Limerick Hurling thread 2024

Replying To skillet:  "Cheers Barney.. Never in my wildest dreams did I ever think I'd see a a Limerick hurling team like this. Once in a generation team with some all time greats."
True skillet. Thought hegarty really stood head and shoulders above everyone today. Kept ye in it in 1st half and drove the recovery in the second. Clare have a serious psychological issue to deal with over the next seven days. Today's result is becoming far too familiar for them.

Overthebar53 (Carlow) - Posts: 209 - 21/04/2024 19:32:02    2539590

Replying To skillet:  "I'm still shaking my head as to how we won that!! Clare disappeared completely after we got our second goal.
We were so poor at times, but..
Champions find a way.
Great atmosphere and roll on Tipp next week. We surely won't be as sluggish again."
I'm still shaking my head as to how we lost that.

Very disappointed in our performance for 10 minutes in the second half. We were controlling the game.
Easy to sit back and pick holes, I won't do that. We move on to Cork next week

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2492 - 21/04/2024 20:04:41    2539601

Replying To foreveryoung:  "I really hope that it is not a case of the last sting of a dying wasp. Limerick were so flat for so much of that game, looking like men who had just gone to the well that one time too often. Hopefully, this great result is what Limk need to recharge the battery fully!"
I doubt it. They will go down, if they do, with their boots on.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2590 - 21/04/2024 20:09:02    2539603

Replying To Overthebar53:  "True skillet. Thought hegarty really stood head and shoulders above everyone today. Kept ye in it in 1st half and drove the recovery in the second. Clare have a serious psychological issue to deal with over the next seven days. Today's result is becoming far too familiar for them."
What do you mean by that?

Before today we lost our opening game in the RR twice and in both times qualified top of the group.

It's not the end of the world to lose to Limerick today and I would be enthusiastic about much of want went on today.

Next day out is huge now although from a Clare perspective, Waterfords win has done us a favour.

Loads to play for in Munster and we want a back
Lash in Cork next week from Clare and I think we will get it like in the Gaelic Grounds last year

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2492 - 21/04/2024 20:50:12    2539613

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "I'm still shaking my head as to how we lost that.

Very disappointed in our performance for 10 minutes in the second half. We were controlling the game.
Easy to sit back and pick holes, I won't do that. We move on to Cork next week"
An extraordinary turnaround in a match. Limerick seemed way off the pace and then suddenly goals from everywhere. Cork v Clare will be a big game next week. The losers of that in real trouble. As for Limerick, did today's late show mask problems also evident in the League semi final against Kilkenny. Time will tell but if this Limerick team goes down, they'll go down fighting.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2182 - 21/04/2024 21:00:05    2539618

Lrh with 10 mins to go I was wondering where the season was going for us..think if Diarmaid is asked he will probably say he miss hit the free that first goal came from..I'll be honest thought 3rd goal was a square ball but can see why it was given..gillane wasn't in square when hegarty struck the ball..we have Nicky to thank for 2 great saves in first half but reidy should have scored his chance.our fellas had some woeful wides and gave away some very silly frees but just stayed in the game..I thought 5 players kept us in first 35,nicky,dan,reidy,hegarty and o neill..for the last 20 cian got going and everyone pushed up on Clare and they just couldn't cope..I would question some of changes made by Clare,rogers and McCarthy taken off,why??was it necessary to bring Kelly on?think ye were 7/8 points up and it was after this ye completely lost yere way.really delighted with result today and now roll on next Sunday..huge match now for both cork and Clare with the strong possibility that the loser is in serious trouble.

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2231 - 21/04/2024 21:00:16    2539619

Replying To Newyorkkat:  "Well done limerick. But 2 of goals should have been saved and the other a square Ball."
really what about our 65 in2019 should that have been given?

hillman (Limerick) - Posts: 26 - 21/04/2024 21:30:22    2539629

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "I'm still shaking my head as to how we lost that.

Easy to sit back and pick holes, I won't do that. We move on to Cork next week"
whoever loses in cork next week is more or less out of the championpship, food for thought

hillman (Limerick) - Posts: 26 - 21/04/2024 21:34:13    2539632

First off what an occasion yesterday. For the first time in a good few years I went without the young lads with me and I enjoyed the atmosphere in Ennis hugely. The buzz , the craic , the banter it was brilliant.

