i would be a supporter of mckennas but they had to take him off after the needless and headless yellow he got early on as he is the type of player who could easily get a second but he should get a chance in the championship and be allowed play his own direct game not the shite we played in the first half. breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 485 - 02/04/2023 13:05:22 2468240 Link 1 |
Nice to get some silverware. The performance was poor against a poor Fermanagh team. Breffni1969 (Cavan) - Posts: 510 - 02/04/2023 13:37:54 2468246 Link 0 |
Why are you trying to make excuses why we won ? If galligan had on off day? If it had to be a different ref if they had to get a penalty?? What if Raymond had to save their goal! What if their goal keeper had on off day and didn't pull off great saves ! What if Cian McManus hadn't got a hand to the ball for holla through on goals we would have won by 18 points! What if?
blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 885 - 02/04/2023 14:18:13 2468254 Link 0 |
Well done to the players and management, the 2nd half was a much better performance. Jason mcglaughlin made a big difference when he came on. Faulkner,Ciaran Brady and Galligan are good leaders on the team. Young mckenna was unfortunate and I felt sorry for him I'd say some of the posters slating him and saying he should be embarassed never kicked a ball in anger, classic hurlers on ditch. facer4home (Cavan) - Posts: 163 - 02/04/2023 14:23:07 2468255 Link 1 |
I would seriously question your knowledge of Gaa football if you do not see what killian Clarke brings to the team.
Desman (Monaghan) - Posts: 36 - 02/04/2023 14:24:21 2468256 Link 2 |
Tell me?
Breffni1969 (Cavan) - Posts: 510 - 02/04/2023 14:30:14 2468257 Link 0 |
you miss my point it was a very average performacne overall apart from last five minutes against a very average team and we needed a good slice of luck via the ref to get over the line
breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 485 - 02/04/2023 14:52:07 2468258 Link 0 |
Yes I can't see the slice of luck via the ref, yes probably Cian McManus was fouled and was done for over carrying but on numerous occasions we were fouled and turned over and no free, so yes I miss your point.
blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 885 - 02/04/2023 15:17:01 2468263 Link 0 |
I watched the match and the more experienced team won and on balance were the better team with the Fermanagh keeper making some great saves when goals should have been taken (keeper was man of match). The Ref was not great for either side and a very obvious penalty was not given near the end when a Fermanagh forward (think it was Quigly) was pulled to the ground by the neck inside the small square. On another note I think it shows total lack of regard for the Div 3 counties playing a match in CP after 7pm on Saturday when mid-day/daylight would be more suitable. Best of luck to both teams in the Ulster championship which is always the most competitive of the provinces. Cavan do have a long strong championship tradition in Ulster leading the way by a journey.
browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 02/04/2023 15:42:51 2468273 Link 0 |
ponger (Cavan) - Posts: 555 - 02/04/2023 15:53:39 2468279 Link 1 |
Yes me too
tom84 (Cavan) - Posts: 334 - 02/04/2023 20:08:28 2468388 Link 0 |
So managed to get a rewatch in yesterday . Odd game overall. That first half was brutal, but seeing otherwise strong free takers miss handy frees, the conditions pitch side had to have been terrible. Saying all that, doesn't fully explain the poor play. It was always going to be a tough half after last week and both setting up to hold on tight. What I am happy about is how we responded, how we learned, and how we then turned the screw. Croke Park football is different, and we just had that little bit more. Made changes, and practically every sub made a difference. McKenna was unlucky. Graham said after it was the yellow, and he learned himself from the Tailteann final last year to know when to make changes. Conor Brady is some sub to be able to bring on. I don't need to say much on Jayo McLoughlin. He's unreal. My favourite. Constantly turning the ball over, getting a hand in, coming out with a loose ball. He's so good. Faulkner kept Kelm quiet all game, while Holla had one of his best games since his injury. McKiernan didn't have a great game. Seemed to be off it, so maybe being subbed will get him to reset and come back rightly in 3 weeks. Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2466 - 03/04/2023 09:22:29 2468451 Link 1 |
A win is a win, and winning a final in Croke Park is a massive bonus. cavanblueman (Cavan) - Posts: 636 - 03/04/2023 09:25:02 2468453 Link 0 |
Great performance in the 2nd half by Cavan. Too slow and defensive in 1st half. Fought hard, made many turn overs and took some lovely scores. I really thought Jack McCarron was hard done by, and hope he stays involved. Going on the Sunday Game, Canavan pointed out many of linesmen and Refs odd bad calls. Paul Flynn seems to think Cavan got best of Ref's bad decisions. Not sure where he saw that. Think he was watching Cluxton hype too much. Breffini1967 (Cavan) - Posts: 18 - 03/04/2023 09:55:34 2468462 Link 0 |
Young McKenna was not unfortunate… he got himself a clumsy yellow card and Graham was right to call him ashore as he would be liable to pick up a second… he might call himself unlucky to be subbed the weekend before alright but his petulant reaction on the sideline was not good to see… You have to accept the call especially when he got himself unnecessary booked…..!!!
ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 3863 - 03/04/2023 10:19:47 2468467 Link 0 |
Jack McCarron would indeed be hard done by, seeing as he plays with our dear neighbours ;) Re the balls, I used to think the same until I had it explained. However, I believe they have been told not to go for balls or bring them back. That's not their job, as they're meant to watch ahead of them, and if they missed an incident as they're off collecting balls with no eyes ahead, that'd be bad. GAA should provide ball boys whose sole job is to gets balls off the field and get new ones on as needed We play next on Saturday the 22nd Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2466 - 03/04/2023 11:51:43 2468484 Link 0 |
Ah I disagree there. Yes the decision to take him off was correct, as Graham said he learned from Westmeath last year to take off a player in a position where he'd be liable for another yellow. I think his reaction is fine. Expected even. Your heart is pumping, you're full of adrenaline, of course he'd be raging. I love to see that. Graham will get him to turn that inward and bust himself next few weeks so he can right that in the quarters. I love seeing lads annoyed that they can't give all for the team. More of that please, some others could do with this fire in the belly
Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2466 - 03/04/2023 11:55:06 2468485 Link 1 |
we could have a great ulster championship the leading teams Tyrone and Derry are not that much ahead of the rest of the pack would be great if Monaghan could sent Tyrone packing as they are our bogey team but Monaghan also have a problem getting over them. Not much between Donegal Monaghan Armagh and Cavan and on their day any one of the four could come out on top. We have not reproduced the football that should have beaten Donegal in last years championship ie the long ball into the full forward line at every opportunity and its a pity as it was great football to watch compared to the fare against fermanagh look how often Dublin kicked the ball yesterday at least twice as much as Derry and look how many goal chances this quicker transition to the forward line created against what everyone thought was a great defence.
breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 485 - 03/04/2023 12:42:10 2468504 Link 0 |
" we've only managed two points from play in total in the two matches," Are you actually serious ? I think I remember : Gmac right foot, Conor Madden, Dara McVitty, Ryan o' Neill, Conor Smith, Paddy Lynch, James Smith, Oisín Brady (1 maybe 2) s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5520 - 03/04/2023 13:28:52 2468524 Link 2 |
please enlighten me
bond (Longford) - Posts: 174 - 03/04/2023 14:06:50 2468550 Link 1 |