All-Brit Club Championship

Mitchels are playing JM Uni first team this weekend in a warm up to the semi final next week . Should be a tight game but could risk injuries at this stage especially with ground conditions being poor at the moment. Reckon JM Uni team will be too stong for them with most lads home all summer playing at senior club level.

Cattle Grid (Tyrone) - Posts: 28 - 09/10/2008 09:51:51    115952

Any word on the venues for these games? I presume Cuchullains - Tara will be played in Birmingham.

scruff (UK) - Posts: 467 - 09/10/2008 10:32:06    116000

Heard the Tara game is in Leeds at Beeston. Not sure about the Mitchells game.

spyboy (Antrim) - Posts: 343 - 09/10/2008 12:51:24    116227

I'm surprised that the Tara Cuchulainns game being in Beeston as this is where Cuchulainns have played all their games this year- thus making it a home match for them. Surely Manchester or Birmingham would be fairer. Also Beeston is one of the worst pitches in the country!!!
Haven't heard yet where the other game is going to be.
On a prediction front, given that neither DC or Cuchulainns had overly impressive wins over teams from counties who have been much weaker in recent years, I'm going stick with my prediction of JM Tara final

Patrick, Paul and John (None) - Posts: 81 - 10/10/2008 10:08:00    116835

Patrick, Paul and John. Mr John Mitchells
How can you say Beeston is a bad pitch. It is one of the only pitches around that is full size. It does not hold water like your pitch in Liverpool and even though the only criticism I would have about it is that the council do not keep the grass low enough, at least it has grass on it. Greenback had a clay middle the length of the field in May.

Yorkie Kid (UK) - Posts: 174 - 10/10/2008 11:26:00    116898

Beeston isnt such a bad ground, if the grass is cut. Certainly no one at JM should be complaining about it.
But for facilities Im surprised that Didsbury or Birmingham was not chosen

Catface (UK) - Posts: 133 - 10/10/2008 12:23:17    116952

catface whp from mitchells is complaining about beeston no one you id**t. It has been a very good pitch for JM even though the grass on cud of grazed sheep for a month when they played the penine final but they were victorious so no complaints from the JM side but 2 teams have to play on it so surely it comes down to who wants it more. and if cuchullainns dont like it get their yorkshire council to sort it out surely there is a few lawn mowers up there. and as for no grass in the middle of Jm pitch maybe thats the reason why no one performs when they come to play there. Dont think so grow up lads

willferral (Sligo) - Posts: 117 - 10/10/2008 13:20:32    116986

i heard the mitchell's connolly's game is getting played in edinburgh next sunday with a 1 o'clock throw in can anyone confirm this?

scot (Tyrone) - Posts: 35 - 10/10/2008 14:39:31    117040

I'd hardly call a 120 mile drive for cuchullainns a home game but can see where you're coming from.

Cuchullainns have had to drive this 250mile round trip for all their games (althought they never travelled to Liverpool!!!) so I suppose you cut cut them a bit of slack here.

spyboy (Antrim) - Posts: 343 - 10/10/2008 14:55:43    117046

well spyboy mitchells did it the 3 yrs ago when they reformed and played a;ll their games away. di ht ecounty council do them any favours. NO so if you dont have your own pitch take it on the chin like every other club that did the exact same thing. Quit your jibber jabber and get on wi it

willferral (Sligo) - Posts: 117 - 11/10/2008 00:07:01    117267

Will I wasnt' complaining about the amount of travel cuchullainns have had to do, as it doesn't affect me, and I'm sure cuchullains aren't complaining either but others are raising the point about Tara having to travel to Leeds for the semi. I'm sure cuchullains would have travelled to Birmingham again if required but they were given a handy draw by the board so I'm sure they accept that gratefully.

But then again I'd be surprised if you even read my previous post going on your past posts a comments on the site.

spyboy (Antrim) - Posts: 343 - 13/10/2008 08:35:36    117694

taras will play yis anywhere lads as it wont affect the result .catch my drift

mucker (Donegal) - Posts: 479 - 13/10/2008 19:41:54    118306

I'm not so sure Demo3- Tara wont have seen a pitch like Beeston before, could be a telling factor. And dont expect a shower or food til ye get back to London. Cannot believe the haven't set this match for Didsbury- great pitch, changing facilities, showers and a bar for food and drink afterwards. It's only about 40mins further than Leeds- I'm sure Cuchulainns would've preferred it too, better for both teams??

Patrick, Paul and John (None) - Posts: 81 - 14/10/2008 10:06:33    118525

Patrick, Paul and John. Its obvious that you are one of the followers and not one who has to burst a gut to help give you your bragging rights.
Didsbury is on a hill, You have to pay to play there, Cold sandwiches (greatfully received). Sometimes you need a snorkler to stay above water with the amount that is on the floors in the changing rooms. There are soccer lines and post holes in important areas of the pitch (in the D).
Anyone playing in Leeds gets the option of using the facilities for changing and showering a short distance away like at Greenbank. Hot showers and food is put on in the Irish Centre afterwards and nobody ever complains about the hospitality.

As the old saying goes. "The best Footballers are on the Ditch"

Good look to all teams concerned on Sunday.

Yorkie Kid (UK) - Posts: 174 - 14/10/2008 10:34:16    118558

Lol- you're some buck Yorkie kid. ALL the pitches in Lancashire are better than Beeston.
Didsbury's pitch and facilities are up there with the best in the country- the £2 at the gate keeps it like this. Money is collected at most of the games in Lancashire and I for one dont begrudge it. I'd rather pay £2 and shower and eat and drink than travel home, cold, wet, mucky and hungry.
Once we've been able to change in the swimming pool at Beeston before a game- never after it cos it's closed. The rest of the time we've changed in the car park. We've never been invited to the Irish Centre from Beeston, but we have from Scott hall road. Where are the facilities a short walk away like in Greenbank?
I'd hate to see you Yorkshire lads baulk at the prices at PnH in Birmingham if ye ever got the chance to play there. I'm assuming you are a kid/student, so the uni's dont pay entry at PnH, but if you ever get the chance to play there with your county or club (highly unlikely) you'll be asked for £5

Patrick, Paul and John (None) - Posts: 81 - 14/10/2008 11:20:11    118615

Patrick Paul and John. £3 per adult, ladies and kids free for Pna hEireann in Birmingham. Needed for the upkeep like you say.

dowchabiy (UK) - Posts: 204 - 14/10/2008 11:36:38    118632

Sorry, I stand corrected, my mistake, £3

Patrick, Paul and John (None) - Posts: 81 - 14/10/2008 11:57:47    118649

I have always appreciated the food in leeds, and the hospitality. For consistency it is second to none. I have used the swiming pool changing rooms twice, once for lancashire and once when the game was early. but it was closed after the game.

Didsbury is by far the better grounds. I accept the remarks on the soccer goal posts, but these have never caused trouble. food can be hit and miss, but it is the oisin players who make them Im led to believe. As for the showers, im always glad they are there, unlike at most other venues.

anyway, good luck to JM and Cuchulainns. Up the north

Catface (UK) - Posts: 133 - 14/10/2008 12:16:06    118674

welcome to the UK Patrick, Paul & John. You are not one who has spent much time playing games in Leeds then.

Totally aware of the charges at PnH for the last 15 years.

Good luck to JM and Cuchullains on Sunday.

Yorkie Kid (UK) - Posts: 174 - 14/10/2008 13:29:06    118789

Just to clarify is the Mitchells vs Connolly's game in Edinburgh on Sunday?

halfbackwards (Galway) - Posts: 104 - 17/10/2008 08:40:13    120939