Who Is Considered The Greatest Football Player Of All Time?

Assuming underneath everything we're all saying is the mutual assumption that we are currently watching the actual best of the best at the moment yes? David Clifford will go down as the best of all time for a long time to come.

Sweetspot (Kildare) - Posts: 323 - 10/05/2023 00:30:55    2477157

Replying To The_DOC:  "Not having that - Sean óg de Paor takes Keegans spot any day of the week, any week of the year"
this team doesnt contain matt connor so no team

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1806 - 10/05/2023 07:24:43    2477161

Replying To streaker:  "Most Galway people my age will say Michael Donnelan or Jarlath Fallon.
My aul lad would say Sean Purcell or Mattie McDonagh.
My buddy from Roscommon says Dermot Earley Senior.
My cousin in Kerry says Maurice Fitzgerald. His father says Mick O'Connell.
A lad I know from from Limerick says its John Galvin.

Can we see a pattern developing here?....."
Patterns and individual opinions are one thing. Data, evidence and validation from multiple experts in the game are another.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 908 - 10/05/2023 07:47:42    2477163

The 8 All Ireland medals thing is a bit misleading.
Some of those guys were good players on great teams.
I'd be more impressed by the likes of Mike Frank Russell(won every medal there was to win, school, colleges, county) or Kieran Fitzgerald(4 All Ireland Club, 14 County Medals), we will probably never see those sort of achievements again

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 370 - 10/05/2023 08:45:08    2477168

Unbelievable that Graham geraghty isn't on anyone's list. The only player to win an all star in both backs and forwards. (And not just to accommodate but actually deserved) with the most natural skills ever seen. Matt Connor would be the closest to him that I ever seen.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 10/05/2023 09:11:12    2477171

Tough one, we all have our preferences and biases, but ultimately it comes down to a toss up between John Joe O'Reilly and Charlie Gallagher. So Mick Higgins it is.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12122 - 10/05/2023 09:21:58    2477172

Replying To The_DOC:  "Not having that - Sean óg de Paor takes Keegans spot any day of the week, any week of the year"
De Paor was a super player no doubt but I've seen more of Keegan over the years hence his selection on that team. PJ very unlucky to miss out too. A classy operator and did it on the biggest days. If Michael Meehan had an injury free career he could've been up there too. An absolute bull of a player who had everything.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 10/05/2023 09:31:27    2477176

Replying To royaldunne:  "Unbelievable that Graham geraghty isn't on anyone's list. The only player to win an all star in both backs and forwards. (And not just to accommodate but actually deserved) with the most natural skills ever seen. Matt Connor would be the closest to him that I ever seen."
Nudie Hughes has 3 allstars. 2 in the forwards and 1 in the backs, and 1 more than GG

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12122 - 10/05/2023 09:41:00    2477182

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "These are the best 15 players I have seen in my life time. I have moved a couple of them around from their best positions. Very difficult to pick any one player as it is very subjective. My own county man Dermott Early would have to be considered to be one of the best ever. Certainly the best player to never win an All Ireland senior medal.

1. Stephen Cluxton (Dublin)

2. Lee Keegan (Mayo) 3. John O' Keefe (Kerry) 4. Karl Lacey (Donegal)

5. Graham Geraghty (Meath) 6. John McCarthy (Dublin) 7. Seamus Moynihan (Kerry)

8. Dermot Early ((Roscommon) 9. Jack O' Shea (Kerry)

10. Trevor Giles (Meath) 11. Dermot Connolly (Dublin) 12. Peter Canavan (Tyrone)

13. Matt Connor (Offaly) 14. David Clifford (Kerry) 15. Con O' Callaghan (Dublin)"
Your own Harry was by far a better footballer than his namesake Lee ever was and had a massively long career as well. Best Corner Back I ever saw by a country mile.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4341 - 10/05/2023 09:43:23    2477186

From my own Wee County, I can't look past the great Paddy Keenan. Outside it would be Jack O Shea.

Ollie2 (Louth) - Posts: 786 - 10/05/2023 09:46:14    2477190

Replying To togoutlads:  "Patterns and individual opinions are one thing. Data, evidence and validation from multiple experts in the game are another."
And don't forget Johnny Geraghty what a goalkeeper he was .

