Limerick Hurling thread 2023

Confirmed,Gaelic grounds for Munster final..makes a lot of sense for supporters..let the scramble begin..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2217 - 30/05/2023 14:06:00    2482895

These clare Facebook accounts really need to be looked into in Again today another unfounded attack on an amateur player gaa player from limerick with serious unfounded legal accusations been thrown all over social media. It started with another limerick player a few weeks ago and continuing today. It doesn't serve clare well at all and had an effect on the limerick camp last time to galvanise them. Its really time for these platforms to be investigated by the gardai.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1128 - 30/05/2023 14:26:20    2482908

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Apparently it is Limerick.If I was a Clare man I would not be happy."
We dont really mind. Its better than Cork.

All the pressure on Limerick as reigning Champs, playing at home. Lohan couldnt give a toss where we play ye and I doubt the players do either. The complaint over Cork was the travel times for fans and the bottleneck nature of Corjk. That is taken away now. Cant wait for the day and 3-4 pints in Na Piarsaigh beforehand.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2479 - 30/05/2023 14:27:33    2482911

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "We dont really mind. Its better than Cork.

All the pressure on Limerick as reigning Champs, playing at home. Lohan couldnt give a toss where we play ye and I doubt the players do either. The complaint over Cork was the travel times for fans and the bottleneck nature of Corjk. That is taken away now. Cant wait for the day and 3-4 pints in Na Piarsaigh beforehand."
Will be a great day out Lohan but don't pretend there's no pressure on Clare. No munster championship in 25 years is not acceptable for Clare. Ye are the form team this year and the expectation will be to finally win a munster title. Limerick will 100% want to win but they have eyes on a bigger prize where Clare badly need this one. As I said jokingly said to my hurling mad clare father in law we'll make ye earn this first munster in 25 years. You'll win it the hard way. Makes it all the sweeter if ye do it.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1128 - 30/05/2023 14:42:30    2482921

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "We dont really mind. Its better than Cork.

All the pressure on Limerick as reigning Champs, playing at home. Lohan couldnt give a toss where we play ye and I doubt the players do either. The complaint over Cork was the travel times for fans and the bottleneck nature of Corjk. That is taken away now. Cant wait for the day and 3-4 pints in Na Piarsaigh beforehand."
limerick don't do pressure...........its for tyres.

munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1097 - 30/05/2023 14:55:02    2482929

Replying To daveboy:  "Will be a great day out Lohan but don't pretend there's no pressure on Clare. No munster championship in 25 years is not acceptable for Clare. Ye are the form team this year and the expectation will be to finally win a munster title. Limerick will 100% want to win but they have eyes on a bigger prize where Clare badly need this one. As I said jokingly said to my hurling mad clare father in law we'll make ye earn this first munster in 25 years. You'll win it the hard way. Makes it all the sweeter if ye do it."
There is of course pressure on Clare, but its a free crack for both of us in many ways. Yes our lack of Munster silver ware is disappointing but like you, we also have our eyes on the biggest prize. We wouldn't trade our 2013 All Ireland for a Munster that's for sure.

However, I do expect us to come out all guns blazing for this one. Tony Kelly is only missing 2 trophies from having a full haul, All Ireland club and Munster senior hurling championship. You can be sure our talisman will be gunning for this.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2479 - 30/05/2023 15:01:00    2482934

Replying To daveboy:  "These clare Facebook accounts really need to be looked into in Again today another unfounded attack on an amateur player gaa player from limerick with serious unfounded legal accusations been thrown all over social media. It started with another limerick player a few weeks ago and continuing today. It doesn't serve clare well at all and had an effect on the limerick camp last time to galvanise them. Its really time for these platforms to be investigated by the gardai."
I read the post. This guy just called the guards in Limerick corrupt. Maybe the guards should visit this individual and sort him out once and for all.

Limerick2018 (Limerick) - Posts: 76 - 30/05/2023 15:05:06    2482936

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "There is of course pressure on Clare, but its a free crack for both of us in many ways. Yes our lack of Munster silver ware is disappointing but like you, we also have our eyes on the biggest prize. We wouldn't trade our 2013 All Ireland for a Munster that's for sure.

