i hear kevin o grady has retired from inter county, thank u kevin you gave great service, hope u have good memories Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 3005 - 06/08/2025 14:49:33 2630283 Link 0 |
I see Geraldine O'Hanrahans have now withdrawn from the football championship alogether. Walkovers for the other teams to be awarded in what should have been their remaining three matches.
Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 3008 - 07/08/2025 15:35:24 2630442 Link 0 |
Not surprised. Looking at the clubs results across the grades apart from a few ok results down the lower divisions at u16 it's a sorry sight of hammerings and concessions in all honesty. It's kinda a real blot on the copy book for Wexford GAA the state of things in New Ross although from what I hear even soccer and rugby in the town have regressed also at an alarming rate. It's a town of 9k people odd but no one seems to have any idea of what to do with it. tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1550 - 07/08/2025 17:15:54 2630462 Link 0 |
Not going to lie, that is one of the saddest moments in the history of Wexford GAA
ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 619 - 07/08/2025 18:40:49 2630470 Link 0 |
we were just talking last night they had a really good minor football team in late 70s, won a couple of jim byrne cups and as far as i remember very few if any of them ever came through, there was several fantastic players on that team, was fr jackie over them?
Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 3005 - 10/08/2025 17:35:59 2630890 Link 0 |
How is it a blot on the copy book of Wexford GAA? What are the rest of us supposed to do? I'd know a few members of that club, they are good people, but I don't see how any of the rest of us that don't really know the problems they are facing can tell them how to solve them.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16823 - 10/08/2025 17:52:23 2630895 Link 0 |
Of course it's a blot. There's many senior members of Wexford County Board both past and present that would say the same. That's not to say it's the fault of Wexford County Board or the fault of the club or who's at fault, in fact much of the blame probably lies elsewhere in terms of how New Ross has developed economically and from a demographic point of view. But that doesn't negate the fact that it's an issue, any sane wexford gael would be of the same opinion. tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1550 - 11/08/2025 08:52:20 2631024 Link 0 |
I'm not saying their lack of success isn't an issue, but it's their issue. Your choice of words of "a blot on the copybook of Wexford GAA" suggested that you thought it was somehow all our fault collectively. Just to show the problem is not just confined to New Ross no team from our county town has won a SenIor Football title in over 40 years, or even reached a final in over 20 years, despite there being 4 Football only clubs there. And neither of the Hurling only town clubs have won a Senior title in over 20 years. In fact one of them has never won one. The other has only won 5, 3 of which were won by their great team of the 60s. All that despite the population of Wexford town being nearly 3 times that of New Ross. Is that a blot on the copybook of Wexford GAA also? Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16823 - 11/08/2025 10:39:30 2631039 Link 0 |
Yeah it is, hence the fact I've been told by a county board member that in the last 2 months or so the football development committee called and had a meeting with all the football clubs in wexford town to discuss the issues at hand and there's also been a follow up meeting with them including the co board chairman. So it would seem there's a view that it's an issue but to the best of my knowledge the same hasn't happened for new ross or being discussed. And no it's not just "their" issue, that very mindset goes against the very ethos of what the GAA is about. It should be an issue that concerns all of us from a wexford GAA point of view if we are serious abihr having wexford prosper from a GAA pov rather than being just concerned about our own little corner. And im someone who has zero connections to the town whatsoever. So yeah it's a blot, nothing wrong with calling it out as such tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1550 - 11/08/2025 11:04:02 2631048 Link 0 |
I still don't think you get what I'm saying at all when I say it's their issue. A friend of mine is a member of that club, he coaches teams there, and is one of the best in the county. I've also coached ASH sessions with their GPO, again he's a very capable coach also. They had their younger agegroups in for winter training last winter. They are trying very hard. I know a couple of other Ross club members through them being at the New Ross District meetings, both are very passionate about their club, one has done numerous county jobs also. My children are attending or will be attending secondary school in New Ross. I've several friends there through my other interests and work also, I also used to socialise there quite a bit. The GAA club and it's problems actually reflect the town and it's problems. There are large areas where most of the children don't play any sport. And those that do have a choice of a decent level Rugby club, a decent soccer club, swimming, athletics and numerous other sports as are available in most towns in Ireland. Children who live across the river largely play for Tullogher-Rosbercon. You could have all the well meaning Gaels in the county attend a meeting in Kennedy Park, I'm sure our current chairman who only lives out the road would gladly chair it, you could invite the Pope and Taoiseach too if you wanted, but what good would that meeting actually do on the ground? Some of the issues they face include young people from there attending schools in other parishes and therefore playing for other clubs, very poor families in numerous areas who have no sporting tradition let alone a GAA one, GAA families having smaller families, emigration, and all the other usual problems facing us all. You describing the town and club as a blot on Wexford GAA just comes across as demeaning, patronising, and just plain ignorant. Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16823 - 11/08/2025 12:07:16 2631070 Link 0 |
