Cavan Seniors 23

Very disappointing today. Had a feeling we wouldn't be to the pace of it, but very poor when you consider 2 fortuitous enough goals. When we went 5 up, we seemed to stop playing. They wanted it more, which is probably fair, as they did need it more. They were giving everything to get to every breaking ball and bounce, we didn't seem as bothered. They're playing a dangerous game if they're sandbagging for the final. Form isn't a tap that you can turn on again after stopping it. Things can be righted by winning the final, and we will have learned a lot from them and ourselves today. The injuries are a concern though, and telling we've lost the games where McVeety was unavailable. Have to hope both he and Lynch are available soon, as we badly need them. They're huge losses. Wonder what he did during the week to be wearing a boot. Either way, others need to step up now and be counted starting with Croke Park next weekend. Need to get to Championship pace, as a final is as close to that pace as you'll get

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2466 - 26/03/2023 19:24:30    2466871

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "Very disappointing today. Had a feeling we wouldn't be to the pace of it, but very poor when you consider 2 fortuitous enough goals. When we went 5 up, we seemed to stop playing. They wanted it more, which is probably fair, as they did need it more. They were giving everything to get to every breaking ball and bounce, we didn't seem as bothered. They're playing a dangerous game if they're sandbagging for the final. Form isn't a tap that you can turn on again after stopping it. Things can be righted by winning the final, and we will have learned a lot from them and ourselves today. The injuries are a concern though, and telling we've lost the games where McVeety was unavailable. Have to hope both he and Lynch are available soon, as we badly need them. They're huge losses. Wonder what he did during the week to be wearing a boot. Either way, others need to step up now and be counted starting with Croke Park next weekend. Need to get to Championship pace, as a final is as close to that pace as you'll get"
Gerry Smith was a huge loss today. He does get praise but he's hugely under rated by supporters in my opinion. Let's not forget that he and Jason McLaughlin were our two best players last year.

BreffniGuide (Cavan) - Posts: 474 - 27/03/2023 07:56:57    2466961

Replying To BreffniGuide:  "Gerry Smith was a huge loss today. He does get praise but he's hugely under rated by supporters in my opinion. Let's not forget that he and Jason McLaughlin were our two best players last year."
Fair point. I missed naming him too. Saw him down in the stand but not togged out. Huge loss alright. Good to see Jayo coming on though to up his fitness a bit. Along with Gerry, we need McVeety, Carolan, and Lynch back. This weekend might come too soon for some of them, but 4 weeks might be better. Conor Brady too. These are big players that we need and makes things far harder if we are missing them

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2466 - 27/03/2023 11:28:55    2467002

Fermanagh were well psyched up for that game and fair play to them they defended and took their scores well, our heads were not in that game. It was a case of job done in the first 5 games and we definitely took the foot off the gas yesterday and in Antrim. Heavy training sessions might be to blame as well, which would be a positive explanation if that is the case. Tactically I thought our attacking was one dimensional yesterday, trying to run everything in and getting caught out. I don't recall seeing any good early ball played into to the FF line (just to mix it up a bit).

The list of injured is a bit worrying thing but I have no idea of the seriousness of any of those injuries, can we expect to have some of these lads back for the league final ?

Dara McVeety - wearing a boot yesterday
Gerry Smith - not sure
Oisin Kiernan - not sure
Paddy Lynch - was there yesterday, not togged
Niall Carolan - came off injured yesterday
Conor Brady - coming back from injury, was out warming up with team yesterday

I am still quietly confident we can get the job done this weekend, silverware is hard to come by and this is a great chance to get some in Croke Park. In fairness the players have worked hard to get promotion and are well capable of finishing the job.
An Cabhan Abu

