Turning The Hill Into All Seater

Replying To daytona11:  "A certain cohort of Armagh fans are toxic. I'll generally avoid the hill when they are involved. Not a nice experience."
In fairness I think most counties have a cohort of fairly toxic individuals. Toxic behaviour is not just confined to Croke Park or Hill 16. The Killinan End terrace has witnessed some toxic behaviour down through the years.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 04/07/2023 15:38:06    2492197

Replying To daytona11:  "Also. It would be a fantastic stadium if the GAA would finished. Seat the Hill and roof it.

Why does the Hill seem to be shut for attendances of 30-40k when the Dubs aren't playing. Yet when they are playing and the same numbers are present they open it for them? Why aren't the other counties facilitated for cheaper tickets? It's not right in my opinion."
It would be opened if they sold the tickets, They don't. The Cusack side of Hill was not opened for other Dublin games anyway.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2642 - 04/07/2023 15:43:36    2492199

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "In fairness they move in quickly when trouble is started and have good info from the security cameras. They were able to nip a potentially very nasty confrontation at last year's semi final when arriving to pluck out the Kerry lads responsible for throwing bottles at people below them which is about as cowardly and randomly dangerous a piece of nastiness you can be at in a crowd.

Lots of Kerry people on the Hill and that was only one small exception of idiots."
I always go to the Hill and it is rare for fights or that bottle throwing going on.
Thankfully it is the exception rather than the norm.

But not enough of a Garda presence on the Hill for sure.
Visibility of them would lessen the chance of any incidents happening.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3743 - 04/07/2023 16:02:31    2492212

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "In fairness they move in quickly when trouble is started and have good info from the security cameras. They were able to nip a potentially very nasty confrontation at last year's semi final when arriving to pluck out the Kerry lads responsible for throwing bottles at people below them which is about as cowardly and randomly dangerous a piece of nastiness you can be at in a crowd.

Lots of Kerry people on the Hill and that was only one small exception of idiots."
"they move in pretty quickly"...there wasnt too much sign of them in the clip from the hill at the weekend and it was a lenghty enough clip I seen...they shouldnt have to "move in very quickly, they should be stationed at points in all areas, not in a huddle near the exits always near halfway...and I wont hear this ould lark a low visibility presence etc. that is only justifying them standing around near where the elete are seated etc..let them go in as put 2 or 3 per each area front and back and there will be little trouble...getting paid to save the referee which isnt too often and watch the games appears to be their job discriptions to date...nothing personal against them but it doesnt look too organised their current locations anyway...

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1035 - 04/07/2023 16:19:03    2492216

No point in blaming other county's, all 32 county's have egits and should be dealt with on the spot. What would be wrong with supporting fans leading their own egits to the stewards to be dealt with. Talking of seats in the hill, I'd rather be standing in the hill during a scuffle than on steep steps with seating.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2023 - 04/07/2023 16:56:53    2492228

Replying To MillerX:  "Knee jerk reaction. A few hardy bucks act the maggot on a Saturday evening and it's proposed to do away with a hundred plus years of tradition."
I would nt refer to those yobs as hardly bucks. Safety in numbers is normally for cowards. Easy to be tough when you ve loads of back up.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3686 - 04/07/2023 18:58:38    2492257

Replying To RHF:  "If drink was banned on trains and buses this problem would be sorted very quickly. The scrotes wouldn't even bother going and the rest would have a couple of pints before the match and hopefully be a bit more mannered.

Is it even legal to drink on a bus in Ireland?

I"
Would nt make a difference imo. Many travelling fans come up night before or arrive early and start drinking early too. They should be identified and banned from purchasing tickets for 2 years or more. Now I know others might buy for them but if traced they too should be dealt with. Maybe too many Guards on the hill might tease immature mullets into acting the maggot with Gardai. As I've stated before in the early 70s the Gardai were present in their hundreds beside the Hill and were often attacked by thugs with bottles and large sticks. The gaa banned big banners with timber poles then. As Barnetgrant stated already those fans are long gone T. G. Now in fairness most trouble recently in the Hill has been caused by non Dub fans. However fans from every county have the right to try get tickets for the Hill as its our national stadium and tickets are cheaper. Those that are lucky to get those tickets should show respect or get fecked out by force and a few ips of a few batons would go astray either.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3686 - 04/07/2023 19:11:35    2492263

Replying To Saynothing:  "No point in blaming other county's, all 32 county's have egits and should be dealt with on the spot. What would be wrong with supporting fans leading their own egits to the stewards to be dealt with. Talking of seats in the hill, I'd rather be standing in the hill during a scuffle than on steep steps with seating."
Yes indeed some of their own should deal with them and might have a better chance too. I'd rather be standing for any row tbh and I def would nt like to be in row A in the upper decks trying to defend the title.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3686 - 04/07/2023 19:22:11    2492267

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Would nt make a difference imo. Many travelling fans come up night before or arrive early and start drinking early too. They should be identified and banned from purchasing tickets for 2 years or more. Now I know others might buy for them but if traced they too should be dealt with. Maybe too many Guards on the hill might tease immature mullets into acting the maggot with Gardai. As I've stated before in the early 70s the Gardai were present in their hundreds beside the Hill and were often attacked by thugs with bottles and large sticks. The gaa banned big banners with timber poles then. As Barnetgrant stated already those fans are long gone T. G. Now in fairness most trouble recently in the Hill has been caused by non Dub fans. However fans from every county have the right to try get tickets for the Hill as its our national stadium and tickets are cheaper. Those that are lucky to get those tickets should show respect or get fecked out by force and a few ips of a few batons would go astray either."
The Gardaí were certainly targets for Dublin thugs back in the day. Hill is of course for anyone who wishes and that has always been the case. For years most non Dubs just weren't interested in Hill when Dubs were playing - for understandable reasons in 70s and early 80s and lots of Dubs stopped going there for the same reason.

