Working Group To Examine All-Ireland Final Days

Ok, so this is something I have mixed opinions on.

I agree that we need to bring back a curtain raiser before the senior finals. It was a great incentive for youngsters to have a goal to play in Croker on all-ireland final day. Plus, as a supporter, the sense of occasion in the second half of a minor final was immense as the crowd poured in and the gossins had 50K/60K people watching them ply their trade on the biggest stage of them all. Since the finals moved to a standalone fixture, I feel like the crowd arrives in 10 minutes before the game and I am getting up every 30 seconds during the parade to let someone out to the jacks.

What I don't agree with is the concept of needing more entertainment at half-time like some of the American sports. A superbowl like event where Christy Moore or Bono might give give us a sing song might be a romantic one for some people but it's not for me. I would rather be in the overcrowded jacks at half time talking to some auld Paddy fella about the first half and what the teams need to do better in the second half, while acknowledging this is Paddy's first game of the year and he scored tickets because he has contacts in Croker.

What are people's thoughts? What can we do better on All-Ireland Final Day? What is fine the way it is and doesn't need to change?

Monaghansclown (Monaghan) - Posts: 174 - 14/09/2023 14:34:14    2504266

Replying To Monaghansclown:  "Ok, so this is something I have mixed opinions on.

I agree that we need to bring back a curtain raiser before the senior finals. It was a great incentive for youngsters to have a goal to play in Croker on all-ireland final day. Plus, as a supporter, the sense of occasion in the second half of a minor final was immense as the crowd poured in and the gossins had 50K/60K people watching them ply their trade on the biggest stage of them all. Since the finals moved to a standalone fixture, I feel like the crowd arrives in 10 minutes before the game and I am getting up every 30 seconds during the parade to let someone out to the jacks.

What I don't agree with is the concept of needing more entertainment at half-time like some of the American sports. A superbowl like event where Christy Moore or Bono might give give us a sing song might be a romantic one for some people but it's not for me. I would rather be in the overcrowded jacks at half time talking to some auld Paddy fella about the first half and what the teams need to do better in the second half, while acknowledging this is Paddy's first game of the year and he scored tickets because he has contacts in Croker.

What are people's thoughts? What can we do better on All-Ireland Final Day? What is fine the way it is and doesn't need to change?"
If Minor went back to u18 the Minor finals could be back on before the Seniors. The reason given at the time of the change was a big crowd would put too much pressure on the the young lads when Minor went to u17.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12213 - 14/09/2023 15:04:30    2504268

Replying To Monaghansclown:  "Ok, so this is something I have mixed opinions on.

What are people's thoughts? What can we do better on All-Ireland Final Day? What is fine the way it is and doesn't need to change?"
Close the turnstiles 20mins before throw-in. Easy.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5026 - 14/09/2023 15:23:02    2504269

Two things I'd definitely be in favour of.

1. Get the minor final on before the senior final.
2. Get the jubilee team out at half time and give them the respect they deserve.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9188 - 14/09/2023 16:03:20    2504275

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Two things I'd definitely be in favour of.

1. Get the minor final on before the senior final.
2. Get the jubilee team out at half time and give them the respect they deserve."
1 No! Thousands of people have got to see recent Minor Hurling and Football Finals. Let's keep it that way.
2 Yes

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1462 - 14/09/2023 16:34:30    2504280

I'd definitely agree with jubilee team being introduced at half time..I also think there is definite need for a match before finals.not sure if it'll ever go back to minor though..the Gaa stumbled onto something this year having minor/21 hurling together..last year minor final drew a full house to nowlan park,if it's played before senior final a lot of people wouldn't have a hope of getting a ticket..it's said also it went back to under 17 because it wouldn't interfere much with leaving cert,any good 17 year old will more than likely be on an under 18 panel..from what I've heard a lot of counties want to revert back to 18 and 21 but croke park have dug their heals in..how would people be about a shinty/hurling game maybe between a selection from Munster/Connacht v Leinster/ulster??I would always be in for any match before senior now I find I leave it later and might go in to watch the warm ups..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2242 - 14/09/2023 16:45:59    2504283

I remember as a boy going to the International rules and can remember some man on the pitch singing the Neighbours theme tune as pre match entertainment.

PattyONeill (Derry) - Posts: 227 - 14/09/2023 17:43:18    2504288

Moving the minor final away from all Ireland senior day has been a great move.

Under the old system if there were 4 different counties in the 2 finals then it was more difficult for supporters of the 2 minor teams to get tickets and there were fewer tickets available for supporters of the 2 senior teams

By playing the 2 games seperately means:

1. There are more tickets available for supporters of the senior teams

2. The minor final can be played in front of a packed provincial ground with way more supporters from both counties being able to attend.

