You See, Its Not Just GAA Go That's The Problem

Replying To bad.monkey:  "The main issue is the double charging of viewers for these games. RTE is funded by the licence fee payers and also receives state funding (which increased last year). They bought the rights with this money knowing they didnt have the capacity to show them on TV and put them behind a paywall. They knew the rights wouldnt be offered to rival TV channels. The same directors in RTE are working for both RTE and GAAGO. They can not legitimately say they are working in the best interests of RTE viewers (or GAAGO) as they supposedly are in direct competition to show the best matches. It couldnt be a clearer conflict of interest. The GAA are complicit by not offering the surplus matches to tg4 or Virgin media. The GAA need to wake up."
On Sunday I watched Down play Carlow for the payment of 7 euro.

With a family there was no chance of making it up to Ballycran for the game
so I was delighted that it was being streamed.

There's more matches to watch than ever before and streaming more on
GaaGo is a bonus.

It was 60 euro for 38 games before Christmas. I get that its difficult for
older people to stream matches but it is the future. Maybe better
instructions from the Gaa would help on using it.

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 10/05/2023 15:33:40    2477362

Replying To Pikeman96:  "I'll have to disagree with you here, Viking. You seems to be suggesting that the matches should either be streamed for free or else shown on free-to-air TV for promotional purposes, to get the games out to people who normally wouldn't watch or have an interest in them.

But there are already more than 30 senior championship matches on RTE every year, and many more on TG4. The sort of people you're referring to have ample opportunity to watch hurling and football on TV for free. And even still, chances are that many of them don't, and probably never will.

Horse, water, drink."
I don't think every game should be televised free Pikeman. But certain games that were likely to be great games, like Clare v Limerick or Cork v Tipp, should have been. Certainly it would have made more sense to have had those 2 games on RTE and the Munster and Connacht football finals on GAAGO.
And as regards the promotion of hurling surely to God the matches involving Westmeath, Antrim and the other middle tier counties in the Joe Mac should be televised to help promote the games there. Hardly any of these are on GAAGO even. This likely because the games wouldn't attract enough paying viewers. Which in itself shoots down the argument that GAAGO isn't a money making exercise and #### all to do with promoting the games.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12009 - 10/05/2023 16:23:58    2477383

Replying To tiobraid:  "You're going to all those games and paying to see them.
Therefore the hardcore GAA people are at a huge loss regardless as they're paying a premium to go to games. Yet people want those that sit at home to have free access to all the games. You could end up having feck all at these games if they were all easily accessible on the tv for free

As I said in my own parents home in Tipp the broadband isn't good enough. What's the solution to see all Tipp hurling games? All oh free to air tv? Every counties football and hurling can't be on free to air tv as there are too many games so internet is the only other option but then your back to people's argument again about 50% having poor broadband and another 25% not capable of using the technology
There's going to be no pleasing everyone. It's a thing that has crept into Ireland over the last 20 years. People think everyone should be happy and they're quick to blame the government for every little thing when realistically you only have to go to the likes of the US or UK to see how far ahead we are of them as a country.
Sorry for the rant and not directed at you!"
No offence taken Tiobraid!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12009 - 10/05/2023 16:24:54    2477384

If GAAGO knew what games they had why were they allowed to do the group draws?

Westmeath got the ulster runner up keeping the 4 teams clare, sligo, westmeath and louth apart

brisbane (Galway) - Posts: 674 - 10/05/2023 16:37:06    2477387

Replying To Viking66:  "Looks like they couldn't give a #### about ordinary grassroots people tbh after reading that statement. Interesting neither RTE nor the GAA have issued any kind of denial. I was thinking I'd be reading one as I ate my fried egg this morning......."
You have to take into account (and nobody is) that Virgin Media have their own agenda. Competition between media organisations is cut-throat and is a dog-eat-dog affair. Virgin Media (like TV3 before them) dont like that all of the licence fee goes to RTE and they dont get a penny from it. They will claim it's unfair competition. It's not for me to say that they have a point or not but anyone who takes their statement at face value is being very niave indeed. They know RTE are feeling the heat from the public regarding this paywall issue and they've seized the opportunity (as any rival media organisation would) to stick the boot in. That is the context within which their statement was made.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1904 - 10/05/2023 17:24:50    2477403

Replying To Viking66:  "I don't think every game should be televised free Pikeman. But certain games that were likely to be great games, like Clare v Limerick or Cork v Tipp, should have been. Certainly it would have made more sense to have had those 2 games on RTE and the Munster and Connacht football finals on GAAGO.
And as regards the promotion of hurling surely to God the matches involving Westmeath, Antrim and the other middle tier counties in the Joe Mac should be televised to help promote the games there. Hardly any of these are on GAAGO even. This likely because the games wouldn't attract enough paying viewers. Which in itself shoots down the argument that GAAGO isn't a money making exercise and #### all to do with promoting the games."
The RTE deal means that the 4 Provincial championship games need to be shown.

