Replying To inthru: "Championship games should not be week on week. These fellas are all working and have lives and families. There should be a minimum of 2 weeks between every game and ideally it is 3 weeks between them all. Also feel that championship week on week devalues what championship is really about a small bit.
The break between players is for the players benefit most of all but then also supporters. It is a very tall order for families to expect to be able to bring children to games all the time. I see Armagh had 7 games in 11 weeks, that is tight going on people and serious consideration should be given to the long term impact of this.
Talk of condensed seasons and tight timescales is a handy excuse to stop the powers that be properly looking at the issue. Scheduling is not a problem that is fundamentally difficult to resolve.
Then outside of scheduling there is the other issue in terms of venue. In the current system, provincial finalists should get home advantage for round 1 but then round 2 and round 3 have to be Neutral venue. No other way of doing it is fair." The push will come from the GPA for the league to be reduced to 6 rounds. That should end 3 consecutive weekends during league and championship. Regards Round 2 - there is likely to be a push to give provincial winners home advantage in Round 2. I'm not a fan of neutral venues. 2A losers should have home advantage in R3 IMO, similar to group runners up in the previous format. If the majority vote for neutral venue R3, so be it.
legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 9884 - 24/06/2026 14:09:35
Replying To Kickitout: "I definitely think the all Ireland needs to be pushed back 2 weeks min at end of day by mid July there would only be 4 teams left ,I hear lots on about the club players lots of club players in America or Canada now as all club championship don't start before Aug and after this weekend they only be 4 teams left in championship at end June a bit ridiculous in my opinion I know in Galway majority of club league matches done since last weekend just Div finals so in reality from mid June to first week in Aug no fixtures so I'd say there a 6 werk window there for players sort out hols again only my opinion but inter county way 2 crammed no matter what we say inter county is where the crowds go 2 see I know in club matches be a struggle get 4-5 hundred at club game bar semi final or final very few neturals go early round club matches usually just few hundred for both clubs" Yes there's not a lot wrong with current layout but pushing to middle of August makes great sense and gives championship two more weeks to breathe at least. Last week was ridiculous with four quarters, two hurling quarters and two semi finals all clashing into each other and reducing eyeballs, interest and narrative.
Also the first couple of weeks of August are a sporting black hole with no soccer, rugby, golf majors or any real important sport for GAA to have shop window to themselves.
With the three round 3 winners all the home side, Jarlath has flagged neutral venues for round 3. Id disagree. Local provincial towns are best for driving up audiences.
Round 1 should be provincial teams at home Round 2 and 3 should be the higher ranked team in the league gets home field advantage. This will mean teams will have to push forward with the league and give added incentive for early progress.
shaggykev (Donegal) - Posts: 500 - 24/06/2026 15:05:34
Replying To Seanfan: "Has Sligo not got Club Leagues?????" They do but the club players start training in Jan or early Feb and the season for those who progress to latter stages is 8-9 months long. Almost all clubs clubs play their league games without county players anyway so the split season is doing nothing for club players or especially clubs with a few players on the county and I know of clubs struggling for survival in div 1 because of this . I know the split season was brought in for the county players but they still miss the club league games and club championships finishing up sometimes in November.
Dothesimplethingswell (Sligo) - Posts: 90 - 24/06/2026 16:58:55
Replying To TheFlaker: "Now i am not agreeing with everything my Mayo friend is saying. I mostly disagree with his posts. I have one question for you.
Tell me where there's a club player who has no games for a long period of time? As you have stated?" Well ok I hold my hands up there I didnt mean no games for months but what I should have said was the length of the club season..Starting training in Jan Feb, leagues begin in March big gap before championship starts and in most counties county finals played in November..Its insanity the county champions playing in the worst of weather in November and December and some clubs have even played 1st round of club championship the day after county final.. Im not sure what % of players are county players but what was intended to serve them well deprives them of club league football and wrings lads out expecting them to play championship games 3 weekends in a row. Dara o Shea mentions this in his article yesterday as have some intercounty managers also. Meanwhile the club player starts in Jan / Feb and trudges on in some cases to November.