However, I do expect us to come out all guns blazing for this one. Tony Kelly is only missing 2 trophies from having a full haul, All Ireland club and Munster senior hurling championship. You can be sure our talisman will be gunning for this."
Clare are absolutely firm All Ireland contenders but I just think after last year they'll need to go the direct route and it will be on their minds and the pressure of an expectant clare support is there now. It's time they delivered in my opinion. I've said it before clare match up really well v Limerick but Cleary is a big loss as is Finn for Limerick. Kelly loves playing Limerick for obvious reasons but again Limerick won't divert. A fit Cian Lynch would be some addition but my sources say they are looking bigger picture with him. That was the main basis of my earlier point.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1128 - 30/05/2023 16:04:03    2482958

Replying To daveboy:  "These clare Facebook accounts really need to be looked into in Again today another unfounded attack on an amateur player gaa player from limerick with serious unfounded legal accusations been thrown all over social media. It started with another limerick player a few weeks ago and continuing today. It doesn't serve clare well at all and had an effect on the limerick camp last time to galvanise them. Its really time for these platforms to be investigated by the gardai."
Daveboy how in earth has it anything to do with the good GAA people of Clare this is presumably a one man band or woman he/she does not represent us one iota.
Only think I am interested in is good hurling and what a year we had still giving TG

You seem to be techie savvy can you not force FB to shut them down good riddance to them I have read there posts and they do have some good articles as well but have an agenda against Limerick Hurling Davy Fitz too

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 888 - 30/05/2023 16:08:30    2482960

Replying To clooney:  "Daveboy how in earth has it anything to do with the good GAA people of Clare this is presumably a one man band or woman he/she does not represent us one iota.
Only think I am interested in is good hurling and what a year we had still giving TG

You seem to be techie savvy can you not force FB to shut them down good riddance to them I have read there posts and they do have some good articles as well but have an agenda against Limerick Hurling Davy Fitz too"
What about the people they are writing about? Do you think it's OK for them to be doing what they're doing to them? The good GAA people of clare would surely agree this is just not right and all I'm doing is highlighting it. I too care deeply about hurling and in particular Limerick hurling. This is a defamatory article that is groundless and utterly imbalanced directed at a Limerick hurler. It's not the first Limerick hurler defamed. So it is relevant on a GAA forum in my opinion. The Limerick players were galvanised by the previous one and the noise it created. My point was it doesn't serve the good people of Clare GAA and as you said it seems to have particular agendas so should be called out.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1128 - 30/05/2023 16:25:02    2482965

I take it that relations between Cork and Clare are at a nadir this morning? Can you imagine the reaction in the Cork County Board to the news that nobody wants to play in their shiny and expensive new stadium because the traffic access is abysmal. They had the Munster Council all tied up and now they have lost the match, I'd say they are ripping.

I was at the league game earlier this year and it was just short of 11pm before I even bothered putting in the key to start the car to drive home after the match. There was no traffic plan - nothing to facilitate fans. On top of that, there's massive road works around the Jack Lynch tunnel at the present.

I've long argued that Munster is over served with major stadia and that the best way to preserve and modernize the Gaelic Grounds is to take it out of the control of Limerick County Board and make it a joint venue - 50% owned and controlled by both counties. Clare could still play league matches in Ennis but play championship games in the Gaelic Grounds. Run a few concerts there every year as well and the stadium could be a strong revenue generator for both.

The geography of Limerick city and the river makes Limerick the obvious place for a lot of counties on the western sea-board such as Kerry v Mayo etc

Dealer (Limerick) - Posts: 835 - 30/05/2023 16:35:00    2482970

Replying To Dealer:  "I take it that relations between Cork and Clare are at a nadir this morning? Can you imagine the reaction in the Cork County Board to the news that nobody wants to play in their shiny and expensive new stadium because the traffic access is abysmal. They had the Munster Council all tied up and now they have lost the match, I'd say they are ripping.

I was at the league game earlier this year and it was just short of 11pm before I even bothered putting in the key to start the car to drive home after the match. There was no traffic plan - nothing to facilitate fans. On top of that, there's massive road works around the Jack Lynch tunnel at the present.

I've long argued that Munster is over served with major stadia and that the best way to preserve and modernize the Gaelic Grounds is to take it out of the control of Limerick County Board and make it a joint venue - 50% owned and controlled by both counties. Clare could still play league matches in Ennis but play championship games in the Gaelic Grounds. Run a few concerts there every year as well and the stadium could be a strong revenue generator for both.

