Jimmy The GAA Bogeyman

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I think Jim would have got Mayo over the line for and All Ireland, maybe two who knows, whether we win another one with him this time or not at least he has brought us all together again and given the county a mighty lift after the mess of recent times.
I just hope he stays with Donegal now for a long time."
He won't be there a long time. 3 year max. He will have a target of an All Ireland in 3 years. And what he asks of players would be hard to sustain beyond that.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7908 - 02/02/2024 16:32:59    2523891

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Just the 1-20 on a wintery January Sunday for Jimmy McGuinness' ultra defensive gaelic football-ruining monsters....

It's a long year ahead, and Donegal are far, far from the finished article. Cork offered feeble enough resistance today, and stiffer challenges for Donegal lie ahead.

But hopefully people will use their eyes & their brains now when analysing & discussing Donegal under McGuinness rather than regurgitating the tired old tripe that resurfaced when he returned."
Jimmy was unfairly blamed for ultra defensive football imo.Yes in 2011 he managed a Donegal team who played severe boring ultra defensive football but in 2012 he tweaked it and Donegal played some great football on route to a great All Ireland win.Donegal scored 3goals v the Dubs in 2014 and altho losing the final they outscored Kerry on the day but we got too fotunate goals.I for one am delighted to see Jimmy McG back and I think he will be a breath of fresh air.Good to have Mickey Harte back in Ulster again too.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3681 - 03/02/2024 16:15:32    2524034

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Jimmy was unfairly blamed for ultra defensive football imo.Yes in 2011 he managed a Donegal team who played severe boring ultra defensive football but in 2012 he tweaked it and Donegal played some great football on route to a great All Ireland win.Donegal scored 3goals v the Dubs in 2014 and altho losing the final they outscored Kerry on the day but we got too fotunate goals.I for one am delighted to see Jimmy McG back and I think he will be a breath of fresh air.Good to have Mickey Harte back in Ulster again too."
The 2014 semi final was anything but defensive. Dublin ripped them apart for half an hour and really ought to have put the game to bed. They didn't and Donegal were brilliant from then on and got some great scores.

That team was involved in some of the most exciting games of those years. The drawn quarter final and replay against Kildare was great to watch. I'd say semi against Dublin was left field thinking he'd catch Dublin out. Which almost worked. Might have done other than for Connolly being sent off and Donegal rather than Dublin being thrown off kilter by the change.

The superficiality of much of reporting even by the "experts" is that McGuinness and Donegal are remembered for 2011 rather than 2012 or 2014!

I don't think he has the calibre of players to emulate that team, but who knows. They be hard beat I'd say.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2591 - 06/02/2024 00:23:30    2524676

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "The 2014 semi final was anything but defensive. Dublin ripped them apart for half an hour and really ought to have put the game to bed. They didn't and Donegal were brilliant from then on and got some great scores.

That team was involved in some of the most exciting games of those years. The drawn quarter final and replay against Kildare was great to watch. I'd say semi against Dublin was left field thinking he'd catch Dublin out. Which almost worked. Might have done other than for Connolly being sent off and Donegal rather than Dublin being thrown off kilter by the change.

The superficiality of much of reporting even by the "experts" is that McGuinness and Donegal are remembered for 2011 rather than 2012 or 2014!

I don't think he has the calibre of players to emulate that team, but who knows. They be hard beat I'd say."
I think the cynical taking out of Karl Lacey that day by Dublin impacted the result more than Connollys sending off. He was a pivotal player for Donega

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 809 - 06/02/2024 08:36:42    2524681

Replying To Lockjaw:  "I read something similar by Spillane not so long ago who suggested that Jim's success first time around could be attributed to the fact that his team had superior fitness levels to other counties. But that this time, most elite counties are pretty similar in terms of fitness, and that he could find it harder to make the same impact.

I wouldn't agree with that analysis at all. Yes, being super fit will obviosuly be beneficial. But you still need footballers and a system in place that allows them to flourish. There are early encouraging signs that he is deploying an aggressive press this time around, rather than a deep lying defensive block. (This must really annoy the "Jimmy ruined football" brigade. Also. Murphy was/is a superb footballer granted, but it was far from a one-man show."
Yea, I'm not suggesting Murphy was a one-man show. The main man, yes but McHugh was every bit as influential as his Dad had been, Lacey was amazing and contributed with scores, plus the McFadden bros at the back etc.

There was some documentary I watched interviewing the panel after the win in 2012 where they mentioned the psychological edge a lot and maybe that's why I think that was the crucial factor (plus the fitness)- and the credit for that has to go to McGuinness. Perhaps Spillane watched it too :)

RE: The footballers you have at your disposal now, I couldn't comment, but I wouldn't bet against them making an impact at provincial level after, let's be honest, not a great season last year.

Suas Sios (None) - Posts: 1550 - 06/02/2024 09:59:25    2524699

Correction, McGee brothers at the back

Suas Sios (None) - Posts: 1550 - 06/02/2024 10:02:39    2524701

Replying To Suas Sios:  "Yea, I'm not suggesting Murphy was a one-man show. The main man, yes but McHugh was every bit as influential as his Dad had been, Lacey was amazing and contributed with scores, plus the McFadden bros at the back etc.

There was some documentary I watched interviewing the panel after the win in 2012 where they mentioned the psychological edge a lot and maybe that's why I think that was the crucial factor (plus the fitness)- and the credit for that has to go to McGuinness. Perhaps Spillane watched it too :)

RE: The footballers you have at your disposal now, I couldn't comment, but I wouldn't bet against them making an impact at provincial level after, let's be honest, not a great season last year."
Yeah true enough. One thing I would say about the current crop is that there is good pedigree there. The 2014 Donegal minor team reached the All Ireland final but unfortunately lost out to Kerry as well like their senior counterparts that day.

