Leinster Football Championship

Replying To otherlad:  "Well hopefully the ref awards a penalty this time so ye have nothing to windge about"
It was never a penalty either. Colm O'Rourke said the same on the Sunday Game that evening.
Sheridan threw himself forward to get the fumbled ball and fell into the goalmouth. There was no foul at all from Louth.
It's very easy to see from any replay.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2299 - 29/04/2025 10:18:01    2605262

Replying To WanPintWin:  "It was never a penalty either. Colm O'Rourke said the same on the Sunday Game that evening.
Sheridan threw himself forward to get the fumbled ball and fell into the goalmouth. There was no foul at all from Louth.
It's very easy to see from any replay."
See replay below

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z0iZGmFHInA

Awful Meath jerseys too.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1348 - 29/04/2025 10:56:41    2605278

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "See replay below

Awful Meath jerseys too."
Yeah ,I prefer the 96 jersey myself lol

Proudroyal (Meath) - Posts: 338 - 29/04/2025 11:07:57    2605283

Replying To Pikeman96:  "Because if the ball goes out for a 45 after the hooter has sounded, you're allowed to take a 45. It doesn't matter if there's been one or two or even twenty 45s already taken after the hooter.

Similar with a free. Let's say Kildare had only been a point down and were awarded a free-in from 60 metres after the hooter sounded. They'd be allowed to take it.

Now let's say a Kildare man collects it 20 metres from goal, and he's immediately wrestled to the ground. That's the end of that passage of play. But it wouldn't be the end of the match, as they'd be allowed to take that free too, pop it over the bar, and send things to extra time. Otherwise the Louth player who committed the foul would be rewarded for fouling, and Kildare would be out of the championship in hugely unfair and controversial circumstances."
What would happen in the event the Louth man kicked the ball over his own bar? Game over and Louth win by a point?

iarmhi_an_mhaith (Westmeath) - Posts: 279 - 29/04/2025 11:40:29    2605302

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "See replay below

Awful Meath jerseys too."
I've seen it many times. I've also mentioned the incredible block by Paddy Keenan which didn't get rewarded as it should have.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2299 - 29/04/2025 12:02:52    2605313

Replying To Sweetspot:  "I sincerely hope the Leinster council are taking notes on the difference playing semis outside of Croker does for fairness of competition, atmosphere, regional town economies and overall matchday experience. Long may they last. Well done to Louth and Meath although the idea of it not being Kildare dethroning the Dubs makes me physically sick."
Keep the faith Sweetspot. There's a really good team in there busting to get out. If we'd taken one of those goal chances I'd have been confident of a good run in the Sam Maguire.

There's a shake up starting in football with Leinster teams on the rise. With Meath, Dublin, Louth, Offaly, Kildare and Westmeath all being of a decent and similar standard - we should all push each other on.

brianb (Kildare) - Posts: 435 - 29/04/2025 14:24:45    2605391

Replying To iarmhi_an_mhaith:  "What would happen in the event the Louth man kicked the ball over his own bar? Game over and Louth win by a point?"
You raise a very good point (and no pun intended with the use of the word "point" there!).

The Regulation on the hooter states:
After the hooter sounds, the end of the first half or full time is signalled by the referee on the next occasion that the ball goes out of play for a score, for a wide or for a sideline kick. If a 45 has been awarded but not taken, before the hooter sounds, the free kick can be taken and, if it results in a score, without any other player touching the ball, that score shall be awarded.

There's no distinction between a score by the attacking team and an own goal or own point by the defending team. So long as there's a score of any type after the hooter sounds, that would be the end of it.

So on Sunday, with Kildare three points down and hooter gone, if that Louth defender had kicked the ball over his own bar instead of out for a 45, it would have been game over.

Louth would have won by two instead of the one you mistakenly say, but the key point is that would have been the end of it, and they would have won.

I'd say the rule-makers didn't envisage that one when they writing it!

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2839 - 29/04/2025 23:35:42    2605544

Incidentally, on actually reading that Regulation properly now, there's an anomaly as regards what's supposed to happen if there's a 45 awarded after the hooter sounds.

