All-Brit Club Championship

"All cred to John Mitchels for making it to the final I have never heard of them before"

Never heard of John Mitchel's? You don't keep a close eye on what's going on in Britain if that's the case - they happen to be reigning All-Britain champions. As to Tara winning easily, I'm not so sure. I saw Tara beating Cuchullains in Leeds in the semi-final a few weeks ago, and wasn't particularly impressed. They are a big mobile side but I would expect Mitchel's to keep the title in the north of England.

Carnaross (None) - Posts: 189 - 15/11/2008 11:25:53    142062

a lad i know played for Cuchullains and reckoned that had he converted the goal chance which he should have he said they would have beaten Taras as time was up. He felt they played better but Taras won again in the end. Taras have been in positions where they haven't performed at all this year and still rescue the game either by drawing or winning. If they perform to the best of their potential which I believe they have only done once this year then I see them winning. I hope whoever wins can take a scalp from home and go even further and get to Croke Park.

Anyway good luck to the Tara from all at North London Shamrocks, we have a couple of car loads going up to watch the match and shall be lending our support to the Tara. Hopefully its a good and fair game first and foremost.

Shamrocks (UK) - Posts: 38 - 15/11/2008 14:06:59    142095

Either Tara are playing mind games or they are under estimating Mitchells, I'll stick my hard hat on the line and go for a Mitchells win by 5 or 6!

Bob the Builder (UK) - Posts: 137 - 16/11/2008 10:33:11    142262

Tara finished with 13 men and got beaten by 4 points Don't think Tara will offer much to senior next year with the same backs. We could see them back down intermediate again....

pronane (None) - Posts: 324 - 16/11/2008 15:38:00    142322

well lads first things first congratulations to john mitchells. As once quoted by a famous man (dorris) a good team wins it once but a great team wins it twice. But as for those who thought we JM got a handy AB last year well i think we went the hard way round this year wouldn't you think. but in reflection of the game jm won almost all of the personal battles all over the pitch. As for the "quality forwards Im not so sure on taras behalf all in all they were kept very quiet. by te way who is this donnelan fella was he playing yesterday i never seen this supposed man mountain who scores for fun.

willferral (Sligo) - Posts: 117 - 17/11/2008 08:26:53    142632

frodo

133956 if jm think they arte goin to walk over taras they have another thing comin. we have a better team all round and better drillied all yr. mitchells to be knocked off their little perch. lanchshire football :):):)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Good man Frodo, not sniggering so much at lancashire football now eh?
From what i seen of the final...

1) JM better drilled and fitter outfit
2) man for man on mitchells team was head and shoulders above their tara marker (including the subs who came on)
3) JM fairer and more disciplined
4) JM deserved the win (could have won by more).

Good luck in the all ireland lads.

Nipper (Donegal) - Posts: 92 - 17/11/2008 11:22:54    142740

Congrats to Mitchells on a great win over Tara, it is a great acheivement for them. Who do they go on to play next?

Harrow (Dublin) - Posts: 81 - 17/11/2008 11:42:29    142777

congratulations to mitchels on a well deserved win and to both teams for a great game in poor conditions. I thought mitchels were the better team but were very wastful of possession and chances particularly when they dominated for about 15 mins in the second half. It took 17 mins for the 1st score to come in the scond half i think. Tara's seemed to be inspired after sending off and with a bit more composure in front of the posts could have put mitchels under more pressure in the 10 minutes they were on top. Should have fed the small corner forward more as he was getting results. Thought donnellan looked lethargic throughout.

Fair play to Mitcels management the subs they brought on had an impact - partucularly No 21 scored a point with first touch and a great pass for the goal.

Only one comment - all of Mitchels squad (according to the programme) was irish born - where are the second generation lads coming through? is there a danger the club could suffer in years to come.

tommy g (None) - Posts: 171 - 17/11/2008 12:00:45    142810

congratulations to John Mitchells from everyone involved with Cuchullains. By far the best and most organised team we played all year. Its just a pity we couldn't have had a third crack at you's in the final but it wasn't to be. Best of luck in All - ireland

Toon army (UK) - Posts: 44 - 17/11/2008 13:08:26    142902

Congratulations John Mitchells hopefully you can go one better this year. Wasnt far off with my prediction.

Bob the Builder (UK) - Posts: 137 - 17/11/2008 13:21:21    142917

Congrats to JM. Still unbeaten in the UK. Lets hope you can extend this to Ireland now. You have worked for it, so dont let it slip now.

Yorkie Kid (UK) - Posts: 174 - 17/11/2008 16:49:58    143227

some result lads. taras not that impressive. big men but mitchels better players in total. some rip

cheryltweedy (UK) - Posts: 3 - 17/11/2008 17:09:51    143253

lads, Who said they didnt know who Mitchels are!? Was that tara A or B team who played in Birmingham!

willferral (Sligo) - Posts: 117 - 17/11/2008 17:32:41    143282

Congradulations to John Mitchels.
A very good team yesterday became a great team, Im delighted for them, they have done Lancashire proud yet again.
Well done lads and best of luck in the All-Ireland.

Yer Man (None) - Posts: 286 - 17/11/2008 17:56:34    143305

were goin home were goin home were goin john mictells goin home !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! excuses for the captains speech but it was admirable :)

willferral (Sligo) - Posts: 117 - 17/11/2008 18:24:54    143327

i heard the mitchels corner forward from cavan needs to learn how to tackle, Hope mitchells go well at home

willferral (Sligo) - Posts: 117 - 17/11/2008 18:31:24    143333

tommy g

John Mitchell's haven't had underage teams in nearly 20 years, they only brought the senior team back to life in recent years.

Its a sorry state of affairs that there is only one GAA club in Liverpool given the size of the Irish polulation in the city. It sums Liverpool up as a city.

Well done Mitchell's by the way.

Take_yer_points (Galway) - Posts: 151 - 17/11/2008 18:42:15    143344

we in liverpool work hard at what we have 2 AB titles in a row but if you are not content wi that challenge us. maybe as taras are concerned they rest will under estimate us as well but what ever . we dont have to rely on students or second generation irish just get over it the best team won leave the sour grapes in the bin. WE WON full stop so stop this excuses stuff and wish us the best as we are the best out of the division> FACT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

willferral (Sligo) - Posts: 117 - 17/11/2008 19:03:41    143371

Mitchells lads i think there is one point that you are all missing....you may have won the the AB Championship but you are only playing the intermediate champions from London. If you played any of the top senior teams in London you would get hammered. Technically you are not really the best team in Britain....the London senior Champions are the best team in Britain. But well done on your achievement.

BigMan (Dublin) - Posts: 1 - 18/11/2008 13:40:13    143954

would it be worth having the intermediate champions of britain v london senior champions in a game to see what the standard of the inters winner is like. Would be good preperation for both teams prior to their respective matches against the clubs from home?

tommy g (None) - Posts: 171 - 18/11/2008 15:51:41    144089