Dothesimplethingswell (Sligo) - Posts: 90 - 24/06/2026 17:07:21
Replying To Dothesimplethingswell: "Well ok I hold my hands up there I didnt mean no games for months but what I should have said was the length of the club season..Starting training in Jan Feb, leagues begin in March big gap before championship starts and in most counties county finals played in November..Its insanity the county champions playing in the worst of weather in November and December and some clubs have even played 1st round of club championship the day after county final.. Im not sure what % of players are county players but what was intended to serve them well deprives them of club league football and wrings lads out expecting them to play championship games 3 weekends in a row. Dara o Shea mentions this in his article yesterday as have some intercounty managers also. Meanwhile the club player starts in Jan / Feb and trudges on in some cases to November." Junior/amateur soccer and rugger go on from August to the following May.
Seanfan (Roscommon) - Posts: 675 - 24/06/2026 19:00:45
Replying To Dothesimplethingswell: "Well ok I hold my hands up there I didnt mean no games for months but what I should have said was the length of the club season..Starting training in Jan Feb, leagues begin in March big gap before championship starts and in most counties county finals played in November..Its insanity the county champions playing in the worst of weather in November and December and some clubs have even played 1st round of club championship the day after county final.. Im not sure what % of players are county players but what was intended to serve them well deprives them of club league football and wrings lads out expecting them to play championship games 3 weekends in a row. Dara o Shea mentions this in his article yesterday as have some intercounty managers also. Meanwhile the club player starts in Jan / Feb and trudges on in some cases to November." Whats wrong with having a season that runs the most of the year? Isn't that what lads get in soccer and rugby? Rugby pre season starts in July and so does soccer. The business end of the season is may for both( unless its summer soccer). Thats what players want. They want a full season. As for the leagues, they end when they do because that's what the clubs want. Most club coaches want that break in competition to prepare for the championship. If they didnt the leaguez would run right up to the weekend before championship starts. This applies to both codes. Its a bit strange I know but that's what they want. They value challenge matches more than league in the summer months.
Tadhg2020 (Limerick) - Posts: 610 - 24/06/2026 20:37:37
Replying To Dothesimplethingswell: "Well ok I hold my hands up there I didnt mean no games for months but what I should have said was the length of the club season..Starting training in Jan Feb, leagues begin in March big gap before championship starts and in most counties county finals played in November..Its insanity the county champions playing in the worst of weather in November and December and some clubs have even played 1st round of club championship the day after county final.. Im not sure what % of players are county players but what was intended to serve them well deprives them of club league football and wrings lads out expecting them to play championship games 3 weekends in a row. Dara o Shea mentions this in his article yesterday as have some intercounty managers also. Meanwhile the club player starts in Jan / Feb and trudges on in some cases to November." So I played senior club championship over a 15 year period in 2 different provinces. I retired in 2016. From 01 to 16 I started training in January and played in 3 senior finals all of them played in October. So please tell me where the split season has led to longer seasons for club players?
You are just throwing stuff out there with no actual facts to show the differences. If anyone else wants to share their experiences they can.
TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8884 - 24/06/2026 20:45:31
The easiest way to limit the league to 6 rounds is to keep the 4 divisions of 8: - 2 home and 2 away games against teams from 4 seeded brackets. - top 4 into division semi finals. Top 2 with home game. - lower 4 into relegation semi finals. 5th and 6th with home game.
Scheduling: Round 1 Round 2 Break Round 3 Round 4 Break Semi finals Finals
All Ireland scheduling with 2 weeks freed up by the league: Round 1 - Connacht and Munster finalists. Round 1 - Leinster and Ulster finalists. Break Rounds 2A and 2B Break Round 3 Break Quarter finals Break Semi finals Break Final
With the GPA looking to limit the league to 6 rounds, there is of course more than one way to skin a cat!
legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 9884 - 25/06/2026 09:37:19
Replying To tirawleybaron: "The season actually suits the county players
1. Pre season in December 2. Pre season games in Jan 3. League games form Feb - April 4. Provincial from April to May 5. All Ireland from May to July 6. August off 7. Club championship from September to November
There are then a few players who decide to go to the states - more for the craic than serious football
There are another few who's club season then overlaps with county preseason - a decent county manager will give them lads Feb/March off and wont bother those lads until April - if they want them to do well in summer.
The nature of club football is that it is rare for a club to go back to back provincial titles - so the problem is not every year for the same players.
The big problem is the league - is needs to have less games - particularly at the top divisions as those are generally the guys who end up playing all year round.
Your div 4 footballers, might get to a provincial club final once in their life if they are lucky." I think your analysis is really good here.
I guess my question is do we actually need the league.
I'd much rather a season that starts with provincials (which should retain a link to the All Ireland, such that provincial winners get a shot at it) and moves into the All Ireland.
