Changes to make Gaelic Football better

I'm not against any rule changes to improve things.
But I have to say that football is not in as bad a state as many people suggest.
The game has evolved and continues to evolve. Its no longer the swashbuckling end to end stuff that was evident years ago but it is more tactical and fascinating .
For sure this leads to some games that are more boring to watch but the good ones are really good.

I know that the amount of scores in a match is not an absolute barometer of the quality or enjoyability , but it is one that is often used. And here is a stat. Counting a goal as 1 score I have done a quick scan on All Ireland final cumulative scores

1889-2000 : 112 games : 5 out of 112 (4.5%) with 30 scores or more
2001-2015 : 15 games : 3 out of 15 (20%) with 30 scores or more
2016 -2022 : 7 games : 7 out of 7 (100%) with 30 scores or more

If its not broke , don't fix it.
And for those people who don;t like it , just don't watch it . Attendances would suggest that people still enjoy matches
Unless people are like Statler and Waldorf in the Muppet Show.

"Statler: You know, there's nothing like grand opera.
Waldorf: Yep and that was nothing like it."

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 14/04/2023 12:08:13    2470968

I actually think hurling needs more surgery than football. I used to enjoy hurling and I just cant watch it at all now.
2 things abut hurling

1. It really needs some more counties to get to a level . Sure its not an All Ireland at all . Munster + Galway/Kilkenny .
2. Need to do something like whats proposed in golf to limit the distance lads can hit the ball....

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 14/04/2023 13:12:25    2470979

Football is in a terrible state….. It baffles me that people are still shelling out good money to go in and watch this rubbish… I think the penny will soon drop and people will get a bit of sense and stay at home

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1927 - 14/04/2023 14:10:24    2470988

For the love of feck..

Do away with the mark nonsense

It's just not the game I grew up playing and supporting anymore with that muck.

A tap over free for catching a ball... Absolute rubbish

It's drastically changed the game, just not the same game at all.

I remember having to get out in front, and then try and catch a clean ball. Now I don't have to bother trying to beat my man, look for a pass, find space for a shot etc etc

Nah, right I caught it. Arm you, free in.. easy. I can run down the clock, take my time, lower my chances of missing and I don't even have to take a challenge..

Nah!!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 14/04/2023 14:42:28    2470996

Playing championship in April in the cold,wind n rain certainly isn't one of them

Utdroyal (Meath) - Posts: 61 - 14/04/2023 20:18:02    2471025

Replying To jimbodub:  "For the love of feck..

Do away with the mark nonsense

It's just not the game I grew up playing and supporting anymore with that muck.

A tap over free for catching a ball... Absolute rubbish

It's drastically changed the game, just not the same game at all.

I remember having to get out in front, and then try and catch a clean ball. Now I don't have to bother trying to beat my man, look for a pass, find space for a shot etc etc

Nah, right I caught it. Arm you, free in.. easy. I can run down the clock, take my time, lower my chances of missing and I don't even have to take a challenge..

Nah!!"
Agree totally, the forward mark is encouraging teams to dilly dally outside the 50 yard line waiting on that perfect 15-20 yard pass for a free kick at a point. Don't like it even when my own teams are using it to their advantage. Would two points for scores outside the 50 work?

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2014 - 15/04/2023 13:04:45    2471060

In football for every 3pts scored in play (not frees) is worth a extra point.

Tyrion (Donegal) - Posts: 160 - 15/04/2023 14:11:56    2471067

The original suggestions here we're AI generated, but that fact was removed :-(

TearsIn85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 194 - 15/04/2023 18:54:29    2471103

Stop taking the utterings of pundits -puke football, blanket defence, defensive play- as your own. If the 15 lads or girls who represent you believe that setting up to contain the opposition is the best means by which to win, and thus to allow you to celebrate a victory, giving up 6 months of their lives getting into shape to do so, maybe you should acknowledge their efforts. This nonsense about the state of gaelic football was driven by certain pundits, simply because the opposition were finding ways to beat their counties. When did Italy, Germany, Greece, decide that playing like Brazil was more important than being pragmatic, and winning. Why celebrate the success of Joe Schmitts Ireland, who won in their own way, and attack your own players for trying to give you success. That's the only change you need to make.

Fontofwisdom (Cavan) - Posts: 128 - 15/04/2023 21:05:38    2471113

Replying To anotheralias:  "I'm not against any rule changes to improve things.
But I have to say that football is not in as bad a state as many people suggest.
The game has evolved and continues to evolve. Its no longer the swashbuckling end to end stuff that was evident years ago but it is more tactical and fascinating .
For sure this leads to some games that are more boring to watch but the good ones are really good.

I know that the amount of scores in a match is not an absolute barometer of the quality or enjoyability , but it is one that is often used. And here is a stat. Counting a goal as 1 score I have done a quick scan on All Ireland final cumulative scores

1889-2000 : 112 games : 5 out of 112 (4.5%) with 30 scores or more
2001-2015 : 15 games : 3 out of 15 (20%) with 30 scores or more
2016 -2022 : 7 games : 7 out of 7 (100%) with 30 scores or more

If its not broke , don't fix it.
And for those people who don;t like it , just don't watch it . Attendances would suggest that people still enjoy matches
Unless people are like Statler and Waldorf in the Muppet Show.

"Statler: You know, there's nothing like grand opera.
Waldorf: Yep and that was nothing like it.""
Totally agree tired of the constant whinges. All for minor tweaks but some suggestions are daft .

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7893 - 15/04/2023 21:07:54    2471115

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "Football is in a terrible state….. It baffles me that people are still shelling out good money to go in and watch this rubbish… I think the penny will soon drop and people will get a bit of sense and stay at home"
and yet there is more scores in a game that there ever was and the crowds are as big, bit of self reflection there i think, iv seen 3 top class games this year already in person, maybe stop going to cavan games if they are that bad

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2842 - 17/04/2023 17:04:48    2471425