Stabbing At Tyrone Under 16 Football Match

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/man-arrested-after-two-people-allegedly-stabbed-during-incident-at-underage-gaa-match/a1611545319.html

What the Hell is going on? What kind of sick individual brings a knife to any match, let alone an underage game?!

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 07/07/2023 10:43:27    2492827

Replying To ballydalane:  "https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/man-arrested-after-two-people-allegedly-stabbed-during-incident-at-underage-gaa-match/a1611545319.html

What the Hell is going on? What kind of sick individual brings a knife to any match, let alone an underage game?!"
A terrible situation. Must have been a be terrible experience for the young players last night, and the supporters. Carrying a knife at a match is a new low.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1757 - 07/07/2023 10:51:14    2492830

Replying To ballydalane:  "https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/man-arrested-after-two-people-allegedly-stabbed-during-incident-at-underage-gaa-match/a1611545319.html

What the Hell is going on? What kind of sick individual brings a knife to any match, let alone an underage game?!"
This is a whole new level of unsavoury incident at a sporting game.

Shocking to say the least.

What was all this about ???? Does anyone know.??

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3743 - 07/07/2023 10:54:10    2492831

It was only a matter of time in the drug fuelled world we live in that something like this would happen.
Now this is not a reason to have a 'ban all pocket knives campaign' or some other nonsense,
if an individual has that mindset they will find a weapon to use, lucky no one was fatally injured. shocking thing to happen anyway and I hope whoever done it is dealt with severely.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2777 - 07/07/2023 10:57:40    2492834

This is bottom of the barrel stuff.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1927 - 07/07/2023 12:03:14    2492863

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "It was only a matter of time in the drug fuelled world we live in that something like this would happen.
Now this is not a reason to have a 'ban all pocket knives campaign' or some other nonsense,
if an individual has that mindset they will find a weapon to use, lucky no one was fatally injured. shocking thing to happen anyway and I hope whoever done it is dealt with severely."
He'll probably get a 12 month ban which won't/can't be enforced.
The GAA's long established history of soft punishments coming back to haunt them.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1462 - 07/07/2023 12:04:57    2492865

Replying To Fionn:  "This is a whole new level of unsavoury incident at a sporting game.

Shocking to say the least.

What was all this about ???? Does anyone know.??"
One report I heard was there had been a few decisions made which obviously annoyed someone. I am just going on a radio report. Whatever the reason, it was the lowest of the low and I hope this guy gets a chance to reflect on his actions in "The Big House".

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1018 - 07/07/2023 12:31:41    2492874

Replying To Freethinker:  "One report I heard was there had been a few decisions made which obviously annoyed someone. I am just going on a radio report. Whatever the reason, it was the lowest of the low and I hope this guy gets a chance to reflect on his actions in "The Big House"."
Oh I thought it might Not have been football related and more sectarian or a crazy person...

Bloody hell - stabbing 2 people because of a few decisions or a game not going you way.. WOW

Absolutely shocked and horrified with this tbh.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3743 - 07/07/2023 12:40:57    2492875

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "He'll probably get a 12 month ban which won't/can't be enforced.
The GAA's long established history of soft punishments coming back to haunt them."
GAA bans should be the least of this lad's worries. Hoping he's dealt with properly by the courts.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2065 - 07/07/2023 12:51:28    2492880

Replying To WanPintWin:  "GAA bans should be the least of this lad's worries. Hoping he's dealt with properly by the courts."
Forget the ban, jail is more appropriate.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2248 - 07/07/2023 12:56:04    2492885

Probably get 12 months..an absolute disgrace got help all the young fellas who witnessed this..I sometimes wonder what kinda world we are living in.

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2242 - 07/07/2023 12:56:46    2492886

Whilst theres huge interest in Tyrone gaelic football there has been too many incidents of violence at games involving Tyrone or Tyrone clubs , we all like to win but not win at all costs with no boundaries.

OpenStand (Limerick) - Posts: 683 - 07/07/2023 13:01:12    2492889

Replying To OpenStand:  "Whilst theres huge interest in Tyrone gaelic football there has been too many incidents of violence at games involving Tyrone or Tyrone clubs , we all like to win but not win at all costs with no boundaries."
Ah here don't start with that craic. Obviously this is a very serious incident and deserves a full investigation and appropriate punishment. But there's aggro at matches in every county in Ireland. No need to be Tyrone bashing.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9188 - 07/07/2023 13:09:53    2492894

I m led to believe a man tried to attack the ref and when someone tried to restrain him the man helping was stabbed in the leg. Alot of young fellas seem to think they need knives for protection these days which is crazy but this person was an adult. I'm getting more confused everyday with society. I saw video footage but not of the incident itself.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3686 - 07/07/2023 13:12:35    2492896

Replying To OpenStand:  "Whilst theres huge interest in Tyrone gaelic football there has been too many incidents of violence at games involving Tyrone or Tyrone clubs , we all like to win but not win at all costs with no boundaries."
Just Tyrone of course, typical Tyrone. Basic bull****.

p_play (Tyrone) - Posts: 34 - 07/07/2023 13:15:59    2492898

Don't fall off your high horse lad! What you're really saying is: "we're morally superior to ye".

Happy now?

And PS:

https://www.thesun.ie/sport/4208377/gaa-fan-brawl-concerns-violent-clashes-filmed/

https://www.tipperarylive.ie/news/courts/507753/limerick-hurler-appears-in-court-charged-with-violent-disorder.html

https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/like-a-war-zone-gardai-investigating-after-violent-incidents-in-co-limerick-town-1408177.html

https://www.balls.ie/gaa/john-kiely-limerick-new-york-incident-421751

See no diesel lol

points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet (Tyrone) - Posts: 243 - 07/07/2023 13:23:02    2492903

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "It was only a matter of time in the drug fuelled world we live in that something like this would happen.
if an individual has that mindset they will find a weapon to use, lucky no one was fatally injured. shocking thing to happen anyway and I hope whoever done it is dealt with severely."
I don't know what type of knife was used but even if it was "only" a pocket knife, why would anyone want to bring that to a football match? And of course they can still be lethal in the wrong hands.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 07/07/2023 13:24:47    2492905

Replying To points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet:  "Don't fall off your high horse lad! What you're really saying is: "we're morally superior to ye".

Happy now?

And PS:

https://www.thesun.ie/sport/4208377/gaa-fan-brawl-concerns-violent-clashes-filmed/

https://www.tipperarylive.ie/news/courts/507753/limerick-hurler-appears-in-court-charged-with-violent-disorder.html

https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/like-a-war-zone-gardai-investigating-after-violent-incidents-in-co-limerick-town-1408177.html

https://www.balls.ie/gaa/john-kiely-limerick-new-york-incident-421751

See no diesel lol"
Nice research there.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1927 - 07/07/2023 13:25:26    2492908

What kind of animals are attending GAA games these days and with knives? A new low in the history of GAA in this country.... I mean a stabbing at a GAA game.... FFS.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 848 - 07/07/2023 13:26:46    2492909

Was the lad on drugs?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12212 - 07/07/2023 13:30:39    2492912