All Ireland Senior Hurling Championship 2023

Replying To Greengrass:  "I've been to 52 All Ireland senior hurling finals. Limerick's performance in the second half yesterday is the greatest that I have ever seen. It was a privilege to have been there to see it."
Wow.
52 finals . That's something else!!
Fair play to you.
Some compliment to our lads as well. I'm biased of course but I thought the last 20 minutes or so we were off the charts. Nice to hear the same from a neutral viewpoint.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1063 - 24/07/2023 17:10:48    2496620

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "The 2021 final was like the 2008 final, a team naive on the big occasion shown no mercy by the vaunted opposition, the the 2020,22&23 finals Limerick have scored 1 goal combined but pile on the points, alot of Kilkenny's big wins in their pomp they'd get 2 goals in a 5 mins spell to leave their opponents startled, Limerick its a more gradual thing."
Limerick beat Waterford by more than 9 points in 2020 also.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11877 - 24/07/2023 17:12:29    2496621

Replying To Greengrass:  "Over 100 years ago."
Was!!! They won a few back then I think!!!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11877 - 24/07/2023 17:13:00    2496622

Replying To endgame:  "I'm not having a pop at Wexford but they're poor at the moment. So are Offaly and Galway are mediocre. That's led to an ordinary Kilkenny team reaching the last two All Ireland finals and getting hammered by 9 points yesterday. The provincial championship is distorting the All Ireland series. Cork nearly knocked Limerick out yet Cork themselves were out and gone home. I don't know what Cork would have thought yesterday watching that final. Perhaps the answer is to have the provincial championships separate from the All Ireland championship. Nobody wants to see the end of the Munster championship but having Leinster on a par with Munster at the moment for qualification for the All Ireland series is nonsense and nobody, yellow belly or whatever will convince me otherwise."
We were poorly managed this year. By a Munster man. But yes in general we still have catching up to do, although we aren't as poor as we were at the start of the teens.
If Galway are only mediocre compared to the Munster counties how is it they have beaten the 3rd placed team from Munster the last 2 years?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11877 - 24/07/2023 17:15:53    2496623

Replying To endgame:  "I'm not having a pop at Wexford but they're poor at the moment. So are Offaly and Galway are mediocre. That's led to an ordinary Kilkenny team reaching the last two All Ireland finals and getting hammered by 9 points yesterday. The provincial championship is distorting the All Ireland series. Cork nearly knocked Limerick out yet Cork themselves were out and gone home. I don't know what Cork would have thought yesterday watching that final. Perhaps the answer is to have the provincial championships separate from the All Ireland championship. Nobody wants to see the end of the Munster championship but having Leinster on a par with Munster at the moment for qualification for the All Ireland series is nonsense and nobody, yellow belly or whatever will convince me otherwise."
Cork barely beat Antrim last year and then got knocked out by what you describe as a "mediocre" Galway. That was only last year not back in the day. Can you not see Limerick only cruised through Munster and didn't really start trying until the AI series?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11877 - 24/07/2023 17:18:34    2496624

Replying To Fionn:  "Congrats Limerick.

Super win - 4 in a row and 5 in last 6.

Some achievement.

Cant see anyone stopping them next year either tbh.
Such a formidable squad.

Fair play.

Fully deserved.

ps Hats off to the Cats for a great effort also.
They just couldnt stop the flow of attacks once Limerick got on that roll after the 2nd Kilkenny goal."
Yes, hats off to the cats too because they gave as good as they got for as long as they could, until that Limerick tsunami took over in the second-half. Obviously, I was happy to see Limerick win it, but two other aspects of the game pleased me no end also. Not one dive or simulated play as it is referred to in the entire game. Hopefully, a few certain other counties were watching and they'll take note. Second, not one thrown ball and all the noise that was about it earlier in the year; all legitimate hand-passes all day long yesterday.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1914 - 24/07/2023 17:28:44    2496625

Replying To Viking66:  "Limerick beat Waterford by more than 9 points in 2020 also."
yeah by piling on the points, didn't score a goal in the game although O'Keeffe made a fantastic double save.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1727 - 24/07/2023 17:29:56    2496626

The Limerick team that played in the All Ireland semi final and final was a completely different proposition to the team that played in the Munster championship. Don't forget that Kilkenny took Clare out in the semi final. Limerick are on a different level to everyone else. There is very little between the chasing counties. You mentioned Cork. They were Limerick's opposition in the All Ireland final of 2021. How did that one go?

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 24/07/2023 17:32:54    2496628

Kilkenny have beaten Clare the 2nd best team in Munster in the last 2 semi finals, Galway have beaten Cork and Tipp in the QF the last 2 years, there record vs Munster opposition since 2015 is 9 wins, 1 draw and 6 loses ( 4 of those against Limerick), Offaly have been in the Joe McDonagh or Christy Ring since 2018. Do you not realise Limerick managed the 4 week gap between the Munster final and the All Ireland series brilliantly? their a different team in Croke Park, I'd imagine Cork watching that yesterday were thinking jeez there some outfit, Limerick would have blown away every team in the country with that 2nd half display yesterday.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1727 - 24/07/2023 17:48:23    2496633

