Derry v Armagh - 2023 Ulster SFC Final

Very ordinary game of football for 60 minutes, extra time and penalties bring drama to any game. Players nowadays are frightened to take a risk in case they are hung out to dry when the game is analysed. Armagh had an extra man and wind at their back and let Derry dictate the game- crazy stuff.

tireoghainabu (Tyrone) - Posts: 274 - 15/05/2023 14:45:50    2478704

Replying To tireoghainabu:  "Very ordinary game of football for 60 minutes, extra time and penalties bring drama to any game. Players nowadays are frightened to take a risk in case they are hung out to dry when the game is analysed. Armagh had an extra man and wind at their back and let Derry dictate the game- crazy stuff."
You can see why MC Geeney hasn't won a provincial title in 15 years of trying. Afraid to go for the jugular!
I see him yesterday writing down the wides in the program. Probably for the half time rollicking.

Breffni1969 (Cavan) - Posts: 510 - 15/05/2023 15:04:17    2478711

If you want entertainment, watch hurling. Modern football, as witnessed yesterday, really is a hard watch.

artisan (Down) - Posts: 1794 - 15/05/2023 15:17:57    2478716

Replying To Lockjaw:  "You're very welcome my friend :D"
Ha! Fair play to yous.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 15/05/2023 15:48:44    2478726

Tried watching the game on television and I thought I had good eyesight until I saw the team colour's. Hard to make out which team was which? GAA please take note for future televised games. I'm off to Specksavers!

mardon (Cavan) - Posts: 16 - 15/05/2023 15:52:06    2478729

Replying To artisan:  "If you want entertainment, watch hurling. Modern football, as witnessed yesterday, really is a hard watch."
Hurling has become hard to watch with the amount of throwing. It's so obvious it's infuriating. Clare Limerick was absolutely blighted by it. Some of them scores at the end of the so called classic were created by blatant throwing.

jam83 (Galway) - Posts: 134 - 15/05/2023 16:16:01    2478743

Replying To breffnibluewhite:  "The gaa need a rule change to prevent present coaches and stats men who have zero interest in football and only want to get results to justify their wages from destroying the game.
You cant expect players to play any football when you have 30 players congested in one third of the pitch so need to be a rule change to prevent this.
We need to get away from modern coaches spending so much time trying to get the ball into this so called scoring zone which is bs the scoring zone should be when you cross midfield and two points should be awarded for any point scored outside the scoring zone even if this means having a new line marked on the pitch.
Gaelic football is still a great spectacle when teams approch it with the right attitude but is currently being destroyed by coaches and stats men trying to justify their wages they would be happy with one point to nil final score."
What rule change would that be?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7345 - 15/05/2023 16:16:33    2478744

Replying To breffnibluewhite:  "The gaa need a rule change to prevent present coaches and stats men who have zero interest in football and only want to get results to justify their wages from destroying the game.
You cant expect players to play any football when you have 30 players congested in one third of the pitch so need to be a rule change to prevent this.
We need to get away from modern coaches spending so much time trying to get the ball into this so called scoring zone which is bs the scoring zone should be when you cross midfield and two points should be awarded for any point scored outside the scoring zone even if this means having a new line marked on the pitch.
Gaelic football is still a great spectacle when teams approch it with the right attitude but is currently being destroyed by coaches and stats men trying to justify their wages they would be happy with one point to nil final score."
Tom Smith is yer man to chair a committee to address this specific issue.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3422 - 15/05/2023 16:27:51    2478750

Replying To tireoghainabu:  "Very ordinary game of football for 60 minutes, extra time and penalties bring drama to any game. Players nowadays are frightened to take a risk in case they are hung out to dry when the game is analysed. Armagh had an extra man and wind at their back and let Derry dictate the game- crazy stuff."
Yeah that's when ya need players with big personalities to grab it by the scruff of the neck. I remember in 2011 we were in a similar ding-dong battle with McGeeney's Kildare in Croke Park. Kevin Cassidy had already missed a shot from distance when attempting to equalise and he got a bollocking from McGuinness over it. Christy Toye equalised shortly afterwards. A minute or two later Cassidy got the ball outside the 45 again but he didn't let the earlier miss affect him. and he boomed over one of the most famous points ever scored by a Donegal man.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 15/05/2023 16:34:27    2478752

I would imagine McGeeney has to becoming under pressure. A lot of money spent and precious little to show for it.

artisan (Down) - Posts: 1794 - 15/05/2023 16:39:26    2478754

Replying To artisan:  "I would imagine McGeeney has to becoming under pressure. A lot of money spent and precious little to show for it."
With all the goings on in Derry during the week I thought this would fire Armagh to charge into Derry in the first 15 minutes and make a statement of intent.
Instead it was a very laboured approach .

