Sligonian, when are you going to start a similar thread about alan costello? I know this type of issue really upsets you. TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 29/06/2009 12:05:12 326225 Link 0 |
It wasn't the fact that Bellaghy wasn't part of the Curry GAA club area it was because the players in question had already played for Charlestown already that year in the under 12 competition and therefore couldn't play for another team. Anto (Sligo) - Posts: 379 - 29/06/2009 14:00:58 326440 Link 0 |
paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 29/06/2009 14:27:24 326498 Link 0 |
But Anto your club basically pushed them into Charlestown over an u14 tournament, ye could of bit the bullet, plenty of illegal stuff happened in Sligo over the yrs. Ye objected to serve yereselves at the expense of Sligo and thats the reality, it was petty. So any player who previously played with Charlestown cant change his allegance to his actual club or tour will object, ive actually heard Parson trained with Curry but couldnt play with them because of tours precedent. Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1858 - 29/06/2009 17:51:26 326807 Link 0 |
paddy fair play u just took apart your own argument there. so parsons isnt mayo and shouldnt be playing 4 them. thanks for clearing that up brett favre (Sligo) - Posts: 659 - 29/06/2009 19:13:21 326894 Link 0 |
Paddy seriously man, you dont got to support your county so for starters you have little respect and now you posting embarrasing wind ups on main and our board. I can see what your trying to do but parson and costello are completely different situations and the facts dont lie. Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1858 - 30/06/2009 05:17:42 327277 Link 0 |
But Curry had broken the rules. They had played these players who had already played for Charlestown. If they had got these players before they had played for Charlestown there would be no problem. Anto (Sligo) - Posts: 379 - 30/06/2009 09:06:45 327293 Link 0 |
Sligonian, whats the situation with the cliffony area and the donegal and leitrim. Is there ever any difficulties or is it just that the South just has more intense rivilary and competition? TimtheEnchanter (Sligo) - Posts: 309 - 30/06/2009 11:05:59 327384 Link 0 |
Anto Curry were trying to get kids involved from their club area in Bellaghy who previously played with Ctown correct is that illegal?, they succeded until tourlestrane messed the whole thing up. The fact there are kids who may play for Ctown at u8s, u 10s and so and when they get a mind of there own they realise there from and want to play with CURRY and SLIGO and what are tourlestrane gonna say "eh no you have to play with Ctown and mayo for the rest of your life because you did at u12" How do tour know they werent commited to Curry indefinitly from that point on? What interest of the club did ye look after, the winning of a u14 tournament?, Tourlestrane have to concede that Curry are well within there rights to CLAIM bellaghy players. Ye probably cost them Parsons and the Mulligans and cost us too which is a disgrace. Do ye care that it was partly yer fault we lost talent for the county team? Do you accept my point? Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1858 - 30/06/2009 11:07:36 327386 Link 0 |
Sligonian time to stop this one man crusade. YES IT IS ILLEGAL -the lads played in another county at under 12 level in the same year. Tourlestrane didn't mess anything up - they were well within their rights to object as Curry were breaking the rules. There would have been no issue if these lads were playing for Curry ONLY at that age group. Curry are well within their rights to select players from Bellaghy and some Bellaghy natives do play with Curry however a player who has already played with a club cannot play with another club at the same grade in the same year (that was the basis of Tourlestranes objection). If the lads wanted to change club the following year and play with Curry they could have done that and their would have been no grounds for objection so long as they didn't also play for another club of course. Mulligan and another lad (forget his name) played with Sligo minors a few years ago so these lads can decide to play with their native county anyway even if they are playing in another county. Time to put an end to this now Sligonian EVERYONE is sick of listeing to it. We must look to the future and ensure future young lads from that area are brought up playing Sligo club football Anto (Sligo) - Posts: 379 - 30/06/2009 11:53:21 327446 Link 0 |
club comes first,over county anyday,any cliub player will tell you that. move_d_goalpost (Sligo) - Posts: 4 - 30/06/2009 12:00:06 327458 Link 0 |
see, i thunk whether or not these play with curry isnt reallt relevent. the county can still get them to play for sligo even if they play for charlestown. mulligan would go very close to mayo team and imo get on it and walk onto ours if he could be persuaded. he doesnt play for mayo for whatever reason, he was at trials and everything but just stopped and gave up on it, he def has the talent brett favre (Sligo) - Posts: 659 - 30/06/2009 12:20:56 327483 Link 0 |
Alright Anto, point taken, I thought it was different yrs and that they were commited to Curry going forward but maybe I was miss informed. Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1858 - 01/07/2009 05:11:09 328369 Link 0 |