Meath V Cork

I watched the Saturday Game last night and I thought the analysis of the match was diabolical.
For the first 25 minutes yesterday Cork were dominating midfield and winning all the dirty ball. Despite that Meath should have been almost out of sight by half time. Very impressed that when it wasn't happening for them that the Meath lads stuck at it and worked their socks off. Jack Flynn was generally poor and he is far too loose in the tackle. Menton was alright but he may have another season in him and that's it. It's time for Grey or McBride to put their hand up because Menton should not be first choice next year.

atta (Meath) - Posts: 708 - 25/05/2025 11:46:33    2612313

Replying To atta:  "I watched the Saturday Game last night and I thought the analysis of the match was diabolical.
For the first 25 minutes yesterday Cork were dominating midfield and winning all the dirty ball. Despite that Meath should have been almost out of sight by half time. Very impressed that when it wasn't happening for them that the Meath lads stuck at it and worked their socks off. Jack Flynn was generally poor and he is far too loose in the tackle. Menton was alright but he may have another season in him and that's it. It's time for Grey or McBride to put their hand up because Menton should not be first choice next year."
More than likely nobody on Sunday game analyst team even watched much of that game. There is a huge obsession in the media about Kerry and Dublin and immediately they went back to Corks performance against Kerry and how they were not as good here. Conditions were poor making shooting from distance almost impossible. It certainly didn't suit long range shooters like Frayne, Duke, Kinsella or Jack Flynn. Ball was also greasy. While Menton did well under the ball in 2nd half he struggled for mobility in tackling and supporting runners. At one stage he instructed Morris to run back and he remained in the 3 up. That being said he did read Martins kickout very well. Agree that Gray or McBride really need to be pushing on. Adam O'Neill not really a natural midfielder.There are obviously still doubts as neither have had championship minutes. Gray has age on his side but can't wait forever. Meath can't really afford to have Flynn or Menton caught defensively in one v one's, that is not their game.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 657 - 25/05/2025 12:52:52    2612353

Replying To Sheridan2010louth:  "I was still surprised Frayne was substituted, Curtis replaced him and made no impact, Frayne missed a few shots that he'd kick 9 times out of 10, if they went over we'd be talking about how great he was, not worried about the him at all he's still absolute quality. Hope the Jack Flynn knocks you spotted there isn't anything serious and he's available next week."
Meath played better when Frayne and Flynn went off Meath played way more direct and with pace .
I think if Brennan had make the obvious calls against Louth we'd have won and he made them yesterday .
I hope all the players are fit and available next week but I'm not sure I'd be starting Flynn .

mmc (Meath) - Posts: 304 - 25/05/2025 13:10:28    2612357

Great win lads.

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1103 - 25/05/2025 14:24:12    2612383

Replying To mmc:  "Meath played better when Frayne and Flynn went off Meath played way more direct and with pace .
I think if Brennan had make the obvious calls against Louth we'd have won and he made them yesterday .
I hope all the players are fit and available next week but I'm not sure I'd be starting Flynn ."
Yes........a very mixed bag but it seems he learns as we go and that is fine .. tightened up defence,..... quicker to breaking ball showing training is used to meet the needs shown encouraging showing progress. ... game plan direct attack by Costello Caulfield ,Morris ,rather than doing an excursion around the arc all the time with the new set up. A lot more work to be done ,and we have to remember Cork were not strong opposition and we were very poor in the first half. Would i have settled a few short months ago for where we are now......YES.. i call that progress and the only realistic target for now . I see good potential in direct play because we have the players as above to do the job and can score from long range . I suggest we have limited options for fit substitutions at present and therefore there is an element of gamble that is hard to avoid..

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1287 - 25/05/2025 14:30:01    2612385

Rafferty and Coffey were excellent in defence with Caulfield much improved from the Leinster final. Bryan Menton was exceptional in the second half especially after Flynn went off. Costello and Morris are pure class and James Conlon had a good second half. Overall it was a mixed performance but great to win ugly. Bring on the Rossies.

kingofclubs (Meath) - Posts: 350 - 25/05/2025 14:45:11    2612392

Great to get the win. After a shocking first 20 minutes and with Cork having the wind in the second half I was fearing the worst. Credit to the players and management who stuck at it and the subs made a difference. It looked like the Leinster final took it out of us early on the confidence must have been knocked after all the misses but fair play for plugging away.

