Limerick Hurling Thread 2025

Replying To midlands:  "Limerick have been absolutely brilliant since 2018, and I have not seen a better team in 60 years of watching hurling games. Comparison with the great KK team should take account of the fact that KK never had to pick their way through the minefield that has been the Munster championship, especially since the round robin came into play. Had the Leinster championship been as competitive and energy sapping, KK would probably still have enjoyed all their successes, but we'll never know for sure."
Kilkenny robbed tipp in 09 ,i hope limerick get back again ,i thought they were awsome ,(themselfs and clare not far behind)

Timmy86 (Sligo) - Posts: 337 - 22/06/2025 23:30:26    2620056

Hard to believe our year is over in mid June but if no complaints about Saturday. What a few years these lads have given us. Days I will remember for the rest of my life. They owe us nothing.

Even in all the years of dominance we have had, I don't think I can recall us ever going into a championship game with another Liam McCarthy team where bookies odds, pundit predictions, etc were so heavily skewed towards Limerick. All the hurling world had taken their eyes of the ball with regard to Dublin and fair play to them. Some level of complacency surely seeped into the minds of the Limerick camp too, they are only human after all and when everyone had eyes on a Limerick KK semi final it must be very hard to block that out. We looked so flat too so I am sure that Munster final took a hell of a lot out of their legs. But hats off to Dublin. A remarkable win when they were outnumbered for so much of the game.

After last year, I would have felt there was still another good year or two in this Limerick team. The level they hit in the Cork round robin game only a few weeks ago still makes me think we are not fully gone. We might see one or two retirements but I would still think the core of this panel will give it another rattle in 2026.

LarryLuimneach (Limerick) - Posts: 4 - 23/06/2025 08:46:28    2620087

Replying To LarryLuimneach:  "Hard to believe our year is over in mid June but if no complaints about Saturday. What a few years these lads have given us. Days I will remember for the rest of my life. They owe us nothing.

Even in all the years of dominance we have had, I don't think I can recall us ever going into a championship game with another Liam McCarthy team where bookies odds, pundit predictions, etc were so heavily skewed towards Limerick. All the hurling world had taken their eyes of the ball with regard to Dublin and fair play to them. Some level of complacency surely seeped into the minds of the Limerick camp too, they are only human after all and when everyone had eyes on a Limerick KK semi final it must be very hard to block that out. We looked so flat too so I am sure that Munster final took a hell of a lot out of their legs. But hats off to Dublin. A remarkable win when they were outnumbered for so much of the game.

After last year, I would have felt there was still another good year or two in this Limerick team. The level they hit in the Cork round robin game only a few weeks ago still makes me think we are not fully gone. We might see one or two retirements but I would still think the core of this panel will give it another rattle in 2026."
"We looked so flat too so I am sure that Munster final took a hell of a lot out of their legs."

The Munster final was 2 weeks ago.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2852 - 23/06/2025 09:13:04    2620099

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  ""We looked so flat too so I am sure that Munster final took a hell of a lot out of their legs."

The Munster final was 2 weeks ago."
Yes, do you not remember Clare's QF performance against Wexford the year their Munster final with Limerick went to extra time. They too got no where near their level in that munster final that day. Two week turnaround is not very long after a tough match considering they would nt have done much in the first week. I am sure it was a combination of mental and physical tiredness, miles on the clock and of course some level of complacency but Limerick were definitely off the level we have seen them hit in years gone by for whatever reason.

Look I am not for a minute taking away from Dublin. They were bouncing off the ground on Saturday (with 14 men!) and delighted for them. Played club hurling there for a good few years and was always struck by the athleticism and fitness of club players there. I really hope they can drive on now.

LarryLuimneach (Limerick) - Posts: 4 - 23/06/2025 09:48:07    2620125

Replying To Past hurler:  "Kilkenny were the greatest hurling team of all time and Brian Cody was the greatest manager of all time.

