Kerry fans in denial...

This nastyness you talk about the northern teams introducing in my opinion has been taken to the next level by certain members of the southern teams (Darragh O Se springs to mind) - and after reading Paudie O'Se's autobiography I cant recall any northern player of any generation "taking a player out during the national anthem" like Paudie admitted he did. There's no way that you can make a blanket statement saying northern teams are dirty and southern teams are not! Almost every team in the country knows how to 'mix it up' if they need to. Its not a new thing and has always been going on in every team sport on the planet! So I reckon that is one point that needed clearing up. Another point that someone made was that northern teams have only becoming prominent recently - remember the 90's anyone???? Down and Cavan earlier in the decade??? Anyway that has all taken away from the debate which was team of the decade for the 2000's.

DoireCK (Derry) - Posts: 162 - 23/10/2008 17:54:04    125363

While I agree that Cíarraí abú comments are ridiculous I must mention that the replies are just as much. To see that some of the people replying only have about 10 posts but all on the kerry page kind of neglects their credibility.

Can I just stress something from an absolute honest and vintage Kerry fan

Pros: these lads have given us everything their county over the last 10 years, it absolutely infuriates me when people call them underrated, thugs, "corner boys", and a disgrace to their county. I acknowledge that discipline was poor this year but if people were at that first semi against Cork you just would not have seen live what was going on (I will not condonewhat Aidan did, EVER!!!).

Proa: Fair play to the footballers and the football, I can not praise enough the skills these guys showed, year in year out! Only one year this decade has the team who have beaten Kerry not been all ireland champions. Some of the games they have been involved have been just top of the range and it disgusts me that so called genuine GAA fans can undermine their talents.
Cons: Our discipline this year (although grounds for disappointment) was not acceptable. It showed a lack of control and gave antogoniser valid reason to complain.
Our inability to finish the job. Every game since Clare, we were in control but nearly let it slip. Until Nearly became a reality against a hungrier and fitter Tyrone team.

The major Con: It actually never bothered me we had not beaten Tyrone until Sep 22nd, because each time we changed how we played to adapt. But the third time Tyrone showed they had done their homework superbly again and we didnt adapt when the time was right. This whole "Team of the decade" argument. Well I'm a Kerryman who has seen it all (including Tyrone being nothing from what they are now) and although I can argue the Kerry side of things I can also genuinely see where Tyrone people (and clingers on) come from when claiming team of the decade. Which is why I said if yr IF Tyrone win next year, they will (and you don't know how much it pains me to say it after all we have seen since '97) be the team of the decade. Despite being 4 a piece and Kerry being in the mix so often they cant simply argue that when push came to shove they showed the character that we couldn't match. Except one man, the only Kerry man putting up challenge against Tyrone in the last 10 mins was the big midfielder. . . . . at 33 years of age. Time for other men to step up.

Finally: let me just say like I have said on the national board, and on the tyrone board. CONGRATULATIONS. But no way will I ever insult those men who have served our county over the last 5 years in particular (some of them 14) . I have great confidence in their desire to come back next year and win SAM again.

What I will hope is that this thread closes now!!!!

Kingdom Come (None) - Posts: 264 - 25/10/2008 02:09:22    126336

Looks like I caused a bit of a varuka by starting this thread. Thought it wud be a bit safer if i changed my identidy incase any animals came after me!

John_3__7 (Meath) - Posts: 546 - 29/10/2008 19:54:40    129258

Im back and ready for action! I think i touched on a soft spot here. Your all in denial!

Frank_Ennis (Meath) - Posts: 58 - 30/10/2008 12:23:45    129739

Frank_Ennis

129739 Im back and ready for action! I think i touched on a soft spot here. Your all in denial!
Of course we are in denial. That is why Kerry come back to win so many titles.Other counties are still celebrating a title won years ago.

Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 31/10/2008 14:51:47    130945

You cant live up 2 the truth that your still playing like u were in the 80's

John_3__7 (Meath) - Posts: 546 - 31/10/2008 16:51:02    131150

Ulsterman Dont remember ulster playing kerry it was tyrone not ulster!

ancaisleanglas (Tyrone) - Posts: 27 - 08/11/2008 19:30:59    136844

Team of the decade is a load of BS made up by news paper people to sell news papers so could every one please drop it. Tyrone people don't think we are team of the decade so why keep going on about it. We won our 3rd all Ireland you didn't win your 36th come on Kerry be the sports men we all think you are. Good luck with the mew manager and 2009. Now can any kerry man step up and wish us luck in 2009 or have all the sports men in Kerry died?

CoTyrone (Tyrone) - Posts: 261 - 10/11/2008 13:51:28    137586

CoTyrone, I wish you all the best for 2009. There is only one poster from Kerry who does not wish Tyrone, or any Ulster team, the best. You'll see I was one of the first on these boards congratulating Tyrone after ye won this year.

3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 10/11/2008 15:30:26    137672

3INAROW Thank you and we would like to wish kerry the best in 2009 as well.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 10/11/2008 17:51:58    137849

May I wish every county the best in 2009.Except Carlow.

Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 11/11/2008 09:26:07    138223

Here here Real Kerry Fan we have them in the first round!

weecounty (Louth) - Posts: 33 - 11/11/2008 10:30:32    138280

RKF - I notice you've been putting Carlow down a bit over the last while, why?

I'm not from Carlow and have no connection to it, just wondering why that's all.

3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 11/11/2008 10:32:49    138282

3inarow08

138282 RKF - I notice you've been putting Carlow down a bit over the last while, why?

I'm not from Carlow and have no connection to it, just wondering why that's all.

No actually its the opposite. I have a very good friend here in Dublin from Carlow and sometimes he looks in to hs site. Usually raises his blood pressure.

Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 11/11/2008 12:40:40    138416

Ah good stuff so. I have 2 Carlow friends myself up here in Dublin as well, neither of them looks in here though. But there is a poster on the main page, tallaghtdub, that I'm friends with, I'll have to wind him up a bit! Here goes....

3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 11/11/2008 14:12:19    138565

Kerry fans are talking about carlow now because there in denial

John_3__7 (Meath) - Posts: 546 - 12/11/2008 15:28:40    139686

John_3__7

As I already said in previous posts we are usually in denial for a very short time. Oh in some counties it lasts from the previous century.

Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 12/11/2008 15:44:32    139728

At least we dont re appoint managers...

John_3__7 (Meath) - Posts: 546 - 12/11/2008 15:58:12    139744

tyrone are the team of the decade....ffs fellas, it was the kerry folk and the southern media who offered this title to the 2009 all-ireland winners, so f**k it..as a tyrone fan ill accept it.

another thing, how many times will tyrone have to retire mr o'connor before he realises that he aint goin to out-whit mr harte??

moortownspuds (Tyrone) - Posts: 336 - 12/11/2008 20:25:25    140006

Lads do not listen to moortownspuds he slagged of his own county with the two clubs that got there clubrooms burned down. And for the record o conner stepped down after he won it in 2006 so your research is wrong again..

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 12/11/2008 21:36:10    140043