Wexford Clubs In The Leinster Club Hurling Championship

Replying To Punter72007:  "Here's my two pence ... firstly best of luck to St.Mullins and I hope you do well going forward.

As regards the club standard in Wexford, I think it's a fair point to put the Kilkenny/Limerick/Galway/Tip champions + Ballygunner slightly ahead of the club champions of the rest of the hurling counties.
In those remaining counties, including Wexford, Clare, Dublin, Laois, Carlow, Antrim ... you have to be an exceptional team and have a bit of luck to win a provincial title.

On that note, I don't think the timing of Wexford club championship is good if you want to compete in Leinster.
Ferns won their county title 13 weeks ago.
You can play all the practice matches you want, but practically it doesn't simulate that knock out pressure of a tight all or nothing game and lads loose match fitness etc etc
It's a game of inches and a few players off form or injured and you end up loosing a tight game.
Having seen the last 2 years where the Rapps lost to the Laois champions and now Ferns lost to the Carlow champions, I'd like to see the hurling championship played later in the year so as to give the Wexford clubs their best chance."
Agree with most of the post but Antrim clubs have a good record in the AI. They have won 2 AI Club Championships from 9 appearances. Clare have won 2 from 5 appearances. And you never mentioned Offaly whose clubs have won 4 in 11 appearances. Tipp who you do mention have only won 3 in 5 final appearances. You also mention Limerick but Limerick clubs have only won 1 in 6 appearances. Waterford clubs have only won once in 3 appearances.
Historically Galway, Kilkenny and Cork clubs are miles in front of everyone else, although the last of Corks 9 wins was away back in 2004. Galway and Kilkenny clubs have each won it 13 times.
As an aside Munster clubs have won it 16 times and Leinster clubs have won it 20 times. Connacht clubs have won it 13 times
And if you look closer at it Ballyhale, Birr, Portumna, Athenry, Blackrock and James Stephens have won it 25 times out of 51 and a few other clubs, Cuala, Barrs, Glen Rovers, Loughgiel and Sarsfields have won it twice too. There aren't actually that many different winners of it. So there being a few clubs being ahead of everyone else else is actually the way it always was.
So our record of 1 win in 7 appearances isn't too bad when you consider how strong Kilkenny and Offaly clubs have been since the provincial club championships started around 50 years ago

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12008 - 14/11/2022 17:29:15    2447570

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "Maybe it needs to be similar to a restraining order / injunction?
I.e. you cannot go within 100m of a GAA ground? And if you do, you are liable to do jail time?
Might seem excessive but a line in the sand needs to be drawn, and these offences treated with the seriousness of them happening on the street at 3am."
Maybe so, but that sort of thing would be for the courts and legal system to hand down and enforce, if culprits were identified, charged, and convicted. Similar to how a court can tell a trouble-maker to stay out of a certain pub or away from a certain place. But it's not something that a GAA club could order and/or enforce by itself.

For what it's worth, I'd have no issue whatsoever with the woman with the hurl being charged with assault, and being made subject to such an order. But again, that's out of the hands of what the club could do.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2251 - 14/11/2022 17:41:17    2447572

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "My issue wasn't so much that he said Ferns were a mouthy team, my issue was moreso the insinuation that St Mullins were not guilty of such behaviour. There weren't really any dirty strokes in the match yesterday and there wasn't really any threat of anyone boiling over so his depiction of Ferns as getting their just desserts seems needless and is a bit of a low blow. He could have just praised St Mullins for how well they played but no, let's take a potshot at the opposition despite the fact the St Mullins's goalscorer roared his face off in front of Patrick Breen after scoring the goal. This "Holier Than Thou" shtick and persistent downgrading of the opposition is a waste of time (And this goes beyond yesterday, you'll have fans of different counties on here giving out about rival counties and their sets of fans)."
Yeah, I get that myself. And while the other poster says it's his experience that Ferns are bad in this regard, I've never heard anyone in my own club saying they're worse than anyone else.

