Cavan Seniors 23

Replying To Breffni1969:  "If the outright winners of Div3 &4 played off for an All Ireland series spot then Mickey might have more interest in trying to win a league title.
There has to be some incentive as well as promotion otherwise these are meaningless league finals so close to the championship."
Sounds like an extra game that might not be needed. I think just the Division 3 winner should be rewarded (and not just because we're in it this weekend), as they'll be in Division 2 the next year, and have had a better season that your 6th place finisher in Div2.

It's mad though that everyone is coming back around to the Option B of a few years ago. It was thrown out, but included for Division 3 and 4 winners in it. Think the format is close to be sorted, but does need a few tweaks. As pointed out here, the teams in mid Division 2 are now sitting and waiting to see what Division 3/4 teams are doing. Nobody fully knows until the semis are played and the finalists known which is odd overall.

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2466 - 28/03/2023 15:30:10    2467366

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "Sounds like an extra game that might not be needed. I think just the Division 3 winner should be rewarded (and not just because we're in it this weekend), as they'll be in Division 2 the next year, and have had a better season that your 6th place finisher in Div2.

It's mad though that everyone is coming back around to the Option B of a few years ago. It was thrown out, but included for Division 3 and 4 winners in it. Think the format is close to be sorted, but does need a few tweaks. As pointed out here, the teams in mid Division 2 are now sitting and waiting to see what Division 3/4 teams are doing. Nobody fully knows until the semis are played and the finalists known which is odd overall."
There no incentive for the Div 3 and 4 finals this weekend. Sligo are out a week later in London so winning or losing against Wicklow makes no difference to them.
Us and Fermanagh already promoted , yes it's a Div 3 title at stake but both Managers looking behind that.
If there were no league Div 3 or 4 finals and both winners played off for an Ireland spot there would be no extra game and a big incentive to top your group.

Breffni1969 (Cavan) - Posts: 510 - 28/03/2023 17:11:47    2467415

Replying To Breffni1969:  "There no incentive for the Div 3 and 4 finals this weekend. Sligo are out a week later in London so winning or losing against Wicklow makes no difference to them.
Us and Fermanagh already promoted , yes it's a Div 3 title at stake but both Managers looking behind that.
If there were no league Div 3 or 4 finals and both winners played off for an Ireland spot there would be no extra game and a big incentive to top your group."
Well there is incentive, to be fair. It's only the 2nd year the league has been linked to championship. Before that we had them playing for a cup and that'll continue for those who want to win it.

I bet you ask Sligo people and they'd take a cup. Probably their best chance of one these days. I wouldn't say there's no incentive like

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2466 - 28/03/2023 17:28:18    2467419

I can't believe people consider the National league final as unimportant…. We waited 70 years to end our drought at national level for our senior team last year .. We should be going out with all guns blazing to win this final… We are not a Dublin .Kerry , Mayo or some other teams that are almost guaranteed a provisional title most years and be at the business end of things come All Ireland finals time… We are miles of that level so when a chance comes around to win a final in Croke park we should grasp it with both hands… If Mickey Graham treats this final with contempt he will be pilling huge pressure on himself and the team to get over Armagh in the Championship…. I hope he treats it with the respect it and the supporters deserve…

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 3863 - 28/03/2023 18:25:03    2467449

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "I can't believe people consider the National league final as unimportant…. We waited 70 years to end our drought at national level for our senior team last year .. We should be going out with all guns blazing to win this final… We are not a Dublin .Kerry , Mayo or some other teams that are almost guaranteed a provisional title most years and be at the business end of things come All Ireland finals time… We are miles of that level so when a chance comes around to win a final in Croke park we should grasp it with both hands… If Mickey Graham treats this final with contempt he will be pilling huge pressure on himself and the team to get over Armagh in the Championship…. I hope he treats it with the respect it and the supporters deserve…"
I agree to a n extent but it's the systems fault that makes it unimportant in some respects.
Take for example . Mayo, Sligo are both out in the Championship 7 days later. That shows you the respect the GAA hierarchy have for the league.
We are condensing a championship yet playing unnecessary league finals so close together.
Give the outright winners of Div 3 & 4, a playoff for a place in the All Ireland series this year, which would make the league in the lower Divs look more meaningful.
Westmeath although still in Div 3 have a place in the All Ireland series because of a cup they won last year. So what was their incentive to get out of Div 3 this year?

