Marty - a bit of a national treasure

Replying To Al_Maguire:  "I met a groovy guy at a Marty Party
He was arty farty
He said, "I know a little Latin: anicus anicae"
I Said, "I don't know what it means," he said, "Neither do I""
The groovy guy knew very little Latin: he should have said ,"aMicus aMicae".

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 14/06/2023 12:56:26    2486423

Replying To avonali:  "The groovy guy knew very little Latin: he should have said ,"aMicus aMicae"."
The Brothers taught you well.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2646 - 14/06/2023 13:39:00    2486428

Replying To avonali:  "The groovy guy knew very little Latin: he should have said ,"aMicus aMicae"."
Martyea culpa

Al_Maguire (Donegal) - Posts: 248 - 14/06/2023 14:54:44    2486451

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "The Brothers taught you well."
The Brothers didn't teach much Latin; I blame the priests.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 14/06/2023 15:44:37    2486462

Replying To avonali:  "The Brothers didn't teach much Latin; I blame the priests."
You're obviously from one of those new fangled southside clubs :-)

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2646 - 14/06/2023 15:51:52    2486465

Marty always comes across as hilariously positive.
A bit like Tommy Walsh, his positivity and happiness is infectious.
The GAA could do with more of him rather than cheap-shot pundits who just want the headline to be them.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1141 - 14/06/2023 16:12:31    2486467

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "You're obviously from one of those new fangled southside clubs :-)"
Or did he even go to school at all?

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1942 - 15/06/2023 04:14:10    2486556

Replying To Viking66:  "Harriers?"
So, what is the proper pronunciation of Faythe Harriers? I'd read it as Fate Harriers, but with a 'th' in the middle of Fate as in Fathe, but the 'th' in the English language is something most of ye Irish know precious little about. And I've loads of clips of Bertie, yer great leader from long ago, to establish that.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1942 - 15/06/2023 04:21:40    2486557

I remember we played Galway in football in salt hill in 2010 I think and we bet them, joe kernan was over them. There was about 100 wexford fans at it and everyone ended up back in the same pub and we were bursting out songs Marty came in and joined in with us it was mighty craic. As far as I know he doesn't drink.

Doyler I remember the podge and rodge episode they were calling him their long lost brother if I remember rightly

Wexfordgaa (Wexford) - Posts: 268 - 15/06/2023 08:45:29    2486565

Replying To Wexfordgaa:  "I remember we played Galway in football in salt hill in 2010 I think and we bet them, joe kernan was over them. There was about 100 wexford fans at it and everyone ended up back in the same pub and we were bursting out songs Marty came in and joined in with us it was mighty craic. As far as I know he doesn't drink.

Doyler I remember the podge and rodge episode they were calling him their long lost brother if I remember rightly"
It was me that brought that up but I recall it too.

There was some remark about having won the extra forehead in a game of cards or something and he was an incredible sport

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2744 - 15/06/2023 09:58:32    2486575

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "Marty always comes across as hilariously positive.
A bit like Tommy Walsh, his positivity and happiness is infectious.
The GAA could do with more of him rather than cheap-shot pundits who just want the headline to be them."
Tommy Walsh - now there's a real national treasure! It's a pity we don't see or hear more of him.

midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 548 - 15/06/2023 10:07:28    2486580

Replying To midlands:  "Tommy Walsh - now there's a real national treasure! It's a pity we don't see or hear more of him."
Walsh was good the few times I've heard him doing commentary. Very funny and self-deprecating.

I can't recall which match it was but when something was said about stuff not having happened when he was playing he said "Well, there wasn't as many cameras about in them days,"

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2646 - 15/06/2023 10:56:23    2486600

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Walsh was good the few times I've heard him doing commentary. Very funny and self-deprecating.

I can't recall which match it was but when something was said about stuff not having happened when he was playing he said "Well, there wasn't as many cameras about in them days,""
There was another gem when players who switched from defence to attack were being discussed and the interviewer said "didn't you end up in the forwards, Tommy". "No" replied Tommy, "I ended up on the bench!!" I suspect he was having a little dig at Cody.

midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 548 - 15/06/2023 13:19:40    2486653

Replying To midlands:  "Tommy Walsh - now there's a real national treasure! It's a pity we don't see or hear more of him."
Agreed. He's very good to listen to, very witty .

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1925 - 15/06/2023 13:26:16    2486655

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Or did he even go to school at all?"
Hard to write it phonetically but Fighth with a "th" sound on the end of "fight" would be pretty close. You have to bear in mind Wexford townies don't speak English like anyone else on the planet!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12201 - 15/06/2023 13:36:41    2486659

Replying To Bon:  "Agreed. He's very good to listen to, very witty ."
Yes he's very good. Pains me to say it........

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12201 - 15/06/2023 15:08:35    2486689

Replying To foreveryoung:  "So, what is the proper pronunciation of Faythe Harriers? I'd read it as Fate Harriers, but with a 'th' in the middle of Fate as in Fathe, but the 'th' in the English language is something most of ye Irish know precious little about. And I've loads of clips of Bertie, yer great leader from long ago, to establish that."
A lot of Irish people don't pronounce Th… for example Anthony Daly in particular can say " dat crowd are a shower of tings. I can tell you a ting or 2"

Ryanteam (Cork) - Posts: 231 - 15/06/2023 15:34:55    2486700

Replying To foreveryoung:  "So, what is the proper pronunciation of Faythe Harriers? I'd read it as Fate Harriers, but with a 'th' in the middle of Fate as in Fathe, but the 'th' in the English language is something most of ye Irish know precious little about. And I've loads of clips of Bertie, yer great leader from long ago, to establish that."
Because Th the sound does not exist in Irish so not pronouncing it became a feature of Hiberno-English, its called dialect/accents who cares unless you cant understand what someone is saying. Btw a sure fire way to your lights punched out in Dublin is correct them on it.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4903 - 15/06/2023 20:07:59    2486742

We can count ourselves lucky that Marty didn't get the late late gig. He'd be sorely missed on the Gaa scene.

Donal og would have been a good choice for that show - always good for a quote too..

Really (Galway) - Posts: 594 - 15/06/2023 22:31:47    2486754

Replying To Really:  "We can count ourselves lucky that Marty didn't get the late late gig. He'd be sorely missed on the Gaa scene.

Donal og would have been a good choice for that show - always good for a quote too.."
Christ, 2 minutes of Donal Og at 7.30 in the morning is enough.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1141 - 16/06/2023 11:21:20    2486806