I'd have the All Ireland as 2 tiers of 2 groups of 8 or even 3 tiers of 10,10 and 12 say and have a more league style All Ireland that's played April to July.
Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4704 - 25/06/2026 09:54:58
Replying To Whammo86: "I think your analysis is really good here.
I'd much rather a season that starts with provincials (which should retain a link to the All Ireland, such that provincial winners get a shot at it) and moves into the All Ireland.
I'd have the All Ireland as 2 tiers of 2 groups of 8 or even 3 tiers of 10,10 and 12 say and have a more league style All Ireland that's played April to July." I think you are forgetting two very important factors here. 1. Intercounty players want a full intercounty season. They value the league, they want to be a championship player for their county and they want to win , where possible, a provincial and ultimately AI title. Thats what motivates them. Playing regularly and competing. Winning is the icing on the cake and is relative to each county and player. Reducing/getting rid of league would not be appreciated in my opinion. Its one of 3 competitions worth winning for them. 2. Supporters and Sponsors/TV want the league. They want more matches not less. Whether we like it or not the intercounty game pays the bills. Its also what inspires the next generation. The more opportunities our youth have to see their county team and favourite players perform the better from a growth point of view. There isnt a huge amount wrong with the season. Nothing that adding the month of August to the intercounty calender wouldn't fix. I know that decision has been made but that's all that's required really.
Tadhg2020 (Limerick) - Posts: 610 - 25/06/2026 11:34:00
Replying To Whammo86: "I think your analysis is really good here.
I'd have the All Ireland as 2 tiers of 2 groups of 8 or even 3 tiers of 10,10 and 12 say and have a more league style All Ireland that's played April to July." The GAA supporter and administrator seems to hate league as a format - but I do think there is merit in the idea of a league championship format
Play provincials first - league system as per U20 championships - finals on May Bank Holiday.
Connacht - 2 groups of 3 (Group 1 - Roscommon/Mayo/galway) - (group 2 - Sligo/Leitrim/London) - Winner group 1 plays winner group 2 in semi - 2nd and 3rd in group 1 play each other in other semi
Munster - 2 groups of 3 (Group 1 - Kerry/Cork/Clare) - (group 2 - Tipp/Limerick/Waterford) - Winner group 1 plays winner group 2 in semi - 2nd and 3rd in group 1 play each other in other semi
Ulster - 3 groups of 3 (Group 1 - Armagh/Donegal/Monaghan) - (group 2 - Tyrone/Derry/Down) - (Group 3 - Cavan/Fermanagh/Antrim) - top 2 in group 1 goes to semis - 2nd Group 1 plays winner group 3 in qfinal - 3rd group 1 plays winner group 2 in qfinal
Leinster - 3 groups of 3/4 (Group 1 - Dublin/Westmeath/Louth) - (Group 2 - Meath/Kildare/Offaly/Wicklow) - (Group 3 - Laois/Wexford/Carlow/Longford) - top of group 1 goes to semis - 2nd Group 1 plays 3rd group 2 in qfinal - 3rd group 1 plays rd group 2 in qfinal - winner group 2 v 2nd group 3 in qfinal.
finalists in every province gets auto entry into All Ireland and has more home matches
All Ireland - Sam Maguire, Tailteann cup and Tommy Murphy Cup
Sam Maguire - starts mid May - 10 best teams from previous years (adjusted if necessary by provincial finals) + Tailteann cup finalists 3 x groups of 4 - repeat of provincial matches avoided (Group 1 - Galway/Armagh/Cork - Group 2 -Roscommon/Kerry/Donegal - Group 3 Westmeath/Monaghan/Louth- Group 4 Mayo/Tyrone/Dublin) 3 matches each - provincial finalists get 2 home matches and 1 away. Best 2 Group winners into All Ireland qfinal v Tailteann finalists - other group winner + 3 x 2nd place into qfinals bottom team in each grop into relegation play offs Qfinals @ End june
Tailteann cup - (Meath/Down/Cavan/Kildare/Leitrim - Offaly/Wicklow//Clare/Derry/Fermanagh) - start May Bank holiday 2 groups of 5 Group winners in qfinals v Tier 3 finalists R up's play 3rd place in qfinals Semi finals in Mid june Final played after Tailteann finalists eliminated from All Ireland - mid july - Saturday before Hurling final Bottom in each group relegated
Tommy Murphy cup - (Tipp/London/Limerick/Carlow/Longford - Antrim/Sligo/Waterford/Laois/Wexford) - starts Mid April 2 groups of 5 Best Group winner into semis - other plays NY in q final at home Group Rup into q finals - home draw v 3rd place from other group Semi finals June bank Holiday Final played after finalists are eliminated from Tailteann Cup - curtain raiser to Hurling semi
tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1931 - 25/06/2026 11:57:31
Replying To Tadhg2020: "I think you are forgetting two very important factors here. 1. Intercounty players want a full intercounty season. They value the league, they want to be a championship player for their county and they want to win , where possible, a provincial and ultimately AI title. Thats what motivates them. Playing regularly and competing. Winning is the icing on the cake and is relative to each county and player. Reducing/getting rid of league would not be appreciated in my opinion. Its one of 3 competitions worth winning for them. 2. Supporters and Sponsors/TV want the league. They want more matches not less. Whether we like it or not the intercounty game pays the bills. Its also what inspires the next generation. The more opportunities our youth have to see their county team and favourite players perform the better from a growth point of view. There isnt a huge amount wrong with the season. Nothing that adding the month of August to the intercounty calender wouldn't fix. I know that decision has been made but that's all that's required really." Talking about about August is a waste of time. That ship has sailed.