The reality is Cork were poor and again we struggled at midfield for the first 25 minutes or so. Menton came into it in the second half but Flynn was well off it. Concerns also with the goalkeeper with a number of kick outs going out over the sideline. In his defence the conditions were very tricky and he made a few good saves and is good from the places balls.

Costello was excellent. Only for him in that first half we were in big trouble. Great goal by Morris too. The direct running really worked when we got it together with runners off the shoulder. I found it strange in the first half Conlan was 1:1 in the full forward line but little or no ball went in at a time when our lateral play was going nowhere.

All in all a great start to the group and sets us up well for the trip to Roscommon. Still worried about midfield but on the plus side our defence was much more solid and Costello is looks top class on his day.

men_of_49 (Meath) - Posts: 2013 - 25/05/2025 15:42:00    2612409

Replying To atta:  "I watched the Saturday Game last night and I thought the analysis of the match was diabolical.
For the first 25 minutes yesterday Cork were dominating midfield and winning all the dirty ball. Despite that Meath should have been almost out of sight by half time. Very impressed that when it wasn't happening for them that the Meath lads stuck at it and worked their socks off. Jack Flynn was generally poor and he is far too loose in the tackle. Menton was alright but he may have another season in him and that's it. It's time for Grey or McBride to put their hand up because Menton should not be first choice next year."
Very lazy analysis as usual from RTE, clearly gave his summary based on watching the highlights. For an organisation that should be promoting the game, it's generally let's show extended highlights of the game we showed live instead of getting more cameras to non-div 1 games or indeed the teams outside the perceived top 8.

My thoughts on the game itself, we were very nervy early on and were snatching at chances especially for 2 pointers that weren't on. I suspect they were all very conscious of the need to win our home game and that mixed a little with the Leinster final hangover.

2nd half they knew the 2 pointers weren't on against the wind so worked into scoring opportunities much better. Think we've loads to come as we won with our forwards not playing particularly well. Even Matthew who had a great return failed to slip Jordi in for a 2nd goal with a poor pass and and missed a couple too but Cork like other teams were terrified when he and Jordi ran at them. I think they'll all be better next week as all the pressure on the Rossies.

Defence was brilliant and we won a huge amount of dirty ball unlike the 2nd half against Louth. I'd have taken any win at all but to win by 4 and not nearing our peak is very positive even if Cork weren't great - you still have to beat them and in years gone by we wouldn't have.

Looking forward to the trip next week and hopefully a win that allows us a free shot at Kerry.

Hon the Royals!

RoyalSteel (Meath) - Posts: 21 - 25/05/2025 17:07:46    2612447

Great result and great effort & great credit to Robbie and players. For context, this is a team who has beaten,among others, Dublin and Cork in recent Championship games compared to the take of 'it'll take 5 years to be competitive'.
Sure what would laptop experts like us know anyway. To improve this team which has significant potential, I believe Harry Hogan needs to work on his kickouts, as too many going over the sideline or not to a teammate. Brian Menton needs to stop being a big, nice guy and use his stature and ability to work hard to influence games more & both Joey Conlan and Ruairi KInsella need to up their scoring accuracy . Conor Duke has a bigger part to play during games also,as recent performances have been below what he is capable of.
Matthew Costelloe is a joy to watch but we cant be depending on him all the time. Adam O Neill and Cathal Hickey are serious options to be used by Robbie appropriately.
Even commenting in these terms shows how much the Meath team have progressed so far under Robbie Brennan's management compared to the last 25 years. It is refreshing and great credit to him and the players. Skys the limit. Well done lads. Great credit to ye all.

