All Ireland Club Final, Kilmacud V Glen (Derry)

People are looking at this incident the wrong way. They say that the 16th man didn't make a difference. The point is that the 45 should have been retaken and so they may have scored a goal from that.
Also the point people make about how Glen wouldn't have been complaining if they scored a goal against 16 men. That is a different scenario, in that scenario the 16th man obviously didn't impact the result given that Glen scored a goal. In this scenario we don't know if the 16th man impacted the result.

PattyONeill (Derry) - Posts: 220 - 25/01/2023 15:58:36    2454233

Replying To galwayfball:  ""The All Ireland Club final looks set to be replayed between Kilmacud Crokes and Glen looks set to be replayed with the Northern Ireland Club ready to object to last Sundays encounter"

So the independent did run this headline and have rightfully removed it. Had they said Ulster Club fine thats how we're split in the GAA. Teams arent referred to by being republic or northern Ireland. I personally can see how it's the wrong headline but view it as someone seriously lacking cop on BUT I'm from Galway so who am I to say that people shouldn't be too offended by it. Not my place"
They could probably have got away with saying a team from the north of Ireland, don't know why anyone reads that free state rag anyway.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2737 - 25/01/2023 16:00:25    2454234

Replying To galwayfball:  ""The All Ireland Club final looks set to be replayed between Kilmacud Crokes and Glen looks set to be replayed with the Northern Ireland Club ready to object to last Sundays encounter"

So the independent did run this headline and have rightfully removed it. Had they said Ulster Club fine thats how we're split in the GAA. Teams arent referred to by being republic or northern Ireland. I personally can see how it's the wrong headline but view it as someone seriously lacking cop on BUT I'm from Galway so who am I to say that people shouldn't be too offended by it. Not my place"
Shouldn't have used " when I can't copy it exactly but it's been a long day but the independent did refer to Glen as a northern Irish Club in a headline so my apologies to the poster that I said was lying . I honestly didn't believe someone would write it . Let alone an editor then approve it

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 25/01/2023 16:03:52    2454235

Someone at the Indo obviously copped it was offensive and removed it by the look of things.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11714 - 25/01/2023 16:04:34    2454236

Replying To galwayfball:  "Shouldn't have used " when I can't copy it exactly but it's been a long day but the independent did refer to Glen as a northern Irish Club in a headline so my apologies to the poster that I said was lying . I honestly didn't believe someone would write it . Let alone an editor then approve it"
You're dealing with Independent News and Media here. They're capable of anything.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 25/01/2023 16:09:00    2454240

Replying To Proudroyal:  "Do you not think if the game is replayed then the winner will have fully deserved it.Its a new game.Of course it would be hard on Crokes if they lost the replay but it was their mistake that led to them having 17 men on the pitch(1 not disrupting play)but the other one certainly was.I dont think any Glen player will care about it if they win the replay.The rules were broken,three ways give the cup to Glen(which is extremely harsh on Crokes)Number 2 is fine the Crokes which I think would mean more teams will do it in the future and say let's just pay the fine.3 is have a replay and for me that is the fairest option.Also on your point about it been tarnished could you not say the same now about the Crokes they have won but alit of people think unfairly.If that's the case fo our ans win the replay and no one can take that away from you.Just my thoughts on it and everyone is entitled to their own."
There was 16 players on the field instead of 15 towards the last play. All agreed there.
The question is, who was responsible for that.
Was it Crokes or the officials or a.mix of both...
I don't necessarily believe that Crokes intentionally had 16 on the pitch and were possibly not even aware that their player had not left the field.
In those last frantic minutes the referee and linesman and 4th official did not ensure that the player being replaced actually left the field. That for me is the kernel of the matter.
Play was allowed to continue, ie the 45 was taken, and the referee should have insisted that the Crokes player was gone from the pitch.
I don't believe that Crokes management were fully aware of this.
A hell of a lot of begrudgery on social.media in the immediate aftermath of the game and if it was any other club bar Crokes the incredible crescendo demanding a replay would have been miniscule.
The fact that Crokes have Walsh playing with them has added hugely to the begrudgery.

I think i

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1819 - 25/01/2023 16:15:18    2454242

Glen tried to take a quick 45. The refs arm was still up as the substitutions were still in progress. The rule breaking was by the Glens player taking the 45 too quickly. Talk of a replay is madness.