facer4home (Cavan) - Posts: 163 - 27/03/2023 12:13:30    2467025

Abysmal performance yesterday, take away the two soft goals and all we scored was 2 points from play, the first point coming after nearly 40 minutes of football, that's very disappointing from an inter county team. Hopefully, we can improve next week, but a much bigger improvement is required if we have any prospect of having a decent Ulster campaign. Going by yesterday, the big Ulster Teams will tear us apart. Having said that, maybe we underestimated Fermanagh, the were impressive for most parts, apart from the soft goals, they were well organised, worked the ball out from back, their keeper provided a great outlet for them on occasions too, but they were patient, they didn't force things, waited for the space to open up and took their scores well and overall, deserved their win. On the other hand, Cavan looked void of any creativity, they were slow in the build up and the lack of any real running or intelligence in the forward line is worrying. Midfield is a worry too, Fermanagh no.8 kicked 2/3 great points from play, and their number 13 played havoc with our full back line. A lot of things to sort out, Gearoid needs to play in the full forward line or sit on the bench and come on as he no longer has the legs for midfield, Faulkner has a lot of miles on the clock too and looks slow, so a few conundrums for the manager to work on. As I said before, we may progress in Ulster, but we need to be at the top of our game every game we play, that includes Antrim and we'll need a mighty performance against Armagh. But should we reach an Ulster Final, I would genuinely worry about us should we meet any of the big teams.

cavanblueman (Cavan) - Posts: 636 - 27/03/2023 12:23:08    2467032

Replying To BreffniGuide:  "Gerry Smith was a huge loss today. He does get praise but he's hugely under rated by supporters in my opinion. Let's not forget that he and Jason McLaughlin were our two best players last year."
Dont think Mickey wanted to show his hand with that line up, players out of position. No way GMac will play again in midfield this year. yes they should have won when went 5 up but they definitely looked leggy in the closing stages. Maybe there was heavy session last couple of weeks knowing they were already promoted ? Wouldn't read too much into it.

Cutler (Cavan) - Posts: 33 - 27/03/2023 13:03:41    2467054

A good league campaign, essentially promoted with 2 games to spare and plenty of experience given to young players. So can't ask for a huge amount more.

Conor Brady's injury is the big shame of the campaign, but does anyone know what the story is with McVeety? 3 weeks out from championship its worrying to see him in a protective boot.

We haven't seen a full strength 15 or even 23 used in anger yet so maybe a chance to see close to that next weekend in Croker.
A division 3 title is not something I think we'd particularly covet, but getting back to winning ways is important in our last game before the Ulster championship.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5246 - 27/03/2023 13:16:49    2467061

Replying To cavanman47:  "A good league campaign, essentially promoted with 2 games to spare and plenty of experience given to young players. So can't ask for a huge amount more.

Conor Brady's injury is the big shame of the campaign, but does anyone know what the story is with McVeety? 3 weeks out from championship its worrying to see him in a protective boot.

We haven't seen a full strength 15 or even 23 used in anger yet so maybe a chance to see close to that next weekend in Croker.
A division 3 title is not something I think we'd particularly covet, but getting back to winning ways is important in our last game before the Ulster championship."
Conor Brady was doing runs before the game yesterday so he must be close. All the lads doing runs took part in the pre match warm up with the squad. That include Conor Brady, Oisin Kiernan, Ryan Donoghue and 1 more I can't remember. McVeety is a mystery as some of the Crosserlough lads were saying he had a hamstring issue.

Cutler (Cavan) - Posts: 33 - 27/03/2023 16:24:32    2467120

Replying To cavanman47:  "A good league campaign, essentially promoted with 2 games to spare and plenty of experience given to young players. So can't ask for a huge amount more.

A division 3 title is not something I think we'd particularly covet, but getting back to winning ways is important in our last game before the Ulster championship."
I don't think we should be turning out nose up at the chance of winning a Division 3 title…. We are nowhere near that good…in fact we are pretty poor… There is no way a team that looses on consecutive weekends to the power of Antrim and Fermanagh should be thinking a Division 3 title is beneath them… They need to man up show a bit of fight and pride in the jersey and turn Fermanagh over on Saturday and instill a bit of confidence back into the squad… Loosing games is a bad habit especially with Armagh looming…

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 3858 - 27/03/2023 17:02:08    2467128

In other words you're not bothered about a Div 3 title??
Well you don't need to worry about it because from what I saw yesterday we won't be winning it.
But I suppose that's par for the course for us when we get to Croke park for finals.

Breffni1969 (Cavan) - Posts: 510 - 27/03/2023 17:29:45    2467142

Rare that all the players will fit at same time. Games are coming fast now with the shortened Inter County season.Championship game on April 22nd. If the lose that then it's a Mini League in the Tailtean Cup with the round robin brought in from this year, 4 games same as the All Ireland series

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2878 - 27/03/2023 18:22:27    2467161

A hairline fracture in his ankle is what I heard. 2/3 weeks out apparently. He did damage his hamstring near the end of the Down game, didn't hear how he hurt the ankle.

