Att: Brett Farve

From Sligogaa.ie
thanks mick 4 that. can they not get together in some way and get a team into the b. well done harps no.1 team in county this year, play a great brand of football. parsons has made the int rules. best of luck to him, first curry man to get this honour, hanley and meehan the other connacht players on it. ronan clarke didnt make it, surprised at that

brett farve , 07-10-2008

I presuming this is the same brett farve on here that posted that message.
Can you explain to me and the people of Sligo why Parsons is playing for Mayo and not Sligo? He is Sligo born and bred and his parents are the same and his ancestors played for Sligo.
And why Curry are allowing Charlestown to take all the players from Bellaghy even though its part of Sligo?

And lastly taking credit for Parsons achievement is very mischevious and wishing him luck, why? he plays for Mayo. What benefit is to Sligo him getting selected. I can honestly say as staunch Sligoman it hurts me to see him wearing the green and red and it is wrong and disloyal. We have 26 clubs and there stealing our players with there 52 clubs and we are just letting them. Why?

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1858 - 09/10/2008 18:20:12    116550

bellaghy is in charlestown parrish, thats the long and short of it. i duno how many times that needs to be said. look at p.doohan situation exactly the same. i dont think he would have played for sligo when he could play 4 mayo, as some of the lads said why would he play for sligo when most years he can be winning connacht and challenging 4 all ireland honors, as rich said before and he knew the others better than me that it was sligo clubs that blocked them from playing 4 curry

brett favre (Sligo) - Posts: 659 - 10/10/2008 09:33:00    116804

thrashed out before by rich i think, not going 2 look 4 it though its n some thread.

bob marley (Sligo) - Posts: 24 - 10/10/2008 11:06:46    116879

I know for a FACT that CURRY can get bellaghy players to play for them, Geographically Bellaghy is Sligo and Curry and this was a case won by Curry in Connacht back in the 60's or 70's. However, Mayo then introduced a "school rule" which alowed Parsons to play for Charlestown and then Mayo. I'm not too au fait with the rule but I know it exists and obviously someone in Sligo was asleep when they introduced it at Connacht level. That's my understanding of it anyway and its from good people in Curry that I trust (like every club they have their share of eejits who contributed to this sorry situation).

So what do you say to that? The lads are playing with Charlestown becuase they went to school there not because its in the parish of Charlestown. They all qualify because of the school rule. But could easily play for Curry as said they won this case back in 60s or 70s.

All im saying is they have a choice and Curry have to get the finger out and do something about. These lads are eligible for curry and Sligo.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1858 - 10/10/2008 12:35:41    116962

mabye a bit of help from board wouldnt go astray, clubs havent been helpful either. parrish rule is parish rule at the end of the day. they could play 4 either, they go to school in town so play 4 them, curry have tried to get them but they themselves dont want to play 4 sligo. dont want 2 play 4 us. parsons is right for himself, he will win a few conn memdals and mabye all ireland. look until the co. board give us back up on this matter then it wont change

brett favre (Sligo) - Posts: 659 - 10/10/2008 12:59:05    116977

the point thats key though is that whether they play 4 curry doesnt matter because they could still play 4 sligo as they reside there, there is still a few who dont play 4 mayo mabye new manager should get them into the fold. its not dependant on them playing 4 curry

brett favre (Sligo) - Posts: 659 - 10/10/2008 13:35:22    116993

Correct brett, Even parsons could still play with his friends in Charlestown and play county with Sligo. Lots of players play club football outside the county. Because Sligo won that case for Bellaghy back in the 60s any player from Bellaghy can play for Sligo. They only qualify through the school rule to play with mayo. In my heart i believe all of these lads could be turned. Id let them play away in Charlestown but play county with Sligo. What if Mayo shaft Parsons in future? He has bad yr form wise and gets dropped. Ive been to Mayo games and seen there own fans verbally abuse mortimer and mcdonald, look at even mcdonalds family got verbals at a league game. I think parsons has been brainwashed by mayo folk and SLIGO people should try too persuade all these lads back. Does parsons know he could play for Sligo? He might not. Ironically parsons is in college in IT Sligo last 2 yrs. All im saying if Parsons considers himself a Sligoman well then its time he started showing it. Otherwise as long as he wears the green and red he is a mayoman in everyones eyes. Imagine if the mayo lads going to jarlaths defected to galway thered be war. We in Sligo have to do something about it. The saddest thing if we had parsons last yr with our u21s we would of won connacht IMO. We should of won it anyway but thats beside the point.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1858 - 10/10/2008 16:58:56    117142

