Turning The Hill Into All Seater

This old chestnut has been revived following a bit of argy bargy between Monaghan and Armagh supporters.

Would not support this myself and would be suspicious that any move to do so would be linked to attempts to rent the place out to other events.

Hill can be messy on big days. All down to young fellas being totally rat faced by the time they arrive. When playing Dublin they all seem to believe that chanting "Who pays your benefits?" which i am led to believe is a chant at English soccer games, is just about the wittiest thing ever.

In fairness, most of them are harmless and ironically trouble at Dublin games is made less likely by the fact that Dublin no longer have gangs of drunken young fellas who follow them, as was the case in the past.

Clubs and pubs prehaps ought to be a bit stricter on clamping down on it, There's no way clubs ought to be allowing kids to be bringing bottles of vodka etc onto their buses.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2649 - 03/07/2023 15:24:49    2491879

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "This old chestnut has been revived following a bit of argy bargy between Monaghan and Armagh supporters.

Would not support this myself and would be suspicious that any move to do so would be linked to attempts to rent the place out to other events.

Hill can be messy on big days. All down to young fellas being totally rat faced by the time they arrive. When playing Dublin they all seem to believe that chanting "Who pays your benefits?" which i am led to believe is a chant at English soccer games, is just about the wittiest thing ever.

In fairness, most of them are harmless and ironically trouble at Dublin games is made less likely by the fact that Dublin no longer have gangs of drunken young fellas who follow them, as was the case in the past.

Clubs and pubs prehaps ought to be a bit stricter on clamping down on it, There's no way clubs ought to be allowing kids to be bringing bottles of vodka etc onto their buses."
Careful now Barney.

Last week on the "Tailteann Cup Crowd Issues" thread some posters didn't like anyone suggesting that people shouldn't be allowed to get drunk and cause problems for other people at the games.

Greenfield (Meath) - Posts: 522 - 03/07/2023 15:51:24    2491890

Replying To Greenfield:  "Careful now Barney.

Last week on the "Tailteann Cup Crowd Issues" thread some posters didn't like anyone suggesting that people shouldn't be allowed to get drunk and cause problems for other people at the games."
You wouldn't be let into a pub or lots of other places if you can hardly stand up and are drunk and aggressive, So sports arenas ought to be no different.

I've seen a few people who came down on buses at the weekend posting about how much these people can ruin a day out for everyone else. Lads jumping out and urinating on the side of the road in traffic and then catching up with the bus when their mates made the driver wait for them.

I'm old enough to remember when Dublin away day were like that. a total pain in the butt. Only really stopped when clubs had control over most tickets and travel in the 90s.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2649 - 03/07/2023 16:07:46    2491895

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "You wouldn't be let into a pub or lots of other places if you can hardly stand up and are drunk and aggressive, So sports arenas ought to be no different.

I've seen a few people who came down on buses at the weekend posting about how much these people can ruin a day out for everyone else. Lads jumping out and urinating on the side of the road in traffic and then catching up with the bus when their mates made the driver wait for them.

I'm old enough to remember when Dublin away day were like that. a total pain in the butt. Only really stopped when clubs had control over most tickets and travel in the 90s."
Nail on head, Key is clubs having control over tickets. It's time ticket master was kicked into touch. I've never heard tell of a real GAA fan missing out on an All Ireland ticket if they were club members.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2023 - 03/07/2023 16:37:57    2491911

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "This old chestnut has been revived following a bit of argy bargy between Monaghan and Armagh supporters.

Clubs and pubs prehaps ought to be a bit stricter on clamping down on it, There's no way clubs ought to be allowing kids to be bringing bottles of vodka etc onto their buses."
Happened between tipp and Waterford young fans a few years ago,can't remember what stadium but just handbags,the terrace is a great tradition and would hate to see it gone, wouldn't blame the clubs or pubs either most of the younger fans are getting the drink in supermarkets or off licence.