Breffni1969 (Cavan) - Posts: 510 - 29/03/2023 09:01:53    2467487

Replying To Breffni1969:  "I agree to a n extent but it's the systems fault that makes it unimportant in some respects.
Take for example . Mayo, Sligo are both out in the Championship 7 days later. That shows you the respect the GAA hierarchy have for the league.
We are condensing a championship yet playing unnecessary league finals so close together.
Give the outright winners of Div 3 & 4, a playoff for a place in the All Ireland series this year, which would make the league in the lower Divs look more meaningful.
Westmeath although still in Div 3 have a place in the All Ireland series because of a cup they won last year. So what was their incentive to get out of Div 3 this year?"
I likewise see what you're saying but as I pointed out the likes of Cavan or Sligo haven't a chance in hell of All Ireland success and a slim ( or absolutely none in Sligos case ) chance in their province so why not go all out to win at headquarters…? It's a different thing for the likes of Mayo right enough but not in Cavans case in my view….

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 3863 - 29/03/2023 10:05:02    2467500

Lets not kid ourselves, if Cavan werent playing in a league final on Saturday, they'd be playing a challenge match either Saturday or Sunday and no doubt another 1 or 2 before Championship. Dublin played a Meath Senior Development squad on Monday evening and no doubt every County in Ireland has challenge matches organised.
Its a league final in headquarters regardless of the Division and dont let anyone tell you any different and I have no doubt Cavan will take this seriously as will Fermanagh, on top of that, its a local derby, Fermanagh winning last Sunday so there's not a hope that Cavan will want to lose this going into Championship.

On another note, Killian Clarke seen hobbling around Breffni in a protective boot also this week.

cavanblueman (Cavan) - Posts: 636 - 29/03/2023 10:47:26    2467513

Replying To Breffni1969:  "I agree to a n extent but it's the systems fault that makes it unimportant in some respects.
Westmeath although still in Div 3 have a place in the All Ireland series because of a cup they won last year. So what was their incentive to get out of Div 3 this year?"
I'd argue their incentive is to get back into it next year. As we see this year, promotion to Division 2 next year does not guarantee getting up (although likely will in other years). So if you get your free shot, take it and get up.

Also does show the flaws in the setup of the tournament. The first year was a clean split of the 16 who were Division 1 and 2 next year, and who weren't. That meant that who played in the Tailteann last year and won it were always going to be in Division 3 and 4. And therefore there was always the possibility of not getting promoted the next year, but taking a position in Sam anyway. We're now likely to see the 2nd and onward year of the competition that the promoted teams are the ones who likely win it (along with any Division 2 teams who get pushed out due to provincial finalists). It really shows the flaws of the 1st and 2nd year of this, and I really don't think they considered this. It'll be better next year, but that's no consolation to us. Either way, Westmeath will be gunning to get up next year, as they'll be more likely to be in Sam than we are this year.

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2466 - 29/03/2023 11:45:36    2467533

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "I can't believe people consider the National league final as unimportant…. We waited 70 years to end our drought at national level for our senior team last year .. We should be going out with all guns blazing to win this final… We are not a Dublin .Kerry , Mayo or some other teams that are almost guaranteed a provisional title most years and be at the business end of things come All Ireland finals time… We are miles of that level so when a chance comes around to win a final in Croke park we should grasp it with both hands… If Mickey Graham treats this final with contempt he will be pilling huge pressure on himself and the team to get over Armagh in the Championship…. I hope he treats it with the respect it and the supporters deserve…"
Have to agree with you (for once :P). It is very important to get to HQ and win a final. Silverware does not come around often, and we missed cups in the 00s and 10s multiple times which would have done us good. Winning is a habit, and especially so at Croker. We need to go out there and win this, and set ourselves up rightly for Ulster.

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2466 - 29/03/2023 11:48:17    2467534

Any team news for today? Is McVeety back? Interesting to see if he'll persist with Cian Reilly, Jack McKenna, Cian Madden. McKenna unfortunate to be taken off twice, he caught some great kickouts last week when we were under pressure. Need to persist with him to fill Galligan's boots. Need Carolan on Kelm from the start. Going to be tight.