Onfor15 (Wexford) - Posts: 524 - 15/09/2023 08:07:55    2504308

Replying To Viking66:  "If Minor went back to u18 the Minor finals could be back on before the Seniors. The reason given at the time of the change was a big crowd would put too much pressure on the the young lads when Minor went to u17."
If minor went back to U18, and with All-Ireland Finals in July (so presumably All-Ireland semi-finals on last weekend of June or first weekend of July), you'd face the issue of some players having to train for those matches while also sitting their Leaving Cert.

There's also the consideration of how minor club championships in the counties competing in the All-Ireland Finals could be held up until end of July or beginning of August, giving you only little more than a month to run them before lads going away to college becomes an issue.

If looking for curtain-raisers for All-Ireland Final Days, I'd suggest maybe the Joe McDonagh Cup before the hurling final (assuming things change such that McDonagh Cup winners no longer go into early stages of McCarthy Cup knock-outs). Also the Tailteann Cup Final before the football final. Both would be rough equivalent to playing your club intermediate final as a curtain-raiser to your club senior final.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2262 - 15/09/2023 09:16:23    2504311

The treatment of the jubilee teams in recent years has been a scandal.
Great men like Anthony Daly, John O'Leary, Martin Storey and the great teams the led not even getting a look in on RTE. Remember years ago they took up the whole of halft time. Give me that over punditry any day. Its a day to remember those who went before. This should be at half-time in the senior match, end of.
I also think that the captain from 25 years ago should bring the cup to the presentation stage to present to the new winners.
The minor match must be a drain on tickets and as a son of a near u17 I would fear the day would get to him. Being honest, the minor game starts with 4-5k people in the ground. Offaly and Tipp sold out Nowlan Park last year.

Of course, the big problem is you can't bring drink to your seats so people stay in the local bars drinking like prohibition is about to begin. Could we allow 1 or 2 drinks per ticket and the bars close 40 minutes before throw in?

Something should be done to get the stadium going earlier in the afternoon. Maybe a Superbowl style half time show 1hr before throw in? An over 50's "legends" game 15-20 minutes per half between the 2 competing counties akin to the Hurling for Cancer? It doesn't need to be earth shattering.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1141 - 15/09/2023 09:38:55    2504314

McDonagh Cup final a strong possibility after special Congress in a fortnight as McDonagh qualification for All Ireland likely to go

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1514 - 15/09/2023 10:36:45    2504322

Replying To Pikeman96:  "If minor went back to U18, and with All-Ireland Finals in July (so presumably All-Ireland semi-finals on last weekend of June or first weekend of July), you'd face the issue of some players having to train for those matches while also sitting their Leaving Cert.

There's also the consideration of how minor club championships in the counties competing in the All-Ireland Finals could be held up until end of July or beginning of August, giving you only little more than a month to run them before lads going away to college becomes an issue.

If looking for curtain-raisers for All-Ireland Final Days, I'd suggest maybe the Joe McDonagh Cup before the hurling final (assuming things change such that McDonagh Cup winners no longer go into early stages of McCarthy Cup knock-outs). Also the Tailteann Cup Final before the football final. Both would be rough equivalent to playing your club intermediate final as a curtain-raiser to your club senior final."
Except the supporters of JMcD/TV teams would get feck all tickets!

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1462 - 15/09/2023 11:07:52    2504330

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "The treatment of the jubilee teams in recent years has been a scandal.
Great men like Anthony Daly, John O'Leary, Martin Storey and the great teams the led not even getting a look in on RTE. Remember years ago they took up the whole of halft time. Give me that over punditry any day. Its a day to remember those who went before. This should be at half-time in the senior match, end of.
I also think that the captain from 25 years ago should bring the cup to the presentation stage to present to the new winners.
The minor match must be a drain on tickets and as a son of a near u17 I would fear the day would get to him. Being honest, the minor game starts with 4-5k people in the ground. Offaly and Tipp sold out Nowlan Park last year.

Of course, the big problem is you can't bring drink to your seats so people stay in the local bars drinking like prohibition is about to begin. Could we allow 1 or 2 drinks per ticket and the bars close 40 minutes before throw in?

Something should be done to get the stadium going earlier in the afternoon. Maybe a Superbowl style half time show 1hr before throw in? An over 50's "legends" game 15-20 minutes per half between the 2 competing counties akin to the Hurling for Cancer? It doesn't need to be earth shattering."
while i really enjoy the idea of jubilee teams and honouring teams and achievements of the past how many in crowd truly pay attention to the teams?
RTE are never going to spend much if any time on time bar mentioning them as most watching wont simply care about them and will want to know/listen to coverage about the game being currently played....
people not breing able to bring drinks to their seats isnt a reason why people stay in nearby pubs till late.

you could never allow a drinks per ticket limit. would be completely unfeasible to manage and completely unncessary
aramark or whoever runs the bars in croke park would sue GAA for a lot if you tried close bars that long before throw in.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3523 - 15/09/2023 12:28:53    2504341

Replying To Pikeman96:  "If minor went back to U18, and with All-Ireland Finals in July (so presumably All-Ireland semi-finals on last weekend of June or first weekend of July), you'd face the issue of some players having to train for those matches while also sitting their Leaving Cert.

