Intermediate Hurling Championship

Annaghdown knocking Leitrim Kilnadeema out of the Championship. Shock of the weekend. Great to see the underdogs coming through. Intermediate Championship really hotting up. Some good games in store and no doubt a few more surprises. Lets hope so..

hurlerondditch (Galway) - Posts: 81 - 29/09/2008 10:18:36    109881

Semi Final Draws!
Abbeyknockmoy or Killimordaly v Meelick/Eyrecourt or Tynagh/Abbey/Duniry
Moycullen or Cappataggle v Kilconieron or Annaghdown.
I know what side of the draw id like to be on!!!

OnionBag (Galway) - Posts: 121 - 30/09/2008 12:09:56    110955

Killimordaly toughest route be far !!!!

gaa gal (Galway) - Posts: 20 - 30/09/2008 12:12:57    110956

Weekends Int. Fixtures:
Moycullen v Cappataggle in Athenry 04/10/2008 15:30
Killimordaly v Abbeyknockmoy in Athenry 04/10/2008 17:00
Kilconieron v Annaghdown in Athenry 05/10/2008 13:00
Meelick - Eyrecourt v Tynagh-Abbey-Duniry in Killimor 05/10/2008 16:00

hurlerondditch (Galway) - Posts: 81 - 30/09/2008 12:51:41    110998

Semi Final Draws!
Pairing of Abbey/Kill V m/e TAD is by far the toughest of the two draws. Would expect Killimordaly to come through but the second one between M/E & TAD could be the shock of the Champo. I myself think TAD could take this one maybe by 1 or 2 points but it is going to be a very tough battle. Will depend on who is reffing this one

Moycullen to pip cappy & Kilconieron to get past Annaghdown
even though they will be on a high after their last great win
Any thoughts

nemo (None) - Posts: 112 - 30/09/2008 12:58:43    111014

Mellick/eyrecourt to beat t/a/d
Moycullen to beat Cappy
Annaghdown to beat a weak kilconieron (another big shock by annaghdown)
Killimordaly to beat abbeyknockmoy (abbey are a small bit limited to one scorer)

Semi: Moycullen v annaghdown....... moycullen to win
Killimordaly v eyrecourt........ Killimordaly to win

just my views any comments??

clubhurler (Galway) - Posts: 113 - 30/09/2008 16:24:30    111230

The two best inter teams in the county will not be promoted this year cause they will met in the semi. Its a great oppertunity for teams like Moycullen Cappy and Annaghdown but it would be a shame to see them go up cause it will be the same story as Pearces this year there not able for the grade.
My prediction for the start of the champ was Eyrecourt and i still think they can do it.

OnionBag (Galway) - Posts: 121 - 30/09/2008 16:48:47    111270

weekend predictions
eyrecourt
abbeyknockmoy
kilconiorn
cappy

eyrecourt and kilconioren to reach senior status again

pureclass (Galway) - Posts: 33 - 30/09/2008 19:43:20    111422

Annaughdown beating Kilconieron will hardly be a shock, they have just beaten the league champions and one of the favourites for the championship. They must be surly fancying themselves for senior status now having avoided Killimordaly and Eyrecourt in the draw. Fair enough Kilconieron used to be Senior but they were well beaten by Eyrecourt and Abbeyknockmoy in the group.

Outsider15 (Galway) - Posts: 20 - 30/09/2008 22:53:43    111553

winners dis wkend moycullen, kdaly, kilconiren, eyercourt. moycullen and kdaly to go up.

topcorner (Galway) - Posts: 4 - 01/10/2008 11:48:33    111782

Lads I fancy Cappy to go through. Moycullen are good but I reckon Cappy will win if they can stop Darcy from hitting the onionbag!

bman (Galway) - Posts: 143 - 02/10/2008 12:48:47    112592

The intermediate is defo shaping up. From what I hear annaghdown should have won on Sunday but didn't take their chances. M/Eyrecourt out of the champo (I predicted a shock here) but didn't do well in my other predictions. I'd say M/E are fairly shocked today. Cappy overcome Moycullen. Killimordaly are through to the next round. If Kilcon over come Annaghdown next day it will make for a great semi which I can see them winning easily. Kilcon & Killimordaly to go up senior

nemo (None) - Posts: 112 - 06/10/2008 10:10:00    114028

I was very surprised to hear about M/Eyrecourt being dumped out of the championship I was fully convinced they'd come through that side of the draw. I couldn't make it to killimor yesterday. Anybody have a report of the game. How did eyrecourt's forward line scrapper, mcevoy, lucas do as I thought tad might struggle to contain them. They have the best forwards in intermediate with lucas and mcevoy on form the last day against castlegar.
I was in athenry though to see cappataggle deservedly go thorough in horrific conditions. Moycullen didn't adapt as well as cappataggle to the pitch. Killimordaly were also deserving winners but abbey fought all the way. Annaghdown also caused another upset. How do ye see the semis going?

