All Ireland Club Final, Kilmacud V Glen (Derry)

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Yes Mesamis I just meant Kilmacud because of the Shane Walsh transfer. I felt alot of people had a grudge against them. Not because they are a Dublin club. For the record I'm not KC man either. I'm a member of a nirthside club. Thanks Mesamis."
CarraiMick, I think that the issue here is Croke Park and the fact that they refused, for some reason, not to act on a serious unpunished infringement. As time passes with Croke Park continuing to hide from the issue frustrations are growing. This in borne out the numbers and content of most comments in these pages, I don't think Kilmacud's popularity has anything to do with the frustrations expressed here. In the meantime the wait continues and Croke Park continue to frustrate the membership and particular the two clubs and the affected counties.

IsMise (Tyrone) - Posts: 119 - 28/01/2023 08:15:39    2454654

This is getting laughable at this stage. It is almost 13 years since the Gaa tried to shaft Meath by not having proper rules in place to deal with incidents and now they do it again to Glenn and Croke's. They haven't learned a thing. A clear rule of a fine, a replay or whatever needs to be brought before congress that covers errors by officials.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 28/01/2023 09:07:24    2454656

Replying To Saynothing:  "Oblivious to what, you said yourself the No 19 went to tell 14 to go off. One of them is to blame, either 19 for not telling or 14 for not going off. It's on their shoulders so let either one man up and take the blame."
Or the ref for restarting the game b4 players went off, or the ref for not allowing a retake of the 45 when he was asked or the ref for "apparently" copping out and mentioning none of this sorry saga in his match report. Just maybe the ref and his officials should man up and say they made a bags of it.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 673 - 28/01/2023 09:20:35    2454661

Replying To anotheralias:  "I will explain it to you by giving you another example via a hypothetical situation.
A high ball is kicked in goalwards . It ends up going high and wide but as the ball is passing over the full back and full forward in the square the FB drags the FF clearly to the ground. Now it is extremely extremely unlikely that the FF would have jumped 12 feet in the air and got to the ball.
You are the ref...do you
a) award a kick out on the basis that the foul made no difference and "move on to feck"
OR
b) award a penalty.

Your logic suggests a)
Mine suggests b)
Who is correct ? Let others judge that."
b never happens in hurling in real games even if the FF might have got the ball.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11698 - 28/01/2023 09:23:13    2454664

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "The competition ended last Sunday. It really doesn't matter what happens now, it will not devalue Crokes winning on the day. If they had won because the officials missed a score or a wide, or if the subs had directly impacted on the result then yes. but that's not what happened. It made NO difference. If Mullins had not been on the line then someone else would have been. and none of them touched the ball anyway or there'd have been another 45!

It is light years away even from things that we see all the time, like obvious reffing errors that turn even big games. You could fill an encyclopedia with them. Do the beneficiaries offer replays? They do in their backside. Do the losers whinge about them for ever and a day? They do not, and if they do then they need to give their head a wobble.

In real life, what matters is what happens on the day. Dogs bark, the caravan passes on."
I understand what you are saying but at the same time you can't have 16 men on the field, if this is let go then what happens the next time? It's a mess and it's made worse by dragging it out.
I think the refs should not restart play till the substitutions are completed, just stop the watch and add on whatever extra time is needed.
I think the way the women's game is timed is far better, stops the oul craic too of refs blowing up a tight game when it's level, but maybe that would lose the suits some big paydays for replays.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2736 - 28/01/2023 10:22:42    2454670

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I understand what you are saying but at the same time you can't have 16 men on the field, if this is let go then what happens the next time? It's a mess and it's made worse by dragging it out.
I think the refs should not restart play till the substitutions are completed, just stop the watch and add on whatever extra time is needed.
I think the way the women's game is timed is far better, stops the oul craic too of refs blowing up a tight game when it's level, but maybe that would lose the suits some big paydays for replays."
I said before, do the subs the right road, one off first and then one on and add 1 minute per sub for the time wasted, fourth official doesn't have that much to do so maybe they could get this right. I'm sure Glen don't want the match handed to them but a bit of fairness wouldn't go a miss. Croke's management should think back.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2003 - 28/01/2023 10:58:47    2454676

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I understand what you are saying but at the same time you can't have 16 men on the field, if this is let go then what happens the next time? It's a mess and it's made worse by dragging it out.
I think the way the women's game is timed is far better, stops the oul craic too of refs blowing up a tight game when it's level, but maybe that would lose the suits some big paydays for replays."
Ya the suits wudnt fancy that ,it's n the women's game cause it doesn't cost money wise ,if u got a full croke Park for a ladies all ireland final or semi ,they d do away with it

Timmy86 (Sligo) - Posts: 269 - 28/01/2023 10:59:14    2454677

Replying To Saynothing:  "Oblivious to what, you said yourself the No 19 went to tell 14 to go off. One of them is to blame, either 19 for not telling or 14 for not going off. It's on their shoulders so let either one man up and take the blame."
19 was still about 30 yards away from 14 when the ref restarted the game. We are living on different planets if you think it's normal for players to administrate substitutions in these situations. The ref should have waited for the substition to be complete before restarting play. He didnt and here we are..

