudgers, not supping in dannos.
As for Round Towers, 4 parishes yet still couldn't field an U21 team, have heard round towers is on the verge of collapse- is this true?.

mayo4sam09 (Mayo) - Posts: 28 - 10/11/2008 17:42:55    137839

As your name signifieS`` Mayo for Sam 09``!, you havent a clue.I wasnt insulting over `96,just stating a basic football fact.Senior titles ,yes they are nice to boast about,but meaningless for ye, because they dont obviously inspire the present team.As for Round Towers folding,it wont affect Killala`s onwards and upwards surge if and when it happens.

Brinsley Swartz (Mayo) - Posts: 2225 - 10/11/2008 18:48:28    137905

Hey Pixy, had John Madden come for that ball and it was flicked to the net he would have been enemy no. 1. Damned if you do damned if you don't. As for round towers the sooner it is reorganised the better for all clubs involved including Kilalla. If the young lads can play for a competitive team surely it will benefit all adult teams. As for u-21 teams I see that Ballycastle played in a county semi final this year and although well bet all but one of the team are u-21 next year. Pixy the sooner you show some humility the sooner neighbouring clubs will support Kilalla. I wish ye all the best for the Connaught final.

peile (Mayo) - Posts: 180 - 10/11/2008 20:49:43    138005

Hey Peile!!! Ballycastle got a county semi because they got two walkovers! why would Trixy 'show humility' and want support from most of the people who would prefer to see killala being beaten? They weren't around when we won the county final but i can guarentee that they would be if we lost! As for calling ballycastle a former senior team thats a bit depressing seeing as though they were hammered by killala the last time they meet 4-11 to 0-01...Mayoforsam09- they couldn't field a team because their was so many injuries and lads were away working and travelling. Ehh they havint won any but then again im sure what ever club you come from has a larger support base than killala? There are 3 parishes that make up killala... i also noticed that you didn't reply to my last comment!

YA!OK! (Mayo) - Posts: 83 - 12/11/2008 16:23:47    139776

Are you implying ballaghaderreen arent a real mayo team? They are Mayo Senior Champions and their record over the last three years speaks for itself. They arent yo-yoing up and down the grades like Killala. They deserve a bit of respect and should be getting it from yourself and a team that they are on a different planet to!

tont (Mayo) - Posts: 14 - 12/11/2008 16:46:46    139810

Ya Ok, whats the third parish?

xxx (Mayo) - Posts: 1275 - 12/11/2008 16:51:37    139818

Twixy, Some of us have better things to do than sit in front of computer all day. Is it wrong to support my county and hope they do wel?
From what I heard, ballycastle have some very promising young footballers and won two tough games. if they get their act together maybe in a few years could challenge for honours. I think its great they can field a team u21, given the size of the parish
. re size of round towers, i think its a disgrace given their accumulated strength (injuries or not) that they cant field a team

mayo4sam09 (Mayo) - Posts: 28 - 12/11/2008 17:52:53    139899

Ya!Ok
If you bothered to look at my last comment you would have seen that I wished Killala all the best for the Connaught final. But then again when you think the footballing world revolves around Killala it is easy to overlook these things. I personally have the upmost respect for Killala and what they have acheived this year but the sooner ye get over yourselves the better for all including Killala.. As for Ballycastle u-21s it wasn't their fault a strong Intermediate club like Kilcommon couldn't field a team or Ballycroy.They also beat Ardmoy, the pick of 2 clubs and Kilmeena another strong Intermediate club in the quarter-finals. You might see I mentioned 2 strong Intermediate Clubs, but then again what would the Junior team of the decade know about being a strong intermediate club.

peile (Mayo) - Posts: 180 - 13/11/2008 10:42:10    140289

Best of luck to killala today in hide park

Tomlangan (Mayo) - Posts: 406 - 23/11/2008 10:13:31    147786