The Limerick 5 In A Row, Will They Do It?

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "He doesnt need to do it though. He could choose like you have, not to give every county board anything.

Your argument carries no weight until you send a cheque to every county board for a €10 so run along and getting signing."
I have regularly given money to my local club and Kilkenny GAA over the years. I have also given countless hours of unpaid time, just like thousands of other people in the GAA. But I don't make a song and dance about it. You keep tugging your forelock to multibillionaire philanthropists.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2481 - 25/03/2024 12:21:44    2533519

Replying To skillet:  "Maybe I'm naive but I think you're reading way too much into Saturdays game. If we played like that against Clare on the 21st April then we're in big trouble.

The league is the league.
We hammered Clare last year and they beat us in the Championship.. Much better than us on the day.
Will our puckouts be as poor again? Unlikely.
put Dan Morrisey and Casey in the full back line and it's a completely different proposition.
Will our work rate be as bad again.. Don't think so. Maybe this team is in decline but I'd reserve judgement just for now."
The championship is certainly a different animal. The two games this weekend will have absolutely no bearing on what transpires then. Clare are not scoring many goals but conceding quite a few. That worries me. I expect a huge improvement from Sean Finn.

MiAmigaVERONICA (Clare) - Posts: 302 - 25/03/2024 12:28:52    2533522

Replying To skillet:  "Maybe I'm naive but I think you're reading way too much into Saturdays game. If we played like that against Clare on the 21st April then we're in big trouble.

The league is the league.
We hammered Clare last year and they beat us in the Championship.. Much better than us on the day.
Will our puckouts be as poor again? Unlikely.
put Dan Morrisey and Casey in the full back line and it's a completely different proposition.
Will our work rate be as bad again.. Don't think so. Maybe this team is in decline but I'd reserve judgement just for now."
I completely agree, they were also very poor against Westmeath but were a different team in their next two outings. Its normal for teams to be strong in certain matches and heavy legged in others depending on where they are with their training cycles. If a link in the chain is off then it can all come crashing down, the way they lined out leaving a continuous one v one situation inside was also unusual and won't be the case come championship.
Now, if they were still flat for the Clare match we could start to worry but there is no evidence to suggest that will happen. They will be ready. Clare look in excellent form and will take some stopping this year, so only our very best will do.

Fitzy01 (Limerick) - Posts: 390 - 25/03/2024 12:30:59    2533523

I'd hope that Dan and mikey will shore up the full back line..seanie looks like he needs more time and fergal o Connor is now a serious option..think cahal looks like a serious threat from half back whick would free up Kyle at other end of the field.if Donovan comes in then cian to c/forward for me where he seems to give all his best performances and brings everyone else into the action..I'd like to see hego at full for a while or possibly Kyle,something for other counties to think about..think Peter misses first match now due to red..if so then I'd like to see English,o brien or o dalaigh given the start..I'd love to see us take on the likes of hogan and cleary like tipp did yesterday.I havnt mentioned Colin Coughlan cos the injury looked serious enough and I'd keep Flanagan and Mul in reserve..this is me,not management of course but try something new..four weeks to Clare game and I'm sure all will be ok..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2231 - 25/03/2024 14:00:19    2533574

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "I have regularly given money to my local club and Kilkenny GAA over the years. I have also given countless hours of unpaid time, just like thousands of other people in the GAA. But I don't make a song and dance about it. You keep tugging your forelock to multibillionaire philanthropists."
So what's the issue, are you disagreeing with what he is doing and appealing to him to stop? You are happy to do your bit and fair play to you but you have a problem with him doing his bit? The only people making a song and dance about are people like you.
You can be sure he doesn't want anyone to know what he is doing and would prefer to keep it quiet. There's plenty of multi millionaires out there who do nothing for their communities. For the life of me I can't understand the begrudery or negativity towards something so positive.