One or two other clubs do get mentioned all right, but I think that generally it's much of a muchness across the board, so tweets or anything else that make out that one team is squeaky clean while the other is full of loud-mouthed eejits are indeed disingenuous, to use your own word.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2251 - 14/11/2022 17:46:05    2447573

Anyone see the videos going round of the street viiolence at the Derry City vs Shelbourne FAI Cup final on Sunday. Some disgraceful scenes...oppposition supporters targetted and firecrackers aimed at gardai vehicles. But not a word about it in the media!

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1904 - 14/11/2022 18:35:48    2447581

Replying To Punter72007:  "Here's my two pence ... firstly best of luck to St.Mullins and I hope you do well going forward.

As regards the club standard in Wexford, I think it's a fair point to put the Kilkenny/Limerick/Galway/Tip champions + Ballygunner slightly ahead of the club champions of the rest of the hurling counties.
In those remaining counties, including Wexford, Clare, Dublin, Laois, Carlow, Antrim ... you have to be an exceptional team and have a bit of luck to win a provincial title.

On that note, I don't think the timing of Wexford club championship is good if you want to compete in Leinster.
You can play all the practice matches you want, but practically it doesn't simulate that knock out pressure of a tight all or nothing game and lads loose match fitness etc etc
It's a game of inches and a few players off form or injured and you end up loosing a tight game.
Having seen the last 2 years where the Rapps lost to the Laois champions and now Ferns lost to the Carlow champions, I'd like to see the hurling championship played later in the year so as to give the Wexford clubs their best chance."
What we should be doing is playing two weeks hurling followed by two weeks football. You can't drop a game like hurling for over two months and then expect them to perform in a championship of higher quality than your county championship. The winners of the county championships in football are flying in Leinster (Castletown were unlucky but put in a great performance) while we only have one team left in hurling. Even last year Shels were unlucky not to reach a Leinster final. Why are we persisting with this ridiculous format. Oulart run in Leinster championships during a time when the county team where a shambles,I believe, gave the hurling fraternity a massive lift. I remember when they beat Ballyhale at the park and the scenes afterwards were terrific and I'm not an Oulart man. Just go back to the way it was before Covid. I don't remember anybody wanting this before the pandemic. Let's give every county champion a chance in Leinster. Were not doing that for hurling at the minute.

Finchfurlong996 (Wexford) - Posts: 255 - 14/11/2022 19:15:48    2447587

A Great Hurling Match

There was a great Hurling Match between Edermine and Coolamain on the bogs of the famous Ballyroe in the Parish of Glenbrien between the years of 65 and 75. In those years there were 21 on each side and there were no goal posts. It was a stick stuck with each end in the ground making what was called a bow and the man that was minding that stick was called the "bowman." The ball in those times was three times as large as the ball we use now.
The rules were not so strict as now.
You could leap into a man with your knees or give him a back trip.

The names of the Hurlers that took part were :-
John Fortune, Scurlocksbush. two men by the name of Carrol Coolanick, Frank Boggan Tomlane, John Kelly Scurlocksbush, Tom Doran Ballyroe, John Donohoe Glenbrien, James Crowley Coolamain, Two men by the name of Quinlin Coolamain, Three men by the name of Stafford Coolamain. Michael O'Connor Tinnahask, John Malone Oylegate, Pat Kehe Coolnaboy, Pat Corty Ballyroe, Tom Bolger Woodlands, Jack Doyle Ballycourcey, James Macdonald Coolamain and Larry Boggan Redgate.

The match started on Saturday and lasted all day. It was said to be the roughest match that ever played.One of the teams scored and the other team began to fight. They fought for an hour or so. They had no hurls but big lumps of sticks
There were twenty men on each side. Aidan Sutton was the captain of the Edermine team.

From that period up to the present day Coolamain or Oylegate never agreed. The men from Coolamain stand at Jordan's wall and the men from Oylegate stand at the Chapel gate.

WEX98 (Wexford) - Posts: 379 - 14/11/2022 20:55:02    2447597

Ferns won 13 weeks ago so you blame the timing of the Wexford championship for successive defeats in Leinster club.
When did St Mullins win their county final ??

