Meath U20 2026

Any word on how the Meath 20s are getting on in challenge games this year? Is the panel fully cut?
Any shocks?

Johnroyalloverdardis (Meath) - Posts: 6 - 20/02/2026 14:29:34    2657488

Replying To Johnroyalloverdardis:  "Any word on how the Meath 20s are getting on in challenge games this year? Is the panel fully cut?
Any shocks?"
Team should be very strong with a lot of lads from last year. Lads like billy smyth from the cheeky skryne club should be starting. Does anyone know if Michael mccivor is eligible again, some horse

Butterymcgee_royal (Meath) - Posts: 3 - 22/02/2026 12:20:07    2657759

Heard they beat Down in a challenge and Commons kicked 0-9. Anyone hear anything else about the game?

Sheridan2010louth (Meath) - Posts: 314 - 25/02/2026 08:39:09    2658488

Replying To Sheridan2010louth:  "Heard they beat Down in a challenge and Commons kicked 0-9. Anyone hear anything else about the game?"
Commons an outstanding player as he proved in club championship last year. Himself and perhaps McIvor likely to be drafted into seniors later this year.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 967 - 25/02/2026 11:14:16    2658513

Team vs Down
1. Charlie Finnegan (changed for Finn Moore at HT)
2. Sam Jordan 3. Sean Betson 4. Shane Callaghan
5. Eoghan McBearty 6. John Gormley 7. Kyle O'Brien
8. Charlie Gallagher 9. Michael McIvor
10. Billy Smyth 11. John Harkin 12. Sean Delaney
13. Cormac O'Donoghue 14. Cian Commons and I can't remember 15
Any news of other games starting 15?

Dunshaughlin4keegan (Meath) - Posts: 35 - 25/02/2026 21:58:12    2658657

Replying To Dunshaughlin4keegan:  "Team vs Down
Any news of other games starting 15?"
Good team. Missing Ciaran O'Hare, Liam Jennings and Ben Corkery who played under 20 last year for Meath and are eligible this year. Also missing Eamon Armstrong of course

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1580 - 26/02/2026 06:24:22    2658671

Replying To Dunshaughlin4keegan:  "Team vs Down
Any news of other games starting 15?"
Thanks, maybe 15 was Ben Corkery?

Sheridan2010louth (Meath) - Posts: 314 - 26/02/2026 11:17:48    2658698

Very hard to hear any news about under 20s for us lol I did hear we played ye last week, do any of you know how it went or if you had a strong team out? Iv heard rumblings that Derry and mayo are the 2 teams to beat at under 20 this year

Liftball (Armagh) - Posts: 61 - 12/03/2026 11:58:50    2660999

Replying To Liftball:  "Very hard to hear any news about under 20s for us lol I did hear we played ye last week, do any of you know how it went or if you had a strong team out? Iv heard rumblings that Derry and mayo are the 2 teams to beat at under 20 this year"
Think we won by 4 points

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1580 - 13/03/2026 09:39:13    2661057

Defenders needed. Espcially a no nonsense rough around the edges type. Any fitting the bill in the squad?

Coylesrighthand (Meath) - Posts: 37 - 19/03/2026 22:27:16    2661867

Replying To Coylesrighthand:  "Defenders needed. Espcially a no nonsense rough around the edges type. Any fitting the bill in the squad?"
Sam Jordan the stand out defender for me, from the same club as Sean Rafferty and that's actually a decent player comparison for what he could be.

Sheridan2010louth (Meath) - Posts: 314 - 21/03/2026 19:21:54    2662117

Any news on the team for tonight?

Dunshaughlin4keegan (Meath) - Posts: 35 - 25/03/2026 15:21:30    2663124

I suppose you can only play what's in front of you and beating Carlow by 19 points is a good start. Plenty to work on. Looks on paper to be an easy enough group they are in, so they might not be truly challenged until after the group stage.

Thought Mcivor just dominated in midfield. Commons and Johno Harkin looked very good too. I like the look of this team, very hardy in defence a typical Cathal OBric team, lots of quality in attack too.

Sheridan2010louth (Meath) - Posts: 314 - 25/03/2026 23:10:36    2663238

Good win last night. Carlow were very poor so it is hard to judge but can only beat what's in front of you. A lot of talent and still some things to work on. Laois at home next where you'd be confident enough of a win. Longford away after which will be a bit tougher, Longford won the Leinster minor in 2024 beating Dublin twice so I'd imagine they're not bad but would still be quite confident. Win that and it would be a semi final

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1580 - 26/03/2026 06:38:44    2663252

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "Good win last night. Carlow were very poor so it is hard to judge but can only beat what's in front of you. A lot of talent and still some things to work on. Laois at home next where you'd be confident enough of a win. Longford away after which will be a bit tougher, Longford won the Leinster minor in 2024 beating Dublin twice so I'd imagine they're not bad but would still be quite confident. Win that and it would be a semi final"
Carlow looked like a club team for periods of last night. Lonford had a decent win in Laois; it should be a better test next week. Kildare seem to be decent with two Athy boys starting, again, can't read too much into their victory last night.

O Bric seems to be an excellent manager. Has he helped out with any adult teams before? Does anyone know?

Faithfulmeath (Meath) - Posts: 48 - 26/03/2026 12:48:22    2663311

McIvor, Commons and Harkin and Jordan look like players that are nearly ready to be part of senior squad.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 967 - 26/03/2026 14:25:48    2663338

Replying To Faithfulmeath:  "Carlow looked like a club team for periods of last night. Lonford had a decent win in Laois; it should be a better test next week. Kildare seem to be decent with two Athy boys starting, again, can't read too much into their victory last night.

O Bric seems to be an excellent manager. Has he helped out with any adult teams before? Does anyone know?"
Think he took a team (maybe Tones) to a Keegan final in the late 00's or early 10's?

He's been a god send to Meath with what he's done with underage teams

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1580 - 26/03/2026 17:19:12    2663372

Replying To Sheridan2010louth:  "I suppose you can only play what's in front of you and beating Carlow by 19 points is a good start. Plenty to work on. Looks on paper to be an easy enough group they are in, so they might not be truly challenged until after the group stage.

Thought Mcivor just dominated in midfield. Commons and Johno Harkin looked very good too. I like the look of this team, very hardy in defence a typical Cathal OBric team, lots of quality in attack too."
Oh definitely super performance from the lads.
Finn Moore very good in the goals with a few great saves and consistent kickouts, he was definitely not to blame for the goals that went in. Pity he's going off to play soccer with Queens Park Rangers. Will be a loss to the county and most definitely rathkenny.

Johnroyalloverdardis (Meath) - Posts: 6 - 30/03/2026 10:10:15    2663912

Replying To Johnroyalloverdardis:  "Oh definitely super performance from the lads.
Finn Moore very good in the goals with a few great saves and consistent kickouts, he was definitely not to blame for the goals that went in. Pity he's going off to play soccer with Queens Park Rangers. Will be a loss to the county and most definitely rathkenny."
That's a big loss alright, do you know will he be around for the duration of the 20s championship?

Sheridan2010louth (Meath) - Posts: 314 - 30/03/2026 14:53:56    2663968

Replying To Sheridan2010louth:  "That's a big loss alright, do you know will he be around for the duration of the 20s championship?"
I've heard he will be here for definitely the Leinster campaign but if they get to all Ireland stages he could be gone for them.
Great going from the lads again last night to beat a defensive laoise team.
Hennessy and McIvor very impressive around the middle yet again.

Johnroyalloverdardis (Meath) - Posts: 6 - 02/04/2026 22:47:10    2664514