New York, New York!! Shootout Win Over Leitrim!

Replying To armaghfan02:  "did you watch the mayo and roscommon game at the weekend?"
Did you see the weather conditions?

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 13/04/2023 16:02:45    2470850

Sunday game was embarassing! Youd feel sorry for Jaquline Hurley on her first day as she did well but the lack of knowledge of connaught football was shocking. Of course Mayo want to win connaught. If Galway win this year they'll be level on the roll of honor. Roscommon would love to win it & their forwards are pure class. Sligo would feel they have a chance if they get to the final. The footage of the Leitrim game was terrible & an insult to the viewers from a proud county who tuned in to watch their team... Bringing on a ANOTHER (GPA jobs for the boys) Dublin pundit is infuriating considering the same team gave these terrible interview under Jim Gavin. Then said Galvin robot no.12 goes on about whether provincial series is relevant. If you're not from connaught or ulster you need to speak about getting the supports and investment in place in Cork and Meath/Kildare. Where are the pundits with a bit of spark and life to them? they could have got a former connaught player on to analyze the football.

OhReally (Limerick) - Posts: 23 - 13/04/2023 21:26:24    2470905

Replying To yew_tree:  "Did you see the weather conditions?"
regardless it was still 15 men behind the ball handpassing around for majority of the game

armaghfan02 (Armagh) - Posts: 39 - 14/04/2023 09:20:02    2470918

Replying To Bawner:  "Was it warm in New York?

A hot humid/day there would be a great leveller for a team used to those conditions, regardless of number of games Leitrim played. Add to that a fatigue element from travel and several tight matches in the weeks beforehand. We just have to look at our provincial rugby teams recent performances in warmer climates (and they're professional)."
Wasn't warm at all - there was a cold breeze blowing across the pitch and it got very cold as the night went on!

But, I do think the travel aspect of it is very hard! I know when New York came across last year for the Offaly game that they were totally wrecked!

Also, the pitch is a bit weird - it has a 4G type surface but they obviously play loads of different sports on it and there are lines all over the place from different sports - I'd say it takes a bit of getting used to.

Still think the result was coming though - NY were a point down to Sligo late in the game last year when Madine made a great run through and hammered a shot that came back off the cross bar! It could have been a point or just as easily a goal! The ball rebounded to the man who had Madine had beaten to get through and Sligo scored from the rebound. I think if Madine hadn't been so unlucky - any score for New York at that time would have led to a different result!

Royalblufill (Meath) - Posts: 475 - 14/04/2023 14:21:30    2470991

Replying To OhReally:  "Sunday game was embarassing! Youd feel sorry for Jaquline Hurley on her first day as she did well but the lack of knowledge of connaught football was shocking. Of course Mayo want to win connaught. If Galway win this year they'll be level on the roll of honor. Roscommon would love to win it & their forwards are pure class. Sligo would feel they have a chance if they get to the final. The footage of the Leitrim game was terrible & an insult to the viewers from a proud county who tuned in to watch their team... Bringing on a ANOTHER (GPA jobs for the boys) Dublin pundit is infuriating considering the same team gave these terrible interview under Jim Gavin. Then said Galvin robot no.12 goes on about whether provincial series is relevant. If you're not from connaught or ulster you need to speak about getting the supports and investment in place in Cork and Meath/Kildare. Where are the pundits with a bit of spark and life to them? they could have got a former connaught player on to analyze the football."
Say what you like about Spillane, O Rourke and Brolly there was always a bit of craic and none of this PC nonsense. Jacqui Hurley is a very professional and down to earth presenter and God help her dealing with these modern pundits.

Inatfullforward (Longford) - Posts: 93 - 14/04/2023 16:33:26    2471002

Heard McGeaney on OtB podcast last night! Sligo have offered 30 minutes training time on the pitch to New York before the game!!
And on the Thursday when the team arrive!! Not really in the spirit of things!!

Royalblufill (Meath) - Posts: 475 - 18/04/2023 10:13:09    2471498

Replying To Royalblufill:  "Heard McGeaney on OtB podcast last night! Sligo have offered 30 minutes training time on the pitch to New York before the game!!
And on the Thursday when the team arrive!! Not really in the spirit of things!!"
You must not be aware of the amount of rain we are getting up here. No team is allowed train in Markievicz Park for the last few weeks. Nothing to do with spirit of things.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1656 - 18/04/2023 10:27:44    2471504

Replying To Inatfullforward:  "Say what you like about Spillane, O Rourke and Brolly there was always a bit of craic and none of this PC nonsense. Jacqui Hurley is a very professional and down to earth presenter and God help her dealing with these modern pundits."
PC nonsense - amazing!

What sort of edgy culture-war stuff are you hoping to see on The Sunday Game?

TheHuckleBuck (Galway) - Posts: 24 - 18/04/2023 14:54:37    2471592

Replying To TheHuckleBuck:  "PC nonsense - amazing!

What sort of edgy culture-war stuff are you hoping to see on The Sunday Game?"
It's not what I'm hoping to see!! It's what I've been seeing this past year or so!! ... And the reason why a lot of people don't want to watch the punditry on the Sunday game anymore... Sorry if you can't see it.

Inatfullforward (Longford) - Posts: 93 - 18/04/2023 22:26:50    2471692

Replying To Inatfullforward:  "It's not what I'm hoping to see!! It's what I've been seeing this past year or so!! ... And the reason why a lot of people don't want to watch the punditry on the Sunday game anymore... Sorry if you can't see it."
You are hoping to see it, since you're complaining things are too PC. You must want something a bit risqué, although in the context of analysing GAA matches I can't really imagine what that might be.