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 779 - 03/07/2023 17:04:36    2491929

Replying To Saynothing:  "Nail on head, Key is clubs having control over tickets. It's time ticket master was kicked into touch. I've never heard tell of a real GAA fan missing out on an All Ireland ticket if they were club members."
Would fully agree with that.

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 779 - 03/07/2023 17:05:56    2491931

Turning The Hill Into All Seater

No.

A hard no.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13725 - 03/07/2023 17:20:25    2491937

First these scenes were unsightly but they were a minority not only of the crowd on Saturday but over the weekend. From the footage all these individuals looked as if they were all under 20. I was in Dublin for both games ( had my breakfast in Kennedy - nice breakfast) but there was a crowd of both sets of supporters heavy on the drink from by 12-30.
This doesn't excuse their behaviour, but seriously intoxicated individuals shouldn't be permitted into the ground.
Interesting when this kicked off the stewards and guards emerged - there should have had some on the Hill

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1676 - 03/07/2023 17:33:01    2491940

I'm a fan of terraces in our grounds and I don't think many county boards could afford to upgrade stadia to all-seater.

It would kill the atmosphere in grounds too.

What I would like to see is allocated standing positions on terraces. i.e. row numbers on steps and section number at the very least, if not individual positions marked on the ground or on rails.

This would help reduce the number of 'mob' gatherings on terraces.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5025 - 03/07/2023 17:36:16    2491941

Lads, if ye think it's just "the drink" involved, ye're very, very naive.

That Monaghan lad in the light blue top who did a flying leap over one of the railings to do what can only be described as a WWF style manoeuvre on an Armagh fan, I'd bet my bottom dollar he was on the Bolivian marching powder.

Obviously fans who are clearly inebriated and likely to cause a nuisance to those around them should not be permitted entry, but stadium authorities need to give serious consideration to random drug testing of gangs of young lads entering Hill 16 and other terraces for big games.

If they're clean, they have nothing to worry about.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 03/07/2023 17:42:13    2491942

Jeepers people will blame pubs for anything these days.
The likelihood is that most of these lads got drunk on buses from drink they bought in supermarkets.
Shall we blame buses and supermarkets instead? Or maybe, just maybe, the people themselves???

streaker (Galway) - Posts: 498 - 03/07/2023 17:56:59    2491944

there is nothing wrong with the Hill and I am not even a Dublin person. Maybe if the excess Gardai were moved around the stadium and not in a huddle on the halfway line near the exits (and also near the politicians and the Gaa aristocracy (whom by some strange coincidence all get tickets side by side - how can that be if everyone books their own tickets - indeed I wonder too) there would be little or no trouble on the hill or anywhere in any stadium...its the same as out in the street where you have crowds and people out and about, if you have no policing (which I believe the Gaa pay for) you are going to get flare ups in particular in modern society...letting Gardai into just watch the game and walk near the referee is all I ever see the Gardai doing and if there are no issues with the referee they dont even have to do that...certainly let them watch the match but have them scattered all over the ground....in a huddle near the taoiseach and former taoiseachs and Gaa headmen is waste of resources...

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1035 - 03/07/2023 18:25:56    2491951

Replying To MesAmis:  "Turning The Hill Into All Seater

No.

A hard no."
Totally agree, they built the glass wall on the hill to contain Dublin hordes. While rest of country can run out after every game. Yet now, pitenially a new excuse to add seats is sections of two sets of fans who cannot control themselves is a bit rich.
No we dont want seats.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4903 - 03/07/2023 18:32:21    2491954

