Intermediate Hurling Championship

First of all im not bitter im just trying to be realistic. I acknowledge that cappy and annaghdown have done brialliantly getting this far-my point is let them win out the intermediate c'ship...then i would say without doubt that they deserve a place in senior hurling. Its quite possible that ballindereen will get relegated having lost a game already-what will they be thinkin seeing the quality of teams coming up???

Blackcat (Galway) - Posts: 132 - 15/10/2008 13:12:11    119437

IMO the Intermediate champions should go straight up Senior while the runners up should play-off against the team 2nd from bottom in the round robin Senior relegation group.
What would people think of that system ?

John Doe (Galway) - Posts: 243 - 15/10/2008 16:01:17    119634

John Doe...that would be the best system and it has been proposed over the last few yrs but was defeated each time. the reason being that intermediate clubs wont vote for it as it would make it harder for them to come up and the senior teams that are always at the higher end of the championship dont really care and therefore would not be that pushed to vote for it. For the sake of the intermediate championship something should be done as it dosnt mean as much to win it anymore. If that system was to be used this year it could quite possibly end up with someone like Ballinderreen playing either Cappa or Annaghdown & if either of these teams wernt able to beat B'derreen then maybe they arnt ready for senior and they must realise this themselves. There still is a fair difference between the lower ranking senior teams and the majority of intermediate teams...this yr b'derreen beat craughwell by 7 pts & drew wit mellows, turlough drew 2 games and only lost to portumna by 2 pts, yet one of the these teams are likely to be relegated!! Could either cappa or annaghdown honestly say that they are capable of competing at that level yet? Yes they deserve their chance if they come up but all wer saying is that there needs to be a better system in place.

notuptomuch (Galway) - Posts: 63 - 15/10/2008 16:38:51    119733

Yes true they are fair points. I see the K'daly and T-A-D match is on this Saturday anyone hear of when the Annaghdown & Cappy match is going to be played???

ryano215 (Galway) - Posts: 5 - 15/10/2008 19:37:14    119911

I'd say Annaghdown and Cappataggle will be on Sat week as Annaghdown have being playing 3 weeks in a row and are due a week off

Annacorr (Galway) - Posts: 24 - 16/10/2008 20:14:03    120748

Ah yes thats what i thought.
Thanks buddy!

ryano215 (Galway) - Posts: 5 - 16/10/2008 22:00:31    120802

Anyone got a good report on the game yesterday??

ryano215 (Galway) - Posts: 5 - 19/10/2008 15:02:18    121980

Anyone have the full list of hurling fixtures for the weekend?

hurlerondditch (Galway) - Posts: 81 - 21/10/2008 12:48:43    123228

Annaghdown and Cappataggle is on in Athenry on Sunday at 1.30pm thats all I know anyway

Annacorr (Galway) - Posts: 24 - 21/10/2008 15:26:57    123371

Annaghdown's corner forward is a charachter anyway.

lowbanks (Galway) - Posts: 2 - 22/10/2008 19:50:22    124447

Annaghdown's corner forward is a charachter anyway
Why would you say that? Who would be favourites for this game?

mowtastic (Galway) - Posts: 98 - 22/10/2008 22:56:49    124555

think annaghdown wil win it !

gaa gal (Galway) - Posts: 20 - 23/10/2008 13:17:55    124924

Annaghdown for Senior . Will be some buzz when ye beat Turloughmore in Senior next year !!!!!!!!!!!!

NoozelsMaguire (Mayo) - Posts: 31 - 26/10/2008 00:57:03    126676

Was at the match today... Annaghdown just didn have enough heart. No forwards showed up and Cappy were up for the tustle to win it out in bad cold conditions. Pity i would have loved to see Annaghdown face Tourlough next year.... Oh well theres always next year lads.

ryano215 (Galway) - Posts: 5 - 26/10/2008 19:35:32    126894

annaghdown could still play turlough next year...in intermediate!

the.pundit (Galway) - Posts: 258 - 27/10/2008 11:39:43    127100

Cappy All Ireland Intermediate Championship winners in Croke Park......who would have thought it!!!
Lots of pundits on this page must b eatin humble pie.....

Cappy4life (Galway) - Posts: 6 - 26/01/2009 15:32:23    189713

Well done to Cappy on gettin to the final but ye havent won it yet so hold yer horses.blarney are supposed to be an excellent team and i doubt the real cappy hurlers will be too happy with your last post Cappy4life so don't be getting too carried away,best of luck in the final lads

palestine (Galway) - Posts: 15 - 26/01/2009 18:58:47    190013

meelick eyrecourt.......2009 champions

meelickman (Galway) - Posts: 48 - 26/01/2009 21:17:24    190158

palestine..jealous are we??????????????

loose_keys (Galway) - Posts: 26 - 27/01/2009 16:22:11    191073

loose_keys read my last post again like a good lad,i said well done fabulous achievement for all involved.by the way with all the exclamation and question marks its safe to say you are CHCSenior09 under a different name,ive plenty mates i went to school and go to college with playing on that team and heard a few of them giving out about your posts already!good lad keep it up

palestine (Galway) - Posts: 15 - 27/01/2009 19:48:03    191293