Replying To Greengrass:  "The Limerick team that played in the All Ireland semi final and final was a completely different proposition to the team that played in the Munster championship. Don't forget that Kilkenny took Clare out in the semi final. Limerick are on a different level to everyone else. There is very little between the chasing counties. You mentioned Cork. They were Limerick's opposition in the All Ireland final of 2021. How did that one go?"
Don't agree. Limerick can't afford to be at half pace in the Munster championship. They were nearly knocked out of the All Ireland series in the Cork match. They lost Finn and Hannon to injury. Munster is intense. Kilkenny did beat Clare the last two years but Clare struggle to win big matches and have a tactically inept Manager and that's costing them. I think Cork are a coming team and I think it will be Cork who will beat Limerick when the Treaty are eventually beaten in the All Ireland series.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2166 - 24/07/2023 18:07:38    2496637

Replying To katser:  "Tipperary would have beaten Kilkenny in the All Ireland Quarter Final but Kilkennys saving grace was the lucky Leinster Final win."
Tipperary wouldn't have beaten eggs as their energy was gone after the Limerick RR game.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2479 - 24/07/2023 18:25:40    2496644

I agree that there is four Munster team's better than the 3rd place Leinster team, but it's that element of risk and danger that made the Munster Championship so exciting last year and I wouldn't change it. With only 3 team's qualifying from Munster, it is absolutely impossible to cruise through it and Limerick ,who were so dominant in Croke Park, came very very close to being knocked out.

Limerick were exceptional yesterday and that last 25/30 mins was some of the best hurling I've seen. No team would have lived with them in the second half and they were a joy to watch. I was especially delighted for Cian Lynch who seemed to have had a fairly tough last few seasons. There is not much at all between KK, Cork, Clare, Galway and Tipp with Dublin, Wexford, Waterford and Antrim slightly behind those teams mentioned but Limerick are still much better than the rest, particularly when they reach Croke Park. If they are to be knocked out next year, I think it will have to be in Munster.

Frontier1000 (Cork) - Posts: 60 - 24/07/2023 18:42:18    2496648

What about the great Clare team, from the great Munster championship, that couldn't bate that ordinary KK team last year or this, but at least didn't get humiliated this year, which probably entitles them to more than 3 'allstars' this year, I suppose.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3423 - 24/07/2023 18:44:28    2496649

Not one throw ball must be the most ludicrous post of the year. Limerick were outstanding but at least 40% of their hand passing were illegal

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1496 - 24/07/2023 19:24:05    2496657

Replying To Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin:  "Realistically in hindsight I don't think Limerick got out of 3rd gear in Munster round Robin and didn't have to. They're experts at peaking at the right time, enough confidence in their ability and experience at this stage to realize that. Any time they've played Munster teams in the all Ireland series it's been pretty tough days. 2020 all Ireland final v Waterford, 21 semi final v Waterford, 21 final v Cork. They've been absolute hammerings. They don't need to peak for every game, they're that much better that they play to their own time frame, sure they don't want to loose but they only need peak for the what essentially is the only competition that matters in the grand scheme of things and still won 5 of them in a row. I think outside of Limerick, the rest of Munster is pretty average, I have Kilkenny ahead of the chasing pack and then Clare, Galway, Tipp, Cork below that again. Waterford, Wexford, Dublin a level below that again, any of those 3 could pull a shock v the ones above, Waterford v Tipp, Wexford v Kilkenny, Dublin v Galway but couldn't do it more than once this year, all 3 have potential to move up a level. It's Limericks competition, we're just living in it atm. Some team, probably the best team unit that has ever taken the pitch, Kilkennys golden team(s) had probably greater individuals but my God that Limerick unit is some machine, so in synce and trained. Outrageous. Bit it's pointless comparing the two, just appreciate what were watching atm."
I don't think Limerick purposely took it handy in Munster, they just weren't playing well in those games, I don't think they played such a highwire act that they were 1 point from not making the top 3 in Munster, they got 2 strokes of luck in Tipp slipping up against Waterford gave them an unexpected Munster final spot and Munster Final is probably 1 of the very few games since 2018 I taught Limerick were lucky to win as Clare missed a serious amount of chances that day. they managed the 4 week gap after Munster brilliantly and produced their best form since 2021.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1727 - 24/07/2023 19:57:24    2496662

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "KK the greatest HURLING county in the history of the GAA. A disgrace when it comes to football"
Apologies, I was unaware that there were sports other than Hurling

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2669 - 24/07/2023 21:06:20    2496671

Congrats Limerick, best team ever
The 5 is on
Never saw 30 point games before this team
Lk don't do wides
The chasing pack are all similar

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 24/07/2023 22:01:58    2496674

That "ordinary" Kilkenny team beat Clare in the all-Ireland semi-final and "mediocre" Galway beat Tipp in the quarter-final. So the 2nd and 3rd best teams in Munster were knocked out by teams from the Leinster championship, just like last year. Can you explain again why Leinster should not be treated on par with Munster?

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 996 - 24/07/2023 23:57:25    2496684

If you were to pick a team from both lim and KK 4 in a row teams by position only
Dermot burns v Tommy Walsh . My vote Tommy
Henry v c lynch . I vote Henry
JJ. V Kyle Hayes . Toss up
TJ and fast Eddie and are certs
Nash and Hannah are certs

Newyorkkat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 128 - 24/07/2023 23:58:24    2496685

Replying To endgame:  "That Kilkenny team are getting to All Ireland finals because they're playing in Leinster and have played Clare in the last two semi finals. When Kilkenny ran out of steam, Limerick took over and there was only one team in it. The intensity of the Munster championship and the risk of injuries from that are the biggest threat to the five in a row."
Why, do semi finals against Clare not count?!

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 25/07/2023 00:03:02    2496686