Yellaman (Wexford) - Posts: 114 - 14/11/2022 21:06:00    2447599

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "Anyone see the videos going round of the street viiolence at the Derry City vs Shelbourne FAI Cup final on Sunday. Some disgraceful scenes...oppposition supporters targetted and firecrackers aimed at gardai vehicles. But not a word about it in the media!"
Yeah I saw it, stewarding in the Aviva had to be questioned on that game, seems like they allowed flares into the ground before the game.

But this is the typical GAA attitude bring up another incident to hide our own flaws. What happened in Parnell Park on Sunday was skull thuggery of the highest order. And its not a one off either, I've been in Croke Park on numerous occasions and long before there was camera phones and have seen supporters being aggressive and abusive towards each other.

hurlorhurley (Wexford) - Posts: 1660 - 15/11/2022 09:45:33    2447604

Replying To Yellaman:  "Ferns won 13 weeks ago so you blame the timing of the Wexford championship for successive defeats in Leinster club.
When did St Mullins win their county final ??"
Yes, St Mullins were a week earlier in winning their county final and so they had a 14-week break, but I think myself that the point the other poster makes is still valid.

Playing intensive championship hurling during September/October, instead of practice matches, would put you on an even keel with clubs who have been doing the same in other counties - and would surely give you an advantage for the first round if playing a team like St. Mullins who hadn't had a real match in months.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2251 - 15/11/2022 09:48:44    2447606

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "Anyone see the videos going round of the street viiolence at the Derry City vs Shelbourne FAI Cup final on Sunday. Some disgraceful scenes...oppposition supporters targetted and firecrackers aimed at gardai vehicles. But not a word about it in the media!"
Bit disingenuous (there's that word again!) to claim not a word about it in the media.....

https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2022/1114/1336113-fai-confirm-contact-with-shels-and-derry-over-incidents/
https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/violent-scenes-ahead-of-shelbourne-and-derry-fai-cup-final-clash-42141229.html
https://www.thesun.ie/sport/football/9727487/violence-fai-cup-final-gardai-shelbourne-derry-city-fans/
https://www.sundayworld.com/crime/irish-crime/eight-arrested-over-violent-scenes-near-aviva-stadium-at-fai-cup-final/522197552.html
https://www.irishmirror.ie/sport/soccer/soccer-news/ugly-scenes-football-supporters-seen-28479646
https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/2022/11/13/gardai-break-up-clashes-between-shelbourne-and-derry-city-fans-in-advance-of-fai-cup-final/

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2251 - 15/11/2022 09:53:31    2447607

Replying To Pikeman96:  "Maybe so, but that sort of thing would be for the courts and legal system to hand down and enforce, if culprits were identified, charged, and convicted. Similar to how a court can tell a trouble-maker to stay out of a certain pub or away from a certain place. But it's not something that a GAA club could order and/or enforce by itself.

For what it's worth, I'd have no issue whatsoever with the woman with the hurl being charged with assault, and being made subject to such an order. But again, that's out of the hands of what the club could do."
These issues are for the Gardai to deal with though.
You can't have this sort of carry on and no implications for those involved.
People think referees and players are open season for subs, managers and supporters to come on and assault.
It needs to be treated with the same level as if it happened on the street.
As I have said time and time again, I have no issue with players fighting, etc from time to time as these things happen in a match, and that is what a ref is for. When the subs, managers and supporters wade in, that is when it is not OK and this is a more regular occurrence.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1136 - 15/11/2022 12:18:13    2447629

The carlow championship finished around the same time as Wexford. So it was the same for both teams. Let's not look for excuses, and suffice to say that St Mullins were the better team on the day.

Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 277 - 15/11/2022 13:30:23    2447646

Agree with most of the post but Antrim clubs have a good record in the AI. They have won 2 AI Club Championships from 9 appearances. Clare have won 2 from 5 appearances. And you never mentioned Offaly whose clubs have won 4 in 11 appearances. Tipp who you do mention have only won 3 in 5 final appearances. You also mention Limerick but Limerick clubs have only won 1 in 6 appearances. Waterford clubs have only won once in 3 appearances.
Historically Galway, Kilkenny and Cork clubs are miles in front of everyone else, although the last of Corks 9 wins was away back in 2004. Galway and Kilkenny clubs have each won it 13 times.
As an aside Munster clubs have won it 16 times and Leinster clubs have won it 20 times. Connacht clubs have won it 13 times
And if you look closer at it Ballyhale, Birr, Portumna, Athenry, Blackrock and James Stephens have won it 25 times out of 51 and a few other clubs, Cuala, Barrs, Glen Rovers, Loughgiel and Sarsfields have won it twice too. There aren't actually that many different winners of it. So there being a few clubs being ahead of everyone else else is actually the way it always was.
So our record of 1 win in 7 appearances isn't too bad when you consider how strong Kilkenny and Offaly clubs have been since the provincial club championships started around 50 years ago

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12008 - 15/11/2022 13:33:05    2447647

Replying To WEX98:  "A Great Hurling Match

There was a great Hurling Match between Edermine and Coolamain on the bogs of the famous Ballyroe in the Parish of Glenbrien between the years of 65 and 75. In those years there were 21 on each side and there were no goal posts. It was a stick stuck with each end in the ground making what was called a bow and the man that was minding that stick was called the "bowman." The ball in those times was three times as large as the ball we use now.
The rules were not so strict as now.
You could leap into a man with your knees or give him a back trip.

The names of the Hurlers that took part were :-
John Fortune, Scurlocksbush. two men by the name of Carrol Coolanick, Frank Boggan Tomlane, John Kelly Scurlocksbush, Tom Doran Ballyroe, John Donohoe Glenbrien, James Crowley Coolamain, Two men by the name of Quinlin Coolamain, Three men by the name of Stafford Coolamain. Michael O'Connor Tinnahask, John Malone Oylegate, Pat Kehe Coolnaboy, Pat Corty Ballyroe, Tom Bolger Woodlands, Jack Doyle Ballycourcey, James Macdonald Coolamain and Larry Boggan Redgate.

The match started on Saturday and lasted all day. It was said to be the roughest match that ever played.One of the teams scored and the other team began to fight. They fought for an hour or so. They had no hurls but big lumps of sticks
There were twenty men on each side. Aidan Sutton was the captain of the Edermine team.

From that period up to the present day Coolamain or Oylegate never agreed. The men from Coolamain stand at Jordan's wall and the men from Oylegate stand at the Chapel gate."
Great Post!!!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12008 - 15/11/2022 13:34:17    2447648

Replying To Finchfurlong996:  "What we should be doing is playing two weeks hurling followed by two weeks football. You can't drop a game like hurling for over two months and then expect them to perform in a championship of higher quality than your county championship. The winners of the county championships in football are flying in Leinster (Castletown were unlucky but put in a great performance) while we only have one team left in hurling. Even last year Shels were unlucky not to reach a Leinster final. Why are we persisting with this ridiculous format. Oulart run in Leinster championships during a time when the county team where a shambles,I believe, gave the hurling fraternity a massive lift. I remember when they beat Ballyhale at the park and the scenes afterwards were terrific and I'm not an Oulart man. Just go back to the way it was before Covid. I don't remember anybody wanting this before the pandemic. Let's give every county champion a chance in Leinster. Were not doing that for hurling at the minute."
do we want a club championship to suit all the players in the county and all the teams, over 140 teams, or do we want a championship to suit the 6 county champions in football in hurling to do well in Leinster? Considering 2 of the biggest supporters of the integrated season are Oulart and Rathnure, both of whom have struggled when other clubs have been able to concentrate on either hurling or football at one go, says it all.

The hurling clubs wanted hurling played first. Now that the co champions are losing out at provincial level there are calls to change it. So lets ignore the fact we have 2 football teams in Leinster semi finals, which I'd say has never happened.

james2011 (Wexford) - Posts: 602 - 15/11/2022 14:11:30    2447655

Replying To Magpie2:  "The carlow championship finished around the same time as Wexford. So it was the same for both teams. Let's not look for excuses, and suffice to say that St Mullins were the better team on the day."
Well if the county final was two/three weeks ago, do ya not think they'd be in a better position to beat St Mullins. Same last year with the Rapps, just lacked sharpness in there hurling to get over the line of a team they should be beating. Maybe there not good enough but at the very least, give our county champions the best chance of competing in Leinster. The one sport you cannot drop for a long period of time and expect to compete is hurling. It's needs changing badly.