The big issue is that the football championship is rubbish until the last 8 or so because the structure is terrible.

Do they only show the whole Munster hurling championship, 3 or 4 Leinster hurling games, a couple of 3 or 4 Ulster championship games and 2 Connacht games each year because those are where there's good games only.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4235 - 10/05/2023 17:50:20    2477409

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Do people who attend matches get in free?"
Fair point. Also tg4 is owned largely by RTÉ. People seem to think otherwise

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 10/05/2023 18:52:56    2477418

Interesting comments in the GAA statement Virgin media were full of ****. Didn't even bother putting forward an offer. For all the criticism of RTE at least they don't have the wall to wall skutter Virgin show, a mix mash of programmes from ITV, Channel 4 and Channel 5.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 793 - 10/05/2023 19:10:31    2477419

All good points made on here.

Hoeever I do not think the GAA are coming out of this well. And if Clare vs Limerick is on then I want to sit down and watch it for free.

How much money does the GAA need ?.

sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2897 - 10/05/2023 20:18:30    2477423

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "The way I see it RTE don't give a damn about GAA, it's all rugby and soccer and any other sport ahead of the GAA games. They'll tell tell you about some rugby player that stubbed his toe in the shower and might be a doubt for some game coming up in 2 or 3 weeks...yawn.
Then Coke Park GAA is all about money, grab all they can is their motto from concerts to gaago paywalls,
and then you have volunteers at club level scraping buy on fund raisers etc.
It all sounds typical of this state and maybe that's all we can expect in reality."
If it was all about rugby then why have RTE lost so much more of their rugby coverage over the years.
Theyve lost plenty of their exclusivity of coverage of major rugby events.
Rugby is a pro sport so teams train more and will release updates to media far more than amateur teams do especially about injury updates etc.
Croke Park GAA isnt at all all about money. if it was they would have introduced pay per view for games years ago.
Concerts are a necessary for stadiums as match days alone dont pay for stadiums. Croke Park/Aviva/Pairc ui chaoimh and any recently built/modern stadium needs functions etc to keep money coming in.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3511 - 10/05/2023 20:54:38    2477435

Replying To Viking66:  "No offence taken Tiobraid!"
Looks like virgin media were being economical with the truth yesterday. Quelle surprise!

Overthebar53 (Carlow) - Posts: 204 - 10/05/2023 21:14:28    2477440

Replying To jimmy_c:  "The is a lot to unpack in the post.

How wee and how old is this actual man. I would guess he's at least 5'10 and under 70?

"He pointed out that when the local club was being set up, his family let them use their land for a pitch at no cost. " - No cost but the actual thought it wasn't a gift and that the GAA in perpetuity would grant he and his heirs concessions

What is the actual percentage of people who don't have wifi, even if the GAA streamed the games for free the same people wouldn't be able to access them.

For the €1900 spend does he and his family not get a huge amount of enjoyment. Nobody is forcing them to go to matches. If it is such a chore/expense why bother.

The one thing the GAA could do is actually offer a massive discount on GAAGO to GAA members. There are plenty of free loaders who would like to see GAA matches but aren't even involved in clubs."
I think the point is the GAA are indeed making it a chore and making it a financial investment too, as you say why bother? Indeed that is the danger.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 10/05/2023 21:18:28    2477442

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "I think what you are missing in the OP's point (I may be wrong) is that the GAA have deliberately put these games behind a paywall and its asking those who keep the organisation afloat to pony up more in a country where half of people don't have good broadband and a quarter of people don't have the technological capabilities to get it working? And, those people are the people who made the organisation what it is for today's GAA to cash in on.

I see the disconnect.

Also, after the Virgin Media statement last night something stinks to the high heavens about this deal with GAA Go, i.e. a GAA service ran by RTE........."
Looks like virgin weren't telling the truth either.

