Usa Clubs Should Be Banned From Taking Players Other Than Bona-Fide Students From Ireland In Summer

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Irony doesn't cross a line from Sligo to Dundalk it seems.
Big difference between New York GAA, a regulated County who enter teams in Connacht SFC, Tailteann and Junior FC, and the Chicago, Boston and other maverick outfits who run "Champoonships" between teams of Sumner imports from Ireland.
Sod the full time resident players and as for underage......."
Oh tá tú iontach cliste!

There are more than 3 months in a year last time I checked. Would it beyond the GAA boards in the cities you mention to organise a separate homegrown championship? March-May? September-October? I would hazard a guess that the coffers are nicely filled during those summer months when crowds flock to Gaelic Park to pay $20 a head or whatever it is these days. They get to see some of the stars from home in good weather and it's as good a GAA occasion as you'll get living so far away from home.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9189 - 12/08/2023 11:13:32    2500167

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Oh tá tú iontach cliste!

There are more than 3 months in a year last time I checked. Would it beyond the GAA boards in the cities you mention to organise a separate homegrown championship? March-May? September-October? I would hazard a guess that the coffers are nicely filled during those summer months when crowds flock to Gaelic Park to pay $20 a head or whatever it is these days. They get to see some of the stars from home in good weather and it's as good a GAA occasion as you'll get living so far away from home."
You do realise that New York is different to Chicago and Boston.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1463 - 12/08/2023 15:24:17    2500200

Send whoever wants to come over over. We'll teach them the American ways, put greenbacks in their arse pockets, and send them back better men than when they first arrived. That has always been the American Way. They'll also bring a more professional approach to the club teams at home, after seeing how we do sports over here.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1944 - 12/08/2023 15:44:38    2500203

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Send whoever wants to come over over. We'll teach them the American ways, put greenbacks in their arse pockets, and send them back better men than when they first arrived. That has always been the American Way. They'll also bring a more professional approach to the club teams at home, after seeing how we do sports over here."
Clubs at home can't sign up a load of guest players for 2 months!

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1463 - 12/08/2023 18:36:40    2500218

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "You do realise that New York is different to Chicago and Boston."
No. I am completely oblivious obviously.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9189 - 12/08/2023 18:39:40    2500219

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "You do realise that New York is different to Chicago and Boston."
Tomsmith here

I see that the money Bags have a few spokepeople to sttae the case... Ough Irish [people come out to see the Irish stars play in Gaelic Park.
I just wonder why none of the money Bags or apologists state what is the youth Policy in these clubs .
Please reply M B

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3863 - 12/08/2023 22:48:30    2500252

I know a few inter county players who went over in the past who were basically paid to play. Didn't have to work or anything. Accommodation and flights paid for and given "walking around" money. I don't blame the players going over…they would have been mad not to accept.

That said you'd wonder would said resources be better out towards developing American born players and American clubs.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11248 - 13/08/2023 14:45:14    2500297

Replying To yew_tree:  "I know a few inter county players who went over in the past who were basically paid to play. Didn't have to work or anything. Accommodation and flights paid for and given "walking around" money. I don't blame the players going over…they would have been mad not to accept.

That said you'd wonder would said resources be better out towards developing American born players and American clubs."
Of course they would but that wouldn't bring the immediate gratification that Yanks crave..

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1463 - 13/08/2023 17:57:49    2500317

Replying To yew_tree:  "I know a few inter county players who went over in the past who were basically paid to play. Didn't have to work or anything. Accommodation and flights paid for and given "walking around" money. I don't blame the players going over…they would have been mad not to accept.

That said you'd wonder would said resources be better out towards developing American born players and American clubs."
Yew Tree

Tomsmith here
As a senior poster you make alot of sense in relation to expenditure on bringing out players from Ireland
But would the money Bags do that No No its easier and more high profile to take a fellow from a Club in Ireland.
Agh sure the story goes that players were virtually kidnapped at an arrival Airport and taken to another club other
than the intended Club
Tomsmith says Ban pay for play

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3863 - 13/08/2023 17:59:24    2500318

Replying To tomsmith:  "Yew Tree

Tomsmith here
As a senior poster you make alot of sense in relation to expenditure on bringing out players from Ireland
But would the money Bags do that No No its easier and more high profile to take a fellow from a Club in Ireland.
Agh sure the story goes that players were virtually kidnapped at an arrival Airport and taken to another club other
than the intended Club
Tomsmith says Ban pay for play"
I know who I'd like to ban. GAA is their to be enjoyed so if fellows want to have the craic in America , play a bit of football and get a few bob, fair play to all of them. I'd say to any lad to go for it if they were asked.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2023 - 13/08/2023 18:33:14    2500321

Replying To tomsmith:  "Yew Tree

Tomsmith here
than the intended Club
Tomsmith says Ban pay for play"
Like the various club managers at home who are taken at gun point to other clubs around the country and forced to coach?

