I agree Harps are the best team in Sligo and well done on getting to a connaught club final. allSOran (Sligo) - Posts: 690 - 25/11/2008 19:03:33 149792 Link 0 |
Would anyone agree that P.Mc Govern's position is under threat. Now don't get me wrong he's one of the nicest fellas I know but his football the last 12 months has been nothing more than club standard. But then who do you put in to replace him? datsrite (Sligo) - Posts: 473 - 25/11/2008 22:30:21 149961 Link 0 |
I agree with above statement..harps are just a solid team! And a team effort is more important than individual stars and harps proved that. However i believe next season teams will be able to target harps better and the league will be more open Superbat (Sligo) - Posts: 8 - 25/11/2008 23:00:40 149990 Link 0 |
These players wont perform but they still wont be dropped. What natural scoring forwards do sligo have on the senior panel ? Look at any team in the country and their stars are usually their corner forwards except for sligo. Kelly is our best forward, good at winning the ball if put infront of him and good at holding it up. He's afraid to shoot though and its been costing us. In saying that the Mayo game was one of his best games and I hope he will start having a shot when he gets the chance. The old Paul Taylor could score on instinct he wouldnt even have to look at the goals, we need more natural scoring forwards. Pity O'Reilly and Raymond didnt get a shot this year from my club. Sligos lose. F Coyne would also be a good replacement for mc govern. John Deere (Sligo) - Posts: 77 - 26/11/2008 05:42:24 150081 Link 0 |
I think it shocking for clubs with picks as big as St Marys to be playing most o thie underage football at B level, and Ballymote at C level. denzel (None) - Posts: 452 - 26/11/2008 11:11:55 150226 Link 0 |
Good man Denzel, stirring it up when all is quiet. Remind me how big a pick St Marys have again? Id advise you to compare it with a mammoth club like Harps or the like in your answer. This is old ground as well, you should take a look at the archive for previous debates on this topic. As far as im aware u9 up to u14 is played at top level but im open to correction on this. Informed Nail (None) - Posts: 79 - 26/11/2008 12:40:59 150310 Link 0 |
Informed Nail: denzel (None) - Posts: 452 - 28/11/2008 12:40:28 152363 Link 0 |
I'm from Leitrim but i cannot believe that yer saying that Eamon O Hara should be in full forward?!?!?!?! He's easily the most explosive player in Connacht and needs to be at midfield or half forward at the very least..putting the man in at full is a waste of his speed and power and something i think ye would need to look at pootietang88 (Leitrim) - Posts: 20 - 28/11/2008 12:51:41 152370 Link 0 |
as you say poo, he has explosive power, both characterized by short duration. encythirty (Sligo) - Posts: 124 - 30/11/2008 00:23:09 153197 Link 0 |
Your lucky Sligo people!! Dont think Big Kevin will have any favourites!! He will pick everybody on merit, and how they do in training1 It was like when J O Mahony took over in Galway, got rid of big names, searched the whole county from one end to the other for talent! Picked Intermeadiate, Seinor, and Junior players for the Panel and moulded a crowd of lads, who nobody ever heard of , to two all irelands and within a whisker of three! Nobody knows better than Kevin Walsh, how this was done! He was a major part of it! SAMMYTHEBULL (Galway) - Posts: 1646 - 30/11/2008 01:48:14 153230 Link 0 |
Sammy he hasnt seen any of the players so it will be the 3 selectors picking the panel. There wasnt an open trial. Think Mickey Moran had one in Leitrim but then again hes a top manager John Deere (Sligo) - Posts: 77 - 01/12/2008 15:32:55 153915 Link 0 |
John Deere, I am sure Kevin will be happy with a loyal supporter like you, who puts him down before he even starts!! You might not believe this, but supporters have a part to play in the sucsess of the team as well!! So I think everyman deserves a chance, Even if he is a Galwayman!! Personally I wouldn't care if a manager came from Mars, if he changed things and brought a bit of hope!! I mean, he cant do much damage to what is already there!! So with a bit of support, I think the man can do a lot for Sligo football!! If he at least gets a chance and a bit of support!! I think we all agree, if any of us started a new job tomorrow, we wouldn't like to be attacked on our first day for making mistakes we disn't have time to make yet!! SAMMYTHEBULL (Galway) - Posts: 1646 - 01/12/2008 23:25:19 154383 Link 0 |
i think kevin will do an exclent job he has surounded himself with people who have a great knowledge we have a good back line and with his and durks experience at midfield they will bring on the likes of gilmartin and henry and other young lads also wit taylor and sloyan you have two great mentors for the forwards we might not do much this year but i think we shud give this management team some time to gel and build a team win connacht occasionaly and challenge for sam!!! rupp (Sligo) - Posts: 93 - 02/12/2008 14:55:36 154775 Link 0 |
Sammy its easy for you to talk as ye are connacht champions. Sligo were beaten by London which makes them one of the worst teams in the country so i'd like to see some of those players kicked off the panel and some players brought in that would be there on merit not because they were good 5 years ago. John Deere (Sligo) - Posts: 77 - 03/12/2008 10:15:31 155607 Link 0 |
Well Then, Let the man do it!! Wait until he does something!! When London beat yee again, Tell him to Go!! But please dont be setting on him for the things caused by other managers!! SAMMYTHEBULL (Galway) - Posts: 1646 - 03/12/2008 12:13:29 155739 Link 0 |
Sammy I dont think anyone has really attacked the management yet, yet you seemed to be pre-emptively defending them. Time will tell. Ps will you relax with all the exclamation marks!!! Informed Nail (None) - Posts: 79 - 03/12/2008 15:16:57 155911 Link 0 |
Jason Farrell should be given a run in goals. he is doing really well for IT sligo Ourbuck (Mayo) - Posts: 89 - 03/12/2008 15:27:10 155926 Link 0 |
Informed nail..I think it is you who needs to relax, if my exclamation marks are getting on your nerves!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! SAMMYTHEBULL (Galway) - Posts: 1646 - 03/12/2008 16:33:50 156039 Link 0 |
Not attacking the manager I know he will give it 100%. Its just annoying that I know Sligo have some good players that arent on the panel and have some players on it that dont deserve to be there. I think every county should have an open trial because all counties have politics involved with panel selections. I know we have 3 good selectors but it would be hard for them to get rid of players they've been playing with for years and who are personal friends. I just want the best for sligo football and we have players here that are good enough. John Deere (Sligo) - Posts: 77 - 03/12/2008 19:01:31 156242 Link 0 |
JD, what is the current panel. Any new faces? TimtheEnchanter (Sligo) - Posts: 309 - 04/12/2008 13:42:25 156819 Link 0 |