However, that is long gone and non Dub supporters even on big days have grown. There were huge Mayo numbers on Hill from 2013 and barring the usual heated exchanges there was no real nastiness. That has changed as young fellas have realised that the bogey man no longer exists so they have set themselves up as a replacement issue!

We are talking about small numbers it has to be said, but it was same back when very small number of Dublin supporters were the problem.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2642 - 05/07/2023 11:00:56    2492351

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "The Gardaí were certainly targets for Dublin thugs back in the day. Hill is of course for anyone who wishes and that has always been the case. For years most non Dubs just weren't interested in Hill when Dubs were playing - for understandable reasons in 70s and early 80s and lots of Dubs stopped going there for the same reason.

However, that is long gone and non Dub supporters even on big days have grown. There were huge Mayo numbers on Hill from 2013 and barring the usual heated exchanges there was no real nastiness. That has changed as young fellas have realised that the bogey man no longer exists so they have set themselves up as a replacement issue!

We are talking about small numbers it has to be said, but it was same back when very small number of Dublin supporters were the problem."
I agree with you Barney

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3686 - 05/07/2023 11:58:32    2492381

I wonder do these eejits look back now at them all over social media doing the hardy buck and think "I should have remembered their is a smart phone in every pocket on this terrace".
It is something I am always conscious of. Not that I would be throwing digs anyway.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1141 - 05/07/2023 12:28:05    2492391

just reading a few posts above "people are coming down the night before and starting drinking early"...its a great country in a cost of living crisis..I and many cannot afford to go to most intercounty games now on the day, let alone head up the night before. These fixtures are "new" too as in a week or two announced so dont go giving me this ould lark that they saved up for the trip/day out...I hope they all have their houses in order as the saying goes and the state isnt bailing them out then with utilities after their great days out etc..young people have to live and grow up etc. but they also need learn responsibility, and if one had any respect for their families/parents they should carry themselves a bit better than fighting at sporting event...on top of that then the Gardai in a pile making sure the whos who and the referee arent attacked etc...like how many does it take to mind a few elete all sitting together by some strange coincidence..who booked them tickets or better still who paid for them...

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1035 - 05/07/2023 14:08:27    2492421

If hill was fully seated like the Davin end would capacity of Croke park change much?

Mfs (Mayo) - Posts: 252 - 05/07/2023 14:21:29    2492430

Replying To Mfs:  "If hill was fully seated like the Davin end would capacity of Croke park change much?"
I would think you would lose approx 10k capacity.

AFAIK the Hill/Nally combined hold 13k.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3743 - 05/07/2023 15:38:49    2492469

Replying To Fionn:  "I would think you would lose approx 10k capacity.

AFAIK the Hill/Nally combined hold 13k."
Is capacity of the Davin 19000 (upper and Lower) If you say Hill and Nally is 13000 then capacity would increase?

Mfs (Mayo) - Posts: 252 - 05/07/2023 15:55:38    2492474

Replying To avonali:  "In fairness I think most counties have a cohort of fairly toxic individuals. Toxic behaviour is not just confined to Croke Park or Hill 16. The Killinan End terrace has witnessed some toxic behaviour down through the years."
agreed there are tools appearing in cP on big days from every county who aren't genuine fans, booing free takers, shouting abuse.... i'm a donegal exile and some of the stuff i hear being shouted by some so called fans over the years at home games in maccumhaill park and elsewhere would make ya cringe, never mind what you would hear from other counties. it creates a toxic environment. I was at a game in croke park a number of years with my 9 year old son and there were 2 grown men a few rows behind me ''supporting'' their county, with some of the most foul mouthed vitriol that at one point i was going to get up and leave , all totally disproportionate and completely unnecessary.

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 924 - 05/07/2023 15:57:56    2492475

Replying To Mfs:  "Is capacity of the Davin 19000 (upper and Lower) If you say Hill and Nally is 13000 then capacity would increase?"
I assumed he was asking about putting seats onto existing Terracing.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3743 - 05/07/2023 16:00:10    2492477

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "just reading a few posts above "people are coming down the night before and starting drinking early"...its a great country in a cost of living crisis..I and many cannot afford to go to most intercounty games now on the day, let alone head up the night before. These fixtures are "new" too as in a week or two announced so dont go giving me this ould lark that they saved up for the trip/day out...I hope they all have their houses in order as the saying goes and the state isnt bailing them out then with utilities after their great days out etc..young people have to live and grow up etc. but they also need learn responsibility, and if one had any respect for their families/parents they should carry themselves a bit better than fighting at sporting event...on top of that then the Gardai in a pile making sure the whos who and the referee arent attacked etc...like how many does it take to mind a few elete all sitting together by some strange coincidence..who booked them tickets or better still who paid for them..."
To my knowledge, the majority of those getting bailed out by the state wouldn't have much interest in the All Ireland series...

streaker (Galway) - Posts: 498 - 05/07/2023 17:56:49    2492504

Replying To Mfs:  "If hill was fully seated like the Davin end would capacity of Croke park change much?"
It depends I suppose if they built over the railway track same way as canal end capacity might increase with tiers to adjoin Cusack.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3686 - 05/07/2023 18:41:03    2492512

Replying To Fionn:  "I assumed he was asking about putting seats onto existing Terracing."
Wouldn't you lose half the capacity?

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1459 - 05/07/2023 18:56:34    2492514