Marty - a bit of a national treasure

Marty is a very nice fella - met hime once in Croker and very pleasant chap.
That said, I can't abide his scripted introductions to his big game commentaries.

CmonAymonow (Laois) - Posts: 160 - 16/06/2023 11:51:54    2486822

Replying To CmonAymonow:  "Marty is a very nice fella - met hime once in Croker and very pleasant chap.
That said, I can't abide his scripted introductions to his big game commentaries."
At least he makes an effort! They can be a bit corny and it's probably a bit of a throwback to when Micheál Ó hÉithir agus an Micheál eile were partly thinking of lads listening to the wireless in the Bronx and Holloway Road.

Sometimes he does hit the right note, especially when you have an affinity with one of the participating counties.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2569 - 16/06/2023 13:10:01    2486860

Replying To arock:  "Because Th the sound does not exist in Irish so not pronouncing it became a feature of Hiberno-English, its called dialect/accents who cares unless you cant understand what someone is saying. Btw a sure fire way to your lights punched out in Dublin is correct them on it."
Exactly! It doesn't matter. Thing or ting !Accents are actually endearing, and identify a person to a particular area, within the British Isles. Dublin, Cork or Belfast accents are readily identifiable.Thornton Heath in London for example would be pronounced Fawnfon Eaf by the locals and Faythe Harriers would sound like Fafe arriers. Worse thing is sound like a generic American.

Ryanteam (Cork) - Posts: 216 - 16/06/2023 14:07:57    2486892

Replying To Really:  "We can count ourselves lucky that Marty didn't get the late late gig. He'd be sorely missed on the Gaa scene.

Donal og would have been a good choice for that show - always good for a quote too.."
They got another GAA man instead. Unlike Dónal Óg, he doesn't want to be the loudest voice in every conversation.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7349 - 16/06/2023 14:10:24    2486897

Replying To CmonAymonow:  "Marty is a very nice fella - met hime once in Croker and very pleasant chap.
That said, I can't abide his scripted introductions to his big game commentaries."
Even this one !?
https://youtu.be/uyH-s_3e_mc

97Cavans (Cavan) - Posts: 320 - 20/06/2023 17:22:46    2487905

Replying To Ryanteam:  "Exactly! It doesn't matter. Thing or ting !Accents are actually endearing, and identify a person to a particular area, within the British Isles. Dublin, Cork or Belfast accents are readily identifiable.Thornton Heath in London for example would be pronounced Fawnfon Eaf by the locals and Faythe Harriers would sound like Fafe arriers. Worse thing is sound like a generic American."
Agree 100%.. its actually fascinating (If such things interest you) how many different accents/dialects/ vernacular we have here, for such a small island.
I could spot 6 different accents from my own county alone straight away, and there are probably more.

Imagine if everybody, everywhere sounded the same???

streaker (Galway) - Posts: 497 - 20/06/2023 18:43:46    2487946

Replying To Ryanteam:  "Exactly! It doesn't matter. Thing or ting !Accents are actually endearing, and identify a person to a particular area, within the British Isles. Dublin, Cork or Belfast accents are readily identifiable.Thornton Heath in London for example would be pronounced Fawnfon Eaf by the locals and Faythe Harriers would sound like Fafe arriers. Worse thing is sound like a generic American."
What's a British Isle?

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2677 - 20/06/2023 21:10:46    2487967

You'd be so lucky, Shem! The generic American accent is the clearest, easiest on the ear accent that you'll ever hear. Every kid in every classroom from Clare to Calcutta to California and back again, should be nurtured and cultured to speak like that! Yer so lucky that Marty Morrissey, Ireland's finest commentator was born over here, and that you can still hear that beautiful yankee twang come through!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1920 - 21/06/2023 03:15:24    2487995

Replying To foreveryoung:  "You'd be so lucky, Shem! The generic American accent is the clearest, easiest on the ear accent that you'll ever hear. Every kid in every classroom from Clare to Calcutta to California and back again, should be nurtured and cultured to speak like that! Yer so lucky that Marty Morrissey, Ireland's finest commentator was born over here, and that you can still hear that beautiful yankee twang come through!"
I was born in Lambeth Hospital. I was brought to West Limerick at the age of 19 months and spent the rest of my youth there. People are amazed at my impeccable Cockney Accent. Ah well- I might be stretching that a bit.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 21/06/2023 09:05:15    2488019

Replying To Doylerwex:  "What's a British Isle?"
Isle of Wight

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1744 - 21/06/2023 10:30:48    2488044

British Isles and Ireland. One needs to be politically correct here!

Ryanteam (Cork) - Posts: 216 - 21/06/2023 13:33:27    2488140

Replying To Ryanteam:  "British Isles and Ireland. One needs to be politically correct here!"
There's only a few British Isles - Wight, Lindisfarne, Man (occupied Gaelic territory btw!.). Ireland is not one of them!