Any example of something so annoyingly politically correct on The Sunday Game that it causes so many people to apparently actively avoid tuning in?

TheHuckleBuck (Galway) - Posts: 24 - 19/04/2023 10:36:57    2471731

Replying To eoinog:  "You must not be aware of the amount of rain we are getting up here. No team is allowed train in Markievicz Park for the last few weeks. Nothing to do with spirit of things."
Give us a break!! These lads from New York have travelled thousands of miles for a game - they haven't played on grass for ages and you give them 30 minutes!! Has it never rained in Sligo before!!! Or maybe it's rained more in Sligo than anywhere else in the country - if Markiewisz park isn't able to take an hour warm up - move it to Carrick On Shannon!

Sad!!!

ASaminthehand (Meath) - Posts: 422 - 20/04/2023 23:09:07    2472064

Replying To ASaminthehand:  "Give us a break!! These lads from New York have travelled thousands of miles for a game - they haven't played on grass for ages and you give them 30 minutes!! Has it never rained in Sligo before!!! Or maybe it's rained more in Sligo than anywhere else in the country - if Markiewisz park isn't able to take an hour warm up - move it to Carrick On Shannon!

Sad!!!"
Sligo U 20 were not allowed into Tuam Stadium,, a pitch they never stood on before and they didn't go crying about it. Maybe you are correct that it is sad but not near as sad as Meath not offering Louth a replay of the Leinster Finall. Enjoy your weekend

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1656 - 21/04/2023 10:26:10    2472102

Replying To ASaminthehand:  "Give us a break!! These lads from New York have travelled thousands of miles for a game - they haven't played on grass for ages and you give them 30 minutes!! Has it never rained in Sligo before!!! Or maybe it's rained more in Sligo than anywhere else in the country - if Markiewisz park isn't able to take an hour warm up - move it to Carrick On Shannon!

Sad!!!"
I believe that two grass gaa pitches exist and were available in the NY area and were made available for training purposes.

Gaa Fan (USA) - Posts: 749 - 21/04/2023 12:22:07    2472147

Replying To TheHuckleBuck:  "You are hoping to see it, since you're complaining things are too PC. You must want something a bit risqué, although in the context of analysing GAA matches I can't really imagine what that might be.

Any example of something so annoyingly politically correct on The Sunday Game that it causes so many people to apparently actively avoid tuning in?"
Sorry...if you can't see it for yourself then it's pointless pointing it out.

Inatfullforward (Longford) - Posts: 93 - 23/04/2023 03:52:31    2472619

Replying To eoinog:  "Sligo U 20 were not allowed into Tuam Stadium,, a pitch they never stood on before and they didn't go crying about it. Maybe you are correct that it is sad but not near as sad as Meath not offering Louth a replay of the Leinster Finall. Enjoy your weekend"
Thanks - had a great weekend in Sligo - decent crowd at the match - it was freezing and it took an age to get out of the official car park but the Sligo crowd were great!

In fairness - I understand that New York were given an hour on the pitch last Thursday - so fair play to Sligo for facilitating that! Personally, I think for all intercounty matches, teams should be given at least an hour on the pitch pre the game.

Not really sure what you are getting at about the Meath Louth final. To me the goal that caused the controversy should not have been allowed - 2 umpires and a referee were right on hand to witness it! I am not aware that Louth lodged an objection to the result after the game and I know Meath certainly didn't offer a replay (France didn't offer Ireland a replay for Henry's hand ball goal, Kilmacud Crokes didn't offer a replay for the 16th man episode!). Personally, I think had Meath offered a replay it would have been an amazing gesture that the county board could have played on to encourage young people to play in the county. It would also have been a gesture that would have gone against the norm and Meath would have gotten many kudos for it! There are plenty of people I know who think Meath football hasn't been the same since!!

ASaminthehand (Meath) - Posts: 422 - 26/04/2023 14:01:52    2474008

Replying To ASaminthehand:  "Thanks - had a great weekend in Sligo - decent crowd at the match - it was freezing and it took an age to get out of the official car park but the Sligo crowd were great!

In fairness - I understand that New York were given an hour on the pitch last Thursday - so fair play to Sligo for facilitating that! Personally, I think for all intercounty matches, teams should be given at least an hour on the pitch pre the game.

Not really sure what you are getting at about the Meath Louth final. To me the goal that caused the controversy should not have been allowed - 2 umpires and a referee were right on hand to witness it! I am not aware that Louth lodged an objection to the result after the game and I know Meath certainly didn't offer a replay (France didn't offer Ireland a replay for Henry's hand ball goal, Kilmacud Crokes didn't offer a replay for the 16th man episode!). Personally, I think had Meath offered a replay it would have been an amazing gesture that the county board could have played on to encourage young people to play in the county. It would also have been a gesture that would have gone against the norm and Meath would have gotten many kudos for it! There are plenty of people I know who think Meath football hasn't been the same since!!"
I've said it many times that yee have had no luck since.. Little has gone right on the field.. It a bit like the Mayo curse..

Inatfullforward (Longford) - Posts: 93 - 27/04/2023 11:01:33    2474185

Replying To Inatfullforward:  "I've said it many times that yee have had no luck since.. Little has gone right on the field.. It a bit like the Mayo curse.."
I'm actually from Tipp! But live in Meath!!

Royalblufill (Meath) - Posts: 475 - 28/04/2023 09:50:50    2474317