Wexford Hurling 2025

Replying To Timbertony:  "We had some tough refereeing decisions, particularly the two you mentioned which were outrageous. But nowhere near the level of what happened at club level in the county last year! We can't control incompetent referees so no point wasting energy on them.

Refereeing decisions aside, we lost in KK as we lost control in the middle third at a key point in the game. The likes of Chin and McGovern were completely outplayed, not young lads. Rossi deserved credit that day for changing tactics and when we started to run it we were unlucky not to draw. Dublin, the late collapse, Antrim the no-show - those are the main reasons we didn't progress not that ref in KK. All within our control.

Same as this year. Architects of our own downfall. Listened to Cyril Farrell on the local podcast, Mannion would be man marked at club level in Galway he said so he couldn't believe we didn't put a man on him. Shane Reck was meant to the lads reckoned but got injured - so what?? This is junior B stuff, surely try anybody else on him. Same v Dublin, Foley being roasted early on, even the commentator was saying an obvious switch with Donohue was called for. Ignored until three goals went in and Ryan came in. Whats going on with our Management team?

For his first game of the year, I thought Liam Ryan had a fine game in fairness to the lad. Playing behind a non existent half back line. We never looked like conceding a goal until the game was gone."
Agree with the slowness on the line criticism, and there were some bizarre team selections made the last day, but we knew we were getting a manager who would be learning on the job when we appointed him, numerous posters including myself made the point many times that Keith might not be ready yet. So cut him some slack.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15785 - 14/05/2025 13:53:13    2609553

Replying To Afinestick96:  "Id like to know what Louth have done with regards player development . I know they are a football only county but for a county with a smaller population than us they have reached 3 Leinster senior football finals in a row and are in this years under 20 and minor finals. What are they doing as regards coaching and player development? Personally I think we need to as a county decide if we are going to concentrate on hurling or football as we dont have the playing numbers to aim to being a top team in both hurling and football."
Louth has a surprisingly big population though, don't think it's really that much smaller than us

And we're not really a dual county, Offaly would be closer to a proper dual county, we're 75%-80% hurling and 20%-25% football if we're being honest

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 505 - 14/05/2025 14:02:17    2609557

Replying To Timbertony:  "We had some tough refereeing decisions, particularly the two you mentioned which were outrageous. But nowhere near the level of what happened at club level in the county last year! We can't control incompetent referees so no point wasting energy on them.

Refereeing decisions aside, we lost in KK as we lost control in the middle third at a key point in the game. The likes of Chin and McGovern were completely outplayed, not young lads. Rossi deserved credit that day for changing tactics and when we started to run it we were unlucky not to draw. Dublin, the late collapse, Antrim the no-show - those are the main reasons we didn't progress not that ref in KK. All within our control.

Same as this year. Architects of our own downfall. Listened to Cyril Farrell on the local podcast, Mannion would be man marked at club level in Galway he said so he couldn't believe we didn't put a man on him. Shane Reck was meant to the lads reckoned but got injured - so what?? This is junior B stuff, surely try anybody else on him. Same v Dublin, Foley being roasted early on, even the commentator was saying an obvious switch with Donohue was called for. Ignored until three goals went in and Ryan came in. Whats going on with our Management team?

For his first game of the year, I thought Liam Ryan had a fine game in fairness to the lad. Playing behind a non existent half back line. We never looked like conceding a goal until the game was gone."
I think irrespective of whether we have been on the wrong side of refereeing decisions, I can't remember any successful team ever bemoaning their bad luck. The only teams who tend to do that are teams who don't win. Teams who win tend to react to losing by saying they're not good enough or something to that effect

Also have to remember that other teams likely see themselves as being on the wrong side of refereeing decisions too

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 505 - 14/05/2025 14:07:46    2609561

The quality and level of the coaches of our underage teams is going completely under the radar on this forum. Nowhere near up to scratch. Would be lucky to be allowed near club teams in other counties. One of the biggest issues going.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 795 - 14/05/2025 14:28:09    2609570

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "Louth has a surprisingly big population though, don't think it's really that much smaller than us

And we're not really a dual county, Offaly would be closer to a proper dual county, we're 75%-80% hurling and 20%-25% football if we're being honest"
I know in my club we are the same adult grade in hurling and football and train about 70% to 80% hurling. Is this replicated at under age levels in most clubs in wexford or is it more even?