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 28/01/2023 11:21:36    2454682

It will be declared a Refereeing error.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1381 - 28/01/2023 11:58:02    2454689

Replying To Tacaí Liatroma:  "All over Twitter? Got any links? Or have all those tweets been deleted too?"
Well Ulsterman and Yourjoking, I owe you both an apology. Here's them links I asked for:

https://twitter.com/brehonisbest/status/1618162160001060864?t=Z2fcCsWThspYXcggeNklWA&s=19
and
https://twitter.com/AndrewS27178144/status/1618160927802818561?t=jrnUmpYZMRYlXqZryABJPw&s=19

Search: https://twitter.com/search?q=%22Northern%20Ireland%20Club%22&t=gZk7ScwcJM54eKdG961VNQ&s=09

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1028 - 28/01/2023 12:21:18    2454698

Replying To Ban:  "19 was still about 30 yards away from 14 when the ref restarted the game. We are living on different planets if you think it's normal for players to administrate substitutions in these situations. The ref should have waited for the substition to be complete before restarting play. He didnt and here we are.."
It was you said 19 was making his way to 14 to tell him. I there is no board to tell subs who do you think does it? The sub coming on usually says " Bye Bye"

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2003 - 28/01/2023 12:45:54    2454706

Replying To IsMise:  "CarraiMick, I think that the issue here is Croke Park and the fact that they refused, for some reason, not to act on a serious unpunished infringement. As time passes with Croke Park continuing to hide from the issue frustrations are growing. This in borne out the numbers and content of most comments in these pages, I don't think Kilmacud's popularity has anything to do with the frustrations expressed here. In the meantime the wait continues and Croke Park continue to frustrate the membership and particular the two clubs and the affected counties."
Is Mise. I know what you ré saying and yes of course the gaa have erred big time but my opinion is that support might not have been as big for Glen if it had been any other club. Yes there would be questions but it might have died by now. There was alot of bad feeling earlier in the year over the Shane Walsh transfer. I could be totally wrong. Just my view that's all.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3669 - 28/01/2023 12:52:27    2454709

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "It will be declared a Refereeing error."
It is a refereeing error.

SimonstownBack (Meath) - Posts: 143 - 28/01/2023 12:56:13    2454710

I know that. The rule was broken and Glen are within their rights and of course you either have rules or you don't.

My point really is that a replay just seems disproportionate! I know that sounds mad but that's the way i see it. Beyond that, I really don't know what sanction they will apply. As said before, i doubt Crokes will turn up, and doubt Glen are enthusiastic about a replay either.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2513 - 28/01/2023 12:59:53    2454712

So Kilmacud Crokes have counter-objected. Does this mean that they are merely opposing Glen's objection, or are they making an entirely different objection against Glen?

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1028 - 28/01/2023 13:52:17    2454722

Replying To SimonstownBack:  "It is a refereeing error."
So ever time a sub comes on the ref has to do a head count. It was a crokes error and they should pay the price.

Newyorkkat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 126 - 28/01/2023 14:12:35    2454727

Now Philly McMahon multiple All Ireland winner is jumping on the blame Glen brigade.

Joke Glen are literally the only ones not at fault. I believe it was genuine errors by Crokes and the officials but going after Glen is a disgrace.

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 28/01/2023 14:22:19    2454730

Replying To Newyorkkat:  "So ever time a sub comes on the ref has to do a head count. It was a crokes error and they should pay the price."
No but he needs to allow the team time to make the substitution. The GAA rules say approx 20 seconds, it was about 7 seconds before the 45 was quickly taken. No chance to for other player to come off. 4th official told the sub to go on, ref then has to allow time for player to go off. He didnt and let the 45 be taken quickly. He should have stopped it and even after order it be retaken. But he didnt. The match is over. Crokes won. Its a bit embarrassing the anti Crokes/Shane Walsh stuff now.

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 28/01/2023 14:34:39    2454736

Replying To Newyorkkat:  "So ever time a sub comes on the ref has to do a head count. It was a crokes error and they should pay the price."
Yes if need. Its part of his job. But thats why the 4th official is there too. The 45 should have been retaken. There is precedence for this. Mayo had 16 players on the pitch v Dublin at a critical point of that match. They missed the 45. Ref ordered a retake due to the extra man so Mayo were actually rewarded for having an extra man. Not sure what would have happened if they scored it the 1st time so we will never know. So imo yes its a referee error just like so many other referee errors. I believe the uproar is due in part to people not wanting to see superclubs do well, especially after the Shane Walsh transfer & also because its a Dublin club. I don't believe for 1 minute if Glen had won, this would be an issue. Again, my opinion.

SimonstownBack (Meath) - Posts: 143 - 28/01/2023 14:51:32    2454740

Replying To galwayfball:  "Now Philly McMahon multiple All Ireland winner is jumping on the blame Glen brigade.

Joke Glen are literally the only ones not at fault. I believe it was genuine errors by Crokes and the officials but going after Glen is a disgrace."
It definitely is a joke anyone blaming Glen. The lads had 16 men on the pitch in a 15 a side game. Firstly that's management's fault. Secondly the officials for not stopping the game and ordering the extra man off. And then thirdly the GAAs fault that we are still discussing it nearly a week on.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11698 - 28/01/2023 15:17:40    2454749