If looking for curtain-raisers for All-Ireland Final Days, I'd suggest maybe the Joe McDonagh Cup before the hurling final (assuming things change such that McDonagh Cup winners no longer go into early stages of McCarthy Cup knock-outs). Also the Tailteann Cup Final before the football final. Both would be rough equivalent to playing your club intermediate final as a curtain-raiser to your club senior final."
Moving the McDonagh & Tailteann Cup finals to AI Final day would create a ticket headache in the competing counties. Both finals this year were excellent contests and you saw how much it meant to the victors on the day.
While it would be great to have them as part of AI Final day, the winners would not be afforded the same opportunity to celebrate on the pitch afterwards like they done in this years respective finals.
While i appreciate that the minors do get time to do the guard of honour, for the winners of the secondary competitions they make the same sacrifices as the AI teams, they should be given the opportunity to savour the occasion.

We all want a return to some sort of double header, as the atmosphere is very poor at the moment with the standalone fixture.

Jack L (None) - Posts: 3103 - 15/09/2023 12:29:14    2504342

Replying To Jack L:  "Moving the McDonagh & Tailteann Cup finals to AI Final day would create a ticket headache in the competing counties. Both finals this year were excellent contests and you saw how much it meant to the victors on the day.
While it would be great to have them as part of AI Final day, the winners would not be afforded the same opportunity to celebrate on the pitch afterwards like they done in this years respective finals.
While i appreciate that the minors do get time to do the guard of honour, for the winners of the secondary competitions they make the same sacrifices as the AI teams, they should be given the opportunity to savour the occasion.

We all want a return to some sort of double header, as the atmosphere is very poor at the moment with the standalone fixture."
Yup. I said if looking for a curtain-raiser. But before deciding you wanted one, you'd have to consider the knock-on effects on ticket availability, and the other things you mention.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2262 - 15/09/2023 12:41:49    2504344

Replying To Jack L:  "Moving the McDonagh & Tailteann Cup finals to AI Final day would create a ticket headache in the competing counties. Both finals this year were excellent contests and you saw how much it meant to the victors on the day.

We all want a return to some sort of double header, as the atmosphere is very poor at the moment with the standalone fixture."
Less neutral tickets and more for the competing Counties would increase the atmosphere 100%, like the Semi Finals.
That WON'T be happening.....

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1462 - 15/09/2023 12:43:20    2504345

Counties who do not get to play in Croke Park too often could be invited to contest an official challenge game.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7915 - 15/09/2023 13:26:33    2504355

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "The treatment of the jubilee teams in recent years has been a scandal.

Something should be done to get the stadium going earlier in the afternoon. Maybe a Superbowl style half time show 1hr before throw in? An over 50's "legends" game 15-20 minutes per half between the 2 competing counties akin to the Hurling for Cancer? It doesn't need to be earth shattering."

That's a great idea Exiled. A good memorable tribute to that man, his family and his club.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7390 - 15/09/2023 14:01:41    2504360

Replying To KillingFields:  "while i really enjoy the idea of jubilee teams and honouring teams and achievements of the past how many in crowd truly pay attention to the teams?
RTE are never going to spend much if any time on time bar mentioning them as most watching wont simply care about them and will want to know/listen to coverage about the game being currently played....
people not breing able to bring drinks to their seats isnt a reason why people stay in nearby pubs till late.

you could never allow a drinks per ticket limit. would be completely unfeasible to manage and completely unncessary
aramark or whoever runs the bars in croke park would sue GAA for a lot if you tried close bars that long before throw in."
They were on The Sunday Game at half time in the 80's and 90's and I could swear I remember seeing them being introduced?
I attended a few finals in the 90's but am also sure they were on TV?
But even if RTE recorded them and added them to YouTube it would be better than wondering what the Offaly men of the 90's look like now.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1141 - 15/09/2023 14:52:11    2504366

All Ireland final day should be all about the two teams involved.

Minor games get lost in the occasion of the big game. Maybe 3% of the attendance are there to watch the minor game. Friends and family of the minor teams miss out on tickets due to the senior game. Minor finals on their own is a huge occasion especially for them and for their friends, family and county people.

There is no proper build up program for the All Ireland, no proper analysis programme on television, its too much diddly ie rubbish on Up for the Match nonsense.

GAA and RTE could do so much more on All Ireland final weekend, its actually a big let down the whole production.

hurlorhurley (Wexford) - Posts: 1660 - 15/09/2023 16:41:28    2504382