Fitzy01 (Limerick) - Posts: 390 - 25/03/2024 14:02:09    2533577

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "I have regularly given money to my local club and Kilkenny GAA over the years. I have also given countless hours of unpaid time, just like thousands of other people in the GAA. But I don't make a song and dance about it. You keep tugging your forelock to multibillionaire philanthropists."
Spot on CC

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1823 - 25/03/2024 14:19:19    2533593

Replying To LarryOBrother:  "Without deflecting onto poor referees or discipline can we address the much bigger issues that seemed to surface on Saturday for Limerick:

1. Their full back line looked a shambles, completely exposed an unable to cope in one v one situations. Kilkenny had at least 5 clear goalscoring opportunities. Will Mike Casey solve that??

2. The puck outs malfunctioned big time - hard to see why from TV why but im sure there will be plenty of managers looking at it.

3. Starting forwards scored 1-5 from play. 1-1 in the first two minutes and never looked dangerous afterwards.

4. Workrate. Completely outworked by Kilkenny.

IMO they are the real reasons Limerick lost and need to be urgently addressed. A lot of counties just got a lot of hope."
Some judge of hurling, Larry. It is exactly what I saw too. It is nice to have hope spread around, also as you you. But wouldn't it be a lot worse for Limerick if it had happened in an important championship game? There's an old saying: forearmed is forewarned. KK's plan is clearly go for goal if at all possible when up against Limerick. They had 7 goal chances (not 5) of which they took 3. They have signaled their intent early, and it is there for all to see. However, against other opposition, KK might feel that they could take them down by shooting points. For example, 0-15 or 0-16 might be good enough to account for the yallow-bellies.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1937 - 25/03/2024 14:23:24    2533596

Replying To Fitzy01:  "Comments here are getting a little silly. JP has been around a long long time and became the official single sponsor way back in 2004. No one was saying back then his money was responsible for buying success.

In relation to the knocks and fouls I think most give as good as they get. I will say I honestly think Hego is reffed differently, the man never goes to ground when fouled or pulled as very few are strong enough but he should still get his free if someone pulls or drags him. The opposition crowd will be foaming at the mouth if he comes back with a third of the punishment he takes and the refs will react to this too as do the pundits and the media. Opposition will disagree with this but this is honestly how I see it after years of seeing him in live action. I honestly think this treatment got to him last year."
Not getting frees is one of the few downsides of being a big lad. There are far more positives to being larger and stronger and you just have to accept the punishment sometimes. He is big, strong and old enough to be able to accept it (or at least should be).

I see it all the time when county players come back for club games and they hit with ferocity and get blown up when in reality they are probably used to a more physical game for 6 months of the year

MrPBoylan (Monaghan) - Posts: 119 - 25/03/2024 14:37:10    2533600

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Some judge of hurling, Larry. It is exactly what I saw too. It is nice to have hope spread around, also as you you. But wouldn't it be a lot worse for Limerick if it had happened in an important championship game? There's an old saying: forearmed is forewarned. KK's plan is clearly go for goal if at all possible when up against Limerick. They had 7 goal chances (not 5) of which they took 3. They have signaled their intent early, and it is there for all to see. However, against other opposition, KK might feel that they could take them down by shooting points. For example, 0-15 or 0-16 might be good enough to account for the yallow-bellies."
The yellow-bellies?? Won't be paying any heed to your gospel analysis going forward. Come to think of it I never did . Seeking relevance?

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1361 - 25/03/2024 16:07:03    2533642

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "I'm saying that if I was a Limerick fan I would probably think he is slightly victimised. Depends on your perspective I guess"
I agree Hegarty used to be very loose with the Hurley on occasions in the past, and unfortunately it has earned him a reputation. because he is such a big man loose one handed tackles would connect with a head, shoulder our upper arm. He has had to totally alter his tackling technique for this reason. If you look closely when blocking other players in the swarm defence he now goes in with both hands on hurley, held down at the waste. The issued I have is that you can't referee on reputation, only on what happens in front of you on the day. however past indiscretions (which accept were totally his doing) appear to be influencing the decision.