The geography of Limerick city and the river makes Limerick the obvious place for a lot of counties on the western sea-board such as Kerry v Mayo etc"
Good point Dealer. I was at the league game there too. Not one Garda on traffic duty after the match. Not one. As for the joint stadium plan it's not a bad idea. Foresight may not be the greatest strength in HQ though. It tends to be quote poitically motivated. But yes for a team to surrender home advantage rather than a state of the art neutral venue tells a lot. I was impressed the suits even offered clare an alternative. Both fans will be happy.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1128 - 30/05/2023 16:58:14    2482974

Replying To daveboy:  "What about the people they are writing about? Do you think it's OK for them to be doing what they're doing to them? The good GAA people of clare would surely agree this is just not right and all I'm doing is highlighting it. I too care deeply about hurling and in particular Limerick hurling. This is a defamatory article that is groundless and utterly imbalanced directed at a Limerick hurler. It's not the first Limerick hurler defamed. So it is relevant on a GAA forum in my opinion. The Limerick players were galvanised by the previous one and the noise it created. My point was it doesn't serve the good people of Clare GAA and as you said it seems to have particular agendas so should be called out."
Of course its not right the Gardai are the authority to deal if there is a crime my point is that this person does not represent the views of the people of Clare, can they be stopped i don't know i hope so

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 888 - 30/05/2023 17:09:31    2482976

Replying To Dealer:  "I take it that relations between Cork and Clare are at a nadir this morning? Can you imagine the reaction in the Cork County Board to the news that nobody wants to play in their shiny and expensive new stadium because the traffic access is abysmal. They had the Munster Council all tied up and now they have lost the match, I'd say they are ripping.

The geography of Limerick city and the river makes Limerick the obvious place for a lot of counties on the western sea-board such as Kerry v Mayo etc"
Id say you are right dealer Clare will pay for this another time Cork very powerful and as Davy might say we are the little fishes but it would have been a nightmare to go to Cork both fans heading home same way mostly anyway.
My don't forget that Cork has to give up home advantage last year to suit a concert

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 888 - 30/05/2023 17:14:49    2482978

If Tipp beat Offaly and Galway beat Kilkenny it wudnt suprise me if Cork held a Tipp v Kilkenny all ireland quarter final. Just saying!!

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 30/05/2023 22:18:05    2483045

Clare's stunt will definitely make for a spicy atmosphere in PuC when Clare visit for next year's championship. Admittedly, the traffic in Cork after matches isn't great. However, the Clare fans moaning about having to trek down to Cork is being laughed at considering the trip for someone in East Cork to Limerick is roughly the same as Ennis to Cork City or West Cork to Thurles being even longer and you won't hear Cork fans complaining.. Ballsy decision by Lohan, he will be a genius if Clare win but if he will look a right fool if Limerick hammer Clare. Limerick and Clare are the two best sides in Ireland and hopefully it will be as good as last year's showdown.

Frontier1000 (Cork) - Posts: 60 - 31/05/2023 13:52:52    2483159

Replying To daveboy:  "What about the people they are writing about? Do you think it's OK for them to be doing what they're doing to them? The good GAA people of clare would surely agree this is just not right and all I'm doing is highlighting it. I too care deeply about hurling and in particular Limerick hurling. This is a defamatory article that is groundless and utterly imbalanced directed at a Limerick hurler. It's not the first Limerick hurler defamed. So it is relevant on a GAA forum in my opinion. The Limerick players were galvanised by the previous one and the noise it created. My point was it doesn't serve the good people of Clare GAA and as you said it seems to have particular agendas so should be called out."
daveboy this has been going on for awhile now with these lies and half truths and some of the stuff written would be laughable if it wasn't so serious and damaging to the individuals involved. It has been going on in Clare for nearly a decade now with the constant abusive behaviour towards Davy Fitz. I'm no fan of Davy and his antics and whinging but the fact it has become acceptable in Clare to demonise him and abuse him is not right. Its grand here to say the good GAA people of Clare don't like these fabricated stories yet after the Clare Limerick league game this year a Clare journalist asked John Kiely about Limerick players behaviour and off field stories much of which game from this individual writing lies. The Clare journalist asked were the Limerick players good role models and Kiely batted away the question but this source for the question was the clown writing these lies. It seems its an accepted fact in Clare that Limerick players are thugs and trouble makers but behind it all it's jealousy and bitterness.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 817 - 31/05/2023 13:54:58    2483160

