Goals/ Points That Were Critical Turning Points ....

Brian Murphy's goal for Kildare against Meath in the 1998 Leinster Final and Dermot Early's goal into the Hill against Dublin in the 2000 Leinster Final

LilywhiteGael (Kildare) - Posts: 95 - 06/07/2023 10:06:50    2492574

Replying To skillet:  "Graeme Mulcahy's winning point in the 2018 All Ireland hurling final.
About 6 mins into injury time.
We had been winning by 7 at full time but due to an injury to James Skehill, the Galway keeper almost 10 mins additional time was played.

Galway, the defending all Ireland champions get 2 goals in as many minutes, all of a sudden we're on the back foot and horrible memories of 1994 are floating around the place.

We've had so much bad luck in Croke park winning that day was essential. Graemes point leads us to our first all Ireland in 45 years and kick-starts a Golden era for Limerick hurling.."
Great shout. On top of the hat, Canning miss-hitting the free moments later

Kinvara (Galway) - Posts: 140 - 06/07/2023 10:10:18    2492575

Replying To Kinvara:  "Great shout. On top of the hat, Canning miss-hitting the free moments later"
I aged in those last few minutes.. Couldn't watch.. That feckin free almost killed me!
Just had my head in my hands and only looked up when the Limerick support started cheering..

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1070 - 06/07/2023 10:35:29    2492587

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Nhl in 54 I think. 15 points down against tipp at half time. Came back to win with Nicky rackard giving an exhibition I'm told.

Billy Byrne rally. 1-2 off the bench to retain leinster in 97.

Mick Jacob injury time goal. Kilkennys first defeat in leinster for 7 years.

Damien fitzhenry penalties against Limerick in 01 and tipp in 07.

Harry Kehoe goal in 14. A replay against defending ai champions Clare. Brilliant Jack guiney pass in extra time put us back on the map.

Lee chin penalty this year started the comeback that kept us up.

Kilkenny have done it to us and everyone else more times than I can count."
Could be a whole thread on Kilkenny goals and points that drove them on to win games!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12212 - 06/07/2023 10:42:56    2492596

Replying To KnockaineyAbú:  "ciaran carey's point in 1996. otherwise clare may have done three in a row"
Ah destiny says otherwise. Hell of a score though

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2747 - 06/07/2023 11:05:13    2492605

Replying To jimbodub:  "Great idea for a thread

Barney Rocks equalising goal against Cork in the drawn 1983 AI semifinals

Dubs looked dead and buried but because of that great team goal and finish, they snatched a chance of a replay which they went onto win comfortably in a famous victory down in Cork on the way to win Sam, they managed one more Sam at a time dominated by Kerry and they'd have to wait another 12 years with plenty of heartache along the way.. if it wasn't for that late goal.. bloody hell.. it would have been a very long and painful wait..."
Was watching this one the other night on Youtube. I remember watching it as a kid and hoping for a Cork win (Munster bias!). Dinny Allen was a poacher supreme with Cork's goals. But the Dubs kept going until the end and the pass for Rock's goal was outstanding. The easy thing would have been to keep going for goal and maybe win a penno. The brave decision was to pass and what a defence splitter it was. No better man than Barney Rock to slot it home.

The replay was a cracking game too with the Dubs pulling away late on. Jimmy Kerrigan's position was switched for the replay. It handed Dublin an advantage as his runs in the drawn game gave the Dubs a lot of problems.

Used to love the football back then. That era had some great teams, great characters and great games.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 06/07/2023 11:51:58    2492619

Replying To skillet:  "Graeme Mulcahy's winning point in the 2018 All Ireland hurling final.
About 6 mins into injury time.
We had been winning by 7 at full time but due to an injury to James Skehill, the Galway keeper almost 10 mins additional time was played.

Galway, the defending all Ireland champions get 2 goals in as many minutes, all of a sudden we're on the back foot and horrible memories of 1994 are floating around the place.