meath1967 (Meath) - Posts: 59 - 26/05/2025 00:31:07    2612574

Replying To nobull456:  "Yes........a very mixed bag but it seems he learns as we go and that is fine .. tightened up defence,..... quicker to breaking ball showing training is used to meet the needs shown encouraging showing progress. ... game plan direct attack by Costello Caulfield ,Morris ,rather than doing an excursion around the arc all the time with the new set up. A lot more work to be done ,and we have to remember Cork were not strong opposition and we were very poor in the first half. Would i have settled a few short months ago for where we are now......YES.. i call that progress and the only realistic target for now . I see good potential in direct play because we have the players as above to do the job and can score from long range . I suggest we have limited options for fit substitutions at present and therefore there is an element of gamble that is hard to avoid.."
Bit surprised with some of the comments here after the win agains Cork. First of all to say Cork were poor opposition is a bit strange when in their last few league matches they beat louth and Cavan and ran Kerry close so i would not be under-estimating the performance v cork.
Second it was a bit of a shock to the system for both teams to play in the deluge of rain sonce we were blessed with perfect playing conditions for the last month so a it was always going to be a mixed bacg for both teams and the fact that Meath adapted better and overcame cork makes this win more impressive.
I have been very impressed with RB in terms of his tactics/ coaching and mostly in his ability to identify what we need bring into each game based on what opponents we are playing. We have beed very good in defence when needed and in artack and around the middle (breaks especially). I know Louth was a bit of a bad day but this year is like night and day compared to the previous few years.
Of course we are not the finished article but who is. I would say we are way ahead of where any of us thought we would be and I am excited about the rest of the All Ireland series!!

JonnieG (Meath) - Posts: 251 - 26/05/2025 11:56:44    2612692

For me before the game, Given the disappointing loss in in Leinster final. For such a young team we just needed to get over the line by any means possible. Because a loss meant going to Hyde and playing Kerry needing a result was always going to very tough and a lot pressure on a young team.

The first 20 mins you could see how much pressure they were under. lacking composure in front of goal. I thought this was the most disappointing, after going for 2 pointers and missing them, we didn't. just calm down and recycle, and work the ball into more score-able positions. But hopefully we can learn from this. And we were always going to be vulnerable early on. Lucky Cork didn't make the most for there chances either.

The pleasing part was the second half performance over all. Brennan seems to have learnt from his mistakes in Leinster and make changes earlier. When the rain came down this kinda suited Meath ie Menton and keoghan came into more with the slower ball. I am a fan of Frayne and I think had stayed on with the rain it might have suited him also, I think he might have got some frees Hogan missed. never the less the result justifies the changes, So I am happy with this.

Happy Conlon came up suit good scores in second half also. But we need more out of Duke, Kinsella, Conlon Frayne going forward. If we can get more out these players I think we could worry even the top teams.
I would love to see one or either of Gray and Mc Bride get 15 20 mins the next day. Lets see if Brenann could get them boys firing, Its needed in the middle. One step at the time delighted to get over the line. even against a Cork team that did,nt real play well on the day. Hopefully now we keep in going against Roscommon.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1273 - 26/05/2025 11:59:06    2612693

Great to get the win after the disappointment of the leinster final.First half pretty poor from both teams 1 all after 20 mins or so and we kicked a few bad wides.Playing with the wind as well going 20 mins with 1 point wont do against better teams that is a worry.I feared for us at half time(with Cork having the wind) but we dug deep and showed grit in the second half to grind out the win.Cosstello good again when him and morris run at teams we get some joy.I thought Caulfield and Coffey did well especially 2nd half.Rafferty was very good again a real find and hopefully he will get only better.Fair play to James Conlon cant of been easy missing his grandads funeral and kicked 2 lovely points.He making great runs but we aren't putting the ball into him quick enough and when we do hes then marked.Midfield came into it the 2nd half but Flynn doesn't look himself(injury maybe)and menton in fairness finished strong.Hopefully Duke and Frayne can find their league form both very good in the league but haven't been at the same level the last couple of games.I thought o neil and Hickey done well coming on not easy in poor conditions the 2nd half.Fair play to the lads though and now we go to Roscommon with a win under our belts and definitely more pressure on them now so hopefully we might play with a bit more freedom.Things definitely looking up beating a decent Offaly side,the Dubs and Cork in the championship seemed a good way off at the start of the year and hopefully we can take another scalp or 2.