Breffni1969 (Cavan) - Posts: 510 - 10/05/2023 09:56:12    2477198

Replying To Sweetspot:  "Assuming underneath everything we're all saying is the mutual assumption that we are currently watching the actual best of the best at the moment yes? David Clifford will go down as the best of all time for a long time to come."
Clifford is the best at the moment but there ain't too many skilful forward players around that are worth the entrance fee.
Clifford, Walsh, O Callaghan, Mathew Tierney maybe in time .
Apart from those the rest are road runners .

Breffni1969 (Cavan) - Posts: 510 - 10/05/2023 10:01:37    2477206

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "These are the best 15 players I have seen in my life time. I have moved a couple of them around from their best positions. Very difficult to pick any one player as it is very subjective. My own county man Dermott Early would have to be considered to be one of the best ever. Certainly the best player to never win an All Ireland senior medal.

1. Stephen Cluxton (Dublin)

2. Lee Keegan (Mayo) 3. John O' Keefe (Kerry) 4. Karl Lacey (Donegal)

5. Graham Geraghty (Meath) 6. John McCarthy (Dublin) 7. Seamus Moynihan (Kerry)

8. Dermot Early ((Roscommon) 9. Jack O' Shea (Kerry)

10. Trevor Giles (Meath) 11. Dermot Connolly (Dublin) 12. Peter Canavan (Tyrone)

13. Matt Connor (Offaly) 14. David Clifford (Kerry) 15. Con O' Callaghan (Dublin)"
John Mc Carthy never played centre half back. I assume you mean his son James

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1664 - 10/05/2023 10:15:52    2477214

Replying To mickcunningham:  "this team doesnt contain matt connor so no team"
It was picked based on players I've seen in the flesh. I didn't see Matt Connor play.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 10/05/2023 10:20:37    2477217

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Your own Harry was by far a better footballer than his namesake Lee ever was and had a massively long career as well. Best Corner Back I ever saw by a country mile."
brian mullins kieran mcgeeney

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1806 - 10/05/2023 10:31:24    2477222

Francie Bellew has this award at home in the house if yous are looking for it.

Dessie_Cross (Armagh) - Posts: 142 - 10/05/2023 10:42:56    2477227

Replying To royaldunne:  "Unbelievable that Graham geraghty isn't on anyone's list. The only player to win an all star in both backs and forwards. (And not just to accommodate but actually deserved) with the most natural skills ever seen. Matt Connor would be the closest to him that I ever seen."
Graham Geraghty and James McCarty were the best two right half backs I have ever seen. I had G. Geraghty in my team on page 2 and had to move one of them from their best position. I moved J. McCarthy which says something!
I also agree with another poster that Harry Keegan (Roscommon) was a fantastic corner back and it was a toss up between himself and Lee Keegan for inclusion on my team. Both were fantastic players also. Very subjective exercise but some very interesting proposals and conclusions.
I liked the response to someone proposing Dublin's Alan Brogan " Not even the best player in his gaf"
Was he better than his brother Bernard or his dad Bernard who played on the great 1970s
team? No 100% correct answers, but a bit of crack.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 517 - 10/05/2023 11:02:17    2477233

Geraghty was class alright. You could have played that man anywhere on the pitch and he'd do a job. Trevor Giles from that era was a brilliant playmaker too.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 10/05/2023 11:13:11    2477238

It really is impossible to pick the best player or the best team. My best keeper was Charlie Nelligan because he was a great shot stopper and could drive the ball out the field.
You can't compare him to modern keepers that are kicking accurate 20 metre kicks, wandering outfield scoring a point and taking 45's

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1664 - 10/05/2023 11:30:33    2477251

Replying To Breffni1969:  "Clifford is the best at the moment but there ain't too many skilful forward players around that are worth the entrance fee.
Clifford, Walsh, O Callaghan, Mathew Tierney maybe in time .
Apart from those the rest are road runners ."
Comer definitely isn't a road runner. He's definitely worth watching as a paying supporter as he's always trying to make something happen.
He can do spectacular fielding, take on his man, kick big points of either foot and lash in powerful goals. That's the attacking side of his game. He does plenty defensively too and can put in big hits. He's as all-action as a forward can get.
His goal against Tipp in Croker in 2016 was a great example, but it got lost in the pain of a bad defeat.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2049 - 10/05/2023 12:07:47    2477267