Meath V Galway

Mighty Meath are back. All bets are off.

That is all.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 605 - 29/06/2025 17:08:29    2622175

Replying To seadog54:  "What a game, best display in a long long time. Rafferty going off ? cost us big time, Galway scored 2.2 in that period. The never say die attitude was on view all over the field, played with great confidence and some outstanding displays from Rafferty, Caulfield, Menton and Jordie M. Conor Grey shored up a very good midfield. But this was a team effort and a fully deserved victory. Well done to all."
Well done to all.....The whole approach is refreshing and paying dividends .Game by game improvement where training is evident as a key tool to move forward. Full marks so far to Robbie Brennan & Co . Full credit also to Colm O Rourke for his efforts in trying to find the best available talent .He " teed " up the ball for Robbie ,but Robbie delivered the vital ingredients ....quality training sessions and above everything else instilling belief and team confidence in just a few months...Long may it continue

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1289 - 29/06/2025 17:08:44    2622176

Well done lads, brilliant!!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8808 - 29/06/2025 17:42:39    2622198

Replying To Proudroyal:  "Not sure about 30 thousand of us on Sunday?Apart from the Leinster final which was a novelty for some, we have had around 6/10 thousand fans at the rest of the games obviously the 10 ( higher attendance)when in Navan .I hope you're right and the county gets behind the lads and drives them on."
I take that back.What support we had today drove the lads on.Hopfully the whole county goes the next day.What a day.I wont talk about the game till tomorrow.Pints await hon the Royal.

Proudroyal (Meath) - Posts: 388 - 29/06/2025 18:03:52    2622216

Donegal up next, great to have another day out to look forward to.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2220 - 29/06/2025 18:41:43    2622244

My God how good was it to see Conor Gray make the impact he did. This is the reason us Meath fans have been desperate to see him out on the pitch. It's been a long road full of unfortunate circumstances since his tailteann cup year. He will be pushing to start for the donegal game after that performance. A fit and healthy Conor Gray raises this Meath teams ceiling.

Sheridan2010louth (Meath) - Posts: 253 - 29/06/2025 20:13:57    2622300

Congratulations on a famous win. The Royals are back. Looking forward to a good game where I'm sure both teams will leave everything out on the pitch

See you in Dublin for the banter.

Al_Maguire (Donegal) - Posts: 299 - 29/06/2025 20:16:18    2622303

This team must have aged me about 20 years in the last two months. But I wouldn't have it any other way. So proud of this team. I don't think it was the same quality of performance as against Dublin or Kerry, but yet again we ground out the result.

Yet again, our semi final opponents will be unbackable favourites and, as a result, all the pressure will be on them.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1389 - 29/06/2025 20:38:00    2622312

Well done today on a great win. I thought Galway were going to kick for home but your lads quickly shook the heads clear & deservedly took the win. Super stuff.

Think we last played ye in an All Ireland semi final in 1990 when a late Bernard Flynn goal broke our hearts. Where do the years go?

Looking forward to the buildup & the banter around Croke Park in a few weeks time!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9854 - 29/06/2025 21:17:23    2622336

Well done lads, gutted but a well deserved win. Enjoy the build up!

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1715 - 29/06/2025 21:20:49    2622338

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "Tickets are getting very scarce for Sunday now and it appears it won't be far off full capacity, you'd have to imagine they'll be at least 30 k meath fans there which would be great to see, Nally stand open now so like the leinster final hill 16 will be a sea of green, Good to see Costello and O Neill named on the squad really looking forward to this now I'm going for narrow 2 point Meath win."
Well done me oul pal! I can't believe I'm saying this but I'd love to see Meath go all the way!

Onion_Sack (Dublin) - Posts: 329 - 29/06/2025 21:25:02    2622344

Wow what a performance by Meath today.

Fully deserved by the way.

Well done. But job is not done yet.

I think ye will make the Final now v Kerry.

Robbie is doing a wonderful job and this team has so many young players.
Only going to get better and better.

There is an All Ireland or 2 in that squad for sure, and I reckon at least 2 All Stars this year.

Congrats again. Great stuff.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4391 - 29/06/2025 21:47:30    2622354

Replying To Onion_Sack:  "Well done me oul pal! I can't believe I'm saying this but I'd love to see Meath go all the way!"
Me too tbh. It would be some achievement.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4391 - 29/06/2025 21:48:24    2622356

Great win for Meath today. I had a sneaky feeling that Meath would win. Will you tell Royalbadger to keep out of the Louth forum. He is giving the decent foke of Meath a bad name.

