Wexford Hurling 2025

Replying To WEX98:  "Not a hope in hell.

But John Mullane has the answer.

The top 4 teams go through to the All Ireland Quarter Finals, 1st in Munster plays 4th in Leinster and vice versa.

Top two teams get a home venue.

Kilkenny v Waterford Nowlan Park
Galway v Tipp Salthill
Cork v Dublin Páirc Uí Chaoimh
Limerick v Wexford Gaelic Grounds"
No point having the round robin at all then.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15765 - 13/05/2025 07:06:06    2609052

Replying To beano:  "Just on the Rathnure point, it could be argued that apart from Paul Codd, whose star was waning by the time we won Leinster in 2004, there hasn't been a consistent starter from the black and amber since the John Conran/Jimmy Holohan era. John O'Connor was a bolter that year captaining the team, and I know the Guineys floated around for a while, but neither were first-teamers really (Jack too unreliable). Flynn played in nets for a spell in that era post-Fitzy, and Nigel Higgins had a brief period as a starter too. But I always felt that they had excellent club players without that translating to the county team (Anthony O'Connell as good a corner back I have seen in the county, O'Learys hardy hurlers too). Two sets of the best ever hurling brothers before that obviously with the Rackards and Quigleys which is incredible in itself.

The Alley are similar actually. Ciaran Kenny probably their most prominent county man after Tom Dempsey (Willie Doran in and out as a regular, Andrew Kenny never fulfilled his potential unfortunately). Again, another outstanding hurling family before that.

Oulart in contrast always seem to produce regulars up to very recently. And their nine-year gap without a title is a mere blip compared to the other two."
Oulart will win another Senior title in the next 5 years

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15765 - 13/05/2025 07:07:28    2609053

Replying To Timbertony:  "Didn't Simon Roche come on v Dublin? Left the panel in the week after it?? That's really strange. Rossi fronted up after the game, he always does to be fair. He knows the buck stops with him. I think Franks as coach has been a disaster too after a very positive start. We are genuinely clueless with and without the ball.

We are still reliant on a core of players who were there for both Westmeath games and the Antrim defeat last year. Appalling league display like KK & Cork this year and Clare at home a few years back. The odd performance like v KK or Galway doesn't matter to be honest, there hadn't been a consistent level of performance since DFs time. Downing tools has become commonplace. Yes the referee was harsh on us in Dublin for the penalty but does that excuse two more similar goals being conceded in the next 5 minutes? Antrim two goals last year, ran straight through our non existent number 6. Dublin, two goals carbon copies of each other in last few minutes.

We are in a real rut and fortunate Antrim and Offaly are so poor this year. Cork or Limerick would genuinely annihilate us on current form. The absolute bare minimum of giving your all is beyond some experienced players so move them on and quickly. That's why I can't believe why both Cian's weren't started v Salthill. Do we really need to see their replacements fail yet again?

Id much prefer to see younger lads given a chance v Offaly and KK."
Not sure either Antrim goal was caused by our 6. And if he pulled the lads down you would be the very man to say he gave away 2 frees. At the end of the day he didn't get turned over in the first place, neither did Niall Murphy, who bizarrely was the lad scapegoated.
Agree about the 2 Cians.
I know we don't see what happens in training, but when you see lads consistently not good enough in real games, while other lads are in the panel a few years and never get a real chance, a few starts to get a good look at them to see can they step up, you would start questioning why they are still being selected.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15765 - 13/05/2025 07:16:03    2609056

Replying To WEX98:  "The lads on the KCLR hurling podcast reckon Wexford are Joe McDonagh standard."
We will find out on Saturday

WEXILE (Wexford) - Posts: 393 - 13/05/2025 07:31:45    2609057

Replying To zinny:  "Nobody talks about the damage that development squads do to underage and if its contributing to the drop out rates. This has been happening now for a few years. I call it a race to the bottom for participation in the race to the top for performance."
Why aren't they damaging every other county then? Including counties like Limerick and Clare that have them longer than us. Our biggest problem with our development squads is it's hard to get some of the top coaches in the county to get involved with them. That and I think we should have a permanent selection panel of experts in place, to help and assist underage managements selecting the panels.
Another good coach I went on courses with came up with another very good idea, which would be create an App that opposing managers could submit who they thought played really well against them, from u12 upwards. Over a season these results could be looked at, and players who got the most "good" ratings would be known. One of our county's intercounty referees reckoned it wouldn't be too much work for the referees to do likewise.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15765 - 13/05/2025 09:06:55    2609073