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 25/01/2023 16:22:21    2454243

This isn't a mud slinging North, South, East or West show, it's about rules and sportsmanship. As for subs on and off, could the fourth official take a minute out of his busy schedule and use the board he has for time added on and put up numbers of who is coming off.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2005 - 25/01/2023 16:30:44    2454244

Replying To carlowman:  "There was 16 players on the field instead of 15 towards the last play. All agreed there.
The question is, who was responsible for that.
Was it Crokes or the officials or a.mix of both...
I don't necessarily believe that Crokes intentionally had 16 on the pitch and were possibly not even aware that their player had not left the field.
In those last frantic minutes the referee and linesman and 4th official did not ensure that the player being replaced actually left the field. That for me is the kernel of the matter.
Play was allowed to continue, ie the 45 was taken, and the referee should have insisted that the Crokes player was gone from the pitch.
I don't believe that Crokes management were fully aware of this.
A hell of a lot of begrudgery on social.media in the immediate aftermath of the game and if it was any other club bar Crokes the incredible crescendo demanding a replay would have been miniscule.
The fact that Crokes have Walsh playing with them has added hugely to the begrudgery.

I think i"
I dont begrudge Crokes at all,in fact fair play to them for getting back to the final after last years heartache.The fact is they had extra men on the pitch, now we dont know if Crokes management did know they had an extra man on the pitch or not as you say caught up in the moment only they know the truth.If we let it go does that mean teams wont try it again in the future and play dumb if ref doesn't spot it.If it's a replay then whoever wins will deserve it.I dont think Crokes players if they are truly honest with themselves will want to leave it this way with questions over the result but I may be wrong just my opinion.If it was me I'd want no questions over it.Let them go out and win the replay and put it to bed.

Proudroyal (Meath) - Posts: 253 - 25/01/2023 16:46:32    2454249

Replying To Canuck:  "If it is through I hope the posters on here are big enough to apologize to "Ulsteman" for the mud slung at him."
Thank you Canuck I wouldn't make stuff like that up. I think Croke Park letting this run has stoked up some bad blood. It should never have been about geography, North/South. It should not be about Kilmacud or Glen as individual clubs. It should be the rules and the right thing to do. I don't care where the 2 teams are from. It's like Mary Kate Danaher in the Quiet Man. Her brother wouldn't give her the 300 quid dowry but when he finally did she threw it into the fire. It was never about the money. Likewise if Glen got a replay they should tog out, wait until the ball is thrown in, turn around congratulate the Kilmacud players and walk off, point proven.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9696 - 25/01/2023 17:04:45    2454255

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Spot on Jimbo, my point exactly, I'm sick to death of Rte and other journalists slabering over Mayo, Dublin winning multiple All Irelands seemed less of a story than poor oul Mayo failing again.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=48KbVIFEFnU

Keegan is now going to be an Rte pundit, he's a great role model for sportsmanship alright, ah but sure the creater never won an All Ireland so we'll bring him on the Late late and make him an Rte pundit, it would have been interesting if Tubridy had asked him about throwing his gps at Dean Rock,
if Rock had missed that kick it would have had the spotlight shone on it but as it happened Rock had the skill and class to ignore Keegan and land that brilliant winner."
It was an act of pure desperation from Keegan.

No doubting a terrible example of sportsmanship. As a Dub you have to get use to the purposely selective condemnation aimed in the direction of the capital.. there's a prejudiced natural bias but feck sake.. the lack of justified noise surrounding that incident confirmed so much for me about the wider GAA community and the purposely selective amnesia when it suits.

You'd have to wonder what was going through his head wouldn't you.. yes more than like likely just pure desperation with realising that a lot of emotional hurt was probably coming his way once again.

He was an excellent baller but he was also a bit of a boyo.

He tried his guts out in every possible way for Mayo.. good and very much dodgy. I think Horan had it driven into them to do whatever it takes to win.. he changed the Mayo nice guy mindset quite a lot during his time.

Mayo were incredible rivals though.. incredibly competitive games and AI finals that will go down in GAA lore, well definitely even more if Mayo would have won, because Dublin did I wouldn't be surprised if that selective amnesia played it's part, it's just the way of things but thankfully there's the likes of yourself.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20598 - 25/01/2023 17:30:11    2454261

Replying To Canuck:  "If it is through I hope the posters on here are big enough to apologize to "Ulsteman" for the mud slung at him."
I am happy to apologise, Although i don't think i was slinging mud!

There was no sign of that headline in any of the online newspapers when I looked at them.

Unfortunate turn of phrase to be sure! An historically and culturally illiterate sub editor.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2517 - 25/01/2023 17:46:42    2454266

Replying To jimbodub:  "It was an act of pure desperation from Keegan.

No doubting a terrible example of sportsmanship. As a Dub you have to get use to the purposely selective condemnation aimed in the direction of the capital.. there's a prejudiced natural bias but feck sake.. the lack of justified noise surrounding that incident confirmed so much for me about the wider GAA community and the purposely selective amnesia when it suits.