Of course it's much easier to stop trouble in a seated area but by and large there is very little trouble in the Hill these days. I remember as a young lad in the early 70 s when young hurries used to go to the Hill and cause trouble with Gardai often the brunt of their attacks but I think these were bandwagon supporters that found the Hefos army a new exciting trend to follow. Nowadays most days the Hill is full is for Dublin games and most are avid gaa supporters with maybe 5%bandwagon supporters who could nt name 4 of the Dublin team. A few years ago the Gardai did nt help either by delaying Dub games Ré crowd control giviing lads more time to drink. Now to be fair the people mainly affected by the Hill being seated would ve Dubs and I for one would think that's unfair. As a rule there is little or no trouble in the Hill. We do have a booing habit and whistle ING against free takers etc with is another soccer trait but No the Hill should be left as is. Maybe stewards and Gardai should refuse entry to youngsters with too much drink. I enjoy a few pints before a game myself but not too many as I don't want to be running to toilet. The unruly mob should nt be the deciding factors. Feck them out and give em a few slaps (altho the do gooders today don't like that.)

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3686 - 03/07/2023 20:23:30    2491978

You would have to wonder why many southern people insist on bringing the Armagh people's nationality into the matter in their social media comments. I have just spent half an hour replying to their jibes and of course I made sure to give them a history lesson about their own towns.

PattyONeill (Derry) - Posts: 227 - 03/07/2023 21:16:25    2491992

Replying To Saynothing:  "Nail on head, Key is clubs having control over tickets. It's time ticket master was kicked into touch. I've never heard tell of a real GAA fan missing out on an All Ireland ticket if they were club members."
Most of those young rowdy people are club members anyway so I don't see your point. Many of them wore club jerseys especially from what I seen at Ulster final. Many of them would even be players.

PattyONeill (Derry) - Posts: 227 - 03/07/2023 21:22:37    2491993

Knee jerk reaction. A few hardy bucks act the maggot on a Saturday evening and it's proposed to do away with a hundred plus years of tradition.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1066 - 03/07/2023 22:02:00    2491998

Always said it, alcohol is the acceptable narcotic in these here parts. These were just brats fuelled up.
Maybe some sugar mixed in.
Let the cops deal with them old school and give it to them. Only thing that makes these wee clowns think twice!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8603 - 03/07/2023 22:02:37    2491999

Replying To PattyONeill:  "Most of those young rowdy people are club members anyway so I don't see your point. Many of them wore club jerseys especially from what I seen at Ulster final. Many of them would even be players."
That is a good point. Which is why i referred to responsibility on clubs to "police" who gets tickets and the behaviour of members on buses run by clubs. Not least to ensure that other club members who like 90% of people know how to behave themselves do not have these clowns spoiling things for everyone else.

There is no doubt whatsoever that the all ticketing of almost every Dublin championship match from 2002 on almost completely rooted out the casual big day element who did travel in gangs and did make things unpleasant for anyone unfortunate enough to be near them. Dublin just doesn't have many supporters like that anymore.

We do have our share of random individual fools like the one with the "Mayo are still *****" shirt, but sure you can't legislate for idiocy. Same as with the historically challenged people you refer to. Calling Kerry people Free State whatevers being of similar stupidity level.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2649 - 04/07/2023 08:54:54    2492029

It would be good if the GAA would start doing like most stadiums and having the same sort of controls over drunk people that most other events have. I bet the bouncers from Coppers or wherever would pick out these drunks a mile away if they had to file past them. It also puts the onus on fans to control their drinking.

Since I moved to Australia, I have come to hate Ireland's drunken loutish reputation. As soon as I got here, I didn't go near it and made it my business to get involved in activities not involving Irish people. I play Aussie Rules and tried my hand at cricket (harder than it looked!). Both have a "couple of beers" after the game but nothing like the GAA scene which seems like every game ends up in a massive pee up.

I always felt supermarket alcohol was too cheap in Ireland. I suppose alcohol is only part of the problem.

On the topic of the hill, I think safe standing as is coming in in most sports stadiums worldwide is the way forward. It means everyone has a designated standing spot, and the terrace can easily be seated. It just gets rid of the "big gang of lads, hard me in a group" / "mob mentality".

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1740 - 04/07/2023 09:25:27    2492037