Limerick started really well and looked sharp all over the field. Clare to their credit tactically began to stifle limerick and for the first time in a long time I felt some of the limerick hurlers fell for the trap and got distracted by the man and not focusing on the ball. Clare took full advantage of the frees given and I though mccarthy was excellent from play and dead balls. The match seemed to me to be a poor spectacle for large parts but here I'd give lohan a lot of credit. Limerick can have some case to bemoan the referees lack of consistency with the one arm tackle but the vast majority of frees conceded (20 versus 11 from clare) were poor and sloppy from limerick. Mccarthy took advantage and clare got into a nice lead.

I always felt limerick were working really hard but their conversion rate was way down on their normal rate. 50% was their conversion rate yesterday (36/18) and there are the obvious reasons there. A lot of the limerick starting team have had very limited minutes in the league for various reasons. Clare were that bit more efficient (59%) but you'd expect that considering the vast majority of their starting 15 have had lots of game time recently.

Momentum. I don't think there's a sport in the world where momentum isn't a bigger factor than in hurling. Byrnes free that ended up in the net swung the game. Limerick had gotten 3 points on the trot just prior but that goal had clare rattled. Cleary should take a little bit of blame there as it was his ball to stop but I wouldn't be killing him either. The match for me was finished when O Dalaigh got the second. The noise from the shed was something I'd never heard in my life. It was deafening and some indication of the massive limerick crowd who were there. Quilligan can't let that in. Just can't concede there. He isn't the best shot stopper but that was very poor for inter County standard. The 3rd goal was classic hegarty. He went for the kill smelt it and they got it. It was an incredible turn around.

I have to say what a match from Sean finn. What that guy had rattling around in his head when casey went down must have been hard to focus. A year out. 2 cruciates. Minimal game time. Clearly needing minutes. He was exceptional and with a bit of luck he'll have some year now.

Hegarty was enormous throughout. Refusing to let that match slip away. He lead all the way. The move of him inside on hogan was huge. He caused wreck. Dan as always was exceptional bar one missed step for the goal. But he hoovered up ball all day. Hannon was huge in last 20 minutes and again I'd expect him now to settle into another huge year. Hayes as always was excellent. Again no game time and will come on massively. We were well beaten in midfield I felt so WoD will have needed that match. I'm not sure if he was 100%. Lynch was majestic last 20 minutes. 9 possessions and 2-03 coming off him in that time. Tom and seamus struggled and as I said got distracted and not like them.

The bench win it for limerick. Boylan won ball and ran at clare. We didn't do it for an hour but once we did they had no answer. Hayes pushed up the field as Lohan for me made a critical error in dropping deep way too early. Nash cleaned up ball got lynch involved and clares shape fell apart. I felt if they had kept pushing up clare might have been better off.

Limerick were rusty and everyone knew going there they would be. But that recovery will be a serious shot in the arm for the group. The subs will be delighted with their contribution and some of the regular starters now have a fire put into them. With Peter casey back into the mix Fridays team will be very interesting.

What a start.

Luimneach abú

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1134 - 22/04/2024 07:42:05    2539683

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "What do you mean by that?

Before today we lost our opening game in the RR twice and in both times qualified top of the group.

It's not the end of the world to lose to Limerick today and I would be enthusiastic about much of want went on today.

Next day out is huge now although from a Clare perspective, Waterfords win has done us a favour.

Lash in Cork next week from Clare and I think we will get it like in the Gaelic Grounds last year"
Spot on LFH. There is still to play for.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4344 - 22/04/2024 08:04:11    2539686

Replying To hillman:  "whoever loses in cork next week is more or less out of the championpship, food for thought"
Probably true

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2492 - 22/04/2024 08:29:50    2539691

Replying To daveboy:  "First off what an occasion yesterday. For the first time in a good few years I went without the young lads with me and I enjoyed the atmosphere in Ennis hugely. The buzz , the craic , the banter it was brilliant.

Limerick started really well and looked sharp all over the field. Clare to their credit tactically began to stifle limerick and for the first time in a long time I felt some of the limerick hurlers fell for the trap and got distracted by the man and not focusing on the ball. Clare took full advantage of the frees given and I though mccarthy was excellent from play and dead balls. The match seemed to me to be a poor spectacle for large parts but here I'd give lohan a lot of credit. Limerick can have some case to bemoan the referees lack of consistency with the one arm tackle but the vast majority of frees conceded (20 versus 11 from clare) were poor and sloppy from limerick. Mccarthy took advantage and clare got into a nice lead.