We obviously need to do things differently at underage level (Maybe we already are, it just takes time for these changes to bear fruit) but that said, negativity isn't going to get us anywhere, don't think I've ever seen a pessimist win anything

Believing in yourself might not win you anything but you can be sure that not believing yourself 100% guarantees that you won't win anything. Are lads at under-age really going to believe in themselves if they're being told (by ourselves) that we're no good all the time?

Could be positive and encourage young lads to believe in themselves while not kidding ourselves that our under-age structures are perfect

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 501 - 13/05/2025 09:51:20    2609086

Replying To Viking66:  "Why aren't they damaging every other county then? Including counties like Limerick and Clare that have them longer than us. Our biggest problem with our development squads is it's hard to get some of the top coaches in the county to get involved with them. That and I think we should have a permanent selection panel of experts in place, to help and assist underage managements selecting the panels.
Another good coach I went on courses with came up with another very good idea, which would be create an App that opposing managers could submit who they thought played really well against them, from u12 upwards. Over a season these results could be looked at, and players who got the most "good" ratings would be known. One of our county's intercounty referees reckoned it wouldn't be too much work for the referees to do likewise."
Thats actually a pretty good idea. Would be very easy to set up that.

alwaysasub (Wexford) - Posts: 477 - 13/05/2025 10:43:16    2609119

Team for the Offaly game if I was picking it-
Fanning (as there's not really an alternative on the panel who has been given any gametime??????),
Ryan, Jippo, S Reck
Patsy, D Reck, C Foley
Hearne, Lawlor
Redmond, Chin, Jacko
Byrne, Rory, K Foley
With Kevin operating as a 3rd deep midfielder to help restrict Offalys running game, and try win breaks in and around our half back line and deliver them inside. Chin and Rory rotating in and out.
If Shiners still injured then Murphy instead of him.
Maybe swap Conor Foley and Lawlor possibly depending on match ups.
That's 5 lads off our recent u20 final teams plus Eoin Ryan, good to get them gametime.
Decentish bench with good impact forwards, and tigerish backs.
Dunbar, Mac, Charlie, Dooley, Casey, Darren Codd, Kelly (if fit after the recent injury last week- would be good to see him get a decent go off the bench if we are well up, and at wing forward), Mikey Dwyer, 2 others who won't get on so doesnt matter who, unless Shiner is fit then Murphy on the bench, and Kennedy sub keeper.
Anyone not getting around the ball carrier/tracking opposition support runners, or onto the quarters under dropping ball coming off straight away, even if it's only 10 minutes in.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15765 - 13/05/2025 12:03:01    2609164

Replying To Viking66:  "Team for the Offaly game if I was picking it-
Fanning (as there's not really an alternative on the panel who has been given any gametime??????),
Ryan, Jippo, S Reck
Patsy, D Reck, C Foley
Hearne, Lawlor
Redmond, Chin, Jacko
Byrne, Rory, K Foley
With Kevin operating as a 3rd deep midfielder to help restrict Offalys running game, and try win breaks in and around our half back line and deliver them inside. Chin and Rory rotating in and out.
If Shiners still injured then Murphy instead of him.
Maybe swap Conor Foley and Lawlor possibly depending on match ups.
That's 5 lads off our recent u20 final teams plus Eoin Ryan, good to get them gametime.
Decentish bench with good impact forwards, and tigerish backs.
Dunbar, Mac, Charlie, Dooley, Casey, Darren Codd, Kelly (if fit after the recent injury last week- would be good to see him get a decent go off the bench if we are well up, and at wing forward), Mikey Dwyer, 2 others who won't get on so doesnt matter who, unless Shiner is fit then Murphy on the bench, and Kennedy sub keeper.
Anyone not getting around the ball carrier/tracking opposition support runners, or onto the quarters under dropping ball coming off straight away, even if it's only 10 minutes in."
Would go with something similar. We need the likes of Jack Redmond to get up to speed of championship hurling and he wont do that sitting in the stand.
Regarding permutations is there any way we can go through if Kilkenny beat Dublin or are we definitely out if that happens?