We've had so much bad luck in Croke park winning that day was essential. Graemes point leads us to our first all Ireland in 45 years and kick-starts a Golden era for Limerick hurling.."
Great post.

I'd go a step back though & suggest Kyle Hayes' equaliser in PUC in the Munster round robin? We were 14 v 15 for most of the game after Gillane was sent off. When Cork got the goal we looked doomed but Flanagan & Mulcahy ran themselves into the ground up front and we forced the draw.

I think that day we all knew a different Limerick was emerging. A Cork man said to me on the way out that night 'ye are going to win the all Ireland this year' and while it was hard to believe inside the county, others could see the raw material was there.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 06/07/2023 11:59:50    2492621

Replying To slayer:  "Great post.

I'd go a step back though & suggest Kyle Hayes' equaliser in PUC in the Munster round robin? We were 14 v 15 for most of the game after Gillane was sent off. When Cork got the goal we looked doomed but Flanagan & Mulcahy ran themselves into the ground up front and we forced the draw.

I think that day we all knew a different Limerick was emerging. A Cork man said to me on the way out that night 'ye are going to win the all Ireland this year' and while it was hard to believe inside the county, others could see the raw material was there."
Absolutely.. Flanagan, Hayes and Mulcahy were immense that day.
So many moments along the way to get us to the final..
Tom Morrisseys point in the QF straight after Kilkenny got their goal near the end of the match. Previous Limerick teams would have crumbled but like you said a different team was emerging..

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1070 - 06/07/2023 12:29:09    2492633

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Yeah the poster that starred this thread has a chip on shoulder but OK. 1978 was it a free No! However Kerry should have got a free a few mins before for a Paddy Cullen trip/kick on Ger Power. Ref did nt give it a d g ave it few mins later on the wrong. Now Kerry were on a roll and after scoring a goal and a point without reply but the poster thinks it changed the game. Maybe it did and Kerry only won by 17 pts. Was Cluxtoms a free in 2011. I ll let other s decide but fact is a double hop IS a free and Kev Mac double hopped on front Dub goals 40m out. A certs in point for Kerry with a great free taker like Bryan Sheehan but it was ignored again. What about Peter Canavan s legit point in 1995 v Dub disallowed on the wrong and of course Charlie Redmond sending off or not. Now the poster that started this thread has his agenda and I have outed him already for stalking and telling untruths. He should add the letters to be ar to his Username. Can't help himself but constantly throw digs and dirt at my county and claims his Dad is from there. I wonder how his Dad would feel."
Well if it isn't micilín the sleeveen trying to stir it up again.
This poster was called out on this forum and his own county forum for being two faced and untrustworthy.
I was a member of that county forum back in 2010 and on. He was latecomer and missed the regular anti- Dublin prejudice there .
Happy to act the policeman in a Dublin Gaa thread but quiet as a mouse when his county men refer to ex Dublin players as scum and filth.
All you have to do is read is respond to see the evident anti Dublin feeling simmering behind the facade. As two faced as they come.
His past comments concerning my deceased father tell you all you need to know about this person. A disgrace.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 06/07/2023 12:45:13    2492641

Replying To avonali:  "Well if it isn't micilín the sleeveen trying to stir it up again.
This poster was called out on this forum and his own county forum for being two faced and untrustworthy.
I was a member of that county forum back in 2010 and on. He was latecomer and missed the regular anti- Dublin prejudice there .
Happy to act the policeman in a Dublin Gaa thread but quiet as a mouse when his county men refer to ex Dublin players as scum and filth.
All you have to do is read is respond to see the evident anti Dublin feeling simmering behind the facade. As two faced as they come.
His past comments concerning my deceased father tell you all you need to know about this person. A disgrace."
That should read "last comment". People ought to keep posters' family members out of messages when there is evident ill feeling.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 06/07/2023 13:55:39    2492660

Replying To Breffni40:  "JOD's dive and penalty in the replay against Mayo in Limerick. That really was Mayo's year"
No it wasn't, they'd have flopped in another final again and we'd have another All Ireland in Tír Chonaill, same as what happened them in 2021. Far as I rem they should have had Kerry beaten the first day, leading by 5 points or so coming into the end of normal time?
Turning point-Murphy's goal in the 2012 final, once that rattled the net Mayo knew it wasn't their day, again.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2777 - 06/07/2023 14:46:06    2492677

2002 Football quarter final. My memories could be sketchy but 14 man Sligo were 5/6 points down to Armagh late in game. They clawed it back to 1pt in injury time. McGarty got in behind the Armagh defense and at a tight angle he opted to fist the point and take the draw. I'm torn between did he make right decision or should he have tried to raise the green flag.

