I think a lot of the captains who speak talk a lot of tosh anyway. Fair enough there has to be the 'ta an atha orm....' bit but just thanking everyone is hardly what people want to hear. slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 29/09/2008 14:17:04 110224 Link 0 |
The Tír Eoghain team of 2003 made a point of learning the words of Amhran na bhFiann. Those with poor Irish or none were taught phonetically by Michaela Harte and they practised at full voice on the team bus. At that final in Croke Park, it was remarkable that the Tyrone players could be seen singing out the words of our National Anthem with confidence, rather than the embarrassed lip service we are treated to be most teams before and since. While the cúpla focail in the captain's speech is a worthy touch, surely it is more important that all players, officials and spectators make their best effort to sing the words that are up on the jumbo screen for them in any case and hold their enthusiasm for a good cheer after it. Borderboy (Monaghan) - Posts: 277 - 29/09/2008 14:31:53 110240 Link 0 |
29/09/2008 13:56:46 RMDrive (Donegal) - Posts: 2202 - 29/09/2008 14:32:47 110243 Link 0 |
Maith-thú "Borderboy". As we say in Tyrone.... Its while imbarasin seein them lads standin lack gaunches mouthin the words a somthin the dont know". Gortnagarn (UK) - Posts: 112 - 29/09/2008 14:47:03 110265 Link 0 |
Our anthem should be something like 'Irelands Call' anyway because it represents all 32 counties and not just the 26. Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 29/09/2008 14:54:38 110273 Link 0 |
Htaem, Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 29/09/2008 15:08:29 110292 Link 0 |
tyrones singin in 2005 was even more noticable. was it cavanagh or mcginley they zoomed in on and he was roarin the words out. Baker the glen (None) - Posts: 371 - 29/09/2008 15:11:24 110295 Link 0 |
I Didn't think Irelands Call represented any County!!!! When was Irelands call instated as the 32 County National Anthem?? The national anthem for the 32 counties is our own national anthem???? SAMMYTHEBULL (Galway) - Posts: 1646 - 29/09/2008 15:16:23 110302 Link 0 |
29/09/2008 14:54:38 RMDrive (Donegal) - Posts: 2202 - 29/09/2008 15:18:47 110303 Link 0 |
re: RMDrive Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 29/09/2008 15:30:16 110320 Link 0 |
Htaem tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 29/09/2008 15:36:50 110329 Link 0 |
Htaem County: Meath Posts: 479 110273 Our anthem should be something like 'Irelands Call' anyway because it represents all 32 counties and not just the 26. ----------- I think the anthem does represents all the counties within the Pale as well and I see no reason to exclude Meath and the five others from any part of our national identity. Mar a deirtear, sure haven't many of them become "more Irish than the Irish themselves" over the centuries, and we can just ignore the rest who would sow division as stirrers. Borderboy (Monaghan) - Posts: 277 - 29/09/2008 15:47:24 110343 Link 0 |
Irelands Call representing 32 counties? Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 29/09/2008 15:55:41 110353 Link 0 |
Surely RMDrive has a point about the national anthem? I've no problem with Ireland's call for the rugby as you have people playing for Ireland who do not identify with Irish nationalism and like it or not they are part of the team. But for hurling & football, by playing for your club or county surely you are identifying with Irishness to some degree as the sports are part of our lives moreso than any other sport? If the Irish national anthem was removed from GAA for causing offence to anyone, then I would no longer pay to go into any game. I was at a club game in Limerick on Saturday and a girl sang the National Anthem before the game. She got the words wrong, but it was nice to hear it being sung at a club game. Take that out of GAA and you take away part of what makes it great. slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 29/09/2008 15:56:01 110355 Link 0 |
29/09/2008 14:54:38 Htaem County: Meath Posts: 478 Our anthem should be something like 'Irelands Call' anyway because it represents all 32 counties and not just the 26. Jays Htaem ( Hate them???? ) Check the the colour of yer elbow and see what ye've been stirin. Ireland's call me ase! Never did I hear a more farcical anthem in my life ( apart from once in an episode of Father Ted at the Clergy disco / rave ). Gortnagarn (UK) - Posts: 112 - 29/09/2008 16:04:53 110369 Link 0 |
Will you do-gooder clowns lookin for the anthem to be changed realise that it is bigger than just a song! We are gonna have to change the national flag being flown at our games too! I aint gonna stand and sing a mongrel song to a mongrel flag just to keep a few lads who dont 'really' care about the game happy! My thoughts on this are as follows: "If you want to be a part of our games then toe the line and row in with its traditions! The games will not be made to suit YOU, if you dont think they fit the bill for you then, way on off with yerself!!........Ye dont get the Aussies playin the Aboriginal song and flyin the Aboriginal flag at games just to keep them happy!! Ye 'New Irelanders' should cop on to yerselves and grow a pair for Ireland!! Regards, Snufalufagus......Laochra Gael Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 29/09/2008 16:10:37 110376 Link 0 |
Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 29/09/2008 16:12:55 110384 Link 0 |
Ye thought that might put the cat among the pigeons alright but to be honest i really feel that it would be a better song to represent our nation. Now before anyone thinks my true identity is Ian Paisley or something like that i do love our flag and don't see a problem with it representing the 32 counties (cause theres orange on it). Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 29/09/2008 16:22:14 110395 Link 0 |
I'm one of those ejits that cut in on the last line howling my praises for our falling soldiers, and our struggle. Even though were peace loving now. Old habbits. Catface (UK) - Posts: 133 - 29/09/2008 16:42:38 110412 Link 0 |
29/09/2008 15:30:16 RMDrive (Donegal) - Posts: 2202 - 29/09/2008 16:48:21 110421 Link 0 |