I always felt limerick were working really hard but their conversion rate was way down on their normal rate. 50% was their conversion rate yesterday (36/18) and there are the obvious reasons there. A lot of the limerick starting team have had very limited minutes in the league for various reasons. Clare were that bit more efficient (59%) but you'd expect that considering the vast majority of their starting 15 have had lots of game time recently.

Momentum. I don't think there's a sport in the world where momentum isn't a bigger factor than in hurling. Byrnes free that ended up in the net swung the game. Limerick had gotten 3 points on the trot just prior but that goal had clare rattled. Cleary should take a little bit of blame there as it was his ball to stop but I wouldn't be killing him either. The match for me was finished when O Dalaigh got the second. The noise from the shed was something I'd never heard in my life. It was deafening and some indication of the massive limerick crowd who were there. Quilligan can't let that in. Just can't concede there. He isn't the best shot stopper but that was very poor for inter County standard. The 3rd goal was classic hegarty. He went for the kill smelt it and they got it. It was an incredible turn around.

I have to say what a match from Sean finn. What that guy had rattling around in his head when casey went down must have been hard to focus. A year out. 2 cruciates. Minimal game time. Clearly needing minutes. He was exceptional and with a bit of luck he'll have some year now.

Hegarty was enormous throughout. Refusing to let that match slip away. He lead all the way. The move of him inside on hogan was huge. He caused wreck. Dan as always was exceptional bar one missed step for the goal. But he hoovered up ball all day. Hannon was huge in last 20 minutes and again I'd expect him now to settle into another huge year. Hayes as always was excellent. Again no game time and will come on massively. We were well beaten in midfield I felt so WoD will have needed that match. I'm not sure if he was 100%. Lynch was majestic last 20 minutes. 9 possessions and 2-03 coming off him in that time. Tom and seamus struggled and as I said got distracted and not like them.

The bench win it for limerick. Boylan won ball and ran at clare. We didn't do it for an hour but once we did they had no answer. Hayes pushed up the field as Lohan for me made a critical error in dropping deep way too early. Nash cleaned up ball got lynch involved and clares shape fell apart. I felt if they had kept pushing up clare might have been better off.

Limerick were rusty and everyone knew going there they would be. But that recovery will be a serious shot in the arm for the group. The subs will be delighted with their contribution and some of the regular starters now have a fire put into them. With Peter casey back into the mix Fridays team will be very interesting.

What a start.

Luimneach abú"
Excellent post..
Thought Adam English had a huge impact as well around the middle, his energy and distribution caused all sorts of trouble for a Clare side that just folded with the goals. Great to have been there.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1067 - 22/04/2024 08:37:39    2539693

any day you win in ennis is a good day but to win playing poorly for 50 minutes was even better......cian lynch makes this team tick and when he thundered into the game with 15-20 to go is spelt trouble for clare......sean finn considering he has no matches played was outstanding what a sub to bring on. o dalaigh looked very sharp when he came on and with peter casey back in the mix next sunday the team thats named fri night will be interesting. i reckon the team that looses the clare cork game is in big trouble . if we can get a win against tipp sunday we'd have one leg in the munster final.

munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1101 - 22/04/2024 08:47:53    2539695

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "What do you mean by that?

Lash in Cork next week from Clare and I think we will get it like in the Gaelic Grounds last year"
How has Waterford's win done Clare a favour?

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2481 - 22/04/2024 08:52:24    2539696

Replying To hillman:  "whoever loses in cork next week is more or less out of the championpship, food for thought"
Not necessarily. Did Limerick not lose two Munster games in 2019, and still ended up as Munster champions?

midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 546 - 22/04/2024 09:28:03    2539708

Replying To munsterchamps:  "any day you win in ennis is a good day but to win playing poorly for 50 minutes was even better......cian lynch makes this team tick and when he thundered into the game with 15-20 to go is spelt trouble for clare......sean finn considering he has no matches played was outstanding what a sub to bring on. o dalaigh looked very sharp when he came on and with peter casey back in the mix next sunday the team thats named fri night will be interesting. i reckon the team that looses the clare cork game is in big trouble . if we can get a win against tipp sunday we'd have one leg in the munster final."
Pretty impressive is Lynch, great finish to see out game from Limerick