Note how the Regulation states "if a 45 has been awarded but not taken, before the hooter sounds, ......"

That second Kildare 45 on Sunday was not awarded before hooter sounded. So it would seem to follow that the referee was wrong to allow it be taken, and should instead have blown full time.

However, the Regulation also states the game shall end "on the next occasion that the ball goes out of play for a score, for a wide, or a sideline kick". But as the ball had been put out for a 45, none of those things had happened, so the referee would have been wrong to blow full time.

Who'd be a referee, eh? Sometimes you really would be wrong no matter what you did!

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2839 - 29/04/2025 23:38:54    2605545

Replying To Pikeman96:  "Incidentally, on actually reading that Regulation properly now, there's an anomaly as regards what's supposed to happen if there's a 45 awarded after the hooter sounds.

Note how the Regulation states "if a 45 has been awarded but not taken, before the hooter sounds, ......"

That second Kildare 45 on Sunday was not awarded before hooter sounded. So it would seem to follow that the referee was wrong to allow it be taken, and should instead have blown full time.

However, the Regulation also states the game shall end "on the next occasion that the ball goes out of play for a score, for a wide, or a sideline kick". But as the ball had been put out for a 45, none of those things had happened, so the referee would have been wrong to blow full time.

Who'd be a referee, eh? Sometimes you really would be wrong no matter what you did!"
This is what happens when you introduce a clatter of new rules ( most ridiculous ) at the one time… FRC are a bunch of clowns…..

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 3784 - 30/04/2025 08:07:29    2605567

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "
Replying To Pikeman96:  "Incidentally, on actually reading that Regulation properly now, there's an anomaly as regards what's supposed to happen if there's a 45 awarded after the hooter sounds.

Who'd be a referee, eh? Sometimes you really would be wrong no matter what you did!"
This is what happens when you introduce a clatter of new rules ( most ridiculous ) at the one time… FRC are a bunch of clowns….."
I am with you on this....
The amount of changes in one go was bonkers.
And still tweaks needed to it.

The biggest issue I have though is the highly condensed season.
eg Championship starting the week after a League Final.
Like come on lads.... get some joined up thinking in play here....
Getting the schedule right should Not be a difficult thing to do.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4184 - 30/04/2025 09:55:43    2605589

Replying To Fionn:  "
Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "[quote=Pikeman96:  "Incidentally, on actually reading that Regulation properly now, there's an anomaly as regards what's supposed to happen if there's a 45 awarded after the hooter sounds.

This is what happens when you introduce a clatter of new rules ( most ridiculous ) at the one time… FRC are a bunch of clowns….."
I am with you on this....
The amount of changes in one go was bonkers.
And still tweaks needed to it.

The biggest issue I have though is the highly condensed season.
eg Championship starting the week after a League Final.
Like come on lads.... get some joined up thinking in play here....
Getting the schedule right should Not be a difficult thing to do."]Same here .It's a joke. But try telling that to some of the pure GAA folk, they'll eat you without salt.

Overthebar53 (Carlow) - Posts: 339 - 30/04/2025 10:07:28    2605591

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "

The rule changes were needed.
The GAA prohibit changing rules except every 5 years.
Therefore, this year is the only chance to trial new rules. Therefore a load of new rules had to be tried together.
There will always be confusion when new rules are introduced.
A few errors here and there are a small sacrifice to get a game people can watch and stays interesting to the end.

Under last years rules, Kildare would have closed out the match from the 50th minute, fouling, holding possession, feigning injury, pulling all players back in defense and starting rows etc. The last 20 minutes would have been pure ****.
Instead we got a big comeback from Louth and an exiting finish where Kildare had a chance to level it up right at the end.

You constantly state you hate the new rules, you must have really loved all the ****housery that went on in the last 20 mins of every close game over the past 10 years.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1348 - 30/04/2025 10:53:57    2605611

Replying To brianb:  "Keep the faith Sweetspot. There's a really good team in there busting to get out. If we'd taken one of those goal chances I'd have been confident of a good run in the Sam Maguire.