Thebunk (Cavan) - Posts: 5 - 27/03/2023 19:44:58    2467175

Replying To Breffni1969:  "In other words you're not bothered about a Div 3 title??
Well you don't need to worry about it because from what I saw yesterday we won't be winning it.
But I suppose that's par for the course for us when we get to Croke park for finals."
We can play a lot better than we did on Sunday, but I agree, we shouldnt snub a Division 3 title as thats the Division we played in this year, we got to the league final and now we have a chance to win it. In fact, unless we get a good run in Ulster, a Div 3 title and a Tailteann Cup win could be as good as it gets. But who knows, things can happen on any given day, we got the good side of the draw in Ulster, Antrim & Armagh are beatable and if you get to a final, who knows what can happen, there's plenty of fight and character in this Cavan squad so I wont be writing them off just yet.

cavanblueman (Cavan) - Posts: 636 - 28/03/2023 10:12:09    2467233

Replying To Thebunk:  "A hairline fracture in his ankle is what I heard. 2/3 weeks out apparently. He did damage his hamstring near the end of the Down game, didn't hear how he hurt the ankle."
Would I be right in saying this might be an injury dating back to the Longford game, when he went down late on? That's the time he had to limp off at the final whistle. Think he's been holding himself since that (was not moving as well vs Offaly), so maybe it was a decision to look further into this, fix him up, and get him back for the quarter final. If he is back in a few weeks, then it'll work out all round. We need him badly

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2466 - 28/03/2023 11:32:56    2467257

Given the choice, of course you'd rather win a final than lose it. .but reading the manager's comments this morning, it doesn't look like he's going all out to win it at all.
He sees it moreso as a chance for a competitive game to prepare for Ulster. That's what I was getting at.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5246 - 28/03/2023 12:18:10    2467280

Replying To cavanman47:  "Given the choice, of course you'd rather win a final than lose it. .but reading the manager's comments this morning, it doesn't look like he's going all out to win it at all.
He sees it moreso as a chance for a competitive game to prepare for Ulster. That's what I was getting at."
I think he'll go all out, no doubt about that. It's a final in Croker, and a chance for a cup and to not go 0/3 before Championship. I read his comments in that he'd rather the cup was awarded based on who finished 1st, meaning he'd have gone all out last weekend v Fermanagh if it was the last match, rather than holding back knowing he has this final coming up. There was nothing in last weekend for us. But there is a lot in Saturday now

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2466 - 28/03/2023 12:41:55    2467290

Replying To cavanman47:  "Given the choice, of course you'd rather win a final than lose it. .but reading the manager's comments this morning, it doesn't look like he's going all out to win it at all.
He sees it moreso as a chance for a competitive game to prepare for Ulster. That's what I was getting at."
Well if that's the attitude Micky Graham has to a League Final in Croke park ( couldn't be ) then he should be removed at once…. Why would supporters be travelling up paying good money in and heading back down the road at probably 10O clock if the manager is not going all out to win the game…? I didn't hear his comments but he made a fool of himself if he came out with anything like you say….

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 3858 - 28/03/2023 13:15:48    2467306

If the outright winners of Div3 &4 played off for an All Ireland series spot then Mickey might have more interest in trying to win a league title.
There has to be some incentive as well as promotion otherwise these are meaningless league finals so close to the championship.

Breffni1969 (Cavan) - Posts: 510 - 28/03/2023 13:18:16    2467308

Replying To Breffni1969:  "If the outright winners of Div3 &4 played off for an All Ireland series spot then Mickey might have more interest in trying to win a league title.
There has to be some incentive as well as promotion otherwise these are meaningless league finals so close to the championship."
Agreed. .or. . .

Any solution which clarifies before the championship which tier each team is in.

Somebody pointed out on the main forum that Meath could lose a Leinster quarter final and not know which competition they move into until they see if a division 3 or 4 team make their provincial final.

If the GAA are so determined to tie league and championship together, then they should be seeding the championships based on how it finished last weekend, or after the finals next weekend.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5246 - 28/03/2023 14:02:41    2467327

Replying To Breffni1969:  "If the outright winners of Div3 &4 played off for an All Ireland series spot then Mickey might have more interest in trying to win a league title.
There has to be some incentive as well as promotion otherwise these are meaningless league finals so close to the championship."
Fair point. A lot of teams aim for Promotion and then treat the final like a challenge game.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2878 - 28/03/2023 14:55:04    2467352