The GPA are going to be pushing for the league to be limited to 6 rounds and that's where a bit of change will happen.
legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 9884 - 25/06/2026 12:24:02
Replying To legendzxix: "The push will come from the GPA for the league to be reduced to 6 rounds. That should end 3 consecutive weekends during league and championship. Regards Round 2 - there is likely to be a push to give provincial winners home advantage in Round 2. I'm not a fan of neutral venues. 2A losers should have home advantage in R3 IMO, similar to group runners up in the previous format. If the majority vote for neutral venue R3, so be it." Going into Rd 3, all teams have 'a win & loss'. Not sure why 2A losers (= Rd 1 winners) should get Rd 3 'home' priority over 2B winners.
I think all teams should be guaranteed 1 home/1 away game in Rds 1 & 2.
Have 2 Sam streams of 8, with each team drawn hosting the next drawn sequentially from seed pots as follows:
Stream A: 1243, 1243 Stream B: 1342, 1342
So, in Stream A - e.g. Seed 4 hosts 3 & Seed 3 hosts 1 (wrap around), while Stream B is opposite (1 hosts 3 & 3 hosts 4).
Double winners (on the day) to AI QFs; Double losers eliminated; and Single winners (variable) to Rd 3. Rd 3 & beyond targets 'AvB' pairings to avoid repeats (as much as possible).
Tailteann Cup, similar with Streams C & D.
omahant (USA) - Posts: 3460 - 25/06/2026 12:31:22
Replying To tirawleybaron: "The GAA supporter and administrator seems to hate league as a format - but I do think there is merit in the idea of a league championship format
Play provincials first - league system as per U20 championships - finals on May Bank Holiday.
Connacht - 2 groups of 3 (Group 1 - Roscommon/Mayo/galway) - (group 2 - Sligo/Leitrim/London) - Winner group 1 plays winner group 2 in semi - 2nd and 3rd in group 1 play each other in other semi
Munster - 2 groups of 3 (Group 1 - Kerry/Cork/Clare) - (group 2 - Tipp/Limerick/Waterford) - Winner group 1 plays winner group 2 in semi - 2nd and 3rd in group 1 play each other in other semi
Ulster - 3 groups of 3 (Group 1 - Armagh/Donegal/Monaghan) - (group 2 - Tyrone/Derry/Down) - (Group 3 - Cavan/Fermanagh/Antrim) - top 2 in group 1 goes to semis - 2nd Group 1 plays winner group 3 in qfinal - 3rd group 1 plays winner group 2 in qfinal
Leinster - 3 groups of 3/4 (Group 1 - Dublin/Westmeath/Louth) - (Group 2 - Meath/Kildare/Offaly/Wicklow) - (Group 3 - Laois/Wexford/Carlow/Longford) - top of group 1 goes to semis - 2nd Group 1 plays 3rd group 2 in qfinal - 3rd group 1 plays rd group 2 in qfinal - winner group 2 v 2nd group 3 in qfinal.