Ollie2 (Louth) - Posts: 1077 - 29/06/2025 22:17:53    2622376

Replying To Ollie2:  "Great win for Meath today. I had a sneaky feeling that Meath would win. Will you tell Royalbadger to keep out of the Louth forum. He is giving the decent foke of Meath a bad name."
Every county has muppets Royal badger is ours, thanks ollie for the well wishes and a few posts from Dublin supporters and a few other counties aswell, it means allot, come on the royals.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 726 - 29/06/2025 23:24:12    2622414

Great win and great to have a brilliant bunch to follow again, Robbie deserves huge credit. Morris missed 2 or chances before he got his first score so to go on and kick 1-5 shows the character of the man. Himself and Costello will be marked men against Donegal so we will need more scores from Frayne the next day to have any chance.

Rafferty is some player by God his runs the length of the pitch are something else! Mention and Keogie absolute warriors what a performance from them both. Caulfield might just be our most important player he has been immense all year but I hope he is shown a clip of the crazy attempt at a point when he had 2 Meath players running over his shoulder and in for a goal, this was right after one of Hogan's missed attempts and Donegal will be far more ruthless than Galway at punishing us if we are as wasteful again.

Should Frayne be given the 2 point attempts over Hogan the next day? Our subs were fantastic, Hickey is a real baller, Conor Grey a real beast and I thought O hallorans hand pass into Jordy for one of his scores was brilliant and showed real intelligence.

Northsidegaels (Meath) - Posts: 249 - 30/06/2025 00:31:14    2622435

Still absolutely buzzing after that performance.

To go 6 up was brilliant and then to see Galway charge back at us and go 3 down looked like curtains. The old Meath spirit is back with this Team and they refused to lie down and lose.

Morris was unmarkable and credit to him after 3 misses he never let the head drop and really took off in the 2nd half. Raff and Keoggie are warriors and charger out time and again.

Donegal is a tough assignment but I thought that there was more in us, we didn't play to our potential and some of the lads will be better again the next day out.

Can't express my pride enough, have always loved supporting Meath but it's been a difficult couple of decades and now they are making us believe again.

Hon the Royals!

PS would also like to note the Galway supporters were very gracious in defeat a credit to their county

RoyalSteel (Meath) - Posts: 23 - 30/06/2025 08:02:29    2622464

Replying To Northsidegaels:  "Great win and great to have a brilliant bunch to follow again, Robbie deserves huge credit. Morris missed 2 or chances before he got his first score so to go on and kick 1-5 shows the character of the man. Himself and Costello will be marked men against Donegal so we will need more scores from Frayne the next day to have any chance.

Rafferty is some player by God his runs the length of the pitch are something else! Mention and Keogie absolute warriors what a performance from them both. Caulfield might just be our most important player he has been immense all year but I hope he is shown a clip of the crazy attempt at a point when he had 2 Meath players running over his shoulder and in for a goal, this was right after one of Hogan's missed attempts and Donegal will be far more ruthless than Galway at punishing us if we are as wasteful again.

Should Frayne be given the 2 point attempts over Hogan the next day? Our subs were fantastic, Hickey is a real baller, Conor Grey a real beast and I thought O hallorans hand pass into Jordy for one of his scores was brilliant and showed real intelligence."
Well done to Meath yesterday was no surprise to me because you are playing a great style off football good quick passing of the ball into the forwards who had plenty of space against a Galway team that are coming to a end. Also your Mid-field have improved with every game. Can you beat Donegal? You can definitely run them close but their team overall are probably a lot more battle harden and might run out winners by a few points but well done again

clutch (Louth) - Posts: 18 - 30/06/2025 08:36:34    2622468

What a cameo from Conor Grey, everything he touched turned to gold! Sean Rafferty went off for 7 minutes in the 2nd half and we conceded 2-3, that's no coincidence he's such a vital player for us. In total dreamworld here, just unbelievable that we're into an All Ireland semi final! Who can stop us now!!!! An Mhi Abu!!

LowerHogan (Meath) - Posts: 80 - 30/06/2025 09:10:25    2622483

It was great wakening up this morning and seeing all the well deserved plaudits for this talented and honest group of players. Quite ironic really when you remember the less than warm reception our fantastic teams of the 80's and 90's got nationally but as I said they totally deserve it all. I think it's always dangerous to think that a team will have years ahead to win titles, it may not come to pass and that's why i believe that, while yes it would take two monumental efforts to achieve what no one thought was possible, why not, yes we will be underdogs but belief is such a big part of sporting achievement and I Ithink this group of players/management have it in buckets.
Just wondering, for an all Ireland semi final , do the clubs get allocation of tickets for game? It's so long ago since we had to worry about it. I know things have changed a lot with online/ticketmaster etc but surely participating counties get an allocation of tickets but there again I don't think they got them for leinster final

Footnote (Meath) - Posts: 68 - 30/06/2025 11:42:38    2622573