There's a shake up starting in football with Leinster teams on the rise. With Meath, Dublin, Louth, Offaly, Kildare and Westmeath all being of a decent and similar standard - we should all push each other on."
Was in St. Conleths this evening with a couple of work colleagues of mine and I'm glad I went. Football as it should be played, history as it should be made, etc, etc.
No evidence of other sports anywhere near.
Well done to both sides,.
Congraths to An Lu.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 3166 - 30/04/2025 22:13:05    2605865

@ForeverBlue2 - you're the one that introduced your own new rule, that if a ball passes directly over a post, you determine which way it would have bounced, and award either a wide or score accordingly.

You've never answered what exactly you would do if your trigonometric cognitations concluded that the ball would have actually have rebounded back into play.

I'd love to see you put that rule into writing and absolutely copperfasten it against any possible loopholes or misinterpretations.

Indeed, I live in continued hope that since you obviously know it all, you take up my suggestion that you become involved yourself at the highest possible level of administration, so you can resolve all the problems and introduce all the solutions.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2839 - 30/04/2025 22:47:46    2605873

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "This is what happens when you introduce a clatter of new rules ( most ridiculous ) at the one time… FRC are a bunch of clowns….."
Therefore, this year is the only chance to trial new rules. Therefore a load of new rules had to be tried together.
A few errors here and there are a small sacrifice to get a game people can watch and stays interesting to the end.

Under last years rules, Kildare would have closed out the match from the 50th minute, fouling, holding possession, feigning injury, pulling all players back in defense and starting rows etc. The last 20 minutes would have been pure ****.
Instead we got a big comeback from Louth and an exiting finish where Kildare had a chance to level it up right at the end.

You constantly state you hate the new rules, you must have really loved all the ****housery that went on in the last 20 mins of every close game over the past 10 years."]I don't have an exact memory of the game, but I'm quite confident we were not ahead on the 50th minute. We took an early lead but were 4 points down at half time and it was very much Kildare chasing the game the whole second half. Louth also absolutely played keep ball for the last five minutes of the game.

Sweetspot (Kildare) - Posts: 345 - 30/04/2025 23:05:42    2605878

Replying To Sweetspot:  "I sincerely hope the Leinster council are taking notes on the difference playing semis outside of Croker does for fairness of competition, atmosphere, regional town economies and overall matchday experience. Long may they last. Well done to Louth and Meath although the idea of it not being Kildare dethroning the Dubs makes me physically sick."
Ha ha, how many years and how many away games, have you been waiting around for Dublin to loose to make that point.

A long time and many away Championship away games, spanning the guts of a decade.

Advancedmark (Mayo) - Posts: 24 - 01/05/2025 00:49:39    2605895

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "This is what happens when you introduce a clatter of new rules ( most ridiculous ) at the one time… FRC are a bunch of clowns….."

You constantly state you hate the new rules, you must have really loved all the ****housery that went on in the last 20 mins of every close game over the past 10 years."]New rules generally good but in admittedly few championship games ive seen teams are finding ways even around stop clock to frustrate team chasing game.

The change to goalkeeper has also reintroduced form of blanket defence. Teams will opt for negativity unfortunately in big games. Be interesting to see what knock out stages are like.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3470 - 01/05/2025 05:47:04    2605908

Replying To Sweetspot:  "The rule changes were needed.

You constantly state you hate the new rules, you must have really loved all the ****housery that went on in the last 20 mins of every close game over the past 10 years."
I don't have an exact memory of the game, but I'm quite confident we were not ahead on the 50th minute. We took an early lead but were 4 points down at half time and it was very much Kildare chasing the game the whole second half. Louth also absolutely played keep ball for the last five minutes of the game."]The match was level with 10 mins to go.

Louth then pulled ahead. The only reason Louth were able to play keep ball was because Kildare didnt push up on their men and go man to man.
I can never understand a team who are losing the game sitting back defending with 5 mins to go.

Either way, under the old rules, it would have been a draw (1-15 to 18 points) and Kildare would have been 3 points up with 10 mins to go.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1348 - 01/05/2025 10:48:15    2605958