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2569 - 21/06/2023 13:39:58    2488143

It's where mainlanders queue for the till in Tesco.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7349 - 21/06/2023 14:22:53    2488158

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "There's only a few British Isles - Wight, Lindisfarne, Man (occupied Gaelic territory btw!.). Ireland is not one of them!"
Rockall, you'll never fall…,

Ryanteam (Cork) - Posts: 216 - 21/06/2023 14:40:48    2488169

Replying To foreveryoung:  "You'd be so lucky, Shem! The generic American accent is the clearest, easiest on the ear accent that you'll ever hear. Every kid in every classroom from Clare to Calcutta to California and back again, should be nurtured and cultured to speak like that! Yer so lucky that Marty Morrissey, Ireland's finest commentator was born over here, and that you can still hear that beautiful yankee twang come through!"
Reminds me of Jared Kushner's comments a few years ago, when his father in law was president. He postulated that the Arab countries in the Middle East should learn to live like Americans… he wasn't joking either!

Ryanteam (Cork) - Posts: 216 - 21/06/2023 14:54:44    2488176

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "At least he makes an effort! They can be a bit corny and it's probably a bit of a throwback to when Micheál Ó hÉithir agus an Micheál eile were partly thinking of lads listening to the wireless in the Bronx and Holloway Road.

Sometimes he does hit the right note, especially when you have an affinity with one of the participating counties."
I don't know about the Bronx, but back in 1967 you could not get Radio Eireann in Holloway Road. One had to go out to Clapham Common (or some other open space like it),and connect a wire yoke on to a very high tree and then you would get a barely audible reception.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 07/07/2023 10:05:12    2492801

Replying To tearintom:  "I think in the grand scheme of things it isnt exactly "panama papers" levels of corruption here with Marty, its harmless enough.

Whats annoyed me a little bit though is seeing in recent days a few well known GAA people try and totally dismiss this as "nothing to see here" when clearly there is, particularly when one of those has been on a crusade against every single revelation that has come out, some as inconsequential as this and shouting from the roof tops against every one.

Then one revelation comes out and its a GAA person involved and its a case of "nothing to see here" thats hypocritical in my book and hardly helps this perception out there of the "old Boys" GAA network looking after their own.

As i say its harmless enough but still wrong, i like many others on here have been dishing out the likes of BIK etc for perks such as this in considerable sums over the years and Marty should be doing the same.

Id be a little bit more concerned about what may be lurking behind the scenes with GAA GO! This is our ognaisation partnering with another thats evidently corrupt to the core for a venture thats been a little bit off from the beginning."
With Dee Forbes involved with GAAGO… corruption can't be far away…..

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1933 - 07/07/2023 10:18:33    2492809

I don't blame Marty for accepting a car, I blame those who allowed this culture to exist.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 07/07/2023 10:19:36    2492810

Replying To tearintom:  "I think in the grand scheme of things it isnt exactly "panama papers" levels of corruption here with Marty, its harmless enough.

Whats annoyed me a little bit though is seeing in recent days a few well known GAA people try and totally dismiss this as "nothing to see here" when clearly there is, particularly when one of those has been on a crusade against every single revelation that has come out, some as inconsequential as this and shouting from the roof tops against every one.

Then one revelation comes out and its a GAA person involved and its a case of "nothing to see here" thats hypocritical in my book and hardly helps this perception out there of the "old Boys" GAA network looking after their own.

As i say its harmless enough but still wrong, i like many others on here have been dishing out the likes of BIK etc for perks such as this in considerable sums over the years and Marty should be doing the same.

Id be a little bit more concerned about what may be lurking behind the scenes with GAA GO! This is our ognaisation partnering with another thats evidently corrupt to the core for a venture thats been a little bit off from the beginning."
I don't think it's harmless enough. Firstly Marty is a brand ambassador for BMW and has been driving around in a 5 series for the past few years. So nice perk there on the back of his lic fee funded salary. I wonder does he pay BIK on the beemer? Presumably someone else is driving around in the Renault and presumably he owes 5 years worth of BIK to the taxpayer. Has Marty ever paid for a car? Secondly Marty deceived the public by saying that he did these 12 engagements for free because he loves the GAA…. Clearly he didn't do them for free, he got a free car out of it. Finally Marty claims that he handed the car back on June 23rd. The RTE Exec say that he handed it back on Tues 4th July. Is Marty telling fibs again? The likes of Tim Dooley should be kicked out of the Dail, saying that he didn't mean to drag Marty into it and has sympathy for him. Dooley is part of the problem. It's the entitlement brigade. if the rest of us were found to have defrauded the taxpayer of 5 years worth of BIK on a new car, we'd be hauled up in front of a judge. Tip of the iceberg.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 07/07/2023 10:28:16    2492814

I have huge sympathy for Marty Morrissey as we are lumping his issue in with some serious serious transgressions.
I'm not sure if what Marty did was wrong at all.
Whether you like Marty or not ,he is a personality/entertainer.
Like Niall Horan or any other well known personality , there is a marketable value and hence some companies want to use these people as brand ambassadors. If Niall Horan accepted the use of a car , nobody would have an issue. Nobody seems to have an issue with amateur GAA players accepting the usage of cars.
So what's different with Marty. His fame has been developed by his role with RTE but that doesnt mean they own him.
He is entitled to do a nixer ( like any of us) and make a few pounds as long as it does not compromise his ability to do his paid job or prejudice that in any way.
Now there may be tax implications and maybe the issue here is that it was not declared. But subject to this being declared I cant see the issue with the actual acceptance of usage of the car.
I actually think the Marty thing is a smokescreen to muddy the waters of the absolutely abhorrent behavior of others by mixing in a very very minor transgression ( if its a transgression at all)

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 07/07/2023 10:34:00    2492821