Wexford Clubs In The Leinster Club Hurling Championship

Just seen the video and once more headlines that the Gaa could do without..some of the brave boys in stand need a cost from the law..if it's done on the street a person is in serious trouble..is it going to take a very serious assault injury for action to be taken??

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2216 - 12/11/2022 21:08:27    2447339

Replying To HurlingBuzz:  "Just seen a video of disgraceful scenes on and off the pitch in Parnell park today. These mass brawls have to be stopped once and for all and as for the behaviour in the stand with punches being thrown by a number of so called supporters….it's just depressing."
Depressing for sure, and depressing cause we know f all will happen. Players, officials and supporters.. When are we going to even make an attempt to stop this stuff happening..

ponger (Cavan) - Posts: 540 - 12/11/2022 21:19:04    2447341

Replying To Viking66:  "Hurling isn't all about technical ability. That attitude has been a big problem in the way Wexford look at players from underage upwards and a big reason why we haven't had the senior success our playing numbers would suggest we should have.
Bear with me on this because it is a little left field. A lad who is going to be tall as an adult usually does most of his growing between 11 and 16. Around the age Larry O Brother states is when you can spot a good hurler. He said development when you get to adult stage doesn't really happen. If you are going to be very good you will be spotted at that age. Problem with that is if you are growing inches a month you are going to look uncoordinated and bad at hurling. If you don't believe me try basic hurling skills like even picking up the ball while wearing 3 or 4 inch platform shoes. Your hand eye coordination will be a little out. If your arms grow an inch in length in a short period of time it will surely affect your judgement when catching the ball. I remember lads at school that fell over their own feet while in the midst of a growth spurt.
Limerick stuck with lads like Hegarty and Hayes when their hurling wasn't technically as sharp. And they are reaping the benefits now.
Anyway back to your point. Oulart had some great technical hurlers back then. Alot of them backboned our Senior intercounty team. Rory Jacob was very good in particular and having seen him 3 or 4 times this year he is still technically very good. But to win top level games of hurling you need more than technically good hurlers. Apart from technical ability factors like heart, drive, teamwork, having really good players in the important positions, having height in positions where you need height, and strength as in not height but good core strength, etc are all factors in what makes a good hurling team. Consistency was another problem that great Oulart team had. They didn't turn up in some of those games you mention above.
I think it's a bit simplistic just to blame Oularts lack of an AI on winter pitches. Firstly their opponents had to play on the same pitches. And secondly that's when the AI Club championships were actually played. And still are. So it's kind of irrelevant discussing who would have won AIs IF they were played in the summer."
There is a lot in what your are saying about developing skills. Scouting by knowlegable people i so important anymore. Also once you get the best I think some times teams drift two far from what they are best at. New management. Wexford to me with skill added doggedness and tough fair play with success. Waterford were always flamboyant. Not saying you dont have to change with a changing game but measured. Kilkenny will change a bit but the core game as they play not much.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 12/11/2022 21:30:58    2447343

Replying To tearintom:  "They haven't hurled at championship intensity in nearly 2 months, not exactly that much of a shock"
I agree with this. The way Wexford organise their county championships (basically get them over as quickly as possible and leave the county champions without a competitive game for a couple of months) they will always struggle to make an impact at club provincial snd All Ireland level.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 12/11/2022 21:56:38    2447344