LimerickandProud (Limerick) - Posts: 56 - 25/03/2024 16:50:24    2533662

Replying To Doylerwex:  "We'll swap 96 for your current success if you want?"
I saw this post and held on to it till Saturday night for discussion point in the local. I was interested as to whether the locals would swap 96 for Limerick's current success.
Some would, but most wouldn't. Most thought 96 was such an unforgettable summer and if you offered them 10 in a row they wouldn't take it. What's rare is wonderful they said.
As they said, anybody who was anybody back then won an All-Ireland in the 90's and they would have hated George and John O'Connor, Storey, Liam Dunne, Tom Dempsey, Billy Byrne, etc - great Wexford men - not to get an All-Ireland medal.
I'd gladly swap Dublin football success for even one hurling.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1140 - 25/03/2024 17:09:14    2533669

Replying To LarryOBrother:  "Without deflecting onto poor referees or discipline can we address the much bigger issues that seemed to surface on Saturday for Limerick:

1. Their full back line looked a shambles, completely exposed an unable to cope in one v one situations. Kilkenny had at least 5 clear goalscoring opportunities. Will Mike Casey solve that??

2. The puck outs malfunctioned big time - hard to see why from TV why but im sure there will be plenty of managers looking at it.

3. Starting forwards scored 1-5 from play. 1-1 in the first two minutes and never looked dangerous afterwards.

IMO they are the real reasons Limerick lost and need to be urgently addressed. A lot of counties just got a lot of hope."
The Limerick full back line had no recognised full back last Saturday and Sean Finn was making his first appearance in nearly 12 months. There are two hopefully two all star Full Backs in Dan Morrissey and Mike Casey to return (injuries permitting) as well as our stand out corner back in the league to date Fergal O'Connor (injury permitting) if Sean Finn isn't up to speed by Championship. Also the ground covered by Kyle Hayes as a back up is to the defence is massive and he is normally the man covering the runners from midfield (where Declan Hannon was kind of exposed) on Saturday.

I think the puck malfunction is a big issue. There were lots of balls hit short and its not clear if this was the receiver not moving or Nicky not hitting it far enough. While they were hitting into a fierce wind in the first half there was no excuse for the second half but firing High balls down on top of Peter Casey and Cian Lynch is madness and this is a concern. The rarely wen short even into the wind.

I think the full forward line did very well with the limited supply of ball into them. I think Donnacha O'Dailaigh possibly did enough to oust Seamus Flanagan from the starting 15. Half forwards were dreadful touch was off all looked leggy and overplayed the ball and ran into trouble. Work rate/running off the shoulder was missing I don't know why. Possibly Darragh O'Donovan is the real engine in the middle of the park to get things going.

Cathal O'Neill has to start come championship so I think every line of the Field (bar the full back line) will be under pressure to perform because of this. Based on current form any one of Declan Hannon, Tom Morrissey, Cian Lynch, Gearoid Hegarty Seamus Flanagan and Peter Casey (after his ban) could be the ones to loose out.

LimerickandProud (Limerick) - Posts: 56 - 25/03/2024 17:17:12    2533673

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "I saw this post and held on to it till Saturday night for discussion point in the local. I was interested as to whether the locals would swap 96 for Limerick's current success.
Some would, but most wouldn't. Most thought 96 was such an unforgettable summer and if you offered them 10 in a row they wouldn't take it. What's rare is wonderful they said.
As they said, anybody who was anybody back then won an All-Ireland in the 90's and they would have hated George and John O'Connor, Storey, Liam Dunne, Tom Dempsey, Billy Byrne, etc - great Wexford men - not to get an All-Ireland medal.
I'd gladly swap Dublin football success for even one hurling."
Whatever about you noone can say you're not a hurling man Exiled.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12109 - 25/03/2024 18:38:17    2533701

