Killala

In response to ``overview``,Killlala are a proven great Junior team,their record proves it. The greatest Junior club in the history of Mayo football.In Enda Gilvarry they have the only manager in Mayo who has managed senior and junior title winners,not to mention his own impressive playing record.
Down the line expect a big charge for Connacht and All Ireland honours from this unique bunch of players.They will survive,bed in,and eventually in maybe two seasons will be bidding for senior honours if not before.What the other North Mayo
junior teams are failing to realise is that the Killala attitude is different and has been for some time.They are well organised and focused at all levels. All is done for Killala at Junior level except an All Ireland.That could happen in the near future,at any rate these players will easily survive at Intermediate level.

Brinsley Swartz (Mayo) - Posts: 2225 - 21/10/2008 13:36:02    123263

Greatest Junior team in the history of mayo?? Not something to be overly proud of if you think about that for a second. Sure couldnt ballycroy or kilfian, lahardane or any other amount of teams equally claim that right, seeing as they're also great junior teams, i.e. they're junior for a long while now. If killala were a great team why are they junior so often? Lookin forward to see how they do next year....

don_juan (Mayo) - Posts: 26 - 21/10/2008 14:06:27    123285

Greatest junior team?? That just defeats the purpose, the best junior team gets promoted each year, its not like they have to defend a title, if they regain it then they werent good enough for intermediate...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 21/10/2008 17:30:08    123493

Deeman were art thou? unclejerry can wew start talking now? oh yea of little faith!!!! it isn't really something to be proud of being the best junior team in the county....

YA!OK! (Mayo) - Posts: 83 - 21/10/2008 18:04:50    123510

How are Killala the best Junior team of the decade. Surely the best Junior team of the decade is the one which has progressed onto Intermediate and then Senior football and stayed there. Killala if they were a great junior team they would have stayed intermediate at least.

Doritos (Mayo) - Posts: 64 - 21/10/2008 18:36:10    123526

``Don Juan``and others,dont be mentioning the likes of Kilfian.They might be neighbours of Killala,but just like Lacken and Ballycastle they are useless.Devoid of ideas and going nowhere.Belmullet won two Juniors and a Connacht and have survived consistently at intermediate level.so have Cill Chomain. Killala will end up in Croke Park in early March and all the ``neighbours``
will be gutted and not supping in ``Dannos``for a while.

Brinsley Swartz (Mayo) - Posts: 2225 - 21/10/2008 19:50:35    123561

Killala are no where near a great side at any level, they are quite a determined side but seriously lack quality particularly in front of goal and will have to improve if they want to stick around at intermediate.

mmmm (Mayo) - Posts: 106 - 21/10/2008 22:29:21    123648

Believe me i'd be delighted to see enda's team up in croker next march. But you cannot compare killala to belmullet or cill chomain who have won the junior, progressed to intermediate and are serious contenders every year, unlike killala who someone referred to as a 'yo-yo' team. Neither team doesnt and never has claimed to be 'the best junior/intermediate team ever' in mayo. Lacken, kilfian and ballycastle are shockin poor teams, but no doubt would have a bit more humility than killala if they did win a county title.

don_juan (Mayo) - Posts: 26 - 22/10/2008 08:40:13    123726

``mmmm``and ``Don Juan``clearly misinterpet this thread.Killala have consistently dominated the Junior grade both at divisional and county level.Their reward is Intermediate status.They will at least maintain this next season.Its all very well being a club at Junior level such as the clubs mentioned by Don Juan but have any of those exclusive Junior clubs won anything of real substance in the last ten years. For example now that Killala are gone Intermediate which North Mayo junior club will realistically challenge for the County title next season?.

Brinsley Swartz (Mayo) - Posts: 2225 - 22/10/2008 09:24:02    123760

Conrgats to Kilalla... Stay up next year! Then ye can keep talkin!!

unclegerry (Mayo) - Posts: 1223 - 22/10/2008 09:59:32    123792

ardnaree or lahardane could push for a county title next year. they have both progressed this year. there is no reason why they can not go further next year. although they may need a slice of luck. only time will tell.

ironman (Mayo) - Posts: 131 - 22/10/2008 10:07:20    123800

``Don Juan``seems quite honest in his contributions but he must face facts,the majority of the ``neighbours``were gloating and very visible on the landscape when Killala lost All Ireland semi[2007] and County final[2006].Plenty of them gone to ground now!!.He also mentioned humility, which is very pertinent, because there is lots to be humble about!!

Brinsley Swartz (Mayo) - Posts: 2225 - 22/10/2008 10:19:16    123808

I'm sure your correct trixy that there was a lot of neighbouring teams that enjoyed seeing killala getting beaten in those games, personally i wasnt one of them as i'm not in the junior grade, or even a neighbouring team for that matter. But would you not think that your putting a bit of unfair pressure on the players and management by setting yourselves up for a fall, by boldly claiming ye will be in croker next march, win it out and survive at intermediate, all possibilities for sure, but try and take as it comes. Maybe thats why some neighbouring teams take pleasure in seeing killala get beaten, along with pure begrudgery i'm sure. You dont see the ballagh boys on here shouting about how they're going to win the connaught title.

don_juan (Mayo) - Posts: 26 - 22/10/2008 11:03:30    123856

Yeah Don Juan ,your last post makes sense.I take your point with the respect it is due.Some of us need to come back to planet earth.!!!

Brinsley Swartz (Mayo) - Posts: 2225 - 22/10/2008 11:50:20    123896

Delighted to see trixy piling on the pressure, keep up the good work. how are the celebrations goin? are many of the players still off work and home from college, visitin the local schools, paradin through the streets of all the local towns like the heros you say they are or will be,ha ha ha................

overview (Mayo) - Posts: 88 - 22/10/2008 12:10:34    123917

Hey ``overview``,the Killala players are back training tonight and all the supporters are back down to earth,`cos their accustomed to winning titles.

Brinsley Swartz (Mayo) - Posts: 2225 - 22/10/2008 13:38:06    124035

jes trixy your putting up some fight for the cause here! id love to no who you are?:P

most of them took monday and tuesday off, back to reality now. Which is a north final against ardnaree on saturday, and connacht semi the following week.

Oh and most of the people from the neighbouring teams that were 'supping' in danos on sunday were congradulating the team.

No point in talking about croker yet connacht semi and final, possible all-ire quater final, semi then croker so still along way off yet!

YA!OK! (Mayo) - Posts: 83 - 22/10/2008 13:52:15    124049

Despite what people are saying killala are not getting ahead of themselves. As their captain said in the paper this week regarding the connacht championship they'l just take one game at a time. There are no big egos in the camp and anyone that is talking up "how great" killala are isnt involved with the set up thats for sure. They're a good bunch of lads that are playing for one another and will battle hard at anything thats put before them. Any county title is a great achievment so fair play to them.

Fizzy (Mayo) - Posts: 3 - 22/10/2008 13:57:09    124053

Why would any team want to be junior team of the decade. if you were any good you would be able t stay in intermediate and there is no way you should be winning 2 junior titles in the same decade. What this says to me is that killala are a good junior team but are way out of their dept when it comes to intermediate. sure who knows you could win the junior again in 2 years......that would be some achievement!!!

JimJones (Mayo) - Posts: 68 - 22/10/2008 15:33:57    124171

PEOPLE OF KILLALA DONT GET SUCKED IN. THEY ARE ONLY LOOKING FOR A REACTION. STOP ANSWERING BEGRUGERS. ONWARDS ON UPWARDS NOW.

xxx (Mayo) - Posts: 1275 - 22/10/2008 16:18:50    124243