Replying To Viking66:  "Hurling isn't all about technical ability. That attitude has been a big problem in the way Wexford look at players from underage upwards and a big reason why we haven't had the senior success our playing numbers would suggest we should have.
Bear with me on this because it is a little left field. A lad who is going to be tall as an adult usually does most of his growing between 11 and 16. Around the age Larry O Brother states is when you can spot a good hurler. He said development when you get to adult stage doesn't really happen. If you are going to be very good you will be spotted at that age. Problem with that is if you are growing inches a month you are going to look uncoordinated and bad at hurling. If you don't believe me try basic hurling skills like even picking up the ball while wearing 3 or 4 inch platform shoes. Your hand eye coordination will be a little out. If your arms grow an inch in length in a short period of time it will surely affect your judgement when catching the ball. I remember lads at school that fell over their own feet while in the midst of a growth spurt.
Limerick stuck with lads like Hegarty and Hayes when their hurling wasn't technically as sharp. And they are reaping the benefits now.
Anyway back to your point. Oulart had some great technical hurlers back then. Alot of them backboned our Senior intercounty team. Rory Jacob was very good in particular and having seen him 3 or 4 times this year he is still technically very good. But to win top level games of hurling you need more than technically good hurlers. Apart from technical ability factors like heart, drive, teamwork, having really good players in the important positions, having height in positions where you need height, and strength as in not height but good core strength, etc are all factors in what makes a good hurling team. Consistency was another problem that great Oulart team had. They didn't turn up in some of those games you mention above.
I think it's a bit simplistic just to blame Oularts lack of an AI on winter pitches. Firstly their opponents had to play on the same pitches. And secondly that's when the AI Club championships were actually played. And still are. So it's kind of irrelevant discussing who would have won AIs IF they were played in the summer."
You need physicality and intensity for hurling, you don't necessarily need size. Tommy Walsh showed that for years and you have the likes of Tony Kelly rooting up trees these days plus Mikey Butler won an All-Star and Young Hurler Of The Year. Some people on here think that our under-age teams are too small and that we put too much emphasis on developing technical ability and that we neglect big hurlers.

First of all, big hurlers can often be slow hurlers. I'd rather a small but physically developed, fast, tough player who can hurl than a big but slow hurler no matter how tough or good a hurler they are. Speed >>> Size

Secondly, just as an example, there were four players (Unless I'm forgetting someone) on the Wexford panel this year born in 1997: Seamus Casey, Oisín Foley, David Clarke, and Shane Reck. Out of those four, Foley and Clarke were on the Tony Forristal teams (Although not necessarily as starters), Casey was on the Sonny Walsh team, and Shane Reck wasn't on any panel. At Minor, Oisín Foley started but in goal, Clarke was corner-back, Casey was corner-forward, and again Shane Reck wasn't a starter. Fast forward to U21 and Oisín Foley is a sub, David Clarke isn't a starter, Seamus Casey is corner-forward, and Shane Reck is corner-back.

The funny thing is that at that age group, Aaron Maddock would probably have been considered the best hurler as he made his way through the ranks, probably closely followed by Joe O'Connor (And Ben Egan as well from U14 to U16). Out of them, Egan hardly hurls, Joe O'Connor has been with the Wexford panel for the most part since 2016 although not really as a regular starter up until 2020/2021, and Maddock was on the panel for a while but hasn't been on it for a good few years now.

If you were to take a snapshot in time at the end of each year from U14 up until now and if you then asked yourself who the best hurlers were, your answers would change over time. A big reason why is that a lot of hurlers who are good at a young age are good simply because they are big. But over time, they don't get any bigger whereas everyone else catches up on them size-wise. Moreover, the small lads who are on county panels at a young age are there mainly because of their technical ability. As they physically mature, they add physical ability to their technical ability.

If you look at Foley/Casey/Clarke/Reck, none of them would have been huge physical specimens at a young age; on the other hand, Aaron Maddock would have been very well developed from an S&C perspective at a young age. It also reminds me of Michael O'Brien from the Pat's who was on the County Minor Panel as an U16; he was built like a man when he was 14.

Also, as an example, I don't think the Wexford U20s were small this year. A lot of them were wiry, not small; they just need time to fill out their frames and to work on S&C programmes. I think you can place too much emphasis on S&C programmes at a young age; if you ever look at Kildare under-age sides at a young age, they're huge but conversely, how good really are they at Senior level. Plus focusing on S&C means less time on developing technical ability; it's a lot easier to develop from an S&C perspective than it is to developed technical ability IMO.

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 240 - 12/11/2022 21:58:42    2447345

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Just seen the video and once more headlines that the Gaa could do without..some of the brave boys in stand need a cost from the law..if it's done on the street a person is in serious trouble..is it going to take a very serious assault injury for action to be taken??"
There were people from both sides in the stand who should be in front of a judge. Was far more than a bit of handbags. This sort of stuff is dangerous. You could kill someone with some of the punches thrown and belts of a hurley thrown out yesterday, I suspect we haven't heard the end of it.