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 600 - 14/05/2025 14:35:05    2609574

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "Louth has a surprisingly big population though, don't think it's really that much smaller than us

And we're not really a dual county, Offaly would be closer to a proper dual county, we're 75%-80% hurling and 20%-25% football if we're being honest"
Offaly have way less dual players than we do. They also have a far higher proportion of hurling only and football only clubs than we do.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15785 - 14/05/2025 14:40:41    2609581

Replying To countyman2022:  "The quality and level of the coaches of our underage teams is going completely under the radar on this forum. Nowhere near up to scratch. Would be lucky to be allowed near club teams in other counties. One of the biggest issues going."
It is an issue for sure. But if your young lad gets to be a top adult coach in years to come, and has a choice of getting decent expenses to manage a club team, or very small expenses to go into development squad management, which would you advise him to do?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15785 - 14/05/2025 14:42:44    2609583

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "I think irrespective of whether we have been on the wrong side of refereeing decisions, I can't remember any successful team ever bemoaning their bad luck. The only teams who tend to do that are teams who don't win. Teams who win tend to react to losing by saying they're not good enough or something to that effect

Also have to remember that other teams likely see themselves as being on the wrong side of refereeing decisions too"
Tbh I couldn't care less whether other teams see themselves as victims of really bad decisions or not.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15785 - 14/05/2025 14:54:14    2609585

Replying To Afinestick96:  "I know in my club we are the same adult grade in hurling and football and train about 70% to 80% hurling. Is this replicated at under age levels in most clubs in wexford or is it more even?"
We would be more even.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15785 - 14/05/2025 14:59:48    2609586

Replying To Viking66:  "It is an issue for sure. But if your young lad gets to be a top adult coach in years to come, and has a choice of getting decent expenses to manage a club team, or very small expenses to go into development squad management, which would you advise him to do?"
There are some amount of spoofers involved in adult 'coaching' .. it is the biggest gravy train out there currently.

MyOhMi (Wexford) - Posts: 186 - 14/05/2025 15:08:22    2609593

Replying To Afinestick96:  "I know in my club we are the same adult grade in hurling and football and train about 70% to 80% hurling. Is this replicated at under age levels in most clubs in wexford or is it more even?"
Yep, the reality is amongst wexford clubs we're dual in name really for the majority of clubs. I know of 1 football manager who was told this year that they had no chance of doing more football than they did last year, that they would be doing less football than they did the year before and that's it!! This club actually won a football championship and were promoted for this year!

But of course we have to cycle through the same round of excuses each time we dont go well in hurling.

Start with blaming referees, then blame county board, then blame coaching standards/development squads and to complete the circle finish with blaming football. Round and round we go with everyone conveniently ignoring the fact that collectively we arebt doing enough at home or with the clubs at ground level.

There was a point about teams training and how some are barely even doing one night in total at underage. I asked fhe chairman of a club that is doing well at underage for the last few years and definitely not one of fhe big clubs what they do at say u12. 3 times a week they get together, twice midweek and once at weekend. If there's a match then it's a game and 2 training sessions, if no match then it's 3 training sessions, 2 football and one hurling alternating to 2 huekjng and one football tye next week.