A quick look at the team sheet shows that Stephen McMenamin, Caolan McGonagle, Eoghan Ban Gallagher and Jamie Brennan all featured that day. All those lads are seasoned players now and have Ulster medals. If you add older lads like Langan, Ryan McHugh, Paddy McBrearty, Jason McGee, plus guys like McCole, Gallen, Mogan there is a decent crop there who are certainly capable of showing better than they did in 2023.

Maybe not All Ireland contenders but they could upset a big team on their day. And you can be sure Jimmy will be driving that and more into them/

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9169 - 06/02/2024 16:36:53    2524801

Well hopefully that puts an end to the "He ruined football" guff.

The great man has returned & does what he does best, and that's winning championship football matches.

Maybe if more coaches around the country showed the same initiative, the same drive and the same intelligence Gaelic Football would be in a better place. Rather than spouting tired clichés & lazy analysis.

Look it's early days, it's only an Ulster 1/4 final win, & we're far from the finished article, but the trajectory is trending upwards & long may it continue.

#JWM

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9169 - 20/04/2024 21:31:57    2539383

It's great to have such a good Gaa tactician back. Such an Irish thing people skating him for trying to get into football(soccer). Derry won't be too worried either imo. Both will have a big say in the championship.

Gaawestmeath (Westmeath) - Posts: 74 - 20/04/2024 21:44:22    2539389

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Well hopefully that puts an end to the "He ruined football" guff.

The great man has returned & does what he does best, and that's winning championship football matches.

Maybe if more coaches around the country showed the same initiative, the same drive and the same intelligence Gaelic Football would be in a better place. Rather than spouting tired clichés & lazy analysis.

Look it's early days, it's only an Ulster 1/4 final win, & we're far from the finished article, but the trajectory is trending upwards & long may it continue.

#JWM"
From what I remember almost all of the negative analysis thrown at him was condensed into the 2011 season, when donegal played a very defensive game plan,, the following year and for the years after he became one of the most admired coaches in the game.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1741 - 20/04/2024 23:12:33    2539414

Replying To Galway9801:  "From what I remember almost all of the negative analysis thrown at him was condensed into the 2011 season, when donegal played a very defensive game plan,, the following year and for the years after he became one of the most admired coaches in the game."
Yeah but when news broke of his return there was a lot of the same old talk about how he was back to ruin the game etc.

I'd say they're sickened he has pulled off another tactical masterstroke. The 6 point difference flattered Derry if anything. It was a comprehensive 10 point win in reality.

Now before anyone accuses me of getting way ahead of myself, I know that one swallow doesn't make a summer. If we can across Derry again in Croke Park later in the year it would be a completely different game.

Having to play another high intensity next weekend is a joke. The only slight advantage we have over Tyrone/Cavan is the extra day's recovery. If Patton is out long term it's a big worry.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9169 - 21/04/2024 08:49:07    2539453

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Well hopefully that puts an end to the "He ruined football" guff.

#JWM"
And whatever about his initiative and intelligence, which are above question I agree, I wouldnt go lecturing other coaches on trying to mimic his drive.
Let's not forget that his first stint with donegal was merely a launchpad towards a career in soccer coaching and the only reason he's back with donegal is because he couldn't mix it with the professionals.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1741 - 21/04/2024 09:05:28    2539457

Replying To Galway9801:  "And whatever about his initiative and intelligence, which are above question I agree, I wouldnt go lecturing other coaches on trying to mimic his drive.
Let's not forget that his first stint with donegal was merely a launchpad towards a career in soccer coaching and the only reason he's back with donegal is because he couldn't mix it with the professionals."
Well maybe so, but he had the balls to give it a go. Easy for armchair critics (not aimed at you btw) sitting behind a keyboard snickering away at how ge couldn't make it in pro soccer.

The result last night will boil a lot of people's piss you can be sure of that.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9169 - 21/04/2024 09:19:10    2539459

So we're all agreed that Devlin and Harte threw the game?

sam2008 (Tyrone) - Posts: 797 - 21/04/2024 09:23:23    2539461

Donegal were brilliant yesterday, played some lovely football and took excellent scores. F**k the begrudgers and haters, they're going to do that anyway.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 21/04/2024 09:25:32    2539462

Good luck to Tyrone in the semi final

PattyONeill (Derry) - Posts: 226 - 21/04/2024 09:25:55    2539463

Replying To Galway9801:  "And whatever about his initiative and intelligence, which are above question I agree, I wouldnt go lecturing other coaches on trying to mimic his drive.
Let's not forget that his first stint with donegal was merely a launchpad towards a career in soccer coaching and the only reason he's back with donegal is because he couldn't mix it with the professionals."
Irish begrudgery 101 right there.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 809 - 21/04/2024 09:29:59    2539464

He wasn't competing with professionals. Only learning his trade as a soccer coach. He only got his UEFA licence less than two years ago. The very best of luck to Donegal and to Jimmy McGuinness.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7375 - 21/04/2024 09:36:08    2539468

Replying To sam2008:  "So we're all agreed that Devlin and Harte threw the game?"
A very dangerous accusation there.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9169 - 21/04/2024 09:51:32    2539471

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Well maybe so, but he had the balls to give it a go. Easy for armchair critics (not aimed at you btw) sitting behind a keyboard snickering away at how ge couldn't make it in pro soccer.

The result last night will boil a lot of people's piss you can be sure of that."
Absolutely, fair play to him, he had a goal and he went for it. My post was a bit on the strong side I admit. Hopefully donegal have a big say in this years championship. The more challengers to Dublin and kerry the better.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1741 - 21/04/2024 11:51:49    2539501