Replying To updwell:  "daveboy this has been going on for awhile now with these lies and half truths and some of the stuff written would be laughable if it wasn't so serious and damaging to the individuals involved. It has been going on in Clare for nearly a decade now with the constant abusive behaviour towards Davy Fitz. I'm no fan of Davy and his antics and whinging but the fact it has become acceptable in Clare to demonise him and abuse him is not right. Its grand here to say the good GAA people of Clare don't like these fabricated stories yet after the Clare Limerick league game this year a Clare journalist asked John Kiely about Limerick players behaviour and off field stories much of which game from this individual writing lies. The Clare journalist asked were the Limerick players good role models and Kiely batted away the question but this source for the question was the clown writing these lies. It seems its an accepted fact in Clare that Limerick players are thugs and trouble makers but behind it all it's jealousy and bitterness."
I realise its futile trying to make a point to you and a few other posters here i can assure that Clare people do not view view Limerick players as anything other than superb hurlers nobody begrudges what they have achieved.
Are so so small minded that you cannot see that what age are you, your posts are always in factual and spiteful.

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 888 - 31/05/2023 14:08:11    2483162

Replying To updwell:  "daveboy this has been going on for awhile now with these lies and half truths and some of the stuff written would be laughable if it wasn't so serious and damaging to the individuals involved. It has been going on in Clare for nearly a decade now with the constant abusive behaviour towards Davy Fitz. I'm no fan of Davy and his antics and whinging but the fact it has become acceptable in Clare to demonise him and abuse him is not right. Its grand here to say the good GAA people of Clare don't like these fabricated stories yet after the Clare Limerick league game this year a Clare journalist asked John Kiely about Limerick players behaviour and off field stories much of which game from this individual writing lies. The Clare journalist asked were the Limerick players good role models and Kiely batted away the question but this source for the question was the clown writing these lies. It seems its an accepted fact in Clare that Limerick players are thugs and trouble makers but behind it all it's jealousy and bitterness."
I'd agree with that to a large degree obviously there are plenty of decent hurling loving clare fans but i feel there has grown a venomous attitude to this Limerick team among a nice portion of the clarecl travelling support. I had a hugely unfortunate day in the open stand when I brought my young children to the last clare v Limerick match. I had it investigated thoroughly and got satisfaction for a finish the individuals involved would be dealt with. The foul language turned to abuse turned to a quite scary experience with young children in my company . I've been going to matches for nearly 40 years now and never seen anything like it. Unfortunately had to leave early as my children were distressed. It was an awful experience. We went to the cork match last Sunday so thankfully no lasting negative thoughts for the lads who are hurling mad even more now as iy was a great day out with banter laughter rivalry all youd expect from a healthy atmosphere .

I know there's decent hurling clare fans on this forum and none of this reflects badly on the huge majority of clare gaa but its been creeping in of late and I wouldnt be shocked if things boiled over one day in the stands. I've married into clare hurling tradition as a Limerick man and have had great memorable days out(2013 AI final replay) with my clare in laws in croke park.

Anyway I just hope the hurling does the talking Sunday week and yes we're all going . Open stand tickets purchased this morning for the family.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1128 - 31/05/2023 15:51:11    2483198

Replying To daveboy:  "I'd agree with that to a large degree obviously there are plenty of decent hurling loving clare fans but i feel there has grown a venomous attitude to this Limerick team among a nice portion of the clarecl travelling support. I had a hugely unfortunate day in the open stand when I brought my young children to the last clare v Limerick match. I had it investigated thoroughly and got satisfaction for a finish the individuals involved would be dealt with. The foul language turned to abuse turned to a quite scary experience with young children in my company . I've been going to matches for nearly 40 years now and never seen anything like it. Unfortunately had to leave early as my children were distressed. It was an awful experience. We went to the cork match last Sunday so thankfully no lasting negative thoughts for the lads who are hurling mad even more now as iy was a great day out with banter laughter rivalry all youd expect from a healthy atmosphere .

I know there's decent hurling clare fans on this forum and none of this reflects badly on the huge majority of clare gaa but its been creeping in of late and I wouldnt be shocked if things boiled over one day in the stands. I've married into clare hurling tradition as a Limerick man and have had great memorable days out(2013 AI final replay) with my clare in laws in croke park.

Anyway I just hope the hurling does the talking Sunday week and yes we're all going . Open stand tickets purchased this morning for the family."
My last comment on I am sorry to hear of that loutish behaviour and I hope that you did get satisfaction Clare/Limerick have rivalry if they diden't it wouldn't be worth watching but ignorance rudeness and especially language are not acceptable.

Unfortunately all Counties have a % of undesirables fans.

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 888 - 31/05/2023 16:22:23    2483215