Munster Hurling Championship 2024

Might as well get going with this one. Curious to see people's thoughts on who will come through.

I think Limerick, Clare and the Rebels

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2506 - 09/04/2024 08:45:31    2536799

Hopefully it will be as good this year as it has been over the last 6 seasons.
Every game will be like a knock out match.
I think Cork will be in Munster final.
Just a hunch but I think Tipp will be in top 3.
That would mean one from limerick and Clare would lose out and that would probably be the loser of the 1st round in Ennis.
Either way its time to get strapped in and get ready for the roller coaster championship.
Regarding this thread let us just hope it is not hijacked by the usual suspects with their petty sniping.
That would be asking a lot I suppose.

Westfester (Limerick) - Posts: 944 - 09/04/2024 18:43:10    2536975

Replying To Westfester:  "Hopefully it will be as good this year as it has been over the last 6 seasons.
That would mean one from limerick and Clare would lose out and that would probably be the loser of the 1st round in Ennis.
Either way its time to get strapped in and get ready for the roller coaster championship.
Regarding this thread let us just hope it is not hijacked by the usual suspects with their petty sniping.
That would be asking a lot I suppose."
I agree re Cork. I think they'll make a munster final this year.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1139 - 09/04/2024 19:54:16    2536988

Replying To Westfester:  "Hopefully it will be as good this year as it has been over the last 6 seasons.
That would be asking a lot I suppose."
Welcome back WF, I promise to behave myself, but as you know, Tour men can resist anything but temptation. However I hope there is a great Championship and may the best horse jump the ditch. I just think Waterford, if results fall right for them, before the final game, could be in the three to get out of Munster.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4349 - 09/04/2024 20:02:13    2536991

Limerick, Clare, and one of the others but not sure who yet. Cork seemed to finish the League the strongest of the 3, but I can't help feeling Fitzgerald and Cahill weren't too interested in the League at all. How will Cork hurl when they have less space in a Championship game? Will they have improved enough at that over the winter? Will Waterford have their big guns back? Will Tipp fall flat again after a few games?
I think in Clare and Limerick you have more proven teams, who have been on the road together longer, and have won tight games together for longer.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12212 - 09/04/2024 20:10:46    2536992

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Welcome back WF, I promise to behave myself, but as you know, Tour men can resist anything but temptation. However I hope there is a great Championship and may the best horse jump the ditch. I just think Waterford, if results fall right for them, before the final game, could be in the three to get out of Munster."
Jes I can't see where your optimism comes with regards Waterford. They haven't a hope IMO of getting out of Munster. I just don't believe the players believe in what the manager is trying to do.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2506 - 09/04/2024 21:34:36    2537006

Clare
Lime
Cork
Water
Tipp

Clare to beat Lime twice and be Muns Champs.

omahant (USA) - Posts: 2644 - 09/04/2024 21:35:59    2537007

Fancy Limerick, Clare and Cork myself but in 3 out of the 4 Munster round robins at least 1 team I expected to get through didn't.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 09/04/2024 23:17:07    2537019

I said earler I think Waterford will upset someone..cork first day for them in Walsh park..if this happens this is the match that might kick start their year..the loser of Clare/limerick will also bein a spot of bother..I'm hoping limerick get out even in third..I'll go against others and say Clare,Waterford and limerick..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2242 - 10/04/2024 00:01:53    2537020

I wonder will it make any difference to the match in Ennis that Limerick have been allocated 9000 tickets and clare just under 8000 for the first round Robin match. Season ticket holders were the first to be looked after due to the terms and conditions of pre sale and Limerick have a huge number more than clare hence the reason. Clare are exploring avenues to increase capacity to cater for a few more of their own supporters.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1139 - 10/04/2024 06:46:59    2537030

Replying To daveboy:  "I wonder will it make any difference to the match in Ennis that Limerick have been allocated 9000 tickets and clare just under 8000 for the first round Robin match. Season ticket holders were the first to be looked after due to the terms and conditions of pre sale and Limerick have a huge number more than clare hence the reason. Clare are exploring avenues to increase capacity to cater for a few more of their own supporters."
It's hard to know but I cannot for the life understand how Limerick would end up with more tickets. My understanding was that you would have your allocation and your season tickets would be included with that so ie less for the clubs. Either way, I don't think it will have a huge bearing.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2506 - 10/04/2024 07:36:23    2537033