barry (Galway) - Posts: 30 - 06/10/2008 12:26:21    114165

I think the promotion system should go back 2 the old way ie. only one team going up. It takes a very good team to win an intermediate c'ship but an ordinary team could fluke its way to the final! It would also make the final more competitive as it has been a non event since the current system was introduced. 4 teams are now left this year K'daly tad cappatagle annaghdown- k'daly are the only team here capable of competin in senior level and even they were relagated last year. Look at pearses dis year they were way out of their league and they are a far better team than either cappy or annaghdown who will contest one of this years semis. It is likely that the winners of this game will have a long and miserable 2009!!

Blackcat (Galway) - Posts: 132 - 12/10/2008 12:45:46    117484

I have to disagree with you Blackcat as IMO it is better to go up and enjoy the moment and celebrations that follow even if you do get relegated very soon again.
If your not good enough then you will be relegated and you start over again.
I bet if you asked Pearses players they would say the same thing.

John Doe (Galway) - Posts: 243 - 13/10/2008 07:29:52    117685

blackcat thats a very bitter outlook. i come from a small intemediate club and i think its great to see too supposadly weaker clubs now only a game away from the senior ranks. Cappy are 12 years intermediate and have put in huge ammounts of work to get to where they are. annaghdown were a junior c team about 9 years ago and through ambition and hard work deserve to be where they are. your outlook is typical of the problem in galway: a pre-determined mindset of those who should succeed and those who should not. the system is the way it is because the clubs voted it in , its a bad system in a lot of ways but i say fair play to pearses and to cappy and anadown, they went out and beat what was put in front of them (often clubs who deem themselves better than they actually are due to past glories , and now feel pretty sorry for themselves because thety were beat by the likes of cappy pearses or annagghdown) I would happily take my cahnces in senior if i were given it as will who ever goes up. There are easily 8 teams in the senior grade who would not look out of place in intermediate but due to an almost fool-proof religation system  which is quite easy to first of all avoide. I say support these emerging clubs and give them a chance the whole hurling scene in galway needs a major shake up

fullerfulback (None) - Posts: 29 - 13/10/2008 09:48:08    117729

I do believe the system is flawed as there is no excitement for the final. I think it should be like the football, winners of championship and league. The fairest way. On the other hand its great to see small clubs progressing. If Annaghdown go up, I can't see them staying up. Its very difficult to keep two senior teams going.

Big John (Galway) - Posts: 63 - 13/10/2008 11:17:47    117798

ok main aim of all clubs is to be promoted to senior but if you come from a proud club you will want to go senior as winners.You dont have to have a senior team to be a proud club !!! was at annaghdown v kil match and the cappy v moycullen matchand the excitement among the cappy and annaghdown supporters was great to see

gaa gal (Galway) - Posts: 20 - 13/10/2008 11:54:31    117841

Great to see two new teams, Annaghdown and Cappataggle making the semi final of the intermediate championship and its a shake up to the old order of Galway hurling. It reminds me of Abbeyknockmoy making the breakthrough at intermediate first and then senior in the 1980s. For other so called "stronger" clubs like Leitrim Kilnadeema, Eyrecourt and Kilconieron there is always next year but for Annaghdown and Cappy this is their big chance to join the elite of Galway hurling. s one other contributor pointed out, there are several senior clubs that wouldnt be out of place in the intermediate grade and i guess that is a debate for another day.

galwaycelt (Galway) - Posts: 307 - 13/10/2008 14:38:48    117982

I think its great to see teams like Annaghdown and Cappy in the semi's. I was at the 1/4 final replay match last weekend, was an extremely good game. I think Annaghdown would have had it won at full time if it wasn't for the rediculous injury time that was added on by Paschal! But fair play to a tired and old looking Kilconieron team who contested a great match. Will be a great pair of semi's and I reckon Annaghdown and Killimordaly will advance to Senior grade. But whoever gets promoted will deserve it. I don't like these complaints about an easy side of the draw. A'down, K'daly, Cappy & T-A-D have just bet who was put in front of them and definitely deserve to be where they are now.

ryano215 (Galway) - Posts: 5 - 14/10/2008 20:05:07    119125