If over the next few years Leinster championship becomes genuinely competitive again it could be a game changer. If a few counties thought they could win it each year it would be a great incentive, players would have much more motivation each year. Seeing another team other than Dublin winning this year's Leinster championship should be an incentive to other football counties in the province. Dublin later on in the year will probably be stronger. With the growth of the GAA in Dublin on the last 20 years Dublin will never be that far away. GreenMan1987 (Meath) - Posts: 66 - 28/04/2025 22:47:22 2605180 Link 1 |
Fair play to the Dublin support, after so much success, an ye almost came back, almost getting a air of happiness towards meath winning, probably cause yer not out an will undoubtedly end up getting much further, "as long as it doesn't happen again" need this rivalry back, unfortunately in view it's because ye are coming majorly back instead of us moving forward, but certainly enjoyed the win otherlad (Meath) - Posts: 142 - 29/04/2025 01:41:06 2605205 Link 1 |
Bringing Dublin out of Croke Park and the shock of the provincial championships occurs! Who would have thought it?! legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 8755 - 29/04/2025 07:09:49 2605219 Link 0 |
After Dublin getting beat by Meath, we will now have to endure another 5 years of provincial football in April. Its a pity, another few years of Dublin wins, allied to constant Kerry munster wins and Galway dominating in Connacht - the clamor to move them to the start of the season was becoming irresistible. tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1343 - 29/04/2025 09:01:35 2605232 Link 1 |
Kildare need to up it big time. Talk the talk but that is about it. Louth are boxing above their weight yet again and are flying at underage also. Offaly not far off. Meath at underage have got their act together recently - plenty of talent coming through. There is a lot to admire about this new Meath team - youth, experience, speed, grit, steel, hunger and most importantly now - belief.... I have been to a few of the Dublin underage games - not a lot of talent coming through unfortunately. I think the Leinster Championship will be more competitive now for a few years. The confidence other teams and players will have gained from seeing the Dubs being beaten on Sunday cannot be under estimated. And this is good for the Province. Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4181 - 29/04/2025 09:08:19 2605237 Link 0 |
I disagree, All Ireland is obviously the ultimate prize but provincials do mean a lot to most counties. Your ignoring that there are not many prizes on offer for inter county teams and because of GAA tradition a provincial still tops winning a league. Leinster might not have meant much to Dublin after such a long period of dominance or for Kerry in Munster. Even here still it in Dublin's/ Kerry's interest to get to/ win the provincial finals, Dublin more likely to end up in a group of death this year by not being first or second seeds. Winning a provincial title or titles has been important to many teams journeys in becoming competitive for the bigger prize in subsequent years. GreenMan1987 (Meath) - Posts: 66 - 29/04/2025 09:48:01 2605253 Link 0 |
The crowd at the Leinster final should settle this debate. Let's see how it compares to 2010. When it was 48,875. That will indicate how prestigious Leinster remains. Especially given the long drought for both counties- relatively speaking. CARPS (Carlow) - Posts: 844 - 29/04/2025 09:58:50 2605256 Link 1 |
And this is exactly why we have no time for ye lot.... As we say in Dublin - anyone but Kerry...! All your success and you are still not happy. This was a shadow of a Dublin team - the team of a few years ago would have won Sam no matter where they played. That was an exceptional team. Only Mayo were able to put it up to us - what was your excuse.... ****** in a row, inc 1 in an empty stadium. Go eat some more sour grapes now like a good boy....! Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4181 - 29/04/2025 10:29:13 2605266 Link 0 |
All Dublin supporters know in their heart of hearts that their All Ireland wins with home advantage don't carry the same weight in gold of respect as counties who succeed without that advantage. It is what it is. We all move on with that universal agreement and understanding. It'll be interesting alright to see what sort of crowd this year's Leinster final attracts. I have sympathy for Offaly who have missed out on the All Ireland because Clare had the benefit of a lopsided draw in their favour. legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 8755 - 29/04/2025 11:19:52 2605289 Link 0 |
That would be one measure we could use to compare the worth of the Leinster championship between 2025 and 2010. I would expect a good attendance for this final although not quiet as good as 2010 as I think less people are inclined to go to all championship matches (not just provincial matches) than was the case in 2010 (partly as a result of time of the year it is on and more compressed championship structure). You also said this final will be a glorified O'Byrne Cup final now so we could also compare this years Leinster final attendance against O'Byrne final attendances over the years. GreenMan1987 (Meath) - Posts: 66 - 29/04/2025 11:31:02 2605296 Link 0 |
Looking on ticketmaster - no upper deck tickets on sale and all, and the 4 corners of the lower decks still have quite a few tickets left.
Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4181 - 29/04/2025 11:50:46 2605308 Link 0 |
Game is in 12 days time!
Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 2270 - 29/04/2025 12:13:52 2605320 Link 0 |
Hopefully a big attendance and a cracking game. Late ticket sale surge is sure to occur hopefully. Should be a great atmosphere. I personally think all lower level and the majority of the Hill will sell out, which will be super. Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4181 - 29/04/2025 12:40:14 2605333 Link 0 |
Yeh man, you're right, and we really were so sorry that it had to be Kerry we beat in the final to secure that 5 in a row, it just didn't feel right. It was like we were rubbing their faces in it, so unfair.
realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8744 - 29/04/2025 20:10:39 2605515 Link 1 |
Ah sure look, we all know that AI's won by teams coming out of the hurling province of Munster aren't worth paper. Sure Kerry won a Sam in 1980 having played just 3 games. You'd be embarrassed to pick up a Celtic Cross with that effort and the poor Dubs having to play 8 or 9 games some years to top the podium. :)
Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4742 - 29/04/2025 21:55:51 2605531 Link 1 |