finalists in every province gets auto entry into All Ireland and has more home matches
All Ireland - Sam Maguire, Tailteann cup and Tommy Murphy Cup
Sam Maguire - starts mid May - 10 best teams from previous years (adjusted if necessary by provincial finals) + Tailteann cup finalists 3 x groups of 4 - repeat of provincial matches avoided (Group 1 - Galway/Armagh/Cork - Group 2 -Roscommon/Kerry/Donegal - Group 3 Westmeath/Monaghan/Louth- Group 4 Mayo/Tyrone/Dublin) 3 matches each - provincial finalists get 2 home matches and 1 away. Best 2 Group winners into All Ireland qfinal v Tailteann finalists - other group winner + 3 x 2nd place into qfinals bottom team in each grop into relegation play offs Qfinals @ End june
Tailteann cup - (Meath/Down/Cavan/Kildare/Leitrim - Offaly/Wicklow//Clare/Derry/Fermanagh) - start May Bank holiday 2 groups of 5 Group winners in qfinals v Tier 3 finalists R up's play 3rd place in qfinals Semi finals in Mid june Final played after Tailteann finalists eliminated from All Ireland - mid july - Saturday before Hurling final Bottom in each group relegated
Tommy Murphy cup - (Tipp/London/Limerick/Carlow/Longford - Antrim/Sligo/Waterford/Laois/Wexford) - starts Mid April 2 groups of 5 Best Group winner into semis - other plays NY in q final at home Group Rup into q finals - home draw v 3rd place from other group Semi finals June bank Holiday Final played after finalists are eliminated from Tailteann Cup - curtain raiser to Hurling semi" What GAA supporter hates the league as a format? People here have been championing it for weeks now.
Tadhg2020 (Limerick) - Posts: 610 - 25/06/2026 13:00:49
Replying To legendzxix: "The easiest way to limit the league to 6 rounds is to keep the 4 divisions of 8: - 2 home and 2 away games against teams from 4 seeded brackets. - top 4 into division semi finals. Top 2 with home game. - lower 4 into relegation semi finals. 5th and 6th with home game.
Scheduling: Round 1 Round 2 Break Round 3 Round 4 Break Semi finals Finals
All Ireland scheduling with 2 weeks freed up by the league: Round 1 - Connacht and Munster finalists. Round 1 - Leinster and Ulster finalists. Break Rounds 2A and 2B Break Round 3 Break Quarter finals Break Semi finals Break Final
With the GPA looking to limit the league to 6 rounds, there is of course more than one way to skin a cat!" Yeah, your 4 seed brackets are A (1,2), B (3,4), C (5,6) & D (7,8). Could draw to have 'one from ABCD v one from ABCD'; Or no draw 1458 v 2367.
omahant (USA) - Posts: 3460 - 25/06/2026 13:09:08
Replying To legendzxix: "Talking about about August is a waste of time. That ship has sailed.
The GPA are going to be pushing for the league to be limited to 6 rounds and that's where a bit of change will happen." Does that mean divisions of 7 despite only 32 teams in it????
The League is the best format we have. Every team gets 7 games against teams of roughly similar standard all in the same time frame.
The Championships are not the best under this new system. Some teams have a 5 week gap between games, some have high pressure knock out games 3 weeks in a row,.... You get minimum of 3 games but a successful team could get 10!! Armagh and Donegal got a few days to organise long trips while their opponents could have a nice lie in, decided on a lottery. Donegal having to get to Dublin for a 1.15 pm throw in...!!! 5 days for Armagh to organise a trip to Kerry....
Seanfan (Roscommon) - Posts: 675 - 25/06/2026 15:18:39
Replying To Seanfan: "Does that mean divisions of 7 despite only 32 teams in it????
The League is the best format we have. Every team gets 7 games against teams of roughly similar standard all in the same time frame.
The Championships are not the best under this new system. Some teams have a 5 week gap between games, some have high pressure knock out games 3 weeks in a row,.... You get minimum of 3 games but a successful team could get 10!! Armagh and Donegal got a few days to organise long trips while their opponents could have a nice lie in, decided on a lottery. Donegal having to get to Dublin for a 1.15 pm throw in...!!! 5 days for Armagh to organise a trip to Kerry...." The league is currently 8 rounds over 10 weekends. If they want to start the provincial championships 2 weeks earlier and start the All Ireland championship 2 weeks earlier to allow 4 weeks between 2A and quarter finals - the league probably would have to be something like 6 rounds over 8 weekends. The league is a popular format. They could drop finals but they would still have rounds 3, 4 and 5 over consecutive weekends. I doubt squeezing the provincial championships into 5 weekends would be palatable.
legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 9884 - 25/06/2026 16:27:51