Replying To oneoff:  "That's not really true now is it? Were successful in the 30s/40s did pretty much nothing again until the 70s had a bit of success in the 80s/90s and did nothing again until recently."
All of what he said there is correct.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12109 - 25/03/2024 18:40:42    2533702

Wonder what the Limerick lads were doing during the week before Larry? They just looked a little tired as the game wore on, and the returning lads just didn't look match sharp yet. I think Kilkenny won because they needed and wanted that win more after the last 3 games between them. And I think Clare will win the final for the very same reason.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12109 - 25/03/2024 18:44:08    2533704

Replying To baire:  "Nobody is suggesting Limerick were not "around long before JP".
However, up to 2018, All of Limerick's All Irelands, bar 1973, were won between 1897-1940. All of these wins were single All Ireland wins, no back to back All Irelands.
What's happening in Limerick (at inter-county level) in recent years is exceptional - exceptional team and backroom team, exceptional resources and exceptional funding."
True but not the whole story Baire. They reached 4 finals in a row in the early/mid 30s, winning 2 of them. That's not exactly "single all ireland wins" as such, only literally.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12109 - 25/03/2024 18:47:16    2533706

Replying To CTGAA10:  "I'd hope that Dan and mikey will shore up the full back line..seanie looks like he needs more time and fergal o Connor is now a serious option..think cahal looks like a serious threat from half back whick would free up Kyle at other end of the field.if Donovan comes in then cian to c/forward for me where he seems to give all his best performances and brings everyone else into the action..I'd like to see hego at full for a while or possibly Kyle,something for other counties to think about..think Peter misses first match now due to red..if so then I'd like to see English,o brien or o dalaigh given the start..I'd love to see us take on the likes of hogan and cleary like tipp did yesterday.I havnt mentioned Colin Coughlan cos the injury looked serious enough and I'd keep Flanagan and Mul in reserve..this is me,not management of course but try something new..four weeks to Clare game and I'm sure all will be ok.."
Finn and Nash will be different animals come Munster.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12109 - 25/03/2024 18:49:38    2533707

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Some judge of hurling, Larry. It is exactly what I saw too. It is nice to have hope spread around, also as you you. But wouldn't it be a lot worse for Limerick if it had happened in an important championship game? There's an old saying: forearmed is forewarned. KK's plan is clearly go for goal if at all possible when up against Limerick. They had 7 goal chances (not 5) of which they took 3. They have signaled their intent early, and it is there for all to see. However, against other opposition, KK might feel that they could take them down by shooting points. For example, 0-15 or 0-16 might be good enough to account for the yallow-bellies."
They've a worse record in 70 minutes against us than they have against Limerick in their last 7 championship games played against both of us. Since 2016 Kilkenny have only won 1 championship meeting out of the last 7 between us in normal time, and that by only a point in normal time. Think they've won 4 or 5 of their last 7 championship meetings with Limerick.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12109 - 25/03/2024 18:54:07    2533708

Replying To Viking66:  "They've a worse record in 70 minutes against us than they have against Limerick in their last 7 championship games played against both of us. Since 2016 Kilkenny have only won 1 championship meeting out of the last 7 between us in normal time, and that by only a point in normal time. Think they've won 4 or 5 of their last 7 championship meetings with Limerick."
Limerick have met Killkenny 16 times in championship hurling, Kilkenny winning 9 and Limerick winning 7.
Limerick have won 3 of the last 4 championship games against Kilkenny.

fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 598 - 25/03/2024 20:13:45    2533729

Replying To Viking66:  "True but not the whole story Baire. They reached 4 finals in a row in the early/mid 30s, winning 2 of them. That's not exactly "single all ireland wins" as such, only literally."
No back to back AIs until 2021, isn't that the case, Viking? There's a stark difference between reaching AIs and winning them, as we know too well. As for telling the whole story, good luck with that!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1823 - 25/03/2024 20:20:36    2533733