Breffni1969 (Cavan) - Posts: 510 - 15/05/2023 17:14:32    2478775

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Yeah that's when ya need players with big personalities to grab it by the scruff of the neck. I remember in 2011 we were in a similar ding-dong battle with McGeeney's Kildare in Croke Park. Kevin Cassidy had already missed a shot from distance when attempting to equalise and he got a bollocking from McGuinness over it. Christy Toye equalised shortly afterwards. A minute or two later Cassidy got the ball outside the 45 again but he didn't let the earlier miss affect him. and he boomed over one of the most famous points ever scored by a Donegal man."
I remember it well, the game was played in a downpour. Cassidy was the heart of that team.

tireoghainabu (Tyrone) - Posts: 274 - 15/05/2023 17:20:25    2478780

I think Armagh have done a dis-service to Ethan Rafferty. At times he looked like the only decent half forward willing to take it on. He shot some wides but in general he took the game on and went for it. Maybe he should have had 10 on his back and not 1.

Ultimately we have seen this Armagh team fall short several times before. While Turbitt is something different there is not enough strings to the bow. In the same breath Derry wont win al all-Ireland either with the type of game they play. Rarely if ever yesterday did they even want to crack open Armagh. Its all a little too safe

Yes first half was hard to watch but it was quite exciting/enthralling from second half on. Unfortunately we have professionals playing an amateur sport

ponger (Cavan) - Posts: 540 - 15/05/2023 17:35:52    2478784

Replying To GreenandRed:  "What rule change would that be?"
I dont know but we need some rule change to prevent the mess we see now 28 players between the 45 and square and no one with room to f**t.

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 454 - 15/05/2023 20:59:51    2478827

Replying To tireoghainabu:  "I remember it well, the game was played in a downpour. Cassidy was the heart of that team."
Yeah Cass was a brilliant footballer. Such a pity things turned out the way they did.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 16/05/2023 08:34:40    2478842

I see the Northies were up to their old tricks again on Sunday, biting being investigated and attempting dislocate fingers seen too.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 642 - 16/05/2023 09:21:25    2478849

Replying To ponger:  "I think Armagh have done a dis-service to Ethan Rafferty. At times he looked like the only decent half forward willing to take it on. He shot some wides but in general he took the game on and went for it. Maybe he should have had 10 on his back and not 1.

Ultimately we have seen this Armagh team fall short several times before. While Turbitt is something different there is not enough strings to the bow. In the same breath Derry wont win al all-Ireland either with the type of game they play. Rarely if ever yesterday did they even want to crack open Armagh. Its all a little too safe

Yes first half was hard to watch but it was quite exciting/enthralling from second half on. Unfortunately we have professionals playing an amateur sport"
Am I right in saying only two of Armagh's starting forwards scored? They have talented players and I know they were up against a very well drilled defence but more of the forwards need to step up. I agree on the AI winning potential. I think Dublin, Kerry and Galway would have too much for either team and probably Mayo too, although Mayo struggle against defensive systems. If Tyrone click I would have them ahead of both teams in terms of AI credentials as well.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 16/05/2023 09:53:26    2478857

Replying To countyman2022:  "I see the Northies were up to their old tricks again on Sunday, biting being investigated and attempting dislocate fingers seen too."
As opposed to thuggery with a hurl.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2014 - 16/05/2023 10:12:18    2478869

Replying To countyman2022:  "I see the Northies were up to their old tricks again on Sunday, biting being investigated and attempting dislocate fingers seen too."
And man jailed in Wexford for assaulting a referee. Do you really think thuggery is geographically restricted?

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 16/05/2023 10:13:47    2478872

Biting? Where did you see that?

SimonstownBack (Meath) - Posts: 143 - 16/05/2023 10:41:21    2478883