It can be done, it takes hard work and not looking for excuses, imho we are too often prone to looking for excuses. Guilty myself of it but every club and every parent needs to take responsibility for themselves to improve standards, that comes from home, particularly in hurling, if it isn't coming from home it ain't going to carry to any other area, full stop.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1504 - 14/05/2025 15:23:17    2609599

Replying To Viking66:  "It is an issue for sure. But if your young lad gets to be a top adult coach in years to come, and has a choice of getting decent expenses to manage a club team, or very small expenses to go into development squad management, which would you advise him to do?"
Look at some of the coaches on the squads, they would not be allowed near a senior or inter team. Some never hurled adult or underage at a serious level, if at all in some cases. Yet this is what our underage has as coaches and mentors.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 795 - 14/05/2025 15:41:06    2609607

Replying To tearintom:  "Yep, the reality is amongst wexford clubs we're dual in name really for the majority of clubs. I know of 1 football manager who was told this year that they had no chance of doing more football than they did last year, that they would be doing less football than they did the year before and that's it!! This club actually won a football championship and were promoted for this year!

But of course we have to cycle through the same round of excuses each time we dont go well in hurling.

Start with blaming referees, then blame county board, then blame coaching standards/development squads and to complete the circle finish with blaming football. Round and round we go with everyone conveniently ignoring the fact that collectively we arebt doing enough at home or with the clubs at ground level.

There was a point about teams training and how some are barely even doing one night in total at underage. I asked fhe chairman of a club that is doing well at underage for the last few years and definitely not one of fhe big clubs what they do at say u12. 3 times a week they get together, twice midweek and once at weekend. If there's a match then it's a game and 2 training sessions, if no match then it's 3 training sessions, 2 football and one hurling alternating to 2 huekjng and one football tye next week.

It can be done, it takes hard work and not looking for excuses, imho we are too often prone to looking for excuses. Guilty myself of it but every club and every parent needs to take responsibility for themselves to improve standards, that comes from home, particularly in hurling, if it isn't coming from home it ain't going to carry to any other area, full stop."
Fair play to that club 3 times a week is a lot but its whats needed to improve standards

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 600 - 14/05/2025 15:56:44    2609610

Replying To Viking66:  "Zinny development squads only get together once a week on a pitch. None of our lads miss club training over them. We certainly have never cancelled a match because of them.
I was on a GAA Athletic Development Course in the months coming up to Xmas. Growth and Maturation was a whole module by itself. Everyone in the County set up is aware that different vhildren reach PHV at different ages, and training programmes are tailored to individuals.
Don't know where you are getting your information from, but it seems pretty far from what I've experienced.
I do think personally our development squads should do 2 pitch sessions a week, as they do in Clare and Limerick. That should still be possible without affecting club time, but the issue is the lack of good coaches prepared to put the time into our squads."
Great to hear that your club does everything right.

2024 there were U14H 53 Players from 28 Clubs, here is what the CB site says
The lads have trained brilliantly since March following their trials and have played many matches throughout the year, both in competition and challenge games, We have two squads which are split evenly as per competition rules, and both teams will take part in the Tony Forristal and Sonny Walsh tournaments which are being hosted in Waterford

So what you are saying is that out of all the 28 clubs involved every one of them follow what you do and you know that of that the kids show up for all the sessions. In addition when these challenge games and competitions are on it does not cause any disruption to the clubs and their own ability to play games. And you know that because its all tracked. 53 Players 12/13 year olds put on a pedestal above their mates or peers in their own club, then as well how many clubs then put these kids on pedestals again but putting it on social media etc. So we put all these resources into Dev squads and believe that solves the problem whereas the problem is with the clubs.
Here are a couple of snippets from Stop the Drop on why boys drop out this is 2024.
Boys feel a lack of enjoyment and coaching support. Parents of boys are much more likely to suggest that they hadn't enjoyed it, and they were disproportionately more likely (almost three times) to say that they didn't like the coaches or being coached.
Parents of boys were twice as likely to say that they had experienced too much pressure with potentially related male issues including not being picked for the first team or their sport not being sufficiently well organised.
Teenage boys often feel they are sacrificing typical teenage rites and joys, particularly when
compelled to choose between different sports. This decision can lead to the loss of friendships and, as the demands of training intensify, the chosen sport may become a source of resentment rather than pleasure. Additionally, they often face financial burdens such as out-of-pocket expenses, loss of job hours due to training and high medical bills for
sports-related injuries, responsibilities they bear alone.

