Laochra Gael

Replying To Breffni40:  "Sorry all, one_off has the hump with me over something from last week on the non-gaa forum. Wasn't expecting them to bring it up here too."
It's a simple question. Just asking if you meant something else from your original post. Why did you change your mind so fast?

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 20/02/2023 17:39:40    2459488

Replying To Greengrass:  "Dermot Earley Snr or Dermot Earley Jnr never won an All Ireland medal. They were both very good footballers."
Greengrass they should do one on the great Paddy Keenan.

Ollie2 (Louth) - Posts: 781 - 21/02/2023 12:11:48    2459566

A few who I think could be interesting.

Former Kerry hurling Christy Walsh. After moving to Kilkenny at one point they looked into him joining them. Won his first county championship when he was 40 and went on to win another three. Has won club All-Ireland in hurling and managed Kilkenny to a Junior football All-Ireland.

Former Kerry ladies footballer Geraldine O Se. Won a senior All-Ireland before she won a minor one. Also played soccer with Ireland.

Paul Barden from Longford. Played across three decades when Longford were at a high level.

Dave Barry from Cork. Won football All-Irelands and scored in European football.

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 21/02/2023 14:30:57    2459601

I'm not a hurling man, we just didn't grow up with it unfortunately but I really enjoyed the episode on Liam Sheedy, some story.
Shows the difference having a brilliant manager can make to a group. Great that his mother got to see him bring the Liam McCarthy home.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 03/03/2023 14:14:03    2461597

great programme about anthony molloy on laochra gael well worth ewatching

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1799 - 10/03/2023 11:20:07    2463138

Replying To oneoff:  "A few who I think could be interesting.

Former Kerry hurling Christy Walsh. After moving to Kilkenny at one point they looked into him joining them. Won his first county championship when he was 40 and went on to win another three. Has won club All-Ireland in hurling and managed Kilkenny to a Junior football All-Ireland.

Former Kerry ladies footballer Geraldine O Se. Won a senior All-Ireland before she won a minor one. Also played soccer with Ireland.

Paul Barden from Longford. Played across three decades when Longford were at a high level.

Dave Barry from Cork. Won football All-Irelands and scored in European football."
Longford at a high level! What that when Lough Ree was in full flood?

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1903 - 10/03/2023 15:09:44    2463227

Replying To Greengrass:  "Dermot Earley Snr or Dermot Earley Jnr never won an All Ireland medal. They were both very good footballers."
They both lost All Ireland Finals. The great late Dermot Snr with Roscommon 1980 and Dermot Jnr with Kildare 1998.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2154 - 11/03/2023 11:23:21    2463324

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Longford at a high level! What that when Lough Ree was in full flood?"
The 1960's. Longford won the league in 1966. Leinster Champions 1968.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1735 - 11/03/2023 12:54:25    2463342

Replying To thelongridge:  "The 1960's. Longford won the league in 1966. Leinster Champions 1968."
Was Paul Barden playing in the 60's. I know he was plating in the 90's & 00's. Didn't think he was playing in the 60's.

Jack L (None) - Posts: 3099 - 11/03/2023 14:07:50    2463355

Replying To endgame:  "They both lost All Ireland Finals. The great late Dermot Snr with Roscommon 1980 and Dermot Jnr with Kildare 1998."
Both brilliant footballers and true gentlemen too.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 11/03/2023 14:28:13    2463358

Replying To Jack L:  "Was Paul Barden playing in the 60's. I know he was plating in the 90's & 00's. Didn't think he was playing in the 60's."
He was born in 1980. Longford were at a high level in the 60s.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 11/03/2023 14:41:09    2463364

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Longford at a high level! What that when Lough Ree was in full flood?"
They were in Div 1. Beat the likes of Mayo, Derry, Monaghan in the championship. Barden himself played with the International rules a few times during his career as well.

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 11/03/2023 15:07:51    2463370

They beat Dublin in the league at least once in 80s and ran them close in championship in Pearse in noughties. Guessing around 2005/6.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2521 - 11/03/2023 17:38:08    2463413

Replying To clare_sparrow:  "Pity there is only Joe and Liam Sheedy that will be of any interest. I have no interest in the other 6 episodes. and Id say im not alone in that."
Pity you feel like that. Some of the other programmes were great. Really enjoyed them. You ré missing out. Aidan Ó Mahony s Tom Parson and Anthony Molliys in particular were great viewing.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 11/03/2023 18:47:59    2463417

Replying To clare_sparrow:  "I didnt watch it, but I have seen reports that it was a good program again this week. But what how in gods name are they making one of these programs about a lad who won SFA. Like for example the rock, gerry macinerny, colin lynch, the o'connor twins, lads who have all won multiple all irealnds, all stars the lot... The Joe canning program a few weeks ago crescendoed with him winning in 2017, it all led up to it... What was Parsons one leading up to?? I might sound harsh but its not about an under 12 tournament where everyone gets a game.... its about winning All Irelands."
I d say you ré great craic in a pub.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 11/03/2023 18:49:15    2463418

Replying To carlovia:  "The Shane Curran episode was brilliant. Never knew about the Connacht minor final incident where he ran in and scored the penalty while another Roscommon player had put down the ball.

Most amazing thing I've ever seen on a Gaa pitch.
It's up on YouTube for anyone who hasn't seen it."
Agree. A fantastic watch.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 11/03/2023 18:52:39    2463419

The logic that someone has to have a load of all irelands to merit a programme or to be considered an interesting character is deeply flawed and a very narrow viewpoint.
Is it only stars who have a story to tell?

gahfan (Wexford) - Posts: 636 - 11/03/2023 20:16:19    2463433

Is there any end to your arrogance? You're consistent, if nothing else.

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 859 - 11/03/2023 20:54:08    2463437

Replying To gahfan:  "The logic that someone has to have a load of all irelands to merit a programme or to be considered an interesting character is deeply flawed and a very narrow viewpoint.
Is it only stars who have a story to tell?"
Agree with you about the medals and medals don't make a star. If a player is lucky enough to play on a brilliant team they have a greater chance of winning all ireland medals but there are many players that never won All ireland medals that were absolutely great gaa stars and much better than many that won medals. I have bt seen to many centre backs better than Glen Ryan or better defenders than Lee Keegan or Barry Owens. Many midfielders won medals but were nt as good as the two Dermot Earley s or Ciarán Whelan John Galvin (Limerick). Other forward stars with no all Ireland medals that were just super were Colin Corkery (Cork) Martin Daly (Clare) Declan Browne (Tipp) Tony McManus (Ross) Johnny Doyle (Kildare) Valy Daly (Galway) Conor McManus (Mon) Niall McNamee(Offaly) Kevin Ó Brien (Wicklow) Paul Barden (Longford) John Ó Loughlin (Laois) Marty Forde(Wexford) Mickey Kearns (Sligo) Ciarán McDonald (Mayo) Frank McGiugan (Tyrone) Paddy Moriarty (Armagh) Stephen King (Cavan) Kevin Reiily (Meath) Dessie Dolan (, Westmeath) Stefan White (Louth) Enda Muldoon (Derry) Brendan Devanney (Donegal) and many nany more.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 11/03/2023 21:05:36    2463439

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Agree. A fantastic watch."
Yes the minor final match was replayed and Roscommon won the replay by a point.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2154 - 11/03/2023 21:10:14    2463443