Proudroyal (Meath) - Posts: 363 - 26/05/2025 12:28:10    2612700

Replying To meath1967:  "Great result and great effort & great credit to Robbie and players. For context, this is a team who has beaten,among others, Dublin and Cork in recent Championship games compared to the take of 'it'll take 5 years to be competitive'.
Sure what would laptop experts like us know anyway. To improve this team which has significant potential, I believe Harry Hogan needs to work on his kickouts, as too many going over the sideline or not to a teammate. Brian Menton needs to stop being a big, nice guy and use his stature and ability to work hard to influence games more & both Joey Conlan and Ruairi KInsella need to up their scoring accuracy . Conor Duke has a bigger part to play during games also,as recent performances have been below what he is capable of.
Matthew Costelloe is a joy to watch but we cant be depending on him all the time. Adam O Neill and Cathal Hickey are serious options to be used by Robbie appropriately.
Even commenting in these terms shows how much the Meath team have progressed so far under Robbie Brennan's management compared to the last 25 years. It is refreshing and great credit to him and the players. Skys the limit. Well done lads. Great credit to ye all."
And Billy Hogan too!!!

meath1967 (Meath) - Posts: 59 - 26/05/2025 12:34:36    2612703

A great start, in conditions at bad as you'll ever see, we wanted it more and got over the line. But a very mixed mag, and we will need more if we are to take the step up and start challenging Division 1 teams. But let's call a spade a spade, Cork were muck, they looked so average.

First half was poor, we had a strong wind and kept trying to play the conditions far too much. Snatching at 2 pointers, Frayne really had an off day and we just struggled to create. The goal got us going, but we probably left 10 behind us, and if the rain didn't come - who knows what might of happened.

Midfield is definitely a bit of an issue, much better in the 2nd half but we really struggled early on. Jack Flynn needs to pull his socks up because McBride or Gray are going to get an opportunity, and Adam O'Neill was an improvement in the 2nd half too. So a lot of questions marks over him. Menton had a few good catches in the 2nd half, but not sure he can last a full 70 at championship pace.

But a few good things, our half back line is as good as any in the country, Caufield, Coffey and Keoghan were immense, and Matt Costello really is a star - could play for any team in the country. Morris was very effective too, that turn of foot he has is very dangerous. Things didn't go James Conlan's way for most of the game, but he kept going and going and chipped in with a few crucial scores. A bit more needed from a few others though.

I see no reason why we can't beat Roscommon, they've won one game since beating Cork in the league in mid March and that was against London in the Connacht Championship. No doubt it'll be tough but a win guarantees essentially guarantees us at least a home preliminary 1/4 final, and a shot to nothing against Kerry.

Cabbagepatch1667 (Meath) - Posts: 17 - 26/05/2025 12:36:07    2612706

Result was the most important thing on Saturday. You could see the hangover from two weeks previously in the first half particularly. But we got the win which was fantastic, regardless of how it came about. That'll shake off the cobwebs and hopefully result in a more cohesive performance in Roscommon on Saturday. We need to go into that game assuming that only a win will do as Cork could easily turn Roscommon over meaning we've the possibility of a three way tie and missing out on points difference.
Costello, in my view, is probably the most exciting attacking player for us since maybe Stephen Bray. His ability to glide past defenders with ease and hit scores from either foot must make him a nightmare to defend against.

That shower in the second half brought me back to Mullingar in 2009. It was like being in a monsoon.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1387 - 26/05/2025 12:39:47    2612708

Anyone know what the attendance was

Up4deMatch (Meath) - Posts: 21 - 26/05/2025 15:52:04    2612796

Replying To Up4deMatch:  "Anyone know what the attendance was"
It said 5000 on RTe but I' think they was more than that there.The stand was full and was a fair crowd on the terrace.

Proudroyal (Meath) - Posts: 363 - 26/05/2025 18:05:11    2612856

Replying To Proudroyal:  "It said 5000 on RTe but I' think they was more than that there.The stand was full and was a fair crowd on the terrace."
I don't think that number accounts for juveniles but yeah I reckon there was about 7000 there

LowerHogan (Meath) - Posts: 75 - 27/05/2025 12:22:09    2613021

Replying To LowerHogan:  "I don't think that number accounts for juveniles but yeah I reckon there was about 7000 there"
Hard to see how we ever got the 20,000 crowds into the old ground back in the day.

seasiderblues (Meath) - Posts: 354 - 27/05/2025 16:32:20    2613091

Replying To Up4deMatch:  "Anyone know what the attendance was"
Around 8k was mentioned by the Meath GAA Facebook page

MarkMyWords (Meath) - Posts: 523 - 27/05/2025 19:24:22    2613136