After 20+ years I'm still undecided

Two_Hops (Sligo) - Posts: 9 - 06/07/2023 15:16:52    2492691

Replying To avonali:  "That should read "last comment". People ought to keep posters' family members out of messages when there is evident ill feeling."
I did not know your Dad was deceased and I apologise unreservedly for any hurt caused by that. I did not say anything bad about your Dad. You stated your Dad was a Kerryman and I merely asked how would he feel with the fact you constantly criticise Kerry fans etc. I think you ré twisting my words and I wouldike to think anyone that read my posts would know I was nt getting at your family. Anyone that knows me knows I never insult anyone a family. I'm actually hurt and disgusted that you d think that. I'm sure your Dad was a lovely man and hope he rests in peace. Sorry!

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3686 - 06/07/2023 15:30:55    2492696

The one I have heard of was in a county final. Our little parish won a senior tittle when Waterford was one of the hardest championships to win. We were too points behind again after several attempts to win the title in previous years. The opposition goalie placed the ball on the 21 after a point had been scored and kicked it out. My dad fielded it and kicked it back in over his head for a goal. The final whistle went on the kick out and we had won a senior title. Funny he never shared that with us. It was neighbours who would share the story.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2673 - 06/07/2023 16:56:00    2492719

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "I did not know your Dad was deceased and I apologise unreservedly for any hurt caused by that. I did not say anything bad about your Dad. You stated your Dad was a Kerryman and I merely asked how would he feel with the fact you constantly criticise Kerry fans etc. I think you ré twisting my words and I wouldike to think anyone that read my posts would know I was nt getting at your family. Anyone that knows me knows I never insult anyone a family. I'm actually hurt and disgusted that you d think that. I'm sure your Dad was a lovely man and hope he rests in peace. Sorry!"
My Dad was a Kerryman and a proud one; and he played football to high level in Kerry. I have not twisted words.- I was genuinely shocked to see my deceased Dad being brought up in that context. I didn't think there was any need for that.

I simply react when I see my fellow county men called digusting, dehumanising names by cowardly faceless people on an internet forum while people forget all the good work those people have done. I have seen the areas they came from denigrated and insulted and yes I reacted. I shouldn't have but I did. I just regret that it led to this spat with yourself, a poster for whom I had high respect, despite what I said after. I apologise for that.

My post about 1978 All_Ireland had NO agenda whatsoever - I saw that goal from the Hogan Stand while still a boy and I've never forgotten it. It made a huge impression. Fair play to MIkey for seeing the opportunity and taking i. I always remember my Dad laughing heartily when he read Con O 'Houlihan's description of it in the Evening Press the following evening . I remember our house getting egged for having a Kerry Flag out our front window after that.

I openly concede that Kevin Mac made a double hop and he took too many steps for the goal but show me any game of football where the step rule is not flouted.