That U14 squad had 7 mentors - which means that once a month one of these mentors could get to a club session to ensure that they were being organized and run correctly.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1972 - 14/05/2025 16:05:40    2609615

Replying To countyman2022:  "Look at some of the coaches on the squads, they would not be allowed near a senior or inter team. Some never hurled adult or underage at a serious level, if at all in some cases. Yet this is what our underage has as coaches and mentors."
And that's exactly Joe Fortunes profile, never seriously hurled yet he's a good coach

WEXILE (Wexford) - Posts: 394 - 14/05/2025 16:11:34    2609617

Replying To countyman2022:  "Look at some of the coaches on the squads, they would not be allowed near a senior or inter team. Some never hurled adult or underage at a serious level, if at all in some cases. Yet this is what our underage has as coaches and mentors."
Joe Fortune or Tom Mullalley didn't do much hurling at a serious level!

MyOhMi (Wexford) - Posts: 186 - 14/05/2025 16:14:29    2609618

i was talking to a x co board member who ye all know, and his exact words were , " they are totally lost and at sea at co board level concerning coaching none of them have any back ground in coaching and cant understand why there is not a better return for whats being invested and he said most of the coaches dont have a clue what they are at, they reading it all out of books, now he telling me in irish, and mine not good but that was the grasp of it

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2976 - 14/05/2025 16:27:08    2609623

Listening to Cyril Farrell on the podcast earlier, and he said he'd try Jacko at wing-back as he's best at attacking the ball and being the aggressor. And I'd agree with a fella of his pedigree in the game, so this is the side I'd go with for the next two games, although don't think management will go the same.

Fanning

S.Reck
L.Ryan
E.Ryan

D.Reck
C.Molloy
Jacko

Hearne
Lawlor

Chin
ROC
McGuickan

Byrne
Mac
K.Foley

Jacko playing there boosts our physical stature in defence significantly, and McGuickan's work-rate around the middle would be retained only he'd have less focus on defending. Just win ball and give it off.

John McGrath has shown there is life in 30+ forwards yet, and Foley has always been one of our neater stickmen, would sooner have him inside ahead of Dunbar and Casey. Can always be moved out the field to accommodate a tactical change too. Byrne a good foil for breaks off Mac, moving Damo out to the wing gives him more freedom to attack (his best asset in imo), if Shane is out, I'd bring Murphy back in out of the cold as he is a better out-and-out corner-back than C.Foley or Molloy if he moved in there. Eoin Ryan is possibly unheralded compared to some of the lads of a similar age in that he is used to man-marking at club level and is probably next in line for that specific duty after Shane.

Time to change it up a bit.

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1494 - 14/05/2025 16:48:28    2609631

Just on this, what's a serious level?

If you have played at this level does that automatically make you a better coach than the fella that hasnt? I personally think thats utter rubbish. Playing and coaching are 2 entirely different things.

I've personally trained under fellas that were decent club players and nothing more but were far far better coaches than others who had All Ireland medals in their pockets.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1504 - 14/05/2025 17:25:49    2609638

Replying To tearintom:  "Yep, the reality is amongst wexford clubs we're dual in name really for the majority of clubs. I know of 1 football manager who was told this year that they had no chance of doing more football than they did last year, that they would be doing less football than they did the year before and that's it!! This club actually won a football championship and were promoted for this year!

It can be done, it takes hard work and not looking for excuses, imho we are too often prone to looking for excuses. Guilty myself of it but every club and every parent needs to take responsibility for themselves to improve standards, that comes from home, particularly in hurling, if it isn't coming from home it ain't going to carry to any other area, full stop."
We do 3 times a week, 4 if you include rising stars at u12 and u14. Ballyhogue and Oulart the same.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15785 - 14/05/2025 17:53:18    2609644