That 2006 to 2015 Kilkenny squad will never ever be surpassed, they won 8 All Irelands in that 10 year period, only missing out in 2010 & 2013."
Kilkenny were fantastic and possibly the greatest, its hard to argue different eras.
On the Limerick side, they have won 5 in 8 years but they have had to play far more games to win their 5 than KK had. KK could plan for Croker every single year with a sole focus on winning the All Ireland, 3 or 4 games with often one or two key games often brought them an All Ireland. They could plan to have everyone fit and firing for the big day. Limerick played 8 games in 2018 for example to win theirs. Thats a lot of extra games over the years

Also i think Limerick raised the standard of hurling to a new level. The importance of keeping the ball, the type of ball played, the strength and fitness of the players, scoring levels, free scoring half backs, ball playing and creative corner backs, half forwards who would have to work so hard they could rarely finish a game. Teams had to go back to the drawing board and revisit their own tactics and structures as a result of what Limerick were doing.

KK had some of the greatest ever players and superstars in winning all their All Irelands but as a collective unit and how they all played in sync in their pomp from front to back, Limerick were the greatest team i have ever seen in my 40+ years of going to matches but i have green goggles on :) The neutrals should probably debate it rather than the direct supporters.

I hope Kiely serves his second year and has a right crack off it again next year. They were like a boxer caught out cold against Dublin. They lacked energy and cohesion all across the team. With the exception of Adam English and Aidan OConnor, no one seemed to be moving well or holding their own. Relax, refresh and go again next year.
Congrats to Dublin who were fantastic on the day, the smelled blood and never let up.

Fitzy01 (Limerick) - Posts: 452 - 23/06/2025 09:53:18    2620129

Replying To Fitzy01:  "Kilkenny were fantastic and possibly the greatest, its hard to argue different eras.
On the Limerick side, they have won 5 in 8 years but they have had to play far more games to win their 5 than KK had. KK could plan for Croker every single year with a sole focus on winning the All Ireland, 3 or 4 games with often one or two key games often brought them an All Ireland. They could plan to have everyone fit and firing for the big day. Limerick played 8 games in 2018 for example to win theirs. Thats a lot of extra games over the years

Also i think Limerick raised the standard of hurling to a new level. The importance of keeping the ball, the type of ball played, the strength and fitness of the players, scoring levels, free scoring half backs, ball playing and creative corner backs, half forwards who would have to work so hard they could rarely finish a game. Teams had to go back to the drawing board and revisit their own tactics and structures as a result of what Limerick were doing.

KK had some of the greatest ever players and superstars in winning all their All Irelands but as a collective unit and how they all played in sync in their pomp from front to back, Limerick were the greatest team i have ever seen in my 40+ years of going to matches but i have green goggles on :) The neutrals should probably debate it rather than the direct supporters.

I hope Kiely serves his second year and has a right crack off it again next year. They were like a boxer caught out cold against Dublin. They lacked energy and cohesion all across the team. With the exception of Adam English and Aidan OConnor, no one seemed to be moving well or holding their own. Relax, refresh and go again next year.
Congrats to Dublin who were fantastic on the day, the smelled blood and never let up."
Good Post and Limerick raised the bar for us all if you wanted to compete with LK you had to improve energy was the key on Saturday LK normally had a 4 week recovery period this time only 2 weeks they are young men but the miles add up and tiredness crept in. WOD is a Limerick player always in your face he was out of the game mostly like many more.

I have always though that there is no point using tactics against Lk you have to go man for man attempt to match physically and take them on Dublin did that were great in the air Limerick could still have won it if they nailed the frees and Aaron Gillane had a glorious chance super save but it should have been hurled off the deck.

Still think that this team has more all irelands in them we are getting more back to old big 3 hope Dublin wins it now

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 991 - 23/06/2025 10:08:30    2620138

Replying To Timmy86:  "Kilkenny robbed tipp in 09 ,i hope limerick get back again ,i thought they were awsome ,(themselfs and clare not far behind)"
Say you would know alot about it.