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 595 - 13/05/2025 12:53:10    2609188

How could development squads be contributing to drop-out rates? I would say that affect is minimal.
I played with many players who were good enough but who just were not bothered who could PROBABLY (who knows) have hurled for Wexford seniors. But they chose a different path.
Inter county hurling is all consuming and lets be real, it becomes your life if you choose it. That path is not for everybody. People have other things they want to do in life, e.g. travel, professional development, and so on.
But what promotion is done for hurling in Wexford? I walk past a billboard on the way to the tram showing every AFL fixture this weekend in Melbourne. If you walked the length of every town in Wexford would you know the hurlers were playing Offaly on Saturday? Is it on the radio on every ad break?
Does a school child in Kilmuckridge know Wexford are hurling at the weekend? They go home and say to the parents "can we go to the match on Saturday"? I have no kids but I know the power of a pestering child.
Wexford needs to promote our games better if we are going to progress beyond our current middle of the road existence.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1834 - 13/05/2025 12:55:52    2609189

Replying To StoreysTash:  "How could development squads be contributing to drop-out rates? I would say that affect is minimal.
I played with many players who were good enough but who just were not bothered who could PROBABLY (who knows) have hurled for Wexford seniors. But they chose a different path.
Inter county hurling is all consuming and lets be real, it becomes your life if you choose it. That path is not for everybody. People have other things they want to do in life, e.g. travel, professional development, and so on.
But what promotion is done for hurling in Wexford? I walk past a billboard on the way to the tram showing every AFL fixture this weekend in Melbourne. If you walked the length of every town in Wexford would you know the hurlers were playing Offaly on Saturday? Is it on the radio on every ad break?
Does a school child in Kilmuckridge know Wexford are hurling at the weekend? They go home and say to the parents "can we go to the match on Saturday"? I have no kids but I know the power of a pestering child.
Wexford needs to promote our games better if we are going to progress beyond our current middle of the road existence."
I think we could do much better in regards promoting our games

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 595 - 13/05/2025 13:19:36    2609207

Replying To Afinestick96:  "Would go with something similar. We need the likes of Jack Redmond to get up to speed of championship hurling and he wont do that sitting in the stand.
Regarding permutations is there any way we can go through if Kilkenny beat Dublin or are we definitely out if that happens?"
If Kilkenny beat Dublin, we would need to beat Kilkenny and Offaly, Antrim to beat Galway, and Galway to beat Dublin by an enormous amount of points, as it will be points difference from the 3 games between us.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15765 - 13/05/2025 13:51:48    2609213

Replying To StoreysTash:  "How could development squads be contributing to drop-out rates? I would say that affect is minimal.
Wexford needs to promote our games better if we are going to progress beyond our current middle of the road existence."
I agree. We should be promoting our games better but it's not just in wexford. What other county promikķotes their game on billboards etc.
Actually the games are advertised on local radio every day prior to a game. The local paper always has previews and interviews every week.
If people are genuinely interested they will know or find out who we are playing and where.
Billboards may have a place but really it's only a tiny place in my opinion.

Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 456 - 13/05/2025 14:20:04    2609231

Replying To Viking66:  "If Kilkenny beat Dublin, we would need to beat Kilkenny and Offaly, Antrim to beat Galway, and Galway to beat Dublin by an enormous amount of points, as it will be points difference from the 3 games between us."
In other words never going to happen :D Our only hope is Dublin beat Kilkenny and us winning our last 2 games and even now that seems a stretch. Does these results put us through no matter what happens in other games?

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 595 - 13/05/2025 15:11:41    2609247

A lot of the issue with promotion is one out of wexfords control. I mean we can't even properly promote an All Irealnd final now since we introduced the split season and everything has to be out of the way as soon as possible.

Take last week, I genuinely forgot the Tipp v Clare match was on what with our own game, the ulster final, the football game in the park, I mean you can't even get to see games how do we promote them?