You'd have to wonder what was going through his head wouldn't you.. yes more than like likely just pure desperation with realising that a lot of emotional hurt was probably coming his way once again.

He was an excellent baller but he was also a bit of a boyo.

He tried his guts out in every possible way for Mayo.. good and very much dodgy. I think Horan had it driven into them to do whatever it takes to win.. he changed the Mayo nice guy mindset quite a lot during his time.

Mayo were incredible rivals though.. incredibly competitive games and AI finals that will go down in GAA lore, well definitely even more if Mayo would have won, because Dublin did I wouldn't be surprised if that selective amnesia played it's part, it's just the way of things but thankfully there's the likes of yourself."
Just hear this Bob. We, in Limerick, have found out too that when you are in top, whether you are The CAPITAL or not, you will get 'selective condemnation. It is, however, indeed a small price to pay for having the opportunity to look from our lofty Mansions of Superiority on the lesser beings. Sadly, we have just to suck it up. It is just a case of been put in a difficult position, but sure somebody has to do it.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 25/01/2023 18:00:39    2454270

In the still i saw where you can clearly see the extra player crokes had on the pitch there are 2 Glen's players in the small rectangle when the free is taken. If somehow they'd have scored a goal am i right in thinking it would be disallowed as the play was from a 45?

SimonstownBack (Meath) - Posts: 143 - 25/01/2023 18:02:01    2454271

Replying To TheFlaker:  "The time you waste posting about Mayo is hilarious. Even on this post repeating the same stuff over and over. Varley was gone from Mayo by 2017. You don't even have basic knowledge of the events you are talking about. Might be time for a new hobby lad."
Was it not Donal Vaughan, who was sent off in '17?. even I know this and I have little or no interest in Football.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 25/01/2023 18:08:51    2454273

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Thank you Canuck I wouldn't make stuff like that up. I think Croke Park letting this run has stoked up some bad blood. It should never have been about geography, North/South. It should not be about Kilmacud or Glen as individual clubs. It should be the rules and the right thing to do. I don't care where the 2 teams are from. It's like Mary Kate Danaher in the Quiet Man. Her brother wouldn't give her the 300 quid dowry but when he finally did she threw it into the fire. It was never about the money. Likewise if Glen got a replay they should tog out, wait until the ball is thrown in, turn around congratulate the Kilmacud players and walk off, point proven."
Well Ulsterman, what's the point in lodging a complaint if Glen arent going to play the replay?You go through all the rig and roll of meetings ETC and then tog out and walk off after the throw in.If you are not going to play it then just come out and say well done Crokes and enjoy the cup and save all this.Im not having a pop at you just think to do that would be a bit silly.

Proudroyal (Meath) - Posts: 253 - 25/01/2023 18:15:58    2454274

Replying To Ulsterman:  "So here was the headline in a Dublin based national daily paper early this morning "NORTHERN IRELAND team to lodge objection to Croke Park". That tells you everything you need to know. The bitterness and downright hatred shown towards Ulster teams from many within the GAA and in the Southern media is venomous. If a replay comes about Glen should tog out and once the ball is thrown in then walk off the pitch. They will have made their point."
In your defence that headline WAS indeed posted by Independent Sports . I can't post the link on here to support you or enlighten those who doubt you including at least two who unfortunately accused you of lying. The words Northern Ireland have now been replaced by Derry. If you google Joe Brolly's twitter account you will see that he retweeted it about 10 posts back (accompanied by a pic from Tg4 with the Croke players circled and numbered, just below a pic of Sean Kelly) If you click onto the replies you will find that a few have a screen shot of the original headline .. hope this helps, I'm not on twitter.
The Glen appeal has at least forced the GAA into making a ruling on this. Have thought that they might indeed accept the result of Sunday's match even if a replay is granted but not in the way you suggest, walking off the pitch after fans travelling would be very poor form.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 503 - 25/01/2023 18:20:23    2454277

Why would any team make 2 substitutions when they were facing a last minute 45 if not to instruct a player to remain on the field…. It certainly wasn't for time wasting as it had to be the last play… Killmscud knew exactly what they were at and took a chance on poor officiating and almost got away with it…

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1891 - 25/01/2023 18:26:42    2454279

No winners here. I feel sorry for both teams. Fact is the officials screwed up. Typically Glen had to appeal and now Crokes have to reply…GAA standing back pitting two clubs against each other.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 25/01/2023 18:30:39    2454280

Replying To galwayfball:  "Shouldn't have used " when I can't copy it exactly but it's been a long day but the independent did refer to Glen as a northern Irish Club in a headline so my apologies to the poster that I said was lying . I honestly didn't believe someone would write it . Let alone an editor then approve it"
Fair play to you

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11714 - 25/01/2023 19:03:09    2454287