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 779 - 10/05/2023 21:20:02    2477446

I watched on RTE a football match i.e. the Kerry 5-14 to Clare 0-15 the scoreline flattered Clare. Week before we saw Kerry wiped out in hurling. Now if some are saying this is what you get for nothing, fair enough, but dont be too surprised when people turn to other sports. Which is one of problems with this. Also the GAA is very good at raising money they need to be, to keep the entire show on the road. But most of the organisation like the stewerts, maintenence, club officials, fundraisers and indeed the players who very much keep the show on the road. If I was the GAA I would be listening to them and not the armchair "fans" because GAA will survive without the "fans" but it wont survive without the former. Thread carefully.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 10/05/2023 21:39:17    2477448

The worst thing possible for hurling is to have more games on TV. It would shatter the myth that all games in the code are high quality and keenly contested. Its precisely because only a select few games among 9 counties make it on to TV that the mystique exists.
Laois v Westmeath in Cusack Park anyone?!
Don't ruin a good thing!

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1064 - 10/05/2023 23:05:18    2477461

It's a bit of a conundrum and I'm not 100% sure which side of the debate is correct one. I am leaning towards the reality that pay per view games is a necessary part of the model to support getting as many games accessible to as many people as possible.
Televising games is a costly business. It costs the broadcasters and it cost the GAA in terms of reduced match day attendances and these costs have to be covered by someone.
I'm less concerned with the broadcasters costs than I am the costs of the GAA.
Ultimately the GAA need to balance the books. If they don't get revenue from these games they may have to increase ticket prices. The result of this is that the travelling supporter digs deeper into his pocket in prefer that people sitting at home pay nothing at all.
Having said that , at this stage, the GAA and RTE now are now being called in to question and there is a PR issue.
I would suggest that they should make a public statement explaining why pay per view is part of the current and future cost model , but that, taking the extent of public opinion into account, for 2023 they will cap PPV prices at €10 per game and as a pro rata gesture to travelling supporters that they will bring down the cost of match day entry to the All Ireland group games by €5.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 841 - 11/05/2023 06:59:38    2477468

Replying To tiobraid:  "You're going to all those games and paying to see them.
Therefore the hardcore GAA people are at a huge loss regardless as they're paying a premium to go to games. Yet people want those that sit at home to have free access to all the games. You could end up having feck all at these games if they were all easily accessible on the tv for free

As I said in my own parents home in Tipp the broadband isn't good enough. What's the solution to see all Tipp hurling games? All oh free to air tv? Every counties football and hurling can't be on free to air tv as there are too many games so internet is the only other option but then your back to people's argument again about 50% having poor broadband and another 25% not capable of using the technology
There's going to be no pleasing everyone. It's a thing that has crept into Ireland over the last 20 years. People think everyone should be happy and they're quick to blame the government for every little thing when realistically you only have to go to the likes of the US or UK to see how far ahead we are of them as a country.
Sorry for the rant and not directed at you!"
Nobody is wanting or expecting every game free to air.
Many people much rather go to a game.
But, GAA Go was initially brought in to help overseas viewers and that was a great idea.
What it should never be brought in to do was put domestic people, who are the lifeblood of the organisation and who are the ticket buyers and sellers at club and county level, as well as the work horses of the organisation, in a situation where they need to come up with even more money for these games.
If it wasn't all about money, why don't RTE stream the games on YouTube like TG4 did with the Dublin v Offaly u20 match last night? They had 1-2 cameras and we don't need expensive half time cliches/analysis to add to the production costs if its a cost issue.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1136 - 11/05/2023 08:51:06    2477474

Replying To uncle_colm:  "I was talking to a wee old man yesterday evening and we were talking about GAAGo, hurling, football, life, and so on.

On the topic of GAA Go, this man wouldn't have the infrastructure (wifi) or the technical capability to set up GAA Go. As he said himself, "I couldn't be bothered - if I can't sit down and press the remote control, I couldn't be bothered" was his attitude.

Now as he says himself he doesn't feel strongly about the "We should see every big game" mood - he grew up without seeing top matches.

His main issue with it was that the charging for top games flies totally in the face of what the GAA is about. He pointed out that when the local club was being set up, his family let them use their land for a pitch at no cost. He said he and his entire family have never ever said no to any GAA club fundraiser (and there were many), buy annual county GAA tickets, his children and grand children go to every county match from club level to minor to u20 to senior inter county at no longer insignificant cost.

He said his son said that he totted up how much he spent on GAA related activities last year and including diesel to go to matches for him and his wife and 2 children the bill was €1900 and that was doing it on the cheap.

His point was that to put top games behind a pay wall was the ultimate 2 fingers to the people who are keeping the organisation running at both club and inter county level.

Sometimes its not about the money, its about perception and giving people something back for their volunteerism."
First of all if he 'couldn't be bothered' then he is part of the problem he has created for himself.

There are far more free to air games than there were 10 years ago across a wide variety of grades and ages via RTE and TG4.