I never knew there were so many people at home here in Ireland who have such anxieties about how the good GAA people in America run thier affairs.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9189 - 14/08/2023 08:39:36    2500394

A great game in the Boston championship final last night. Donegal Boston just edging out Connemara Gaels in a gripping finale. Donegal county footballer Jason McGee proved decisive in the closing stages. No doubt celebrations were had last night, and Jason will likely return home this week ahead of his club's first game in the Donegal SFC this weekend. A real summer to remember for the young man, and he left a lasting impression on the good Gaels of Boston too I'm sure. A real win-win for everyone. Great to see.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9189 - 14/08/2023 10:24:27    2500411

Replying To Lockjaw:  "A great game in the Boston championship final last night. Donegal Boston just edging out Connemara Gaels in a gripping finale. Donegal county footballer Jason McGee proved decisive in the closing stages. No doubt celebrations were had last night, and Jason will likely return home this week ahead of his club's first game in the Donegal SFC this weekend. A real summer to remember for the young man, and he left a lasting impression on the good Gaels of Boston too I'm sure. A real win-win for everyone. Great to see."
If winning an artificial semi pro match as a guest is the height of his Summer maybe he needs to re examine his sporting life..

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1463 - 14/08/2023 10:32:07    2500414

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "If winning an artificial semi pro match as a guest is the height of his Summer maybe he needs to re examine his sporting life.."
Hopefully Jason can go to win more prestigious prizes with Donegal in the years ahead. I'm pretty sure he enjoyed his summer playing some good football in nice weather, making new friends and generally living his best life. He'll come home now in good form and in decent shape for the club.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9189 - 14/08/2023 10:51:34    2500423

I'm surprised to read how many people have a problem with players going to play in USA.I've no problem with it.if they get a few bob for it more power to them..limerick clubs have lost a good few players not just to USA but dubai,Australia and England.have people got a problem with these fellas aswell??going to the USA has been part of the Gaa for as long as I remember.

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2242 - 14/08/2023 13:59:19    2500481

Replying To CTGAA10:  "I'm surprised to read how many people have a problem with players going to play in USA.I've no problem with it.if they get a few bob for it more power to them..limerick clubs have lost a good few players not just to USA but dubai,Australia and England.have people got a problem with these fellas aswell??going to the USA has been part of the Gaa for as long as I remember."
Begrudgery plain and simple. An unbecoming Irish trait unfortunately.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9189 - 14/08/2023 15:26:14    2500506

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Clubs at home can't sign up a load of guest players for 2 months!"
It promotes the game over there an the locals love the see them come over. I would say you are great fun at parties.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1149 - 14/08/2023 16:35:45    2500527

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Clubs at home can't sign up a load of guest players for 2 months!"
So what! That no club in Ireland is allowed do it, makes it a level playing field for clubs in Ireland. Irish clubs are not competing in the US club championships, so what "clubs at home" can and can't do has no bearing at all on what happens over here.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1944 - 14/08/2023 17:57:29    2500541

Replying To sourmilk93:  "It promotes the game over there an the locals love the see them come over. I would say you are great fun at parties."
Must be millions playing gaelic games in the US after all these years of "promoting the game"....

It's a nice semi pro junket for players and makes rich oul yankeeised Irish blokes happy if the team they bankroll win a micky mouse low level football kick around.
If it had any integrity the games would be played by people permanently residing there and they'd be ensuring their children played the games too.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1463 - 14/08/2023 19:23:42    2500552

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Begrudgery plain and simple. An unbecoming Irish trait unfortunately."
Nail on head, begrudgery and the big jealousy , some lads and families are jealous of other lads within clubs who get asked to go , then they come out with ***** about not being good for the GAA.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2023 - 14/08/2023 20:13:39    2500559