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4898 - 22/04/2024 09:38:04    2539718

Great to get 2 points on the board despite not playing well for 55 mins. Shooting accuracy was poor during that period but once momentum swung there was only one winner. The honesty, hard work of this team has never been questioned and their never say die attitude got them over the line. Adam English made a huge impact when introduced.
Waterford win now means that every game is going crucial with the probability of teams taking point off each other. Even if Waterford lose their next 2 games they could still potentially go through with 2 wins and come to the GG needing a win. It crucial that Limk recover an get ready for Tipp next Sunday as 2 from 2 will take the pressure off going to Cork.

journeyman (Limerick) - Posts: 114 - 22/04/2024 12:06:08    2539808

Replying To endgame:  "An extraordinary turnaround in a match. Limerick seemed way off the pace and then suddenly goals from everywhere. Cork v Clare will be a big game next week. The losers of that in real trouble. As for Limerick, did today's late show mask problems also evident in the League semi final against Kilkenny. Time will tell but if this Limerick team goes down, they'll go down fighting."
I don't think it masks problems, in fact in the last 20 mins there was strong evidence that things were starting to click. Limerick big players who have been struggling for fitness like Hannon and Lynch really came into the game in the last 20 mins. Hegarty is just showing signs of regaining his earlier form, Sean Finn got pretty much a full championship game into him. Peter Casey will be back next week and Daragh O'Donovan will hopefully be back towards the end of the Munster championship. For me, Lynch has to be in the middle and always facing the play as much as possible, playing him in the roving Casey roll where he often has the back to his own goal and he can't see what is in front of him negates his creativity,

There's no doubt that the radar was off and its been a long time since Limerick only scored 15 points and Clare were the better team for 3 quarters of the game but there were positives. The Limerick subs all made big contributions too. We'll know more next weekend against a fresh Tipp team who carry a strong goal threat.

Fitzy01 (Limerick) - Posts: 390 - 22/04/2024 12:34:32    2539833

Replying To Fitzy01:  "I don't think it masks problems, in fact in the last 20 mins there was strong evidence that things were starting to click. Limerick big players who have been struggling for fitness like Hannon and Lynch really came into the game in the last 20 mins. Hegarty is just showing signs of regaining his earlier form, Sean Finn got pretty much a full championship game into him. Peter Casey will be back next week and Daragh O'Donovan will hopefully be back towards the end of the Munster championship. For me, Lynch has to be in the middle and always facing the play as much as possible, playing him in the roving Casey roll where he often has the back to his own goal and he can't see what is in front of him negates his creativity,

There's no doubt that the radar was off and its been a long time since Limerick only scored 15 points and Clare were the better team for 3 quarters of the game but there were positives. The Limerick subs all made big contributions too. We'll know more next weekend against a fresh Tipp team who carry a strong goal threat."
Hopefully, Mike Casey's injury isn't that bad.

I'd agree, some good signs after yesterday.

Casey and O'Donovan will be rarin' for road when they come back. Especially, DOD, I saw him in the stands yesterday and I'd say he'll ate the sliothar when he gets back. He's badly needed in the middle of the field arena.

But when will these players ever be as subdued again? I'm not fault finding or saying that they didn't contribute, but I am judging them by their own high standards:

-Byrnes/Hannon/WOD/Tom Morrissey, possibly my fav player on that team/Flanagan/Lynch for a lot of it/ Nash, even though you couldn't find fault with his defensive game/ Reidy for the 2nd half/ and even Gillane to a certain extent, even though he came away with 2-05.

Dan stood as tall as houses.
Finn was back to the Finn we know.
Hayes was good all through but can be better.
I am glad that CON got the full game under his belt but can also up things.
Hegarty was like a lion.
Nickie saved Limerick's bacon again and his puck-outs cannot be faulted.

The subs all played really well.

So, only 6 out of the starting 15 played to their potential! Doesn't that augur a little bit good going forward?

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1937 - 22/04/2024 17:47:31    2539953

Replying To midlands:  "Not necessarily. Did Limerick not lose two Munster games in 2019, and still ended up as Munster champions?"
yes youre right but i think momentum is huge now in munster two loses is hard to come back on considering the standard today

hillman (Limerick) - Posts: 26 - 22/04/2024 21:23:39    2539983