Replying To CTGAA10:  "I said earler I think Waterford will upset someone..cork first day for them in Walsh park..if this happens this is the match that might kick start their year..the loser of Clare/limerick will also bein a spot of bother..I'm hoping limerick get out even in third..I'll go against others and say Clare,Waterford and limerick.."
I agree it's not ideal to lose your first match but I think the importance is overblown slightly, it's is the same as any other match. Clare lost our first game last year at home too and still topped the group.

The flip side is that if you can win one game on the road that should really give you a great chance to get out.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2506 - 10/04/2024 07:38:26    2537035

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "I agree it's not ideal to lose your first match but I think the importance is overblown slightly, it's is the same as any other match. Clare lost our first game last year at home too and still topped the group.

The flip side is that if you can win one game on the road that should really give you a great chance to get out."
It really is all on the day though you cannot rule out any of the 5 teams you cannot say WD wont put it together for this campaign.

If you start with a win fantastic but everyday is a qualifier if you avoid injuries all this but basically everything is in the works.

I definitely think Cork will be a major force and you would realistically expect LM to come through a scrap for 3rd Place

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 896 - 10/04/2024 09:53:59    2537056

Replying To clooney:  "It really is all on the day though you cannot rule out any of the 5 teams you cannot say WD wont put it together for this campaign.

If you start with a win fantastic but everyday is a qualifier if you avoid injuries all this but basically everything is in the works.

I definitely think Cork will be a major force and you would realistically expect LM to come through a scrap for 3rd Place"
The thing about Waterford is that logically, there is no way on earth anyone can tip them to come out of Munster. Look at their Munster RR robin record, is it something like 2 wins in 16 games. Bottom of the table last year and relegated from the league this year. All im saying is that it makes no logical sense to tip them and by that token it would be some shock if they pulled it together and qualified.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2506 - 10/04/2024 12:03:01    2537095

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "The thing about Waterford is that logically, there is no way on earth anyone can tip them to come out of Munster. Look at their Munster RR robin record, is it something like 2 wins in 16 games. Bottom of the table last year and relegated from the league this year. All im saying is that it makes no logical sense to tip them and by that token it would be some shock if they pulled it together and qualified."
I'm absolutely dreading the first game in Walsh Park. I just have a bad feeling about it, and as many have already mentioned, Waterford will take a scalp, and I'd imagine they are targeting Cork at home. If we get through that game, I fancy us to win one of our two home matches in front of a packed PUC (only a hand full of terrace tickets left for both games), which hopefully, should see us through.
Let the roller coaster ride begin..

bloodandbandage (Cork) - Posts: 282 - 10/04/2024 12:31:01    2537105

Replying To bloodandbandage:  "I'm absolutely dreading the first game in Walsh Park. I just have a bad feeling about it, and as many have already mentioned, Waterford will take a scalp, and I'd imagine they are targeting Cork at home. If we get through that game, I fancy us to win one of our two home matches in front of a packed PUC (only a hand full of terrace tickets left for both games), which hopefully, should see us through.
Let the roller coaster ride begin.."
If you don't beat Waterford even finishing 3rd will become very hard.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12212 - 10/04/2024 14:29:12    2537144

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "The thing about Waterford is that logically, there is no way on earth anyone can tip them to come out of Munster. Look at their Munster RR robin record, is it something like 2 wins in 16 games. Bottom of the table last year and relegated from the league this year. All im saying is that it makes no logical sense to tip them and by that token it would be some shock if they pulled it together and qualified."
Look closer at the fixture list LRH and notice who they are due to play last. As I say is if results fall a certain way it could just suit Waterford. Remember both Limerick men and Waterford men are all Deise People.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4349 - 10/04/2024 14:50:09    2537157

Replying To bloodandbandage:  "I'm absolutely dreading the first game in Walsh Park. I just have a bad feeling about it, and as many have already mentioned, Waterford will take a scalp, and I'd imagine they are targeting Cork at home. If we get through that game, I fancy us to win one of our two home matches in front of a packed PUC (only a hand full of terrace tickets left for both games), which hopefully, should see us through.
Let the roller coaster ride begin.."
I don't think we can read too much into the league form as I truly believe most teams are trying to peak for Championship and nobody wanted to give away too much. The Clare, Cork, Wexford, Waterford, Kilkenny league group was far more competitive than the Limerick, Galway, Tipperary, Antrim and Westmeath Group so it's kind of difficult to see where Limerick and Tipperary are at right now.