You're basically saying screw them, it's their problem and I'm the one who's ignorant. Fair play for that outlook. And once again you gon on referencing stuff I've a,ready referenced in previous posts such as ", in fact much of the blame probably lies elsewhere in terms of how New Ross has developed economically and from a demographic point of view." Folowed by you making the same point. And again when I also referenced how other sports are also suffering not just GAA. And I didn't reference the town and club as a blot i referenced the fact they've had to pull out of an adult competition and the resukts they've had to date underage as a blot but then again you read that and replied to that very point or maybe you're just doing your usual shtick on here. I'm calling for then to get as much help as possible and your the one calling me ignorant for doing so as its their problem. Maybe we should do as you say, not bother, sure what good would it do? tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1550 - 11/08/2025 13:08:50 2631094 Link 0 |
Ah ok you are calling for them to get as much help as possible, I must've misread your posts. Yes you did reference the towns problems also, I was expanding on that point. If there's going to be a meeting what exactly would you want discussed? I don't think funding per se is a solution to their problems, they already have some of the best facilities in the county. They also have a GPO. He seems a good lad. I personally don't think we as a County have any right to replace their Executive even if its found that that is needed, and on what basis would that be deemed necessary in the first place? Surely a move like that would have to come from within the club. Likewise putting paid coaches in there isn't going to increase participation, which is probably the first problem which would need to be tackled. The Department of Education appoint principles and teachers in the National Schools there, so its not as if Wexford GAA can send in lads to teach in the local schools, or indeed coach there without being invited by the schools. As regards participation you can't force kids in Ross to take up hurling and football, so what do you propose we as outsiders can do that the club themselves haven't tried already? I don't mean to patronise any of that clubs members BTW, me and you are just discussing their lack of success on the pitch on a National Forum. And final point is one Pikeman made in relation to this- whatever we do as a County would have to be done for any other club facing participation issues, which is quite a number of clubs. Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16823 - 11/08/2025 13:30:54 2631101 Link 0 |
And I never said we shouldn't bother, it's just you haven't come up with any specific ideas for help that we could give them.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16823 - 11/08/2025 13:32:20 2631102 Link 0 |
Its sad to see, town teams have been going poor. As Viking says there are a number of issue going on, reminds me a bit like the Shamrocks in Enniscorthy, barely keeping the club going last few years with any good chap going to Rapps, but now they seem to have a good few underage teams, won a junior b football last year, doing well in junior hurling this year. So things can change quickly. alwaysasub (Wexford) - Posts: 510 - 11/08/2025 13:39:50 2631106 Link 0 |
I was wondering whether or not to say anything here, but then you go and drag me into it anyway :) I'll just repeat that I'd always be a little uneasy about the notion of extra supports or resources being provided for one particular club if they're not also made available to others. Talking in general terms, and not specific to New Ross or any of the neighbouring clubs - Say you're a rural club that's been holding its own or punching above its weight for a number of years, through good work by dedicated committees and coaches. A club in a nearby town has been going the opposite direction, for whatever reasons. Is it right or fair that the town club gets extra help or resources, such that they end up passing you out in five, ten, or fifteen years time, thanks largely to getting things that were never made available to you as well? Or, you're a small club that's struggling for numbers and not achieving what you feel you're capable of. Why would "club in town X needs help" be seen as more important than "club in village Y needs help"? Or even if you're a club that's doing well, you'd always feel you could do even better if you had extra resources. But seems you'd be way out of scope here altogether. So, the message sent out could basically be seen as "if you're doing badly, we'll step in to help. But if you're doing well, you'll get nothing". It's a tricky one. It's fair to say that Wexford GAA has a responsibility to promote and develop gaelic games in all areas of the county. But it surely also has a responsibility to treat all clubs equally. Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 3008 - 11/08/2025 14:24:54 2631124 Link 0 |
Sorry missed your point about other sports suffering. New Ross Celtic won div 1 season before last and played Premier soccer last season. The Rugby club have over 350 underage players, and are building 4 new dressing rooms and a gym, and a 3g all weather pitch. At the same time both these clubs don't draw all their players just from New Ross town. Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16823 - 11/08/2025 14:27:20 2631126 Link 0 |
Yes, but don't forget that ten years ago, they were in senior hurling. And over the following seven seasons, they were relegated three times. Going well in Junior so far this year is just a very small step towards climbing that ladder again. And at underage - this year, they again pulled out of U8 & U10 Go Games, and the U12 thing that has to be called a development league because of how you can't call it a championship. Basically means that going forward, their main hope of being able to field at U14/U16/U18 is to entice lads back from Rapparees/Starlights. They're not developing their own younger players at all. Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 3008 - 11/08/2025 14:41:30 2631131 Link 0 |
They have a good u14 panel especially in Football, which their under 12 manager told me 2 years ago was also down to a Buffers Alley clubman teaching in the local school.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16823 - 11/08/2025 15:38:22 2631143 Link 0 |
Yeah it is a tricky one, your argument is one that I've considered myself. The only caveat I have is that you have to look at the each situation individually on a case by case basis. I do think the situation with New Ross warrants help though simply by virtue of the situation it's in. I can't imagine many if any clubs would object to them being helped out. tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1550 - 11/08/2025 16:52:54 2631166 Link 0 |
But what help do you think they need and should be getting? They already have a GPO who I assume is in their National schools weekly like ours is. I'm not saying they shouldn't be helped neccessarily btw, only that it should be up to them to ask for it as they would have the best idea of what's needed.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16823 - 11/08/2025 17:26:04 2631178 Link 0 |