sligonian agree 100% with what u just posted. i believe they can be turned if they were persistently harrassed about it. shur a lot of their relatives would have represented curry and are sligo men to the core, would be very difficult though, one thing for sure is its not currys fault, co. board should invite(vigorously persuade) the ctown lads 2 co training and solve this once and for all either way. but for any future underage players they need to get them involved in county underage straight away and keep them there.

brett favre (Sligo) - Posts: 659 - 10/10/2008 20:33:15    117211

i know and have talked to his mother she says he has always played within mayo and he has friends playing in mayo and its only right to let the lad be.. whats one player goin to do ?

bitchesandhoes (Sligo) - Posts: 118 - 11/10/2008 12:17:59    117293

the same could be said of Pat Harte. he is a Tourlestrane man

encythirty (Sligo) - Posts: 124 - 23/10/2008 20:05:56    125475

Tom parsons wouldnt be heard of if he played with sligo

cesc4 (Mayo) - Posts: 238 - 29/10/2008 02:10:46    128520

The Tom Parsons issue should be put to bed he is not a sligo or curry player and he will never be the county board should have dealt with the matter years ago when he was younger who know would he be the player he is today if he did play with sligo. Anyways best of look to him on his future football career

7up (Sligo) - Posts: 5 - 29/10/2008 23:08:30    129379

The reason he played with mayo is cos he knew he'd win nothing with sligo, he's already played in three connacht finals and also played on the international rules.

gerryb10 (Sligo) - Posts: 48 - 18/06/2009 16:19:52    316102

Gerry your a disgrace to Sligo, now be gone will ya.

He would of won a Connacht senior with Sligo 07 and countless titles with Curry who are better than Charlestown. Who knows what would of happened had we had him with our u21s last yr.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1858 - 18/06/2009 17:54:13    316235

Ok first of all charlestown beat curry in the connacht championship a few years ago so that might suggest charlestown are better? Then you say about the u-21s he won the connacht title both this year and last year with Mayo so what could have happened with Sligo did happen with mayo.

gerryb10 (Sligo) - Posts: 48 - 18/06/2009 22:02:47    316517

If i hear another person spouting rubbish, like we should do NOTHING and let mayo have parts of my County well then you are not a Sligoman, If I hear another man wishing a fella who turns his back us, all the best, well you are no Sligoman. No one who cares about SLIGO can be happy about this and wish anyone well who does so.

My point on CURRY is there are 4 players on Charlestown starting 15 who are from Bellaghy (Curry club area), if Charlestown lost them and Curry had them Curry would be alot stronger and ctown weaker, simple, on the u21 if we had tp it would make us stronger and mayo weaker especially in 08 against rosscommon.

Ive said this before, What kind of idiot keeps bringing it up, g10 as I said there are words i would descirbe you as but they are not printable on here.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1858 - 20/06/2009 14:57:04    317733

what nonsense from some of you Sligo posters, even though you have Alan Costelloe playing for you, who is from Balla in County Mayo, you dont see us whinging about him.

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 28/06/2009 20:41:41    325621

gerry b what u on about there

brett favre (Sligo) - Posts: 659 - 29/06/2009 00:12:21    325879

Just to correct Gerryb10. Curry have not played Charlestown in the Connaught championship

Anto (Sligo) - Posts: 379 - 29/06/2009 10:42:45    326095

Anto, a question I always wanted to ask, why would tourlestrane object to Bellaghy players playing with Curry? Why would tourlestrane want to hurt Sligo football just to keep curry weaker. That is in refer to objecting to bellaghy players playing with curry in u14 tournament a few yrs back. Its a question worth asking....if they were to commit to Sligo and Curry would tourlestrane object again or would ye prefer to make mayo stronger?

Paddy we didnt go across any border to get costello, he works and lives in Sligo. Tom parsons lives in Sligo goes to college in sligo, totally different to costello.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1858 - 29/06/2009 11:54:26    326198