LackenQuality79 (Cavan) - Posts: 28 - 01/04/2023 10:37:42    2468091

Replying To LackenQuality79:  "Any team news for today? Is McVeety back? Interesting to see if he'll persist with Cian Reilly, Jack McKenna, Cian Madden. McKenna unfortunate to be taken off twice, he caught some great kickouts last week when we were under pressure. Need to persist with him to fill Galligan's boots. Need Carolan on Kelm from the start. Going to be tight."
Very hard to get definitive team news these days. Even the starting 15 announcement isn't going to give much away. Alot of rumours going around about injuries to certain players but none of them appear to be long term. This will be Cavan's third game in 3 weeks and any niggles will need to be managed. Ultimately today's game is pretty irrelevant in terms of defining the season. It's all about that game in Breffni in 3 weeks time which will hopefully be close to a sell out

97Cavans (Cavan) - Posts: 409 - 01/04/2023 12:13:49    2468107

Replying To LackenQuality79:  "Any team news for today? Is McVeety back? Interesting to see if he'll persist with Cian Reilly, Jack McKenna, Cian Madden. McKenna unfortunate to be taken off twice, he caught some great kickouts last week when we were under pressure. Need to persist with him to fill Galligan's boots. Need Carolan on Kelm from the start. Going to be tight."
Rumor has it that, Mcveety, Gerry smith, paddy Lynch and carolan won't be risked today which is very unfortunate.

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 885 - 01/04/2023 12:44:03    2468112

Replying To 97Cavans:  "Very hard to get definitive team news these days. Even the starting 15 announcement isn't going to give much away. Alot of rumours going around about injuries to certain players but none of them appear to be long term. This will be Cavan's third game in 3 weeks and any niggles will need to be managed. Ultimately today's game is pretty irrelevant in terms of defining the season. It's all about that game in Breffni in 3 weeks time which will hopefully be close to a sell out"
I think it's also Fermanagh's 3rd game in 3 weeks too. The only difference is they won the previous 2 where as we lost our 2.
Don't expect a different result today to last Sunday. We haven't learned how to win important games yet.

Breffni1969 (Cavan) - Posts: 510 - 01/04/2023 14:01:05    2468124

Replying To Breffni1969:  "I think it's also Fermanagh's 3rd game in 3 weeks too. The only difference is they won the previous 2 where as we lost our 2.
Don't expect a different result today to last Sunday. We haven't learned how to win important games yet."
That's a great vote of confidence. I wouldn't go to the game, if I was you. If its OK though, I might go to Croke Park anyway, and even expect a win.

Fontofwisdom (Cavan) - Posts: 128 - 01/04/2023 15:33:49    2468143

Best of luck to the lads this evening. Looks to be a strong team with McVeety, Lynch, and Clarke playing despite supposed injuries. Go well fellas

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2466 - 01/04/2023 19:21:19    2468177

two boys on northern sound are watching a different match than me

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 485 - 01/04/2023 19:56:12    2468185

Well done to the boys much better second half good to get some silver ware as we have lost enough finals up there over the past 20 years

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 485 - 01/04/2023 21:15:57    2468202

Well done to eye boys on getting more silverware in Croke Park. Was tight going for most of that, but we were fit to push on when needed to stretch the lead. Fermanagh came back, but took a lot out of them, and we were able to see that off even allowing for a fair few missed goal chances.

And a word due for the hurlers who also won the League final today. Congrats lads. A double in senior men's is an exceptionally rare thing, so fair play. Well done lads

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2466 - 01/04/2023 21:33:03    2468203

Make that 3 in a row for McKenna. Shocking management to do that to a young player. Didn't look too pleased leaving the pitch but at least he cares. His replacement Conor Brady was excellent but still unnecessary to be taken off like that in a league final. I see Smaller Fish weighed in on it on twitter too. McKenna, Carolan, Cian Reilly are the best of the young talent we have coming through and need to be looked after.
Good win nonetheless and hopefully we kick on. Hopefully fringe lads are allowed play club league this weekend.

LackenQuality79 (Cavan) - Posts: 28 - 02/04/2023 09:41:58    2468214

Very good win yesterday in the end… The first half was probably the worst 35 minutes of football I ever witnessed at County level… The penny finally dropped with Graham at ht and the game changed completely when Cavan pushed up on the Fermanagh kick out… If we revert to type ( and I think they will ) against Armagh and concede the kick outs we will be destroyed…. As for the early substitute call any one of them could have been taken off but the yellow card ( harsh ) sealed his fate… his reaction on the line did not look good and on reflection he should feel embarrassed… Hollow got a deserved mom as he stood up well in the first half when others were struggling… Mc Kiernan was poor throughout and coughed up possession far too easily and was lucky to stay on so long… The Fermanagh keeper pulled off a couple of great saves but Clarke should have scored with his chance.. I have to say some of the Fermanagh booing of the Cavan free takers was disgusting and in the end got what they deserved which was nothing…. A great day with a Hurling league title in the bag as well..

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 3863 - 02/04/2023 10:03:54    2468217