Tiger1 (Wexford) - Posts: 402 - 23/06/2025 10:26:15    2620150

Replying To midlands:  "Limerick have been absolutely brilliant since 2018, and I have not seen a better team in 60 years of watching hurling games. Comparison with the great KK team should take account of the fact that KK never had to pick their way through the minefield that has been the Munster championship, especially since the round robin came into play. Had the Leinster championship been as competitive and energy sapping, KK would probably still have enjoyed all their successes, but we'll never know for sure."
In fairness both teams were brilliant with both missing out on the 5 in a row Limerick didnt make it to the final on the 5th one but look 2 great teams that all gaa fans should be proud of in my eyes.

Tiger1 (Wexford) - Posts: 402 - 23/06/2025 10:30:48    2620157

I'm open to correction on this. But I think when Kilkenny won their fourth all ireland in a row they did it by winning 4 matches in total.

The same amount it takes just to get into the Munster final!
Limericks achieved something in these last few years I never thought I'd see. I know 2 of our wins were Covid era, but the ability to come back again and again, to maintain a formidable consistency was wonderful.
5 all Irelands, 6 Munsters. Dream time.
It was a privilege to see this great team in Croke park, coming after so many bad years..

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1113 - 23/06/2025 12:01:18    2620222

Replying To skillet:  "I'm open to correction on this. But I think when Kilkenny won their fourth all ireland in a row they did it by winning 4 matches in total.

Limericks achieved something in these last few years I never thought I'd see. I know 2 of our wins were Covid era, but the ability to come back again and again, to maintain a formidable consistency was wonderful.
It was a privilege to see this great team in Croke park, coming after so many bad years.."
Last 2 paragraphs there, superb. A great post.

Sums up exactly the impact John Kiely and his Management team have delivered.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6483 - 23/06/2025 12:36:19    2620245

Replying To Fitzy01:  "Kilkenny were fantastic and possibly the greatest, its hard to argue different eras.

Congrats to Dublin who were fantastic on the day, the smelled blood and never let up."
One final thing to add, in Limerick we as supporters went along on this fantastic journey with the team. All the years of disappointment and hard luck stories preceded this era of glory. Unlike KK we are not used to this kind of success, so did we as supporters enjoy and appreciate this era of success more? I think we most certainly did, and we had the time of our lives. KK rocked up in numbers for Croker and had amazing days there but didn't get the experiences and thrills that we experienced on our journey of even getting to Croker and then getting over the line. We had to climb the mountain from the bottom, KK are always close to the top.

Fitzy01 (Limerick) - Posts: 452 - 23/06/2025 13:31:52    2620285

Replying To skillet:  "I'm open to correction on this. But I think when Kilkenny won their fourth all ireland in a row they did it by winning 4 matches in total.

It was a privilege to see this great team in Croke park, coming after so many bad years.."
A lot of people don't appreciate the long Journey Limerick had.

45 years. A long time for a county always close to top. And heartbreaking defeats whenever won Munster. Like 1996.

So the good years were savoured and haven't seen one Limerick person on Saturday or since begrudge Dublin.

Easy be a good winner. Hard to take the losses.

Beidh lá eile ar na Luimnigh!

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3647 - 23/06/2025 14:33:57    2620322

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "A lot of people don't appreciate the long Journey Limerick had.

45 years. A long time for a county always close to top. And heartbreaking defeats whenever won Munster. Like 1996.

So the good years were savoured and haven't seen one Limerick person on Saturday or since begrudge Dublin.

Easy be a good winner. Hard to take the losses.

Beidh lá eile ar na Luimnigh!"
Very decent of you.. sincerely hope Dublin go all the way now. It would be amazing to see ye win a hurling all ireland.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1113 - 23/06/2025 15:21:15    2620354