I think Tipperary were doing very heavy training load during the league and tried lads in lots of different positions. I think once Liam Cahill and Mikey Bevans settle on their first choice 15 they will come up with a game plan to suit and could be dangerous.

Limerick played very well against Antrim in their first match, poorly against Westmeath in the next game before playing well against Tipperary. They ground out a draw creditable against Galway with 14 men for a long period but didn't perform at all the next week against Kilkenny. I don't think they are "struggling" as Colm Galvin says, but I did note in the matches that they played poorly against Westmeath and Kilkenny their puckout strategy (which Paul Kinnerk is renowned for) was non existent, and their running game broke down due to a a combination of overplaying the ball, and running it into trouble, and to lack of support runners off the shoulder giving them options to pass to. I think they were also doing a heavy training load. Past History has shown them to be able to get their ducks in a row when it counts

Davy and Waterford are well able to bring a kind of chaos that can unsettle any team. If they can pull off a scalp early their supporters will roll in behind them and from there momentum can be a funny thing. They have players to come back in and could be dangerous

Clare are the form team in the Country at the moment. They have strengthened their bench considerably and their tackling/Swarm defence in the League Final was very sharp. It easy to see why they are unbeaten and they certainly look destined to top the round robin in Munster again.

I can see a lot of similarities between Cork and Clare at the moment. Cork have been on an massive upward trajectory since the start of the league this year, Like Clare I think they have definitely added to their strength and depth, plus all the relatively new faces (some very talented stickmen) introduced over the last couple of years, are another year older and wiser in terms of experience. They weren't far away from a Munster final last year and I think they are team hiding in the long grass that we all need to fear this year. Also Cork have both Clare and Limerick in PUC

I think at this stage if I was betting, Clare to top the round robin in Munster, Cork or Limerick to join them in Munster Final (and Cork or Limerick) to finish third.

LimerickandProud (Limerick) - Posts: 60 - 10/04/2024 15:08:42    2537164

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Jes I can't see where your optimism comes with regards Waterford. They haven't a hope IMO of getting out of Munster. I just don't believe the players believe in what the manager is trying to do."
I honestly don't know how Waterford will do but "haven't a hope " is pretty degrading. Waterford largest defeat with half a team in the league was three points and nine in total over five games. Kilkenny the All-Ireland and league finalist was a bizzar one because it should have been won. I am not a Davy fan and that makes me skeptical but the players are playing for Waterford. The injured players and how many come back being match ready is difficult. Someone will be eating humble pie before the Munster Championship is over. Look out Banner for those no hopers.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2673 - 10/04/2024 21:22:41    2537232

Replying To Canuck:  "I honestly don't know how Waterford will do but "haven't a hope " is pretty degrading. Waterford largest defeat with half a team in the league was three points and nine in total over five games. Kilkenny the All-Ireland and league finalist was a bizzar one because it should have been won. I am not a Davy fan and that makes me skeptical but the players are playing for Waterford. The injured players and how many come back being match ready is difficult. Someone will be eating humble pie before the Munster Championship is over. Look out Banner for those no hopers."
I do apologise for use of "haven't a hope". That was wrong of me.

All I was trying to say was that I can't see how "logically" anyone could tip Waterford this year and I stand by that. Of course Waterford have great players and it would not be a shock for them to pull off a scalp but I personally do not see ye troubling teams enough to pick up enough results to qualify. The way Davy sets up Waterford is not suiting the players and actually bringing a bluntness to your play.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2506 - 11/04/2024 06:55:49    2537273