Everything is rushed, you talk about that kid in kilmuckridge, yep they're bombarded with stuff, games, I remember in school ye would be talking for weeks about an upcoming game, building up to it, that's done, finished and all for what really? How many people watched Tipp v Clare last weekend?

We're killing ourselves imho.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1501 - 13/05/2025 15:16:12    2609248

Replying To Afinestick96:  "In other words never going to happen :D Our only hope is Dublin beat Kilkenny and us winning our last 2 games and even now that seems a stretch. Does these results put us through no matter what happens in other games?"
Yes if KK lose twice we will have the head to head on em, when do KK lose 2 gmes in a row tho? especially against Wex and Dub but if Dublin could pip them then at least we have something at stake in the last game.

If KK win then our last match is a dead rubber. (assuming we beat Offally)

if Offally beat us then we are under pressure against KK to try get something on the offchance that Antrim beat Offally....even then we'd probably have the superior points difference and thus stay up with offally, us and Antrim all on 2 points each

WEXILE_AGAIN (Wexford) - Posts: 20 - 13/05/2025 15:36:27    2609255

Development Squads contribute in a number of ways, specialization, studies have shown that early specialization and exposure to intensive training, leads to physical and mental stress leading to increased drop out rates. So that is from the point of view of those in the system. Everyone goes on about the Leinster Schools academies but nobody talks about the players who give up once they level school and never play again. The other aspect is the impact on the club and their club teams, at an early age some kids are being told they are not good enough, who is the judge of that? players develop at different ages, they develop physically an mentally but regardless if you are 12 or 13 you are being told you are not good enough and you do not understand why that is. You then have the problem that the kids are pulled out of training, a big factor in youth teams is the bond that kids build together, keep that bond and you keep them all together. You now have broken that bond as they no longer train with their friends, Then there is the problems of games being cancelled because clubs do not want to play without their development players, so the message is that the team is useless without them so lets not play any games until we get them back. If you are from one of the gurling only clubs by the time you are 20 you have been drilled in the one sport so they say I have had 15yrs of the same thing, they have been through the bitter disappointments brought on by the treatment of coaches who only want to win, and development selection calls that make no sense, the cancelled games, the lack of fun at training because your mates are off with the dev squad - why would they bother. For all the talk on here about Wexford hero's of the past, there is one or two heros for a kid that will always outstrip and county player and that is the mom and dad, if they see them still playing the game thats what will get them playing. We talk on here that hurling is learned at home so preventing drop out, keeping players playing longer is part of that.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1971 - 13/05/2025 15:42:28    2609257

Replying To Viking66:  "If Kilkenny beat Dublin, we would need to beat Kilkenny and Offaly, Antrim to beat Galway, and Galway to beat Dublin by an enormous amount of points, as it will be points difference from the 3 games between us."
Don't even think that would work, think a three-way tie is sorted first by a three-team mini-league then by score difference in the mini-league

We lost to both Galway and Dublin so we would have 0 points in that mini-league

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 501 - 13/05/2025 15:54:51    2609266

Replying To WEXILE_AGAIN:  "Yes if KK lose twice we will have the head to head on em, when do KK lose 2 gmes in a row tho? especially against Wex and Dub but if Dublin could pip them then at least we have something at stake in the last game.

If KK win then our last match is a dead rubber. (assuming we beat Offally)

if Offally beat us then we are under pressure against KK to try get something on the offchance that Antrim beat Offally....even then we'd probably have the superior points difference and thus stay up with offally, us and Antrim all on 2 points each"
Assuming Antrim lose to Galway, we would get relegated if all of the below happened

(a) Offaly beat us by 11+ points
(b) Kilkenny beat us
(c) Antrim beat Offaly
(d) The combined winning margin of Offaly over Antrim and Antrim over us is at least 22 points
(e) Offaly do not lose to Antrim by a margin that even if we finished behind Antrim on score difference, we would still be ahead of Offaly (Something like if Offaly beat us by 12 but Antrim beat Offaly by 14)

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 501 - 13/05/2025 15:59:56    2609268

If Antrim lose to Galway and we lose our last two games and Antrim win against offaly, we still stay up, due to us beating them(head to head)?

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 1135 - 13/05/2025 16:17:47    2609277