I don't think either team ought to be punished but they do bear some responsibility for who follow them and are presumably paid up members.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2557 - 13/11/2022 09:02:26    2447347

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "I agree with this. The way Wexford organise their county championships (basically get them over as quickly as possible and leave the county champions without a competitive game for a couple of months) they will always struggle to make an impact at club provincial snd All Ireland level."
Yep 100%, I meant to say btw nearly 3 months rather than 2.

The irony is Wexford hurling clubs have genuine aspirations of doing well in Leinster but can't see past putting hurling first in the county even though it hinders them in doing so.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1337 - 13/11/2022 09:52:34    2447350

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "There were people from both sides in the stand who should be in front of a judge. Was far more than a bit of handbags. This sort of stuff is dangerous. You could kill someone with some of the punches thrown and belts of a hurley thrown out yesterday, I suspect we haven't heard the end of it.

I don't think either team ought to be punished but they do bear some responsibility for who follow them and are presumably paid up members."
Fully agree with most of what you said except your final presumption is a really stupid one to make.

Onfor15 (Wexford) - Posts: 524 - 13/11/2022 11:11:26    2447355

Replying To Onfor15:  "Fully agree with most of what you said except your final presumption is a really stupid one to make."
Perhaps an overstatement. If they are club members, then they ought to face some penalty. People who hate GAA will go to town on this again. Meanwhile our "rival" will be hoping that their cup final is not subject to usual hooliganism.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2557 - 13/11/2022 12:20:44    2447360

GO BACK TO ALTERNATE WEEKS

Onfor15 (Wexford) - Posts: 524 - 13/11/2022 13:31:18    2447370

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Perhaps an overstatement. If they are club members, then they ought to face some penalty. People who hate GAA will go to town on this again. Meanwhile our "rival" will be hoping that their cup final is not subject to usual hooliganism."
Barney,
I don't know what age you are, but I hurled in Dublin in the late 80's-90's. I still have a scar from an infamous game vs Barrog. Looking at those video's yesterday and hearing the names being called in Dublin accents, brought me right back. Their reputation was never good.
I have watched my chaps hurl and play football in Wexford, and have come across Oulart many many times. They are hard and fair. That being said, there is no condoning a supporter using a hurl on another supporter.
The clips will only tell part of the story and who knows what preceeded it. Everyone who ever hurled has done things they would take back, I am no different.
But the GAA is riddled with this problem, every weekend.
I don't know what the sanction should be, but I feel the GAA should throw both these teams out of Leinster competitions for 3 years, Barrog immediately and Oulart should they get there again.
You are right, a club IS responsible for the conduct of their supporters.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1128 - 13/11/2022 13:46:25    2447371

On the general point, as I have said time and again Wexford teams want to hurl at this time of year. They need to battle more, and teams beat them with the experience of being willing to get down and dirty and take them in to the trenches.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1128 - 13/11/2022 13:52:11    2447372

Good game in Carlow today, St Mullins the better team slightly and their provincial experience showed.
No excuses for Ferns both teams had a long lay off since their respective county finals.
50% of Wexford club teams left now Fethard, Adamstown and Horeswood

hurlorhurley (Wexford) - Posts: 1660 - 13/11/2022 15:31:17    2447384

Replying To Onfor15:  "GO BACK TO ALTERNATE WEEKS"
All joking aside, it simply has to happen.

Most other club champions with designs beyond their county are only starting to peak now, our lads have effectively being in pasture since August with the small matter of a football campaign to get through.

Tough defeat for Ferns. Had they taken that goal chance in the last ten minutes, I fancy they would have got over the line. Thought it was strange taking off Jonny Dwyer (unless he was injured) as he was working like a divil and had scored three points from play (most of any of the Ferns forwards). Ironically, Ferns won a sideline cut a couple of moments after he had been substituted that could have been scoreable. Eoin Murphy was immense at centre-back, showed real leadership, and Ian Byrne really stood up down the home straight when it mattered. But you couldn't fault their application whatsoever, they were hampered by the current timings of the championships (the format itself is excellent). Marty Kavanagh is as good a dead-ball specialist as anyone of greater renown in the country.