I think Kerry have a magnificent tradition in Irish sport. I was one of the first on here after last year's semi-final to congratulate them on their victory in the semi-final and after their All_ireland win. I have quite often praised Kerry players in here and took some flak for it from few Dubs. And that is fair enough.
Anyway, Thank you for the apology Mick. It takes a man to do that, I am sorry that this spat has escalated to this point. I would have said we had got on quite well in this here up until this.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 06/07/2023 17:03:22    2492722

The one I have heard of was in a county final. Our little parish won a senior tittle when Waterford was one of the hardest championships to win. We were too points behind again after several attempts to win the title in previous years. The opposition goalie placed the ball on the 21 after a point had been scored and kicked it out. My dad fielded it and kicked it back in over his head for a goal. The final whistle went on the kick out and we had won a senior title. Funny he never shared that with us. It was neighbours who would share the story.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2673 - 06/07/2023 17:06:18    2492724

Replying To Two_Hops:  "2002 Football quarter final. My memories could be sketchy but 14 man Sligo were 5/6 points down to Armagh late in game. They clawed it back to 1pt in injury time. McGarty got in behind the Armagh defense and at a tight angle he opted to fist the point and take the draw. I'm torn between did he make right decision or should he have tried to raise the green flag.

After 20+ years I'm still undecided"
Are you McGarty??lol

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2777 - 06/07/2023 19:51:12    2492750

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "I did not know your Dad was deceased and I apologise unreservedly for any hurt caused by that. I did not say anything bad about your Dad. You stated your Dad was a Kerryman and I merely asked how would he feel with the fact you constantly criticise Kerry fans etc. I think you ré twisting my words and I wouldike to think anyone that read my posts would know I was nt getting at your family. Anyone that knows me knows I never insult anyone a family. I'm actually hurt and disgusted that you d think that. I'm sure your Dad was a lovely man and hope he rests in peace. Sorry!"
Mick you're probably the most decent and level headed poster on this forum and I've no doubt in my mind that you meant no harm or disrespect and I'm sure everyone else here would agree.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1750 - 06/07/2023 23:20:24    2492775

Replying To avonali:  "My Dad was a Kerryman and a proud one; and he played football to high level in Kerry. I have not twisted words.- I was genuinely shocked to see my deceased Dad being brought up in that context. I didn't think there was any need for that.

I simply react when I see my fellow county men called digusting, dehumanising names by cowardly faceless people on an internet forum while people forget all the good work those people have done. I have seen the areas they came from denigrated and insulted and yes I reacted. I shouldn't have but I did. I just regret that it led to this spat with yourself, a poster for whom I had high respect, despite what I said after. I apologise for that.

My post about 1978 All_Ireland had NO agenda whatsoever - I saw that goal from the Hogan Stand while still a boy and I've never forgotten it. It made a huge impression. Fair play to MIkey for seeing the opportunity and taking i. I always remember my Dad laughing heartily when he read Con O 'Houlihan's description of it in the Evening Press the following evening . I remember our house getting egged for having a Kerry Flag out our front window after that.

I openly concede that Kevin Mac made a double hop and he took too many steps for the goal but show me any game of football where the step rule is not flouted.

I think Kerry have a magnificent tradition in Irish sport. I was one of the first on here after last year's semi-final to congratulate them on their victory in the semi-final and after their All_ireland win. I have quite often praised Kerry players in here and took some flak for it from few Dubs. And that is fair enough.
Anyway, Thank you for the apology Mick. It takes a man to do that, I am sorry that this spat has escalated to this point. I would have said we had got on quite well in this here up until this."
Yes thanks you so much Avon. Like you I get heated when my own are criticised but glad you understand I def meant no ill meaning to your Dad. In fact I agree with you in that family should never be brought into it. Thank you for understanding and we both probably got too engrossed in our points of view. I don't agree with many comments from my own either but I got mad as while I know one ex player is not liked in Kerry (tbf i did nt like him either) but many players from Dublin get great praise on the Kerry forum in particular James Mccarthy. Anyway I'm glad you accept I meant no harm Avon and I thank you for your response. You too were a poster I liked so we will bury the hatchet!. Thanks Avonali!

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3686 - 07/07/2023 13:03:22    2492890

Replying To Galway9801:  "Mick you're probably the most decent and level headed poster on this forum and I've no doubt in my mind that you meant no harm or disrespect and I'm sure everyone else here would agree."
Ah Galway 19801 thank you so much for that kind post
Oh I'm nó angel but I like to try be fair. Appreciate that thanks!

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3686 - 07/07/2023 13:05:27    2492891