Finchfurlong996 (Wexford) - Posts: 255 - 15/11/2022 14:23:11    2447657

Replying To james2011:  "do we want a club championship to suit all the players in the county and all the teams, over 140 teams, or do we want a championship to suit the 6 county champions in football in hurling to do well in Leinster? Considering 2 of the biggest supporters of the integrated season are Oulart and Rathnure, both of whom have struggled when other clubs have been able to concentrate on either hurling or football at one go, says it all.

The hurling clubs wanted hurling played first. Now that the co champions are losing out at provincial level there are calls to change it. So lets ignore the fact we have 2 football teams in Leinster semi finals, which I'd say has never happened."
Thats isnt accurate.

More clubs (11)made submissions to change the system from its current guise of the split season to some form of alternate weeks/Football first, blocks etc whilst 7 wanted to remain as is with hurling first (2 of those 7 hurl only btw so how does that fit with your argument?). It is also the proposal from the county board so to make it all about Oulart/Rathnure is completely disengenuous

In fact 6 of those clubs making submissions to change would be football first to begin with. AT the start of your post you say lets suit all and not just those wanting to do well in leinster and end it by saying "what about football teams doing well in leinster" which is it like?

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1349 - 15/11/2022 14:51:52    2447666

Replying To Magpie2:  "The carlow championship finished around the same time as Wexford. So it was the same for both teams. Let's not look for excuses, and suffice to say that St Mullins were the better team on the day."
I think thats fair.

But the bigger shock in all honesty is Oulart losing and the fact is the team they played with has been involved in championship play offs etc only a few weeks ago compared to the 13 weeks in Wexford.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1349 - 15/11/2022 14:53:59    2447667

Replying To james2011:  "do we want a club championship to suit all the players in the county and all the teams, over 140 teams, or do we want a championship to suit the 6 county champions in football in hurling to do well in Leinster? Considering 2 of the biggest supporters of the integrated season are Oulart and Rathnure, both of whom have struggled when other clubs have been able to concentrate on either hurling or football at one go, says it all.

The hurling clubs wanted hurling played first. Now that the co champions are losing out at provincial level there are calls to change it. So lets ignore the fact we have 2 football teams in Leinster semi finals, which I'd say has never happened."
I think the year Cushinstown got to the All Ireland junior final, 2017 maybe, that Kilanerin won Leinster intermediate final as well. I know Fethard went deep in the hurling around that time too, so could have my years mixed up (Kilanerin definitely won intermediate in 2017 as they lost the senior final the following year).

But the point is, the clamour of getting the hurling finished first has affected our senior champions two years in a row. Alternate weekends need to come back, but most importantly a system that caters for the majority, not just the six provincial reps as someone mentioned earlier.

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1421 - 15/11/2022 14:54:06    2447668

Replying To tearintom:  "Thats isnt accurate.

More clubs (11)made submissions to change the system from its current guise of the split season to some form of alternate weeks/Football first, blocks etc whilst 7 wanted to remain as is with hurling first (2 of those 7 hurl only btw so how does that fit with your argument?). It is also the proposal from the county board so to make it all about Oulart/Rathnure is completely disengenuous

In fact 6 of those clubs making submissions to change would be football first to begin with. AT the start of your post you say lets suit all and not just those wanting to do well in leinster and end it by saying "what about football teams doing well in leinster" which is it like?"
I'm not making it all about Rathnure or Oulart, what I'm saying is that proposals like this suit a one code club.

And I'm making the point that people at the moment are complaining about the hurling clubs not doing well and things have to change. But yet ignoring the football clubs doing well.

It just seems all the decisions made in the county are always suited for hurling with no regard for football.

The way it is at the moment gives the most competitive club championship we can have within the county.

james2011 (Wexford) - Posts: 602 - 15/11/2022 14:59:29    2447671