Charging for extra ones is perfectly reasonable. There is no other sport that I can think of where I don't have to pay to watch. Sometimes its via a skysports subscription, sometimes its via a BT Sport subscription and sometimes its through a GAAGO subscription which allows me to watch almost 38 games for around €2 per game.

If he and his son were to go to the Tipperary v Cork game, it would have cost them at least €30 in tickets (I'm assuming he's an OAP), €20/30 in travel and whatever else in food. They could buy the entire GAAGO package for the cost of that one day out, or they could pay €12 to watch it as a single game and sit down together to watch it.

It is very easy to find problems for every solution and this GAAGO row is the perfect example of the type of irrational knee-jerk reactions we often see when people's sense of entitlement runs amuck.

As for the Tanaiste wanting every game live on TV. Either thats an example of an idiot, or just a politician looking for an easy way to be in the news. Or maybe both. It is an impossible suggestion. This coming Saturday there are 14 intercounty senior matches, plus the under 20 football final, on Sunday there 9 intercounty senior games. And that's just in the men's side of things. I assume our esteemed Tanaiste wouldn't want the women left out of his 'free for all plan'. THis weekend both the Leinster and Munster Camogie finals are on, while there is provincial championship action in Ladies football also.

So I would love to hear from Mr Martin, how he would propose to show all 26+ intercounty games this weekend live on TV? Answers on a postcard

Onfor15 (Wexford) - Posts: 524 - 11/05/2023 09:24:53    2477481

Replying To Onfor15:  "First of all if he 'couldn't be bothered' then he is part of the problem he has created for himself.

There are far more free to air games than there were 10 years ago across a wide variety of grades and ages via RTE and TG4.

Charging for extra ones is perfectly reasonable. There is no other sport that I can think of where I don't have to pay to watch. Sometimes its via a skysports subscription, sometimes its via a BT Sport subscription and sometimes its through a GAAGO subscription which allows me to watch almost 38 games for around €2 per game.

If he and his son were to go to the Tipperary v Cork game, it would have cost them at least €30 in tickets (I'm assuming he's an OAP), €20/30 in travel and whatever else in food. They could buy the entire GAAGO package for the cost of that one day out, or they could pay €12 to watch it as a single game and sit down together to watch it.

It is very easy to find problems for every solution and this GAAGO row is the perfect example of the type of irrational knee-jerk reactions we often see when people's sense of entitlement runs amuck.

As for the Tanaiste wanting every game live on TV. Either thats an example of an idiot, or just a politician looking for an easy way to be in the news. Or maybe both. It is an impossible suggestion. This coming Saturday there are 14 intercounty senior matches, plus the under 20 football final, on Sunday there 9 intercounty senior games. And that's just in the men's side of things. I assume our esteemed Tanaiste wouldn't want the women left out of his 'free for all plan'. THis weekend both the Leinster and Munster Camogie finals are on, while there is provincial championship action in Ladies football also.

So I would love to hear from Mr Martin, how he would propose to show all 26+ intercounty games this weekend live on TV? Answers on a postcard"
It all wouldn't have anything to do with votes now?!!!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12009 - 11/05/2023 10:22:19    2477510

I think the actual issue with GAA GO is being missed totally in the discourse.

No one should be calling for all game to be free to air, its just not possible, but thats not the crux of the issue in regards to GAA Go.

To see extra games we simply have to pay for it in someway, be that through the TV subscription (sky sports deal etc) or the likes of a streaming service.

One issue is which is easier to work? I believe at least 60% of people already have access to satellite TV throughout the country, for them if they so wish its a phone call to obtain these games and upgrade the package. However it isnt as simple when it comes to GAA GO, for me, and my age group, not an issue, for those older generations it does present an issue and a hurdle. Thats a fact.

Now the bigger issue is the cost, not for the consumer, but for the organisation? Dick Clerkin was on a podcast blathering on about how if we dont have GAA GO its going to come at a cost and that cost would be coaches, coaches for clubs etc etc!! Completely ignoring the fact that this is actually costing the GAA to begin with!! Its the GAA pumping millions into this, millions we could be spending on said coaches, something apparently beyond Dicks comprehension.

We have gone from a situation where we the consumer had to pay for extra games under sky but at least sky in turn paid a fee to the GAA for the privilege which could then be used to pay for coaches etc to a situation where we still have to pay for extra games, the GAA gets nothing for the privilege and is now scheduling games in such a way as to try and get as much as possible to at least break even before the organisation gets some money back!

Personally its a bonkers business approach and one that needs scrutinising imho, another gem from good old Larry!

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1349 - 11/05/2023 15:01:12    2477638