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1417 - 13/11/2022 15:33:30    2447385

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "Barney,
I don't know what age you are, but I hurled in Dublin in the late 80's-90's. I still have a scar from an infamous game vs Barrog. Looking at those video's yesterday and hearing the names being called in Dublin accents, brought me right back. Their reputation was never good.
I have watched my chaps hurl and play football in Wexford, and have come across Oulart many many times. They are hard and fair. That being said, there is no condoning a supporter using a hurl on another supporter.
The clips will only tell part of the story and who knows what preceeded it. Everyone who ever hurled has done things they would take back, I am no different.
But the GAA is riddled with this problem, every weekend.
I don't know what the sanction should be, but I feel the GAA should throw both these teams out of Leinster competitions for 3 years, Barrog immediately and Oulart should they get there again.
You are right, a club IS responsible for the conduct of their supporters."
Yes. It is not a place I liked visiting although worst experience was not playing, it was with an underage team i was involved in running.

I do think that sanctions ought to be against individuals rather than the club as a whole, on both sides, Players on the field had nothing to do with what happened as far as I can see, or from what I've heard but anyone identified as part of the actual fighting should face some sort of sanction.

There's no excuse for any spectator belting someone.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2557 - 13/11/2022 15:53:44    2447389

See both Leinster gaa and the Gardi are investigating. Be interesting to see what comes out of it.

alwaysasub (Wexford) - Posts: 403 - 13/11/2022 16:01:35    2447391

Replying To hurlorhurley:  "Good game in Carlow today, St Mullins the better team slightly and their provincial experience showed.
No excuses for Ferns both teams had a long lay off since their respective county finals.
50% of Wexford club teams left now Fethard, Adamstown and Horeswood"
Great game today. Either side could have won but probably St Mullins deserved it but they missed a lot of goal chances in the first half.

Thought that Ferns might prefer a harder pitch for their running game but they battled well and almost forced extra time.

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 13/11/2022 17:13:43    2447400

Replying To alwaysasub:  "See both Leinster gaa and the Gardi are investigating. Be interesting to see what comes out of it."
How is that Roscommon investigation going?
I rest my case.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1128 - 13/11/2022 18:03:06    2447410

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Yes. It is not a place I liked visiting although worst experience was not playing, it was with an underage team i was involved in running.

I do think that sanctions ought to be against individuals rather than the club as a whole, on both sides, Players on the field had nothing to do with what happened as far as I can see, or from what I've heard but anyone identified as part of the actual fighting should face some sort of sanction.

There's no excuse for any spectator belting someone."
The big problem is still, non playing people getting involved.
2 Oulart subs were sent off. But if they smash the Barrog star player, that is a well use red card.
Is it at a point that wire fences are needed around all our grounds again? Are GAA supporters animals who need to be caged in like soccer fans in the 80's?
As I say, in my playing days I was not a shrinking violet and did things I regretted and still do. But I NEVER got involved in any incident as a supporter/sub/selector. Players can puck the head off each other for all I care but I take great umbrage to subs or managers or supporters hitting players.
The Gardai and Leinster Council are wasting their time unless there are some real sanctions available.
Clubs need to be fined and need to be brave enough to get rid of the type of supporter who gets involved in these brawls. I can't see clubs being brave enough to do it.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1128 - 13/11/2022 18:15:01    2447412

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "The big problem is still, non playing people getting involved.
2 Oulart subs were sent off. But if they smash the Barrog star player, that is a well use red card.
Is it at a point that wire fences are needed around all our grounds again? Are GAA supporters animals who need to be caged in like soccer fans in the 80's?
As I say, in my playing days I was not a shrinking violet and did things I regretted and still do. But I NEVER got involved in any incident as a supporter/sub/selector. Players can puck the head off each other for all I care but I take great umbrage to subs or managers or supporters hitting players.
The Gardai and Leinster Council are wasting their time unless there are some real sanctions available.
Clubs need to be fined and need to be brave enough to get rid of the type of supporter who gets involved in these brawls. I can't see clubs being brave enough to do it."
I totally agree.

I didn't like the speed of the supporters to get involved last night. Keep it on the pitch, there's enough for the ref to deal with there.

The great thing about Gaa matches is that supporters from both teams mingle together. I would hate that to ever change.

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 13/11/2022 18:29:12    2447417